Dead or Alive Xtreme Beach Volleyball Xbox

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jan 22, 2003
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 47
  2. Negative: 10 out of 47
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CorinH.
    Mar 12, 2003
    3
    Graphics are nice... girls are nicer, but it doesn't make up for the poor gameplay, and shallow plot. I foolishly bought this depression and after an hour the thrill was gone. Suggest that you rent it and make sure your get your 4 dollars worth in the first couple of hours. That's about all it's worth anyway.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Feb 7, 2003
    10
    Simply Awesome.
  3. MattR.
    Feb 8, 2003
    2
    What a waste of graphics. The animations and the girls are gorgeous, but everything else is complete crap. The volleyball is an afterthought, and I can say that I've played vball games on the NES that were better and more fun than this. The point of the game--hold on to your seats--is just to sit around and pan the camera around your girl. That's it. It's cool for about 5 What a waste of graphics. The animations and the girls are gorgeous, but everything else is complete crap. The volleyball is an afterthought, and I can say that I've played vball games on the NES that were better and more fun than this. The point of the game--hold on to your seats--is just to sit around and pan the camera around your girl. That's it. It's cool for about 5 minutes, and even the loneliest gamers will tire of this in no time. Collapse
  4. PhantomRecon
    Feb 9, 2003
    10
    Great game, how can u say it isn't deep? i find it very enjoyable and worthwhile.
  5. LilBo
    Mar 10, 2003
    9
    Good game. It's actually surprisingly deep for a game made for guys to look at girls in skimpy bikinis. The poolside jumping game is pretty adictive and the volleyball is actually fun. Of course if your offended by beautiful girls, great graphics, or a fun time then by all means don't ever play this game!
  6. FlameSniper
    Jan 8, 2003
    7
    This Game rocks, i love it, it is so hot, the handling amazes me everytime i hold my joypad and let those girls jumps in their small, lil'.....hey wait, it isnt released yet...sorry about that.
  7. MikeL.
    Feb 8, 2003
    3
    Fantastic looking, also mindless. I couldn't believe there was nothing more to the game than looking at the girls.
  8. Roboy
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    I love this game!!! Especially after I bought this transparent swimming suit for Tina. Now I can play it for hours! Awesome!
  9. ZhongS.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    Its Madass.
  10. MikeR.
    May 3, 2003
    8
    Its a game made by team ninja, of course the graphix are going to be amazing. The actual gameplay is a lot of fun 2, taking a very arcady approach. Also, the gamblin is solid and the friend scheme is a good idea. Only thing that keeps this game from being godlike is the multiplayer, why couldn't it be 4 players? jeez, at least let player be on the same team.....
  11. MarcusN.
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!! game I am a fan of dead or alive series now DEAD OR ALIVE BEACH VOLLEYBALL is a wicked game mabe the best volleyball game out there today. it is sexy and sexiest but who cares EVERYONE GETS TURN ON BY COMPUTERIZED WOMEN LEIFANG KICK ASS!!!
  12. BilliamW.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Best Game Ever.
  13. AliciaC.
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Cool game play, graphics and sound!
  14. MairunaM.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    It is the best game.
  15. BrandonF.
    Feb 12, 2003
    10
    This is an amazing game, graphics are simply outstanding, and the game also has hours and hours of replay value.
  16. Neverthoughtofagoodnicknameformyself
    Feb 15, 2003
    2
    Those two points go to the intro movie as the rest of this "game" is crap. looking at girls is not a game, and as that is all this title offers this really isnt a game. for horny guys it's all good but for those looking for a game well you should look elsewhere.
  17. JohnP.
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    Spectacular!
  18. RayM.
    Feb 24, 2003
    2
    Beautiful graphics, poor game. The reason I can say this is because if the girls weren't there, NO ONE would even pick this title up. That should say alot. I rented it, and after about playing for an hour, I realized that I have better things to do with my time. I would have no complaints if the volleyball was deeper, but alas: it isn't.
  19. JamesS.
    Mar 11, 2003
    0
    A exploitative soft porn game for spotty teen boys and nerds who can't get a date and can't relate to "real" women. Makes me ashamed to own an xbox. And anyone who says "I bought it for the gameplay, it's surprisingly deep" is totally kidding themselves.
  20. RickS.
    Apr 25, 2003
    9
    Great Game.
