Doom 3 Xbox

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 116
  2. Negative: 21 out of 116
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    i got bfg edition for pc, but the xbox 2005 version of doom 3 was the best. i had my original copy from hollywood (out of business for 6 years) and i still get sad sometimes that it just disappered on me. just looking at the cover reminds me of the day i bought it with driver 3 almost 10 years ago.
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    6
    Rather underwhelming when compared to the first two games. Visually it was breathtaking on the Xbox when it first came out, sound and score created a nice creepy atmosphere. Gameplay feels a little dumbed down most of the time, trying too hard to supplement jump scares for the heart pounding action of the previous games.

    Overall: While it was a good attempt to bring Doom to the modern
    Rather underwhelming when compared to the first two games. Visually it was breathtaking on the Xbox when it first came out, sound and score created a nice creepy atmosphere. Gameplay feels a little dumbed down most of the time, trying too hard to supplement jump scares for the heart pounding action of the previous games.

    Overall:
    While it was a good attempt to bring Doom to the modern age, it sacrifices too much of what made the first games great: Fear inducing non-stop action.
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Probably the best FPS on the XBox. Games like Dead Space and F.E.A.R. wish they are this awesome. Everything about Doom 3 is excellent. Naturally the graphics are killer, the sound design is freaky, and the attention to detail is ridiculous. It's not the most frightening game you'll ever play, but it's still good for a few scares here or there. A definite must own for any FPS fan.
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Great game will be one of the greatest horror games of all time great transformation from arcade to fps the only bad thing is they should have had a weapon with the light for how much you have to use it they fixed it in ROE though
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Oh man was I excited when I finally got my hands on this game. I've been a die-hard Doom fan since I was 4, watching my dad play and cheering him on. The originals still make me scream like a little kid and nearly throw my laptop away when a monster suddenly appears in front of you. Doom 3, however, didn't feel much like a Doom game. I feel like they focused too much on a scary atmosphereOh man was I excited when I finally got my hands on this game. I've been a die-hard Doom fan since I was 4, watching my dad play and cheering him on. The originals still make me scream like a little kid and nearly throw my laptop away when a monster suddenly appears in front of you. Doom 3, however, didn't feel much like a Doom game. I feel like they focused too much on a scary atmosphere (which they did very well, mind you) rather than trying to stay true to the originals. But, it is still a great game. Probably the most frustrating aspect is that you can't have your flashlight and gun out at the same time. FIND SOME DAMN DUCT TAPE. Thank god they fixed that problem in Resurrection of Evil. I also really wished I had access to the super shotgun to wreck everything in my path like I did in Doom 2. But, the monsters were a nice revamp of the original designs of the monsters. I especially enjoyed the Hell Knights. I LOVED the carnage the chaingun brought about. The chainsaw? Everything fell before me. No living being stood a chance. Best part? Going to Hell. The Cherubs were the most terrifying thing I have ever experienced... This game is great, I definitely recommend this game. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    Are you looking for a super enjoyable shooter that will give you one heck of a challenge? or are you looking for a good survival horror game? well no matter which one of the two you are looking for if you have an original Xbox still this is the game for you, it's really challenging as enemies are smart and tough, and supplies like ammo, health, and armor are limited, but the game neverAre you looking for a super enjoyable shooter that will give you one heck of a challenge? or are you looking for a good survival horror game? well no matter which one of the two you are looking for if you have an original Xbox still this is the game for you, it's really challenging as enemies are smart and tough, and supplies like ammo, health, and armor are limited, but the game never feels too hard do to the weapons pack a satisfying punch, while it's a fantastic FPS, it's only a good survival horror game, the creepy deserted space station is a fantastic setting and really does give you goosebumps when you enter a hallway covered in words written in blood, but it's not really scary in the sense that you'll be like OMG MONSTER!!!! or OMG WHAT WAS THAT!!!! although the game does try this with things that jump out at you, those never really frightened me (only one caused me to jump), the scary part is that your almost without ammo, have low health and armor, and a demon is charging right at you, also the sound design is fantastic, every creak and groan you here will have you looking all around for a demon, and the weapons sound fantastic, and the audio logs you'll find are extremely well acted out, the story isn't really all that deep, basically a portal to hell has been opened on Mars and your a super tough space marine who has to set things right, and the game ends rather abruptly, I never realized I had beaten the last boss until the credits had started to roll, and there is some lag when you try to bring up your PDA and the pause menu, and there is obviously no more online multiplayer, but these flaws are minor in comparison to what may be one of the greatest first person shooters of all time. