• Publisher: 2K Games
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 6 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works: - A number of ideas: the sanity factor, the screen without HUD - The use of Lovecraft material for creating the game - The overall atmosphere of dread and isolation - The puzzles: they are often very well made and fairly engaging - The decision of relying on aiming down the
    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works:

    - A number of ideas: the sanity factor, the screen without HUD
    - The use of Lovecraft material for creating the game
    - The overall atmosphere of dread and isolation
    - The puzzles: they are often very well made and fairly engaging
    - The decision of relying on aiming down the sight (no in game crosshair)
    - The damage system being divided into 3 categories (bandage, splint, suture, antidote)

    What doesn't work:

    - The graphic is sometimes too blurry and muddy, making difficult to not only spot some items but even simple orientation
    - Respawn (I loathe it as game concept)
    - Lack of polish (it is obvious that corners have been cut and the ambition of the project reduced greatly from how originally anticipated)

    What is so-so:

    - The level design is most of the times very good and well focused (best chapters: Chapter 2 - Attack Of The Fuccing Fishmen, Chapter 3 - Jail Break and Chapter 7 - Dangerous Voyage) but sometimes there is an annoying lack of feedback about the need of backtracking (without much of a valid reason) while some other levels are much less spot on (Chapter 5 and Chapter 11 come to mind)
    - The AI: sometimes the enemies are in front of me but don't see me for some strange reason
    - Voice acting (some are good, wrong choice of tone for the protagonist who sounds too matter-of-face in most situations)
    Expand
  2. May 14, 2011
    0
    The idea of a horror game based around HP Lovecraft's "Shadow Over Innsmouth" short story is awesome, and it's a real shame that this game fails to deliver in every way other than the storytelling aspect. The game is way too dark and grey/brown to ever tell what is going on and you can easily overlook elements in the environment. The game doesn't give you an actual weapon until nearly 3The idea of a horror game based around HP Lovecraft's "Shadow Over Innsmouth" short story is awesome, and it's a real shame that this game fails to deliver in every way other than the storytelling aspect. The game is way too dark and grey/brown to ever tell what is going on and you can easily overlook elements in the environment. The game doesn't give you an actual weapon until nearly 3 hours into it when you find your first guns. No ability to use melee? C'mon. The AI is annoying, the cutscenes are unskippable, the insanity factor comes into play way too easily and makes things blurry (things are hard enough to see in this game as it is), and the stealth doesn't really work at all. This is just a complete waste of time and utter disappointment. I tried very hard to enjoy this game but it just doesn't have what it takes to be called a good game. Other horror games over the years ranging from Silent Hill to Resident Evil Remake to Eternal Darkness to Dead Space 2 are all vastly superior in every way. Avoid this one, even if you are a Lovecraft fan like me. Collapse
  3. ms
    Jul 13, 2008
    3
    This is the perfect example of how to script a horror game...it's just not exactly what I'd call the ideal way to make one playable. At first, I was excited to get this game. I mean five years in the making, bragging an advanced sanity system, healing system, and interactive world sounds great...until you actually have to play the damn game. The creators were so hell bent on This is the perfect example of how to script a horror game...it's just not exactly what I'd call the ideal way to make one playable. At first, I was excited to get this game. I mean five years in the making, bragging an advanced sanity system, healing system, and interactive world sounds great...until you actually have to play the damn game. The creators were so hell bent on hyping this game as a "realistic experience" that they forgot one crucial element. It's a damn video game. First of all, five years in development should warrant a few things: Good voice acting, good visuals, and polished gameplay. The gameplay had a lot of potential. It's my belief that first person is tough to implement into stealth and horror because you can't actually see your character model so creeping behind walls is difficult and the stupid peek around the wall mechanic is useless unless you wanna reveal yourself. Secondly, it's near impossible to estimate how far you can jump in this game, which will get you killed many times. The A.I. is generally piss poor as well and glitches on many occasions. The most the A.I. can do is follow and shoot and group together. Nothing intelligent about that. Oh and they can't aim rifles at point blank to save their lives, literally. The interactivity is pretty false too. There are only a few people you can actually talk to in the game on your own without cutscenes and you can't actually use your surroundings to your advantage. You can just observe them and make useless comments about them. Did I mention the voice acting is annoying as all hell? The main character sounds like a complete Nimrod. The graphics ain't much to gawk at either. The environments generally come in a few shades of gray and brown with a little texture thrown in for good measure. The character models are stiff and the monsters are hilariously unscary when you finally see them. As for health packs. Nothing complicated or interesting about it. Somehow you can still walk with two broken legs. How very realistic?? But the worst part about this game is the abused sanity effects. I don't know about you, but my vision doesn't blur when I'm scared. And I don't get vertigo instantly from . Our detective hero is kind of a loose canon really. Everything makes his mental state deteriorate. It's gimmicky and annoying and it fails to make the game scary. Or realistic. In fact, quite the opposite. But to the point. Don't play this game. It's a waste of time and potential. Play Silent Hill 2 or Resident Evil if you want a good scare. This sucked. Expand
  4. A.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    I love it. I took the time to write down all the quotes from each loading screen by recording the loading screens with my vcr. lol The struggle with the controls and glitches is worth it..don't give up. All the way to the end!
