Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil Xbox

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    I really liked doom 3 and was quite excited for an expansion though It did get a bit boring after a while of playing it. I guess the new stuff they added was quite fun and interesting but it still felt like a drag on from doom 3
  2. WilliamT.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    One of the games that I still play on my XBox. Doom 3 ROE is pretty much the same game as Doom 3, but it IS an expansion. The same demon killing, flashlight waving, PDA reading game as before. But that's not really a bad thing really. ROE also comes bundeled with the Classic Doom games, so you practically get 4 games for half the price of a regular game. It's fun, frantic and One of the games that I still play on my XBox. Doom 3 ROE is pretty much the same game as Doom 3, but it IS an expansion. The same demon killing, flashlight waving, PDA reading game as before. But that's not really a bad thing really. ROE also comes bundeled with the Classic Doom games, so you practically get 4 games for half the price of a regular game. It's fun, frantic and great value for money. Collapse
  3. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    This is a jewel for anyone looking for a fast-paced, action packed suspense adventure. The enemies are ferocious. The gameplay is intense.
  4. JoiF.
    Nov 22, 2005
    7
    I have recently beaten Halo 2, Doom 3 ROE, Far Cry and Brother In Arms. Doom 3 brings the best visual, the enviroment and graphic elements seem very real, awesome job. However... I expected far more from it. The single player experience was too s-h-o-r-t. Moreover, I think that the development team have wasted their enormous talent with a bad story line... flying skulls, monsters, demons I have recently beaten Halo 2, Doom 3 ROE, Far Cry and Brother In Arms. Doom 3 brings the best visual, the enviroment and graphic elements seem very real, awesome job. However... I expected far more from it. The single player experience was too s-h-o-r-t. Moreover, I think that the development team have wasted their enormous talent with a bad story line... flying skulls, monsters, demons and zombies that pop out from nowhere? This sounds more like a bad heavy metal lyrics. Shooting the double barrel shotgun was fun though. Expand
  5. GregoryS.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Man this game is breath taking man especially on line i got to have it man!
  6. JaceN.
    Nov 4, 2005
    5
    It really seems like "okay weve got the new double barreled shotgun, the grabber tool and the heart of hell artifact...now we need an excuse to se them". From the very beginning this continuation played like ID is trying to milk every last drop out tof the biggest success theyve had in years. I can see them years from now making Doom 4 acting like the events of Doom 3 ROE never It really seems like "okay weve got the new double barreled shotgun, the grabber tool and the heart of hell artifact...now we need an excuse to se them". From the very beginning this continuation played like ID is trying to milk every last drop out tof the biggest success theyve had in years. I can see them years from now making Doom 4 acting like the events of Doom 3 ROE never happened...just like they did with 2 in making 3 in the first place. And the sloppy Bink video playback ingame makes no concessions to the fact that the XBOX has three different known DVD drive brands (Thompson at worst, Samsung at best and Phillips in between)...so the stuttering video disks were scarier than the actual monsters. Expand
  7. Megatron
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    All the things that made the pc version so popular r here,the graphics(although the old and by far less powerful then nowdays pc graphic cards set ups)the atmosphere,the action,all made it almost intact compared to the pc bench marking counterpart!!!I was suprised with the magnifiscent job that the developers can do with the existing xbox hardware...Anyway,the expansion feels abit more All the things that made the pc version so popular r here,the graphics(although the old and by far less powerful then nowdays pc graphic cards set ups)the atmosphere,the action,all made it almost intact compared to the pc bench marking counterpart!!!I was suprised with the magnifiscent job that the developers can do with the existing xbox hardware...Anyway,the expansion feels abit more equal to the older doom versions,since now the action in the expansion is more frenetic than the original doom 3(more and new enemies coming at u)with addition,that make it different than the doom 3 like the artifact ,,grabber and double-barrel shotgun,changing and giving the player the opportunity to the player to try more methods of demon extermination..i wish the previous doom 3 was more like the expansion...Good last ability (4 an expansion that is!)nicer graphic touches and more diverse enviroments than b4,2 bad that it did not last more than 7-10 hours( with no co- op addition,which i think that this time it would b more difficult to make since its already graphically more complex for the xbox for 2 players),awsome bosses sequences and in general,more doom ...Athough the element of terror that the original gave is now less noticeable(meaning that playing the first,which has scared the crap out of anyone,it feels more action and less scarier)it is still a game to recall as a bed wetter.nayone should give it at least a try! Expand
  8. MikeK.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    Ummm...It is an expansion. So um yeah...its basically the same game. And If I recall back to several months ago, a really good game at that. Buy it if you liked the first, don't if you didn't. Make sense doesn't it.
  9. Alex
    Oct 18, 2005
    7
    Feels more like an "extension" rather than an "expansion". the game introduces the cool points (such as the Artifact and the Grabber) way too fast, then settles back into a routine pattern that follows perhaps too closely to Doom 3 (it should have branched out a little more than "oh my god, its happening again"). but, its still hella fun, and the new enemies are pretty cool. the DoubleFeels more like an "extension" rather than an "expansion". the game introduces the cool points (such as the Artifact and the Grabber) way too fast, then settles back into a routine pattern that follows perhaps too closely to Doom 3 (it should have branched out a little more than "oh my god, its happening again"). but, its still hella fun, and the new enemies are pretty cool. the Double Barrel Shotgun makes a nice return as well. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Nerve has stuck enough diverse tweaks into the format to make for a thrilling, admittedly more terrifying experience. Resurrection of Evil is a much better game than "Doom III." Trust me.
  2. The inclusion of the early Doom games with multiplayer is a great perk which really increases the longevity of this package, which is pretty important because this game is pretty short.
  3. It's business as usual as this expansion retains the essence of the original, with the addition of new weapons and redesigned levels, expect for the disappointing online play.