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    I've had this game sitting around for a while, and I finally decided to give it a go. The game seemed really simple but immediately had me hooked and made me sit through it all in one sitting. It had some cool guns and the fighting was fun and really frequent. The game never scared me, but that's just because I'm not easily scared by a lot of things. The enviroment was kinda lame with manyI've had this game sitting around for a while, and I finally decided to give it a go. The game seemed really simple but immediately had me hooked and made me sit through it all in one sitting. It had some cool guns and the fighting was fun and really frequent. The game never scared me, but that's just because I'm not easily scared by a lot of things. The enviroment was kinda lame with many shades of grey and brownish red all the time. The worst part was the lack of a checkpoint and respawn system and the fact I had to quicksave frequently to make sure I didn't lose too much progress only to have a fat loading screen greet me every time I died. This version makes me want to try out the PC version even more. Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    doom is the game that really took the hole FPS game and shot it off into the huge genra it is today. it deffinitly changes the formula abit and im alittle mixed on it . doom was well known for its massive hordes of enimys you will be shooting your way through. in this version not alot of enimys but the game is set up to be more chlostrophobic and darker and make you worry about runningdoom is the game that really took the hole FPS game and shot it off into the huge genra it is today. it deffinitly changes the formula abit and im alittle mixed on it . doom was well known for its massive hordes of enimys you will be shooting your way through. in this version not alot of enimys but the game is set up to be more chlostrophobic and darker and make you worry about running into a enimy . it works for the most part and is still a fun game but you never get that dozens of enimys charging out at you moments like in prevous doom games . still i enjoyed it . Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    It's simple, scary fun. As I am writing this review, Microsoft has already shut down the original Xbox online servers, so I can't play co-op or multiplayer. That's a shame because the production of the single-player is fantastic, so I would assume that the other modes would be great too. Repetitive scenery is probably my only gripe, otherwise the gameplay is awesome.
  10. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 6, 2007
    2
    After the initial scary hour, its steadily down hill from that. I went back to play Doom 2, and honestly that is a far better game than this crap! Far worse than what most of these under the table critics are waffling!
  11. TomG.
    May 6, 2007
    8
    It's a good game, but when you compare Doom 3 to it's PC counter-part, the PC version is better. The graphical quality is less than the PC version, but it still provides all the action you need to enjoy it, framerate issues aside. The weapons and special effects are magnificent, and for a game released in 2004, the best visuals I have ever seen. If you want quality, get the Doom It's a good game, but when you compare Doom 3 to it's PC counter-part, the PC version is better. The graphical quality is less than the PC version, but it still provides all the action you need to enjoy it, framerate issues aside. The weapons and special effects are magnificent, and for a game released in 2004, the best visuals I have ever seen. If you want quality, get the Doom 3 PC version. If you are on a budget, get the Doom 3 Xbox version. Expand
  12. abadman
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    very scary,amazing graphics & fantastic atmosphere.Game play is brilliant too.
  13. LiamP.
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    It has been said before and needs to be said again. This game will take you on a ride you will not soon forget. Frights galore with creative level design and creatures. For the faint of heart, this is the game that you are terrified of but engrossed with all the while. The game seems to go by shockingly fast even though it is actually quite a long game. The only cons are the limited It has been said before and needs to be said again. This game will take you on a ride you will not soon forget. Frights galore with creative level design and creatures. For the faint of heart, this is the game that you are terrified of but engrossed with all the while. The game seems to go by shockingly fast even though it is actually quite a long game. The only cons are the limited multiplayer options and some replayability issues. DO NOT make the mistake of overlooking this game! Expand
  14. RandyM.
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    I was a little nervous when I first heard this game was being ported over to the Xbox, but after playing it, I came to the conclusion that this game is better than the PC version. With very smooth controls, fast weapon switching, and definetely the most frightening encounters i've experienced in any game, this is one game everyone must play. A classic.
  15. JaceN.
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    Its good to see a game in this day and age that doesnt force you to creep around avoiding cameras or guards or its "Mission Failed", or go about pointlessly unlocking things to gratify the developers egos. Doom 3 has held my attention longer than any of these upstart new franchises were seeing now as it provides that bloodlust we forgot when games became more about gimmicks than gameplay!
  16. Rick
    Nov 21, 2005
    0
    Very repetitive... very repetitive, sorry did I say that twice? Its just like the game. Also quite boring too. After playing for about an hour, you've got the FULL scare of this FPS with all its "hidden" AI. A waste of your money and time.
  17. JoeM.
    Nov 10, 2005
    9
    This game craps on all other FPS's (Halos aside) from a very great height, it shows Far Cry Instincts where to stick it!