  21. TaroH.
    Aug 28, 2004
    6
    Killer graphics! but lacks gameplay and has nude mode hahahaha...(send me e-mail if you want to see the video)
  22. Dakidski
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    The reason I got my xbox. Caters both hardcore and casual gamers. Could be the perfect entry into video-gaming for newcomers. Awesome soundtrack, sublime graphics makes this one unforgetable experience. Say, why not take a trip to Zack Island today?
  23. KevinB.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Well Kevin R..it would seem we have come to some kind of agreement...on a whim, my friend brought it over to my house for us to "play"...while I actually wanted to play some volleyball, he wanted just to sit there and play the lame mini games... i personally think real girls are hotter then polygons..but thats just me i guess...the volleyball aspect is alright...could have been Well Kevin R..it would seem we have come to some kind of agreement...on a whim, my friend brought it over to my house for us to "play"...while I actually wanted to play some volleyball, he wanted just to sit there and play the lame mini games... i personally think real girls are hotter then polygons..but thats just me i guess...the volleyball aspect is alright...could have been better...confusing controls..the casino stuff was kinda cool for about 10 mins...but if you like fake women with HHH size boobs, knock yourself out... Expand
  24. JugsterJam
    Feb 14, 2003
    8
    The graphics are great. The gameply is hard at first but picks up. Once you get use to the volleyball buttons like tapping a twice to volley etc, you start earning cash and buying new items, clothes, hats, nailpolish, suntan, shoes and videos for doa1 doa2 etc. The first time you play the game it feels annoying but as you get use to it and you start buying new items you want to play it The graphics are great. The gameply is hard at first but picks up. Once you get use to the volleyball buttons like tapping a twice to volley etc, you start earning cash and buying new items, clothes, hats, nailpolish, suntan, shoes and videos for doa1 doa2 etc. The first time you play the game it feels annoying but as you get use to it and you start buying new items you want to play it even more with different characters. Basically its all about dressing the girls up and then checking them out. The volleyball is the only event that has any gameplay. The play value is about a week. Expand
  25. AndrewM.
    Aug 18, 2003
    0
    This game is pathetic! It's just a load of pure exploitive crap...it's a real shame that game producers have to result to a bit of soft porn to help sell this pointless game! People that rate this game as 10 need to find themselves a real woman...and realise that they all don't walk around half naked!
  26. KevinR.
    Nov 11, 2004
    0
    Ok, yea the girls are nice, but lets face it. the gameplay is horrible, and there isnt much of it anyway. should i play volleyball, shop, or go to the casino? wow. after i realized what a loser i was for getting aroused by a bunch of computerized women, i decided to throw it away, stop sitting in my room masturbating to a stupid ass video game and find myself a real girl. all you dumbassesOk, yea the girls are nice, but lets face it. the gameplay is horrible, and there isnt much of it anyway. should i play volleyball, shop, or go to the casino? wow. after i realized what a loser i was for getting aroused by a bunch of computerized women, i decided to throw it away, stop sitting in my room masturbating to a stupid ass video game and find myself a real girl. all you dumbasses that gave this game a 10 are losers. Expand
  27. ZanderV.
    Dec 31, 2003
    7
    I give it a seven 'cause it's not like it totally sucked. I'll admit I was disappointed when I found out there was no nudity in the game and dissappointed when I found out it's only two players and the two players can't even play on the same team. But the casion games were good, playing Volleyball and the Hopping game aren't bad either. And the girls are hot I give it a seven 'cause it's not like it totally sucked. I'll admit I was disappointed when I found out there was no nudity in the game and dissappointed when I found out it's only two players and the two players can't even play on the same team. But the casion games were good, playing Volleyball and the Hopping game aren't bad either. And the girls are hot which is a plus, but it's not a game I would buy . . . Expand
  28. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    Its better than the second installement but still only good for 2-3 hours.

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#14 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. It's an experience you will tire of. The volleyball is good, and fun. The girls are gorgeous. The music isn't annoying. And there's the two-player mode. But just like real volleyball, the whole experience can only remain fresh for so long.
  2. Not only did Team Ninja make a game with the most beautiful virtual women of all time, but they also managed to make a fun game of volleyball, a solid gambling experience, and add social elements on top of it.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    84
    The volleyball is amazingly simple and compelling, while the rest of it has a tongue-in-cheek sensibility that knows exactly what it is - good cheescake fun with solid gameplay to back it up. [Mar 2003, p.72]