Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. 81
    It's created with a lot of thought, but the balancing issues and, frankly, the lack of fun hurt it a lot. The single-player is a 9+ experience and the multiplayer is more like a 7. So, Conker: Live & Reloaded falls somewhere in the middle overall.
  2. Conker: Live & Reloaded definitely has some quirks and even a few legitimate problems, but the whole of the experience is a great one.
  3. The new multiplayer features are great and the updated graphics are amazing.
  4. Overall the gameplay seems a little bit more serious this time around. Some parts are really tough and are guaranteed to have you swearing right along with Conker.
  5. An amazing re-release. [Aug 2005, p.103]
  6. 80
    There's infinite replay value with Live & Reloaded's online game, but the none-friendly newbie aspect is sure to frustrate and annoy some gamers.
  7. Something Microsoft should have put out at a budget price from the beginning, because the single-player story mode is without question one of the worst platform games we've had the misfortune of playing in years, while the multiplayer is merely adequate next to the best in online console gaming.
  8. When all's said and done, all the beer is chugged, all the bottoms goosed and the wind broken, as the cigarette smoke clears, Conker: Live & Reloaded comes out as just a bit more than the simple sum of its parts.
  9. Live & Reloaded isn't as unique as it was when it first came out years ago, but the upgrades and online play still make it stand out from other choices.
  10. A schizophrenic game. On one hand, you have a satisfying, complex online shooter, but on the other a port of a four year-old N64 platformer. Why Rare decided to update this port when they should have made a sequel is beyond us, but you can't argue with the breadth of the package.
  11. 75
    There's not much in the way of new content in single-player, nor is much of it different or even "uncut," and the multiplayer segment suffers from a lack of play balancing. Still, it looks really, really good and the gameplay mostly holds up, which is probably enough for most people.
  12. Elevates the action genre to new heights while taking the standards of decency to new lows, but in a good way...a British way.
  13. If you snicker when someone says "Uranus," find Carrot Top absolutely hilarious, or perhaps still carry around a whoopee cushion, Conker: Live & Reloaded will be right up your alley. If you're a little more Bill Cosby than Richard Pryor, you'll have problems.
  14. 80
    The solo adventure offers so much diversity that you will push yourself to keep going just to see the new areas and confront the hilarious bosses. Now, if only the stingy camera received as much care as the new graphics.
  15. Reloaded must first stand on its single-player experience. There it pales in comparison to the king of Xbox action/adventure platformers: "Psychonauts."
  16. As a complete game package Conker: Live & Reloaded is tremendously good value. Significantly, it also shows a company finally back on form. [Aug 2005, p.93]
  17. Live & Reloaded is an odd package indeed. A great-looking port of a decent yet dated adventure isn't going to help Microsoft get a return on its $375 million acquisition. Luckily, the online multiplayer and its new content could write a different story. [Aug 2005, p.94]
  18. The multiplayer side of Conker: Live & Reloaded has really impressed me. I didn't think that I could have been taken in with this type of third person action, but I'm hooked and addicted, just like I am to the single player.
  19. A package of really fun times interspersed by some really annoying parts that will have you jumping in your car to go run over the first squirrel you see. [Aug 2005, p.82]
  20. This is quite possibly the most visually impressive game I've ever seen. [July 2005, p.72]
  21. Though the fragging may hold your interest for a while, it's far from revolutionary, and the rest of the game feels like a rodent-encrusted relic from 2001.
  22. It's one of the few platformers on the Xbox that delivers the goods almost every step of the way.
  23. If you've already played the single player Conker, it's a little hard to recommend paying full price for this one.
  24. Rating such a schizophrenic beast is tough. But one thing's for sure: If you're in the mood for a retro-styled, light-hearted platform game, you'll love Conker. Equally, if you're looking for high-adrenaline Xbox Live thrills, it'll be right up your street.
  25. Live & Reloaded is going to take a little patience on your part, but if you love bathroom humor and exploding critters this game certainly delivers.
  26. It is not as good as the cult status would make you think. Despite problems with camera and controls, constant barrage of foulmouthed jokes will keep you entertained. [Sept. 05]
  27. 65
    Rare obviously know how to work their system. It's just a shame they've lost their flair for gameplay. This game overall displayed a total drought of ideas. It's a shame that such a good game be dealt such a troublesome fate.
  28. If you enjoy this style of humor or even enjoyed Bad Fur Day, then you are going to enjoy the solid single and multiplayer modes in this game.
  29. If it's not parodying some of the world's most loved (or loathed) film franchises - such as Star Wars, The Terminator and Saving Private Ryan - it's having a pop at drugs, nationality and anything else that has been hijacked by the world of political correctness.
  30. Live and Reloaded is a fun and entertaining package for a short while in single player, but dated gameplay and some technical issues ensure that it won't last long.
  31. The single-player Bad Fur Day is platforming genius, although it still slightly suffers from a few of the same issues that plagued it on the N64. The multiplayer modes are incredibly fun once you get passed frustrating learning curve.