  18. Susan
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Doom 3 is an awesome game! It has fun moments, such as being able to wield the chainsaw for the first time and then "testing" it on zombies and dead bodies...blood and guts splattering everywhere. The shotgun is a fun-to-use weapon too, since it's helpful, considering that many of the encounters are up-close (and shotguns are meant for close range), though that sometimes, if Doom 3 is an awesome game! It has fun moments, such as being able to wield the chainsaw for the first time and then "testing" it on zombies and dead bodies...blood and guts splattering everywhere. The shotgun is a fun-to-use weapon too, since it's helpful, considering that many of the encounters are up-close (and shotguns are meant for close range), though that sometimes, if you're close enough to a zombie and unload buckshot into his stomach he'll burst in bloody pieces and you can see his red-stained skeleton. Graphically, this game is excellent as well, though that the PC version is supposed to be better (I haven't played the PC version, so I'm not so sure), and the dark, gritty atmosphere it provides, along with the really cool, detailed monsters can give a few minor scares every now and then. If you're like me, though, you may not get so scared, because when I played it, I didn't get too freaked out, but some parts were sort of freaky. A thing, though, the surprise/scare parts can get predictable at times. The Limited Collector's Edition (which I have and I think is great) comes with ports of the original Ultimate Doom and Doom II, plus some other features. Well, I really love this game, but you'll have to just play it and see for yourself!! Get it now!! Expand
  19. J.T.
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    This game flatout AMAZED me. Having played it on PC I was surpised to see how AWESOME this port really looked. I was really impressed. Looks crazy good for a current gen game running at 480p
  20. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    8
    One of the greatest single player first person shooters comes to the Xbox. The graphics engine is all the buzz lately, and it IS very impressive, even in the port to the Xbox. Gameplay is your standard FPS fare, with a great innovative option that allows you to map any four weapons you want to the D-Pad for quick access. It may seem like a 'small thing', but its actually a great One of the greatest single player first person shooters comes to the Xbox. The graphics engine is all the buzz lately, and it IS very impressive, even in the port to the Xbox. Gameplay is your standard FPS fare, with a great innovative option that allows you to map any four weapons you want to the D-Pad for quick access. It may seem like a 'small thing', but its actually a great thing with the different types of enemies you may encounter subsequently. The sound is also very impressive. As you walk down the wrecked halls of the UAC facility, you will hear ambient music every once in a while, but mostly the sound is dominated by what is going on around you. A great deal of atmospheric sound. Can easily creep you out, especially when you hear something that you can't see. However, as with all games, there ARE some downsides. One would be the darkness that everyone complains about. Sure, it creates a great atmosphere, but it can be extremely annoying at times. Another thing is the repeated appearance of some of the same monesters, with a lack of others, as well as the way monsters will appear out of nowhere behind you. Don't get me wrong, its a great scare, but it can be extremely annoying at times. Overall, a great game, and definitley a must-have for diehard FPS and horror fans. Expand
  21. Jazzbo
    Jun 17, 2005
    6
    Biggest pros: Game play, graphics, lighting, look/feel Biggest cons: campaign felt mostly SSDD from one scenario to the next, no split-screen multiplayer (for those of us that aren't online and/or like to frag friends that we can also throw Corn-Nuts at), didn't live up to th hype.
  22. LaneC.
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Turn the lights out, turn up the volume, kick everyone out of the room and get ready to die alone in outer space. It's a lot more fun than it sounds. Very, very scary. The weapons are a lot of fun and the progression through the areas is very creative. It's not just level 1: small monsters/ puzzle/ bigger monster/ boss level 2: small monsters/ puzzle/ bigger monster boss. The Turn the lights out, turn up the volume, kick everyone out of the room and get ready to die alone in outer space. It's a lot more fun than it sounds. Very, very scary. The weapons are a lot of fun and the progression through the areas is very creative. It's not just level 1: small monsters/ puzzle/ bigger monster/ boss level 2: small monsters/ puzzle/ bigger monster boss. The problems with this game are the fact that you cannot help but think of Half Life in several places. Also, the final boss was definitely not the most difficult part of the game. It was such a good time though. Collapse
  23. JeffA.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Can a videogame actually be scary in the desensitized world we live in today? Yes. Doom 3 actually is a scary and creepy game. It has given me nightmares and I'm 39 years old. The graphics, controls, sounds and ambiance are terrific. Nothing like walking around a darkened room and turning around onkly to find a demonic zombie like creature a breath away from you. Creepy, scary and Can a videogame actually be scary in the desensitized world we live in today? Yes. Doom 3 actually is a scary and creepy game. It has given me nightmares and I'm 39 years old. The graphics, controls, sounds and ambiance are terrific. Nothing like walking around a darkened room and turning around onkly to find a demonic zombie like creature a breath away from you. Creepy, scary and fun. Shut the lights and turn up the volume. Doom 3 is here. Expand
