Deus Ex: Invisible War Xbox

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelR.
    Dec 8, 2003
    6
    Big shoes to fill, considering how good the first one was. This one's dumbed-down and much shorter, and stresses the choice angle instead of character development. Many things were changed that didn't need to be--weapons & ammo (everything uses the same ammo, and only 2 mods/wepaon are allowed), the interface (the new one looks cool at first but ends up being a neverending Big shoes to fill, considering how good the first one was. This one's dumbed-down and much shorter, and stresses the choice angle instead of character development. Many things were changed that didn't need to be--weapons & ammo (everything uses the same ammo, and only 2 mods/wepaon are allowed), the interface (the new one looks cool at first but ends up being a neverending nuisance) and skills acquisition (gone) come to mind. Mods are somewhat more useful (in particular, the obscenely high energy requirements for many have been reduced) but absurdly easy to get, and your success relies too heavily on them. The plot is interesting but much less engaging (and ultimately, surprising) than the original. I'd have been happier with an expansion pack that just smartened up the AI a little, improved the visuals, and left the interface alone. Considering they had three years to work on this, the shortness is truly disappointing. Could have been much better, but still a worthwhile diversion. Expand
  2. Uter
    Feb 10, 2004
    0
    I bought it, popped it in my xbox and it crashed after i selected my character. I returned the game, got a new copy and the exact same thing happens every time. It doesn't seem to be compatible with my xbox - very strange considering I own around 45 other xbox games that have never had problems.
  3. BrianK.
    Dec 4, 2003
    9
    Great Game!! Should be better reviews!! only 70 for 1up?!? CMON this is almost as good as Halo!!
  4. JohnP.
    Dec 6, 2003
    6
    Poor graphics, inintuitive UI, bad physics, linear, without any RPG elements except the simple *cough* biomods.
  5. BingH.
    Dec 6, 2003
    10
    Best game I have ever seen.
  6. BundisDito
    Jan 11, 2004
    5
    It looks good, but you pay for that with long load times. The level design is great in terms of artwork, but not in terms of layout. The levels are liberally splattered with huge, incongurous signs pointing the way to everything. I'm thinking especially of the Medinah in Cairo. It's like the artists finished the level, then some executive got lost, so they plastered huge "Plot It looks good, but you pay for that with long load times. The level design is great in terms of artwork, but not in terms of layout. The levels are liberally splattered with huge, incongurous signs pointing the way to everything. I'm thinking especially of the Medinah in Cairo. It's like the artists finished the level, then some executive got lost, so they plastered huge "Plot Point - This Way" arrows all over the game. The action is clunky due to the choppy framerate, and the stealth attempts are clumsy. It's like Splinter Cell for the simple-minded. The extras and manual make references to Thief 3, another Warren Spector series. I really hope they streamline things for Thief, or it'll spoil my PC memories of some great games. Expand
  7. JamesH.
    Mar 18, 2004
    8
    As with the preceding Deus Ex game, Invisible war is pitched as cross between the FPS and RPG genres. The degree to which you play to either of these styles is, to a certain extent, left up to you. However, due to certain (sadly quite noticeable) framerate issues I found the game most enjoyable if approached from a non-combative stealth perspective. It is allegedly possible to complete As with the preceding Deus Ex game, Invisible war is pitched as cross between the FPS and RPG genres. The degree to which you play to either of these styles is, to a certain extent, left up to you. However, due to certain (sadly quite noticeable) framerate issues I found the game most enjoyable if approached from a non-combative stealth perspective. It is allegedly possible to complete the game without firing a shot (i'll try this next time I play the game...). Whilst the story and plot is excellent and well told, it lacks the same level of attention to detail present in the first game and this is in some ways a little disappointing. Invisible War is still a very fine game though and minor niggles aside, well worth the 15 or so hours of your time you'll need to complete it. Expand
  8. ReeceS.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    Deus Ex gives you tons of options in finishing levels, as well as gives many side quests to keep you entertained, though the endings were quite disappointing.
  9. JohnS.
    Dec 26, 2003
    9
    This is certainly a runner-up candidate for RPG game of the year (next to Knights of the Old Republic and Morrowind). Although, it is a bit more linear than a traditional RPG, it does offer some FPShooter thrills. The story, mood, graphics, and gameplay make it almost as involving as Halo and KOTOR -- you just want to see how it ends. Also, you must give credit to Warren Spector for This is certainly a runner-up candidate for RPG game of the year (next to Knights of the Old Republic and Morrowind). Although, it is a bit more linear than a traditional RPG, it does offer some FPShooter thrills. The story, mood, graphics, and gameplay make it almost as involving as Halo and KOTOR -- you just want to see how it ends. Also, you must give credit to Warren Spector for making a game where you can use several different options (stealth, combat, social skills, biomods, robots) to acheive most any objective. In that respect, I tell people this is "KOTOR meets Splinter Cell", and favorably place it among those highly regarded works as among the best the Xbox offers. Expand