  32. The game mixes enjoyable platforming elements, with highly charged action, a humurous storyline and a satisfying multiplayer mode - pick it up now if you missed it first time around.
  33. The problem with Conker: Live and Reloaded isn't so much that it's bad as that it's superfluous. [Sept 2005, p.89]
  34. Players who played through the original back in 2001 won't find much ado with the single player, since things have hardly changed at all, and the multiplayer component in Conker Live & Reloaded doesn't quite stand well enough on its own to warrant a purchase.
  35. A new adventure with Conker would have been better, but still giving a classic an upgrade works too.
  36. Still, despite the game's poor multiplayer and control issues, Conker: Live and Reloaded still retains the classic gameplay of Bad Fur Day, giving it just enough spit and polish to be a great remake, even if there's little in the way of extras.
  37. Bad Fur Day is just hilarious and while it's nothing genre-changing the multiplayer gaming is fun to play and tries to give you a lot.
  38. Bash em' in the balls, bounce on their breasts and get all the money your pockets can handle. Conker is on a roll and hasn't lost a step.
  39. Overall then, despite its simplistic gameplay (and ill balanced multiplayer), Conker: Live and Reloaded is a game that can easily win a gamer over with its bawdy humor and lovingly crafted design.
  40. If you like the humour in the game then I'd say it's a worthwhile purchase - I enjoyed the single-player adventure despite problems with pacing and some of the puzzles. However I found the online game initially maddeningly chaotic until I got to grips with the surprising complexity of the gameplay on offer.
  41. Factor in a visceral shooter splattered with as much humour as the original, impressive graphics, innovative puzzles, and more importantly, a cracking script, and you've got two fantastic party games for the price of one. It's a corker and no mistake! [Official UK Xbox Magazine]
  42. A joy to play, a social-life-threatening venture into the ever-appealing (and for once, original) world of virtual war, and a game bursting with strategic action the like of which is absent from 95% of online Xbox games. [Xbox World]
  43. 81
    With arguably the best platforming found on the Xbox, and a fairly decent Xbox Live mode, it's a game you may want to rent first before buying.
  44. Some slow down, a questionable camera, a nasty control glitch, and the excessive back tracking seriously hampers the overall gameplay experience.
  45. 78
    I do see it shine at times with its immature, but cute humor; then I see how straightforward it can be in some parts and I quickly knock it down a few pegs.
  46. A great game. The graphics are almost unbelievably good, and it certainly sets the bar very high for next-generation games.
  47. Gamers complain that games today are too easy and lead players by the hand; in Conker's case, it's the exact opposite where players are pretty much left out in the cold without a clue or a pot to – well, you know.
  48. Graphically superb with a great story and very funny to play.
  49. While those who played and loved the original Conker's Bad Fur Day might scoff at the purchase of this new remake, I can still mostly recommend it due to the multiplayer mode.
  50. Too little, too late. What's Rare been doing for three years? At least we can now look forward to their other games.
  51. 80
    The online aspect of the game is fun, but it was the single player that really left me wanting more from a game that had three years to add some levels or cut scenes to the single player campaign.
  52. The single-player mode isn't perfect but, considering the limitations of the Xbox, the graphics almost are-and the audio is pretty good, too.
  53. All in all it was fun to play Conker again, it was the same yet different, in some ways I felt the original was better, in other ways it was great to see an old friend get the spit shine he so deserved.
  54. The potty humour will not be to everyone's taste but many films are hilariously lampooned.
  55. The single player section is definitely a letdown, but the multiplayer mode makes up for it in a big way.
  56. Singleplayer is slow going at first and honestly probably isn't well-paced enough for most people to persist with.
  57. Playing as heavily-armed rodents or goose-stepping teddy bears, up to 16 people can torch each other. It's more of everything you loved.
  58. A cute, violent and funny action platformer. It's not serious, realistic, logical, or politically correct. It's just fun. Plain and simple.
  59. So there you have it, a wonderful (and re-playable) single player adventure with a pretty decent multiplayer side attached... Rare have pulled it off all over again.
  60. 75
    While single-player is a mix of the funny and the frustrating, multiplayer, provides its fair share of silly-ass thrills.
  61. I did find it amusing to relive some of Conker's bawdy behavior, but I wish they would have come up with a new story rather than remaking the old one.
  62. 79
    Why not add some more levels to the single player that spoof recently made movies? Why isn't the multiplayer balanced out? Why are the multiplayer maps so big? Why only 16 player multiplayer and not 32?
  63. If platform games are your thing, and you don't mind an adult spin on a cute furry red squirrel named Conker which has one heck of a hangover, then you'll find this game very playable.
  64. What makes the humor so great in the single-player portion of the game is the wonderful voice acting.
  65. The game is essentially a burlesque of every game featuring cute forest creatures. It has the sort of platform-jumping, rope-climbing, monster-whomping challenges seen in many of these games, but adds foulmouthed animals, scatological humor and gallons of vividly scarlet cartoon blood.