  24. NickT.
    Jun 10, 2005
    6
    I was very impressed by this game... FOR THE FIRST HOUR! Sure, this game is mighty pretty but that doesn't make up for the fact that it is the most repetitive FPS of the last few years. The "amazing atmosphere" that critics speak of can be found, but it only lingers for a small amount of time because after an hour or so of gameplay one knows what to expect around the next corner. The I was very impressed by this game... FOR THE FIRST HOUR! Sure, this game is mighty pretty but that doesn't make up for the fact that it is the most repetitive FPS of the last few years. The "amazing atmosphere" that critics speak of can be found, but it only lingers for a small amount of time because after an hour or so of gameplay one knows what to expect around the next corner. The entire game is played throughout the same metal corridors with a few minutes of playtime in Hell. This game is fun, of course, but suffice to say that if this game had the same graphics of say... Halo or Area 51, it would not be touted as the game the critics are touting it as. I understand that this game was meant to hark back to the days of the original, old-school Doom and I appreciate that fact, but gamers craving innovation will be gravely dissappointed. I am perfectly open to mindless shooting, but it better not be presented in the same, boring, brooding hallways for more than 8 hours. Rent this, play it for a few hours, then return it. For the love of MONEY do not waste $50 on this game. Fin. Expand
  25. RichieB.
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    It's great.
  26. angelDescent
    May 25, 2005
    9
    One of the best fps on the xbox. if you rank it (no.1 doom3,no.2 chronicles of riddick, no.3 halo) The best feature of doom3 was the sound listen while youre walking on the dark areas of the game, you could hear the specific kind of demon youre about to encounter, you could hear them taunting you, laughing at you in a scary way. The graphics is second best though not as crisp as the pcOne of the best fps on the xbox. if you rank it (no.1 doom3,no.2 chronicles of riddick, no.3 halo) The best feature of doom3 was the sound listen while youre walking on the dark areas of the game, you could hear the specific kind of demon youre about to encounter, you could hear them taunting you, laughing at you in a scary way. The graphics is second best though not as crisp as the pc version but who cares not all ppl has that kind of pc beefed up to play the game, atleast i could play it on the xbox. Third best in the game is the weapon the pistol, shotgun, chaingun, etc. and also fists using it is so much fun, the clever use of the d-pad was absolutely great changing weapon is so fast paced and well-layed out controls. The use of flashlight was terrific way of scaring the hell out of me(changing from flashlight to weapon was so brilliant) The fourth best thing in the game was the interface of the storage locker, door, computer was so pretty and so futuristic(really made me optimistic for the future of gaming) The best singleplayer fps ive played on the xbox. Expand
  27. JeffreyN.
    May 22, 2005
    6
    This game was o.k. I expected it to be way better. This game had o.k. graphics and weird monsters. This game was not that great. Not even close to worth buying though.
  28. SaskaN.
    May 16, 2005
    8
    Not scary but very exciting game. Some parts of the game repeats itself but presentation is great. Simply entertaining and straight FPS. Rating is for Limited Edition with original Dooms.
  29. RichardS.
    May 3, 2005
    3
    How do you spell O-V-E-R-H-Y-P-E-D? Oh yes, "Doom 3", that's how. Yes the environment looks good, but nothing like as immersive and "wow!" inducing as Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath. And that's it for good points. As for bad, try: boring; repetitive; silly; boring; frustrating; unscary; oh, and booooorrrrriiiiiinnnnggggg. Wandering around looking for bigger guns whilst killing How do you spell O-V-E-R-H-Y-P-E-D? Oh yes, "Doom 3", that's how. Yes the environment looks good, but nothing like as immersive and "wow!" inducing as Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath. And that's it for good points. As for bad, try: boring; repetitive; silly; boring; frustrating; unscary; oh, and booooorrrrriiiiiinnnnggggg. Wandering around looking for bigger guns whilst killing zombies is so old hat it's not funny. Horror games are not my bag to start with, but when they are this linear and repetitive it's beyond a joke. As for scares, it found it more frustrating than terrifying - it's just plain annoying the way the zombies would creep out from behind a cabinet. It's also frustratingly unrealistic, even for a fantasy game. All the levels are too similar. And I agree with the reviewer about he machine gun - sounds more like a staple gun. All gloss and no gameplay. Rent it, play it for an hour, and then move on with your life. Expand
  30. ZippyZ.
    May 2, 2005
    2
    This game was uber boring....why all the hype? I was tired of walking around the same dark hallways after about 15 minutes. Yawn...
  31. TommyC.
    May 2, 2005
    6
    Doom 3 is a special horror ever. I like very much this game because it has a good sound and good graphics. Thank You.
  32. DaneR.
    Apr 28, 2005
    7
    When I first got the collectors addtion it was great with different modes{ Doom 1 Doom 2 and Doom 3} when i played Doom 3 it was okay but there wasnt many ways to get through the game but then i looked and found a cheat that would make me invincible so the game would be possible to beat.