  10. Youaremydad.
    Dec 8, 2003
    8
    Being a serious Morrowind dork, I was really looking forward to a huge open-ended RPG. I've never played the first Deus Ex, but from the reviews I've read, I thought this game would blow me away. It's definitely a fun game, and somewhat open-ended -- but it doesn't blow me away. First of all, there's almost no freedom to explore the world of the game...you can go Being a serious Morrowind dork, I was really looking forward to a huge open-ended RPG. I've never played the first Deus Ex, but from the reviews I've read, I thought this game would blow me away. It's definitely a fun game, and somewhat open-ended -- but it doesn't blow me away. First of all, there's almost no freedom to explore the world of the game...you can go all over whatever city you're in, but you can't go back and forth at will between cities...the environments, though expansive and intricately designed, are more like levels in a shooter than "worlds" -- which bugs me because, like I said, I'm a serious Morrowind dork. Not to compare this game with Morrowind, though -- it's a completely different experience...so different I have a hard time thinking of it as an RPG. Much more action-oriented. A good example is that there's no resting or sleeping to heal yourself -- in an RPG, resting (or whatever they call it) is essential to maintaining the sense of an ongoing quest. Deus Ex forces you to find little bits of food or very randomly dispersed "medical bots" (unless you have the regeneration biomod, of course) . No inns, no home base, etc. This to me stinks of an action game. Then, of course, there's the lack of leveling up...though I do appreciate what Ion Storm tried to do in eliminating some RPG cliches, it's just not strong enough as a shooter to not be an RPG. Does that make sense? The lack of some typical RPG elements, like leveling up, "resting" or skills makes it frustrating if you approach the game as an RPG. At the same time, with the tendancy to go all crappy when more than two people are firing at you, it's also frustrating to approach it as a shooter. The story is interesting, but despite the ability to decide who you're working for, it's actually pretty linear. No matter what you decide, you're going to go to the same place as a result of it and either do one thing for one group or the opposite for the rival. Anyway, I don't mean to put the game down...exactly. I would've liked more freedom to roam and tweek my dude. Other than that I basically enjoy it. Expand
  11. PaulO.
    Jul 23, 2004
    5
    A disappointing sequel to an excellent game. Invisible war strips out everything that made the first one unique and enjoyable and leaves nothing but a skeleton of a game. There is no skill system, apparently you start off as an expert with a rail cannon the first time you use it. You're given pretty much all the nanotech enhancements you need at the start of the game. All guns have A disappointing sequel to an excellent game. Invisible war strips out everything that made the first one unique and enjoyable and leaves nothing but a skeleton of a game. There is no skill system, apparently you start off as an expert with a rail cannon the first time you use it. You're given pretty much all the nanotech enhancements you need at the start of the game. All guns have the same ammo. Let me repeat that, ALL GUNS HAVE THE SAME AMMO. Whoever thought that was a smart idea should learn the difference between a rocket and a 9mm bullet when they put it in the guy's head. They even made using keypads automatic... no more punching in numbers. It was inconvinent, yeah, but it put you in the world. It made the game feel more alive. They watered the game down WAY too much. The only reason I played all the way through this game is to see what happened to JC at the end. But the graphics sure are pretty, aren't they? Expand
  12. AlexN.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Best game of Christmas 2004! The bumped maping and awesome story and physics, I give it a 10!
  13. DillonS.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    This game is bad as hell. Better than the first. I have read breat reviews on it and i can't wait for it to come out.
  14. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    This is the only owned Xbox game I have ever played in my life. The controls are difficult for a FPS/RPG unless you master the controller. Despite weaker graphics and a weaker story, the overall gameplay is more tossed up than the original.
  15. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    Not a bad game by any means; but it's too small and it's too short. Deus ex was a far larger game. This game feels too console-y, which is odd as they managed to port the original Deus Ex to PS2 without losing too much of the feel of the PC version. As Mass Effect 2 reminded us, streamlining a game from the original doesn't always make for a better game.
  16. Aug 10, 2014
    4
    Didn't really liked this game, I thought the gameplay was boring and uninspired, the controls are sometimes a complete mess, and the plot is bland. My opinions only, end of discussion.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 8 / 7 / 8 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 810; 25 June 2004]
  2. No better and no worse a game than its predecessor, and there's absolutely no shame in that. And it's no airport novel, as it requires some serious time investment.
  3. Gorgeous to behold, boasting dynamic lights, shadows, and interactive environments, making it relatively easy to suspend disbelief. [Mar 2004, p.64]