User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 4 out of 12

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Iliyashran
    Nov 4, 2005
    4
    This game is lame. It's like a Nintendo 64 game slapped on a 128 bit system. If you've played Lament of Innocence your not missing much if you skip this title. The only difference is they replace your Whip with a Sword and u get to tinker around with a Pokemon helper.
  2. JamesC.
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    This was the worst piece Garbage of a game i have played yet this year. Graphics were stale if not bland. Challenge factor was non-existent until the very end of the game. The only thing going for this piece Sh*t game was it's Musical Score and Movie Footages. Other than that use this game for a Frisbee.
  3. DanL.
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    It should be around high 8 or low 9 easy. The storyline is catching, the movie sequences are awesome and the game is generally all around hard to stop playing once you get started. Straight out of the box and into the PS two hours flew by before I even noticed and that was after working a 12 hour graveyard shift knowing I had to get up to do it again. I'm a fan of the classics myself It should be around high 8 or low 9 easy. The storyline is catching, the movie sequences are awesome and the game is generally all around hard to stop playing once you get started. Straight out of the box and into the PS two hours flew by before I even noticed and that was after working a 12 hour graveyard shift knowing I had to get up to do it again. I'm a fan of the classics myself but this is a very solid 3D game. Having tons of combos for every different weapon and multiple demons that have to be used to your best advantage is definately a nice touch to the old school same ol' same ol' boring battles. Expand
  4. AlfonsoI.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    The game has everything, great bosses, story, weapons and gameplay, its the best.
  5. JoshL.
    Jun 30, 2005
    0
    Konami is turning to sh.t!!!!!! Still hooked on this 3d garbage for castlevania. Yeah look how well lament of inn. did!! Its already forgotten unlike the classic 2d. Get your heads out of your asses and go back to the originals with the new technology we have. This 3d shit is just like any other game Castlevania no longer has originality except for it's music now. Bring 2d back I Konami is turning to sh.t!!!!!! Still hooked on this 3d garbage for castlevania. Yeah look how well lament of inn. did!! Its already forgotten unlike the classic 2d. Get your heads out of your asses and go back to the originals with the new technology we have. This 3d shit is just like any other game Castlevania no longer has originality except for it's music now. Bring 2d back I promise I will not buy your new 3d garbage. Sincerely A Castlevania fan from when it first started on NES. Expand
  6. JosueC.
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    I think that this is one of their best games. The only thing it was missing was a bit of more dificulty and spells that you could do yourself. It should also stick to the Belmont family. But the game alltogether is good.
  7. IamNlCK
    Jun 25, 2006
    7
    Cool game that proves that you don't have to get complex to make an enjoyable experience. Nice music. Cool new concept of having your own monster side-kicks with different powers. The level designs almost seem lazy at some times...like you are running down random corridors that look exactly like the ones before it. That may have cut it in the SNES days, but I think by this point they Cool game that proves that you don't have to get complex to make an enjoyable experience. Nice music. Cool new concept of having your own monster side-kicks with different powers. The level designs almost seem lazy at some times...like you are running down random corridors that look exactly like the ones before it. That may have cut it in the SNES days, but I think by this point they should be more innovative. Also the storyline is getting pretty predictible. Someone named Belmont having a showdown with Dracula. Getting actual AI for the enemies wouldnt hurt either. Overall, probably worth a rental, for some mindless entertainment. Collapse
  8. ChrisB.
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    This game was one of my favorite games for the xbox console. It had cool innocent devils that assisted you in battle, the graphics were good, and it held my attention throughout the game. Before I even knew it, I was delving right into it playing up to 4-5 hours a day as soon as I came home from work or school. Overall, I would recommend this to people who like games like Devil May Cry, This game was one of my favorite games for the xbox console. It had cool innocent devils that assisted you in battle, the graphics were good, and it held my attention throughout the game. Before I even knew it, I was delving right into it playing up to 4-5 hours a day as soon as I came home from work or school. Overall, I would recommend this to people who like games like Devil May Cry, or other strategy based games that allow a minimum of 20 hours. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Don't get us wrong: the latest Castlevania isn't a bad game, if you can swallow the endless combat repetition. It just falls well short of this series' legendary heritage, and can't hold a candle to the handheld "Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow" for the Nintendo DS.
  2. Konami's leap into 3D for the acclaimed Castlevania franchise is backed by a generally solid gameplay and combat, albeit marred by extreme repetitiveness.
  3. The tools of the demon-hunting trade define Curse. [Nov p.84]