  33. CoryK.
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    Very scary but it is too linear and doesn't offer different ways to progress through the game.
  34. AB
    Apr 27, 2005
    2
    I really don't get why critics rave about the Xbox version of Doom 3 even more than the PC version. The truth is that it's boring after less than an hour, and the ports of Doom and Doom II on the Collector's Edition only reinforce the fact that there is no variety offered. The PC version was mediocre, and the Xbox version is bad. It's that simple. It isn't scary, I really don't get why critics rave about the Xbox version of Doom 3 even more than the PC version. The truth is that it's boring after less than an hour, and the ports of Doom and Doom II on the Collector's Edition only reinforce the fact that there is no variety offered. The PC version was mediocre, and the Xbox version is bad. It's that simple. It isn't scary, it isn't fun, it isn't worth my time. Expand
  35. Alex
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    Well, Doom 3 isn't bad, but it isn't great. its got a ways to go before it can match up with recent big-hitters such as Halo 2 or Half-Life 2. graphics are pure eye candy, and the game is fairly scary. it starts out by getting you into a nice false sence of security (but not so much that the opening climax doesn't make sence), then escalates into an all out frag fest withWell, Doom 3 isn't bad, but it isn't great. its got a ways to go before it can match up with recent big-hitters such as Halo 2 or Half-Life 2. graphics are pure eye candy, and the game is fairly scary. it starts out by getting you into a nice false sence of security (but not so much that the opening climax doesn't make sence), then escalates into an all out frag fest with demons and zomibes. however, even through all the chaos and spookiness, Doom 3 manages to remain somewhat shallow and prepetitive. and whats the point of that annoying screen blur every time you take damage? Expand
  36. B-Ware
    Apr 26, 2005
    4
    doesn't get much more disappointing than this...don't waste your time :(
  37. JohnS.
    Apr 24, 2005
    8
    It's true that this is more of a demo of their incredible engine that a real game. "Half Life 2" blows it out of the water in a hundred different ways. Still, this is a worthy rental that demonstrates the powerhouse hardware of the Xbox while also being a fun ride. *** What makes it incredible are the graphics, lighting, sound, fun co-op, good controls, and creepy atmopshere. What It's true that this is more of a demo of their incredible engine that a real game. "Half Life 2" blows it out of the water in a hundred different ways. Still, this is a worthy rental that demonstrates the powerhouse hardware of the Xbox while also being a fun ride. *** What makes it incredible are the graphics, lighting, sound, fun co-op, good controls, and creepy atmopshere. What makes is lousy is incredibly repetitve goals, bland level design, monotonous levels, and stupid AI. *** Were they trying to be "retro" with all the steps backward? Because all it really seemed like I was playing the run-and-gun Doom 2 with photorealistic graphics and a heavier atmosphere. Oh well, it does get extra points for genuinely being scary and a not a bad game. Expand
  38. MC
    Apr 24, 2005
    3
    Looked good for a split second....then it gets repetitive. Got bored in about 2 hours of play, because the gameplay is so weak.
  39. Megatron
    Apr 20, 2005
    9
    One of the main reasons i bought an xbox,was the promise that it would one day play the sequel of my all time and almost forgotten by time favourite franchise,doom 1+2! And you know what? It finally arrived to my favourite console!Although i already played it on a high end p(iece of)c(rap),and was both satisfied and unhappy with the way the game turned out after the tremendous hype and One of the main reasons i bought an xbox,was the promise that it would one day play the sequel of my all time and almost forgotten by time favourite franchise,doom 1+2! And you know what? It finally arrived to my favourite console!Although i already played it on a high end p(iece of)c(rap),and was both satisfied and unhappy with the way the game turned out after the tremendous hype and wait,it is still as one of the best games i played,nice graphics(difficult inviroments,lighting and shadowing,but medium quality textures)gameplay(pros :old school fun,cons:2 old school for its time!)sound(truly immersive and atmospheric,no soundtrack though)plot(pros:simplistic,gets right2the point,cons:2 simplistic)time length(legthy,but qiute repetitive sometimes)and innovations(new mosters,weapons,but lack of some of the originals).the xbox version might have some disadvantages(less aliasing and resolution,butsolid framerate and a graphics result that many newer graph cards would envy!)but the co-op rocks all the way!Also the collectors edition with doom 1+2,plus the 4 split screen co-op,beats many other shooters on xbox.Hey ,its not halo(my 2nd best fps after deus EX1) on action or mutiplayer and plot,it is not riddick with the self shadowing and the great hybrid gameplay it offers,it not rainbow six in realism or half life + halo in the A.I. sector,but it is the Hell one if not the most frightening expierience you will live though a mouse keyboard or pad!And that s why it takes a special place in my heart!Hail to Vicarious Visions for the best pc to console port EVER!And HAIL to XBOX!! Expand
  40. Thad
    Apr 19, 2005
    4
    The monsters are gruesome and evil looking, but you can only kill so long before you get desensitized to hell. This game got old fast.
