User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianK.
    Dec 4, 2003
    9
    Great Game!! Should be better reviews!! only 70 for 1up?!? CMON this is almost as good as Halo!!
  2. BingH.
    Dec 6, 2003
    10
    Best game I have ever seen.
  3. JamesH.
    Mar 18, 2004
    8
    As with the preceding Deus Ex game, Invisible war is pitched as cross between the FPS and RPG genres. The degree to which you play to either of these styles is, to a certain extent, left up to you. However, due to certain (sadly quite noticeable) framerate issues I found the game most enjoyable if approached from a non-combative stealth perspective. It is allegedly possible to complete As with the preceding Deus Ex game, Invisible war is pitched as cross between the FPS and RPG genres. The degree to which you play to either of these styles is, to a certain extent, left up to you. However, due to certain (sadly quite noticeable) framerate issues I found the game most enjoyable if approached from a non-combative stealth perspective. It is allegedly possible to complete the game without firing a shot (i'll try this next time I play the game...). Whilst the story and plot is excellent and well told, it lacks the same level of attention to detail present in the first game and this is in some ways a little disappointing. Invisible War is still a very fine game though and minor niggles aside, well worth the 15 or so hours of your time you'll need to complete it. Expand
  4. ReeceS.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    Deus Ex gives you tons of options in finishing levels, as well as gives many side quests to keep you entertained, though the endings were quite disappointing.
  5. JohnS.
    Dec 26, 2003
    9
    This is certainly a runner-up candidate for RPG game of the year (next to Knights of the Old Republic and Morrowind). Although, it is a bit more linear than a traditional RPG, it does offer some FPShooter thrills. The story, mood, graphics, and gameplay make it almost as involving as Halo and KOTOR -- you just want to see how it ends. Also, you must give credit to Warren Spector for This is certainly a runner-up candidate for RPG game of the year (next to Knights of the Old Republic and Morrowind). Although, it is a bit more linear than a traditional RPG, it does offer some FPShooter thrills. The story, mood, graphics, and gameplay make it almost as involving as Halo and KOTOR -- you just want to see how it ends. Also, you must give credit to Warren Spector for making a game where you can use several different options (stealth, combat, social skills, biomods, robots) to acheive most any objective. In that respect, I tell people this is "KOTOR meets Splinter Cell", and favorably place it among those highly regarded works as among the best the Xbox offers. Expand
  6. Youaremydad.
    Dec 8, 2003
    8
    Being a serious Morrowind dork, I was really looking forward to a huge open-ended RPG. I've never played the first Deus Ex, but from the reviews I've read, I thought this game would blow me away. It's definitely a fun game, and somewhat open-ended -- but it doesn't blow me away. First of all, there's almost no freedom to explore the world of the game...you can go Being a serious Morrowind dork, I was really looking forward to a huge open-ended RPG. I've never played the first Deus Ex, but from the reviews I've read, I thought this game would blow me away. It's definitely a fun game, and somewhat open-ended -- but it doesn't blow me away. First of all, there's almost no freedom to explore the world of the game...you can go all over whatever city you're in, but you can't go back and forth at will between cities...the environments, though expansive and intricately designed, are more like levels in a shooter than "worlds" -- which bugs me because, like I said, I'm a serious Morrowind dork. Not to compare this game with Morrowind, though -- it's a completely different experience...so different I have a hard time thinking of it as an RPG. Much more action-oriented. A good example is that there's no resting or sleeping to heal yourself -- in an RPG, resting (or whatever they call it) is essential to maintaining the sense of an ongoing quest. Deus Ex forces you to find little bits of food or very randomly dispersed "medical bots" (unless you have the regeneration biomod, of course) . No inns, no home base, etc. This to me stinks of an action game. Then, of course, there's the lack of leveling up...though I do appreciate what Ion Storm tried to do in eliminating some RPG cliches, it's just not strong enough as a shooter to not be an RPG. Does that make sense? The lack of some typical RPG elements, like leveling up, "resting" or skills makes it frustrating if you approach the game as an RPG. At the same time, with the tendancy to go all crappy when more than two people are firing at you, it's also frustrating to approach it as a shooter. The story is interesting, but despite the ability to decide who you're working for, it's actually pretty linear. No matter what you decide, you're going to go to the same place as a result of it and either do one thing for one group or the opposite for the rival. Anyway, I don't mean to put the game down...exactly. I would've liked more freedom to roam and tweek my dude. Other than that I basically enjoy it. Expand
  7. AlexN.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Best game of Christmas 2004! The bumped maping and awesome story and physics, I give it a 10!
  8. DillonS.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    This game is bad as hell. Better than the first. I have read breat reviews on it and i can't wait for it to come out.
  9. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    Not a bad game by any means; but it's too small and it's too short. Deus ex was a far larger game. This game feels too console-y, which is odd as they managed to port the original Deus Ex to PS2 without losing too much of the feel of the PC version. As Mass Effect 2 reminded us, streamlining a game from the original doesn't always make for a better game.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 8 / 7 / 8 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 810; 25 June 2004]
  2. No better and no worse a game than its predecessor, and there's absolutely no shame in that. And it's no airport novel, as it requires some serious time investment.
  3. Gorgeous to behold, boasting dynamic lights, shadows, and interactive environments, making it relatively easy to suspend disbelief. [Mar 2004, p.64]