  66. Those that have played the original will definitely still find a lot to like here, while those that haven't, can finally see what all the fuss is about.
  67. Both single-player and multiplayer sections of this game play great. The control layout could have been a bit better in the multiplayer portion though. But once you get used to the setup, you should be just fine.
  68. Anyone that has played the game before and is just looking to relive some fun and enjoy some pretty graphics would be suited to give it a rental or pick it up when it's a little cheaper.
  69. The single player experience isn't bad and is fun while it lasts, but the multiplayer is a totally different story. Most people will probably find it to be a tad confusing, and if they do get it, won't like it simply because of how they are setup.
  70. This was a great concept on paper but somehow they managed to take what was a original game with great characters and a interesting story and turn it in to a lifeless soulless game.
  71. The single player mode is challenging and fun but can be a little short depending on your skills at this type of game.
  72. The sheer carnage you're able to unleash can verge on the glorious, and the copious amounts of vehicles available in some sections certainly boosts variety. But the only thing we can really recommend Conker: Live & Reloaded for is it's single player mode.
  73. We can recommend this with a few reservations. Despite its many problems, the single-player experience is what stands out here. The much-vaunted online multiplayer is disappointment. There are much better alternatives available on the Xbox, if Live is your thing. [July 2005, p.63]
  74. The multiplayer option will provide stress relieving entertainment, however its has some lopsidedness in the characters and teams that will also become a cause for frustration without the nostalgia to keep you going.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. BenW.
    Jun 27, 2005
    4
    Take a solid N64 game, screw up the controls, replace great multiplayer with rather terrible multiplayer, and inexplicably censor the single Take a solid N64 game, screw up the controls, replace great multiplayer with rather terrible multiplayer, and inexplicably censor the single player game even more than the original and you have a poor effort on Rare's part. This concludes their trilogy of failure on the Xbox and proof that they haven't done anything good since Microsoft bought them. The big joke about Conker was that it appeared to be a cutesy platformer like everything else on the N64 but turned out to be a foul-mouthed game for adults. It just doesn't have the same effect 5 years later on the Xbox, and their censoring of it just makes it worse. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    (This is a post review past the time XBL has expired, so I will leave that out and rate it based on how much you can pick this game up for, I(This is a post review past the time XBL has expired, so I will leave that out and rate it based on how much you can pick this game up for, I also have not completed the game as the disc will not let me continue the game, (more on that later))

    I played a few levels of the N64 game, Conker's Bad Fur Day, I bought the game because I got it for a good price considering how much it went for on Ebay (around 60 USD) I picked it for about 50 and it was good, really enjoyable in some areas but I could see some age in it.

    Conker: Live & Reloaded still has some of that lingering "age" in it, certain parts of the game may require a quick look at a walkthrough online as it might not be clear what to do at some parts or where to go for certain objectives. The gameplay is pretty good, and the humor is great, The main thing about this at the time of release was the Multiplayer (and by the way, there is no original multiplayer from the n64 game if you were interested) but the singleplayer included a whole new chapter that featured Normandy style battles mixed with sci fi. There are some huge complaints about the controls, let me explain: you use a melee weapon for most of a game, now rather then just pressing a button to swing, you instead need to pull it out and go into a mode where you strafe, let's call it "Strafe Mode", when your in this strafe mode you use the trigger to attack and you attack more frequently then you could in the original game, you also can't turn around, you are locked into a strafing mode. There are also more enemies this time around, so it can work to some extent, but I hear later on you get a gun so it might change, also when I tried offline live and reloaded, you know what button jumps? Clicking the stick... Enough said. But the part I really didn't like, was when you would jump into a deep body of water, the camera just freaks out, it's really terrible trying to move around right in water. The reason why I haven't beaten the game is that when I got past the caveman/bar area, I got to this point where I needed to race these caveman who stole my money, well I get on the board and I could loop around the track forever but the cavemen-racers won't spawn. The graphics in this game are amazing, everything looks beautiful, it's fun to play out the story and see what jokes are coming next tied in with some good platforming. To recap: questionable controls, frustrating level design moments, great humor, hours of campaign, fantastic visuals. Today you can pick up Live for about 35 USD average on EBay. It's worth it but bear in mind that the Xbox 360 has freezing issues with this game (there's a list of problems certain xbox games have when ran on a 360) when I tried this on xbox 360, it froze within the first minute, I just went out and bought an original xbox. Unless your gonna get an xbox to play a bunch of originals along with this game, don't buy an xbox over this game, test to see how often the game might freeze and decide whether you want to put up with it or not.
    Full Review »
  3. J.C.
    Sep 7, 2005
    2
    I played this game for two days, it left me speechless, but not in a good day. I could not describe my thoughts about this game. If their was I played this game for two days, it left me speechless, but not in a good day. I could not describe my thoughts about this game. If their was ever game you would want to sink in the Atlantic Ocean, never to be seen again, this is it! Full Review »