  41. ClintonT.
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    One of the scariest games ive ever played, It really makes you afraid to move into the next room. It definantly does it's job.
  42. KMan
    Apr 15, 2005
    4
    Ugly game. They said it would be graphically like Ultra Hight on pc. But no... the xbox version is low or at most medium, compared to pc. And they also said that nothing would be changed... well the maps are alot smaller and claustrophopic. And dont get me started on the plot.. it sucks.
  43. MichaelV.
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    Excellent entertainment! Fast, creepy, awesome sound and graphics, and the sentry bots rock!
  44. MikeW.
    Apr 12, 2005
    9
    A solid action title that calls back the infancy of first person shooters. I can understand how the intentionally old school gameplay might get some people in a knot. But, ultimately the gameplay feels right at home, and the flashlight mechanic, though a little tedious but it does add an interesting game mechanic. Also what was Max R. talking about? The one thing everyone can agree on is A solid action title that calls back the infancy of first person shooters. I can understand how the intentionally old school gameplay might get some people in a knot. But, ultimately the gameplay feels right at home, and the flashlight mechanic, though a little tedious but it does add an interesting game mechanic. Also what was Max R. talking about? The one thing everyone can agree on is the game looks unbeliebable. Max get your eyes checked. Expand
  45. Nihilistic
    Apr 12, 2005
    6
    Wow, I was really expecting to love this game but I have to definitely agree with the reviewers who noted that the game offers very little in the way of innovation. The gameplay is extremely linear and straight-forward and are very few opportunities offering any kind of open-endedness to the gameplay. You basically follow the track they've laid out for you the entire game, with the Wow, I was really expecting to love this game but I have to definitely agree with the reviewers who noted that the game offers very little in the way of innovation. The gameplay is extremely linear and straight-forward and are very few opportunities offering any kind of open-endedness to the gameplay. You basically follow the track they've laid out for you the entire game, with the minor exception of sometimes being able to take an air vent shortcut here and there, blecch. The gameplay tends to get repetitive very quickly and I often had to force myself to pick up the controller and play this game rather than have that enjoyable feeling where you are dying to play the game every chance you can get (which is the true sign of a great video game). The scenery gets tedious after a while as you can only see so many pipes and metal rooms and corridors before you want to kill yourself. There are very few interactive things to play with in the rooms but one of the touches I did actually enjoy was using the computers and the PDAs. I liked how your target turned into a cursor whenever you ran it over a computer screen and I also enjoyed the audio and video files you were able to pick up and use on your PDA. As for the creatures, they are definitely the best and most redeeming part of this game and had it not been for the ingenuity and creativity the designers put into the creation of these ghastly, disturbing creatures, I would have rated the game much lower. You will definitely have a few minor scares here and there as creatures are prone to jumping out of dark shadows and hidden rooms throughtout the entire game. The creature's graphics are absolutely where most of the innovation for this game went towards and my only wish is that the designers would have used that same creativity and applied it to the rest of the game rather than taking the boring route with the linear gameplay, mundane environments and lack of interactive things to do besides shooting monsters. Expand
  46. JamesL.
    Apr 12, 2005
    9
    Superb. Dark, claustrophobic and threatening. Very different in style to the originals but familiar elements shine through. The environments and opponents are fantastically rendered and the lighting effects are incredible. This is a classic to match the game that had me hooked to my old 386 and jumping at every sound.
  47. Morratut
    Apr 12, 2005
    2
    The graphics are nice. Sound is also very good. However the gameplay gets very boring very quickly. The levels are mainly corridors connected to rooms. I returned this game the next day.
  48. MaxR.
    Apr 11, 2005
    2
    This game did not satisfy my urge to kill at all! The graphics are unsuitable, and the overall gameplay to my standards are low! The weapons all look square and the graphics could have been developed more. To the makers of Doom, I say it is sad to say but this game is washed up. Hang your heads in shame!