  5. MohammedN.
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    An outstanding game not without bugs but the concept and gameplay are original throughout. Its atmosphere is gripping and disturbing and it feels just right, even though most of the gameplay is linear, there is enough content and twists to make you appreciate the minds behind this game. Get it today or hit the road!
  6. BrunoF.
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    Enter another kind of horror game. For those who can both take pleasure out of reading and playing videogames, I give you Dark Corners of the Earth: one of the best recriations of a literary work, in this case the work of H. P. Lovecraft. For those who also admired Shadow of The Comet or Prisioner of Ice (both great PC adventures) the sort of fear and panic which Call of Cthulhu portrays Enter another kind of horror game. For those who can both take pleasure out of reading and playing videogames, I give you Dark Corners of the Earth: one of the best recriations of a literary work, in this case the work of H. P. Lovecraft. For those who also admired Shadow of The Comet or Prisioner of Ice (both great PC adventures) the sort of fear and panic which Call of Cthulhu portrays will feel somewhat familiar. This is not a game likely to scare you as much as it imposes its own rythm, its own spiral down to the gravest and most horrible corners of fright. The technical aspects are well-enough for what the game requires. Moreover, this isn't your average FPS game, not in the true sense of the term. Think of it as a First Person game, where shooting is a minor part in comparisson to dialogues, puzzle solving and exploring the magnificent spaces where the game takes set. Unfortunately, many failed to see the game for what it really is: an amazing journey with the mark of one of Literature's greatest genius, Lovecraft. The menus are scarce but brilliant. There is a sense of distinction in many of the game's aspects: characters, dialogues, the quality of the texts. Most of all, it has a great ambience, in a way we rarely find in a videogame. A real shame that the other episodes turned out to be cancelled - mostly due to this game's poor market impact. One of XBOX's best games. Expand
  7. AaronH.
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    One of the most fulfilling games I've ever played. The ending will leave you breathless.
  8. RaffaeleL.
    May 12, 2006
    9
    One of the best horror games i ever played.. dynamic, balanced puzzles... i read all of the text and dialogues of the game and found noone of those to be boring; many jumps off the chair assured.
  9. scootaboy
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    Truly one of the best games I've played this generation. While it might not have the latest bump mapped, mip-mapped Hign Definition whatchamacalits in the graphics department, the game has a true sense of Art Direction and style. The sanity effects are great even if not entire unique and add a tangible sense of confusion to the games most harrowing moments. Trying to see the three Truly one of the best games I've played this generation. While it might not have the latest bump mapped, mip-mapped Hign Definition whatchamacalits in the graphics department, the game has a true sense of Art Direction and style. The sanity effects are great even if not entire unique and add a tangible sense of confusion to the games most harrowing moments. Trying to see the three story thing thats attacking you is tough through the haze and this is how it should be. Furthermore, the sound design is top notch with wonderfully creepy music (I couldn't stand to leave it on pause - too creepy) and fantastic sound effects that really shake your subwoofer. While the final showdown and the last hour or so of play leading up to it come increasingly from left-field, the epilogue (no spoilers here) is one of the most satisfiying conclusions to any game I have played. For those of you finding the opening couple of chapters slow going - stick with it, things soon heat up and there's a great deal of variety and clever ideas at play here. Highly recommended. Expand
  10. BaronSamedi
    Dec 12, 2005
    7
    Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is a game I've been waiting for ages to play and it's pretty much as I expected. That's to say, it's great when it comes to plot and atmosphere but not quite so good when it comes to glitches and the odd gameplay annoyance. I would have marked it higher only I found the end of the game didn't make much sense and I had to Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is a game I've been waiting for ages to play and it's pretty much as I expected. That's to say, it's great when it comes to plot and atmosphere but not quite so good when it comes to glitches and the odd gameplay annoyance. I would have marked it higher only I found the end of the game didn't make much sense and I had to keep looking up hints to get through it. Up until the last about hour, it's a great game but that last part is so illogical and requires so much help, it really breaks the flow of the game. Overall, it's a novel and enjoyable game but don't feel bad about looking up help in parts (although be careful if you're looking up the official forum as you get the odd person who will write what happens at the end of the game in his/her thread title) as some of it just defies logic entirely. Expand
  11. Megatron
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    I dont know what made Rob c or Derrick f decide 2 ditch this game,but thank god i did nt mind their opinion....The game is fantastic,maybe u did nt gave it aserious try and were 2 eager 2 get more action out ...from an adventure fps...In fact u can actually get 2 hold guns,but the good thing about this game is that it sometimes gives u the oppurtunity not 2 make use of them...the stealth I dont know what made Rob c or Derrick f decide 2 ditch this game,but thank god i did nt mind their opinion....The game is fantastic,maybe u did nt gave it aserious try and were 2 eager 2 get more action out ...from an adventure fps...In fact u can actually get 2 hold guns,but the good thing about this game is that it sometimes gives u the oppurtunity not 2 make use of them...the stealth approach,something that quality titles such as Riddick,thief series and Deus Ex gave us b4,is another way to proceed further,without going gang -ho on anything that moves!It is an original game,with less amount of clich'es and action tha most casual shooters,but has more atmosphere,story and thinking than the hall bunch,making u think almost just as how u would as a private i...Some problems or misses that occur in almost every game(sometimes troubling enemy A.I.,no real time shadows and dynamic lighting or normal mapping,athough good texturing)must nt degrade the expirience u get out of this title(more realistic healing+shooting system,u know,no reticle or hud,with ur hands trembing after u aim 4 too much time,or the pain that the character expresses when hit,or afraid),it is truly unfair 4 the respectable gamer 2 consider vital,and not giving the proper attention2 the excelent pacing of the game.Anyone should at least try it ,just 4 the new elements and well given atmoshere,and the excellent effort the programmers did on bringing Lovecrafts myth2 the xbox controller...Just like the exceptional personalities,u ll either love it..or hate it...nothing in between...It took long to get it after being postponed every now and then,butit certainly worthed it...Remarcable job... Expand
  12. RobB.
    Nov 23, 2005
    2
    While I
  13. JoseQ.
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    This is an amazing game! What it lacks in graphics, it more than makes up for with an increadible story, a unique and scary as hell atmosphere, and total immersion of the player into the story. This is not your typical enter-the-room-with-guns-blazing FPS, but a perfect combination of an horror movie/adventure game viewed in the first person. The first 1/3 of the game you don't even This is an amazing game! What it lacks in graphics, it more than makes up for with an increadible story, a unique and scary as hell atmosphere, and total immersion of the player into the story. This is not your typical enter-the-room-with-guns-blazing FPS, but a perfect combination of an horror movie/adventure game viewed in the first person. The first 1/3 of the game you don't even have a weapon, which not only adds to the feeling of dread and appearant doom, but it teaches you what kind of exploring and puzzle solving you will be required to do in order to advance the story. Once weapons are acquired, the puzzle solving and exploring still needs to be done and actually gets a little harder, so it never becomes a mindless shooting fest. Players who want to be challenged and are looking for something different, this game is a must play. The story might be linear, but finding the way and keeping your sanity are not. Expand
  14. LizardC.
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    Awesome atmosphere, a game made by real Lovecraft fans who get the genre. There are few things that could be tightened up a bit if there's a sequel (which I really hope there is). The hotel attck scene is awesome and so incredibly close to the book 'The Shadow Over Inssmouth'.
