• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2003
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Cheat Code Central
    80
    I will warn you and even I admit I had only two fights against players in Japan and got shown why they love fighting games.
  2. The Xbox Live support really adds to the lifespan of the game, so if you’re ever in need of opponent, it feels good to know there is one only a few button presses away.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    I've wanted to play an online Capcom fighter for a long time now, and CvS2 is more than I could've hoped for. Online play is surprisingly smooth. [Feb 2003, p.152]
  4. If you are looking at getting this game but have a PS2 or DC already, go with those versions. But if you’ve only got an Xbox, then this version is probably worth getting.
  5. The only thing that raises CVS2 up and above the likes of "Dead or Alive 3" or even "Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance" is its online element, and I'll only really recommend it until a beat 'em up developed within the last three years makes its mark on Xbox Live.
  6. 100
    Both Capcom and SNK fighting fans will be in heaven. Capcom vs. SNK 2 EO is like a 24-hour arcade that requires no quarters, and the entire country is invited to play.
  7. Game Informer
    63
    The combat feels relatively imprecise, button-mashy, and quite random. [Jan 2003, p.114]
  8. A great idea for a game, but it's a broken, uninspired mess. It looks okay, the music's fine, and upon first blush, it plays as well as you'd expect it would. The deeper you get into it, though, the less you'll find to keep you playing.
  9. Even though Capcom vs. SNK 2: EO for the Xbox is about as fresh as a two-day old bagel, the online capabilities of the Xbox revive this tired title.
  10. 85
    A great game for fans of 2D fighting, but Capcom’s ‘cut-and-paste’ approach is really starting to grate on me, especially considering some of the sprites used are nearly a decade old, and just plain ugly.
  11. GameNow
    100
    Astonishing. [Feb 2003, p.48]
  12. 80
    Some lag issues and controller preferences are the only strikes against it.
  13. The addition of online play, coupled with the flexibility of the fighting styles makes for a surprisingly deep arcade fighter.
  14. The ability to challenge other players from across the world in the Xbox version of Capcom vs. SNK 2 EO makes it an utterly incredible experience for anyone with even the faintest appreciation for the genre.
  15. 68
    It's hard to get the most out of it with an Xbox pad. Neither the original pad or the Controller S is well-suited to hosting a six-button fighter.
  16. There’s such a mind-boggling amount of options to choose from, that your head won’t stop spinning – 44 fighters (including 2 unlockables), 6 groove styles – with the option of making your own – and an incredibly ridiculous amount of moves to remember.
  17. Isn’t as fast as "Marvel vs. Capcom 2," as pretty as "Guilty Gear X2," or as smooth as "Street Fighter 3," but it’s a 2D fighter that’s online.
  18. The best version of the fighter to date. Nothing beats the pulse-pounding nature of online play, coupled with the ease of use in Xbox Live.
  19. 86
    A shining example of gameplay over graphics if there ever was one. Not including "Guilty Gear X2" on PS2, there is no other 2D fighting game that even comes close to dishing out the kind of fun that this game does.
  20. Official Xbox Magazine
    80
    Simply having the game online is a significant enough step forward. [Feb 2003, p.77]
  21. Play Magazine
    60
    The game flows smoothly enough to be played properly online, but really, the appeal is nothing like the games designed specifically for Xbox Live. [Apr 2003, p.63]
  22. Gameplay is fast and smooth with very minimal lag. Of course, the greatest part of all is the ability to talk with your opponents, which essentially completes the experience.
  23. The online experience is of good quality and works as well as anyone could have hoped for.
  24. If Capcom wants this hard-core beat-’em-up to appeal beyond a niche market changing the control system alone is not enough.
  25. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    Sadly, performance was spotty thanks to ever-depressing and intermittent network lag. [Feb/Mar 2003, p.83]
  26. The biggest problems with online play are the surprisingly frequent poor losers who will abandon a game at the last second to keep you from being credited with a win.

Awards & Rankings

52
66
#66 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Uter
    Dec 25, 2003
    7
    It's a decent fighting game, but has been recycled for over a decade now with minimal improvement. Really.. how much better is this game It's a decent fighting game, but has been recycled for over a decade now with minimal improvement. Really.. how much better is this game than the original Street Fighter 2? the answer is that it isn't. Full Review »
  2. KyoK.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    I've always liked fighting games but this game kicks ass! Because its a crossover game and besides I'm in it! HA HA HA!
  3. JamesC.
    Mar 15, 2003
    8
    It's a fabulous game! I'm very happy to have bought it. However, the bosses (S.Akuma & U.Rugal) were simply too simple. I was It's a fabulous game! I'm very happy to have bought it. However, the bosses (S.Akuma & U.Rugal) were simply too simple. I was disappointed. I mean, the semi~boss gave me more trouble than them. Oh well. It's definitely going to be a game that I keep dusted off. It's awesome because I can relive my SNES days which I thought were long forgotten. Thanks, Capcom. Full Review »