  49. PaulJ.
    Apr 11, 2005
    4
    To be honest I was left cold by this game, I'd seen a preview at E3 last year and thought it looked great, now, I think that the gameplay is very limited, it's the same all the way though, the xbox implementation is poor, graphically not as good as say Riddick (Less annoying level loads though). Cutscenes are poor, as are the characters, and the story. Basically a VERY generic To be honest I was left cold by this game, I'd seen a preview at E3 last year and thought it looked great, now, I think that the gameplay is very limited, it's the same all the way though, the xbox implementation is poor, graphically not as good as say Riddick (Less annoying level loads though). Cutscenes are poor, as are the characters, and the story. Basically a VERY generic FPS with decent surround sound, although very poorly implemented gun sounds in 5.1. Movies should have failed submission they are so poor. Disapointing show to be honest. Expand
  50. Kurt
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    Here's a fair rating: As you've already read, the graphics and sound are on another level. I play with a 5.1 surround sound and a 46" screen. This grame will suck you in and terrify you. I don't get scared. I've never seen a movie that I thought was scary. This game made me scream out loud several times. Play it with surround sound up loud and in the dark. It will Here's a fair rating: As you've already read, the graphics and sound are on another level. I play with a 5.1 surround sound and a 46" screen. This grame will suck you in and terrify you. I don't get scared. I've never seen a movie that I thought was scary. This game made me scream out loud several times. Play it with surround sound up loud and in the dark. It will scare you. I promiss. The monsters are awesome. You're scared because they look and sound so real... I can only play for a few hours before I start experiencing...let's call it video game post tramatic stress syndrome. Basically your heart is going nuts, and you're afraid to turn another corner because you hear something horrible breathing around the bend. You sit huddled in the corner of your coach trying to gather courage. That's the good part, and it's absolutely superb at being scary. Here's the bad part: At times it's like a haunted house. Stuff pops out on cue, voices in the background...it's still scary, but it's kinda stupid too. Also it no longer has the wide open maps with tons of secrets and stuff to explore. You're always in corridors. It's fairly linear. There's no map, and you never feel like you need one. My favorite part of the original Doom was all the exploring, finding secrets, etc. There's very little exploring in Doom 3. Overall, I do recommend this game. I got the collectors edition b/c it comes with Ultimate Doom and Doom II. I'm beating those again too. It's amazing how a 10 year old game is still fun. The original Doom has to be on everyone's short list of greatest games of all time. Expand
  51. AndrewS.
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    Very good! Wonderful graphic and sound! Wonderful immersion! I decided not to give it a 10 only because i'm an old fan of the first Doom and, probably, it reminds me very little of the old classic game! However it's probably the best FPS for the Xbox of ever! Buy it
  52. Scramjet
    Apr 10, 2005
    5
    In one sentence: Pop goes the zombie. If you were one of those savant kids that was endlessly amused by the jack in the box, you'll get your mileage out of Doom 3. If you're still eating paste, you will too. Technically impressive, but the one note gets tiring. Cheap and evenly-spaced fun-house thrills, but without the date -- but the fanboys won't know what they're missing.
  53. RyanM.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    An amazing game. The use of lighting is superb and together with the visuals help immerse you in the game more than any other console FPS to date.
  54. Dustin
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    I recently picked this game up a couple days after it came out. My impressions so far: Graphics: Amazing graphics, the demons look so damn crazy, and the human models look super realistic. Also, the environments you encounter and some of the best I have ever seen, they look incredible and really set the mood. Sound: Sound is this games second best thing. I personaly think that in order to I recently picked this game up a couple days after it came out. My impressions so far: Graphics: Amazing graphics, the demons look so damn crazy, and the human models look super realistic. Also, the environments you encounter and some of the best I have ever seen, they look incredible and really set the mood. Sound: Sound is this games second best thing. I personaly think that in order to get the full feel of the game you have to listen to it with head phones. All the white noises and sounds, plus the sound of the demons and the powerful sound of the shotgun is just awesome. Gameplay: This is the games only downfall, although a nice change from the tactical shooters with all the different crap they make you do, this is a straight forward run and gun, oops i mean creep and crawl and gun. Its a nice change from Halo's 2 weapon system. Plus I have found that the ammo/health/armor is in great abundance, so your never really worried about running off and finding health (most of the time). Replay Ability: I think that with the online co-op and systemlink co-op plus the online deathmatch really gives this game replay ability. And when your just starting to get bored with those, if you bought the soecial edition, you can go play Doom 1&2, single and co-op. Closing: This is honestly one of the best game I have played for the best system the Xbox. Its superb graphics and audio, straight forward run and gun type gameplay, and pretty good replay ability all makes for an insanely fun (or scary) game. I reccomend to buy this game, or atleast rent it. Expand
  55. MarkV.
    Apr 8, 2005
    1
    Very very bad!!!!!! It's a real bad game! It seem impossible but it's really boring and "slow"!!! Absolutely a very terrible game! After 1 hour of gaming you'll put it into the basketcase!!! [Ed: Basketcase?] Don't buy it!
  56. MichaelB.
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    If you haven't already played the PC version to death, there's not reason not to pick this one up.
  57. Wongit
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Amazing! the best looking game i have ever seen. the graphics are amazing and its so realistic that it gives you the sensation that you are actually there, very few games accomplish that. A must buy for any xbox owner. Simply astonishing.
