Dead or Alive Xtreme Beach Volleyball Xbox

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jan 22, 2003
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattR.
    Feb 8, 2003
    2
    What a waste of graphics. The animations and the girls are gorgeous, but everything else is complete crap. The volleyball is an afterthought, and I can say that I've played vball games on the NES that were better and more fun than this. The point of the game--hold on to your seats--is just to sit around and pan the camera around your girl. That's it. It's cool for about 5 What a waste of graphics. The animations and the girls are gorgeous, but everything else is complete crap. The volleyball is an afterthought, and I can say that I've played vball games on the NES that were better and more fun than this. The point of the game--hold on to your seats--is just to sit around and pan the camera around your girl. That's it. It's cool for about 5 minutes, and even the loneliest gamers will tire of this in no time. Expand
  2. MikeL.
    Feb 8, 2003
    3
    Fantastic looking, also mindless. I couldn't believe there was nothing more to the game than looking at the girls.
  3. Neverthoughtofagoodnicknameformyself
    Feb 15, 2003
    2
    Those two points go to the intro movie as the rest of this "game" is crap. looking at girls is not a game, and as that is all this title offers this really isnt a game. for horny guys it's all good but for those looking for a game well you should look elsewhere.
  4. RayM.
    Feb 24, 2003
    2
    Beautiful graphics, poor game. The reason I can say this is because if the girls weren't there, NO ONE would even pick this title up. That should say alot. I rented it, and after about playing for an hour, I realized that I have better things to do with my time. I would have no complaints if the volleyball was deeper, but alas: it isn't.
  5. JamesS.
    Mar 11, 2003
    0
    A exploitative soft porn game for spotty teen boys and nerds who can't get a date and can't relate to "real" women. Makes me ashamed to own an xbox. And anyone who says "I bought it for the gameplay, it's surprisingly deep" is totally kidding themselves.
  6. KevinB.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Well Kevin R..it would seem we have come to some kind of agreement...on a whim, my friend brought it over to my house for us to "play"...while I actually wanted to play some volleyball, he wanted just to sit there and play the lame mini games... i personally think real girls are hotter then polygons..but thats just me i guess...the volleyball aspect is alright...could have been Well Kevin R..it would seem we have come to some kind of agreement...on a whim, my friend brought it over to my house for us to "play"...while I actually wanted to play some volleyball, he wanted just to sit there and play the lame mini games... i personally think real girls are hotter then polygons..but thats just me i guess...the volleyball aspect is alright...could have been better...confusing controls..the casino stuff was kinda cool for about 10 mins...but if you like fake women with HHH size boobs, knock yourself out... Expand
  7. AndrewM.
    Aug 18, 2003
    0
    This game is pathetic! It's just a load of pure exploitive crap...it's a real shame that game producers have to result to a bit of soft porn to help sell this pointless game! People that rate this game as 10 need to find themselves a real woman...and realise that they all don't walk around half naked!
  8. KevinR.
    Nov 11, 2004
    0
    Ok, yea the girls are nice, but lets face it. the gameplay is horrible, and there isnt much of it anyway. should i play volleyball, shop, or go to the casino? wow. after i realized what a loser i was for getting aroused by a bunch of computerized women, i decided to throw it away, stop sitting in my room masturbating to a stupid ass video game and find myself a real girl. all you dumbassesOk, yea the girls are nice, but lets face it. the gameplay is horrible, and there isnt much of it anyway. should i play volleyball, shop, or go to the casino? wow. after i realized what a loser i was for getting aroused by a bunch of computerized women, i decided to throw it away, stop sitting in my room masturbating to a stupid ass video game and find myself a real girl. all you dumbasses that gave this game a 10 are losers. Expand
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    Its better than the second installement but still only good for 2-3 hours.

Awards & Rankings

80
23
#23 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
8
#8 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. It's an experience you will tire of. The volleyball is good, and fun. The girls are gorgeous. The music isn't annoying. And there's the two-player mode. But just like real volleyball, the whole experience can only remain fresh for so long.
  2. Not only did Team Ninja make a game with the most beautiful virtual women of all time, but they also managed to make a fun game of volleyball, a solid gambling experience, and add social elements on top of it.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    84
    The volleyball is amazingly simple and compelling, while the rest of it has a tongue-in-cheek sensibility that knows exactly what it is - good cheescake fun with solid gameplay to back it up. [Mar 2003, p.72]