  15. DerrickF.
    Nov 11, 2005
    3
    I had eagerly anticipated this game, but put it aside at the point of Fishmen Attack. My reason: after walking the length and breadth of an unwelcoming town without finding even a pointy stick for a weapon, seeing a child ripped to pieces by monster, and finding evidence proving that the innkeeper is a mass murderer, I am forced to follow this same murderer to a room of his choosing and I had eagerly anticipated this game, but put it aside at the point of Fishmen Attack. My reason: after walking the length and breadth of an unwelcoming town without finding even a pointy stick for a weapon, seeing a child ripped to pieces by monster, and finding evidence proving that the innkeeper is a mass murderer, I am forced to follow this same murderer to a room of his choosing and bed down for the night without the option of sneaking out of the building. Of course, the townsmen come for you, and you are forced to flee like an idiot out of a trap that even the most naive player could see coming. While I was willing to try a game devoid of firearms, I was disappointed to play the role of a eunuch incapable of even pimp-smacking his assailants. Anyone giving this game a ten has no Y chromosome. Or wits. Expand
  16. JCS.n
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Awesome story and terrifying gameplay completely makes up for the imperfect shooting and difficult puzzles.
  17. JaceN.
    Nov 4, 2005
    2
    Started out okay...but the slap in the face that was the fishermen attack in your room, the degradation into an old fashioned key hunt, the super mario jumping puzzles (im surprised Jack didnt have to make his way through a Levitating Platform Factory over a lava pit) and the annoying as hell mental condition concerns (a way of forcing unfair failure upon you even if your health is high) Started out okay...but the slap in the face that was the fishermen attack in your room, the degradation into an old fashioned key hunt, the super mario jumping puzzles (im surprised Jack didnt have to make his way through a Levitating Platform Factory over a lava pit) and the annoying as hell mental condition concerns (a way of forcing unfair failure upon you even if your health is high) make this a black mark aainst Bethesda and Headfirst. Expand
  18. WillD.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Horror as horror should be. Excellent pacing, beautiful visuals. Scary as hell.
  19. JerryB.
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    A truly immersive survival horror game with a great story.
  20. HenryL.
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    This is a great game! It drips atmosphere, stays true to the material, and is scary as hell. There
  21. jamesB.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This game is the most distubing thing i've ever seen. Monsters bigger than a building and a story that actually draws you in. Fantastic
  22. JamesW.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    The most enthralling, frightening, and deeply immersive survival horror -- make that videogame -- I've ever had the pleasure to experience. Well done to Headfirst!!! Do yourself a favor and pick this up.
  23. MackJ.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Innovative. Fantastic game. I wish they all got me this scared and excited.
  24. PaulaC.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    So far is been keeping me terrifyingly on edge! Great game
  25. MarcH.
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Cthulhu ftagnh!
  26. JimB.
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Atmospehere is fantastic. Scared me senseless.
  27. May 14, 2011
    0
    The idea of a horror game based around HP Lovecraft's "Shadow Over Innsmouth" short story is awesome, and it's a real shame that this game fails to deliver in every way other than the storytelling aspect. The game is way too dark and grey/brown to ever tell what is going on and you can easily overlook elements in the environment. The game doesn't give you an actual weapon until nearly 3The idea of a horror game based around HP Lovecraft's "Shadow Over Innsmouth" short story is awesome, and it's a real shame that this game fails to deliver in every way other than the storytelling aspect. The game is way too dark and grey/brown to ever tell what is going on and you can easily overlook elements in the environment. The game doesn't give you an actual weapon until nearly 3 hours into it when you find your first guns. No ability to use melee? C'mon. The AI is annoying, the cutscenes are unskippable, the insanity factor comes into play way too easily and makes things blurry (things are hard enough to see in this game as it is), and the stealth doesn't really work at all. This is just a complete waste of time and utter disappointment. I tried very hard to enjoy this game but it just doesn't have what it takes to be called a good game. Other horror games over the years ranging from Silent Hill to Resident Evil Remake to Eternal Darkness to Dead Space 2 are all vastly superior in every way. Avoid this one, even if you are a Lovecraft fan like me. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. And while the devil is in the details, the game as a whole forms such a genuinely immersive and unique experience that to let it go unnoticed would be a disservice not only to Lovecraft but one extremely talented bunch of developers.
  2. 80
    While certainly not flawless, Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is the perfect game for followers of Lovecraft's work, but the title also offers an intriguing and involving adventure for those who aren't and just want something a little different from a normal first-person game.
  3. Almost to its detriment, it doesn't play its hand early on; if anything, the game takes fully three or four hours before you really start to unravel its charms, and even then it never feels like a game in a hurry.