  58. DickeyS.
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    I have been waiting for this game for a LONG time. I ran out and got it yesterday when it came out, and so far it has lived up to all of my expectations. My palms were sweating after playing through the first 20 minutes. I have never played a game with such a tense atmosphere. Its like being inside a horror movie (can you say "Event Horizon"). Just a suggestion though, pay the extra 10 I have been waiting for this game for a LONG time. I ran out and got it yesterday when it came out, and so far it has lived up to all of my expectations. My palms were sweating after playing through the first 20 minutes. I have never played a game with such a tense atmosphere. Its like being inside a horror movie (can you say "Event Horizon"). Just a suggestion though, pay the extra 10 bucks and get the special edition, its well worth it. The original Dooms are still classics. Also, do yourself a favor and play in the dark, with the sound way up. After a few minutes, you'll forget that you're in your living room. Its the only way to play. Expand
  59. SPYBREAK
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    The best scare to be found on the Xbox to date. Doom 3 gives you the chance of conquering the depths of Hell with awesome gunfire and a, err
  60. AramisG.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Doom 3 is hardly fun, but it is an addictive & absorbingly realistic videogame. If you are a fan of the 1st or 2nd Alien movies you will love this experience. I haven't played a Doom game since I played the first PC version back in the early 90s. I was just as blown away then as I am now. Many reviewers seem to think that not much has changed with this franchise, but in reality not Doom 3 is hardly fun, but it is an addictive & absorbingly realistic videogame. If you are a fan of the 1st or 2nd Alien movies you will love this experience. I haven't played a Doom game since I played the first PC version back in the early 90s. I was just as blown away then as I am now. Many reviewers seem to think that not much has changed with this franchise, but in reality not much has changed to the FPS format in general. Everyone seems to tout Halo so highly but in terms of game play they feel identical. The control set up and movements are identical. The weird unnatural jump is identical. Unlike the Halo games though, Doom 3's campaign mode really shines (you won't beat this game in 6 hours or cake walk through the last few levels). The developers did everything in their arsenal to immerse you in the experience. Every new room you walk into has the potential to kill you. You will find yourself hugging the walls and checking all the corners. You are constantly terrorized and ganged up on by some pretty nasty looking monsters. The enemies you will encounter take full advantage of the darkness, laying hidden until they are right on top of you. Sure the A. I. isn't the greatest, but then again a grisly bear wouldn't carefully consider the best way to kill you. Does that make the prospect of several grisly bears charging at you all at once any less terrifying? Pros: -Visuals: Everything looks great. You run past so much glorious detail that it just feels decadent. Very little is left to your imagination. Just don't look down at fallen enemies or you will realize you are about 15 feet tall. -(External) Sound Effects: Basically everything that is not you sounds awesome and goes miles in creating a life threatening sense of terror. -Excellent enemy design. The majority of monsters in this game look and move like they want to eviscerate you. Too bad there aren't cool kill moves like Resident Evil 4. Cons (it is the little details that make a master piece in my books): -(Internal) Sound Effects: Your Weapons sound muted and lack power (Listen to the weapon sound effects in Resident Evil 4 to see what I mean). What the hell is up with the goofy clankty clomp sounds it makes when you walk? It sounds like you are being trailed by the Three Stooges. -Frame rate: Basically things get a little choppy if you look around too fast. -Frequent load times that break up the tension. Expand
  61. LucasB.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Doom 3 is a superb title that delivers the goods in spades when it comes to sheer thrills and atmosphere. I am somewhat surprised that there has been little comparison to last years The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher
  62. DaveR.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Doom 3 exemplifies the simplistic nature of true gaming. It has the ability to draw a gamer into a fictional world while leaving the gamer feeling a part of it. This is a rare accomplishment in the gaming industry. Kudos to all involved with the design and implementation of Doom 3. Thanks for the experience.
  63. fogd00d
    Apr 5, 2005
    6
    I'll admit, the first hour of play I had a few good genuine chills -- the kind where your scalp tingles and your chest goes cold -- but after 4 hours solid, I'm glad I rented this title first. After the first few cheap scares, tip toeing waiting to trigger the next beast gets pretty old, pretty fast. Plus, if you've seen one room filled with pipes and random nameless I'll admit, the first hour of play I had a few good genuine chills -- the kind where your scalp tingles and your chest goes cold -- but after 4 hours solid, I'm glad I rented this title first. After the first few cheap scares, tip toeing waiting to trigger the next beast gets pretty old, pretty fast. Plus, if you've seen one room filled with pipes and random nameless equipment, you've seen 'em all. I was afraid that the port from the PC wouldn't be able to maintain framerate but with such perpetually limited draw distance (read: you're almost always in a dark maze) it turns out to not be a problem. This is the first ID title to let me down, having otherwise been a borderline fan-boy since Wolfenstein 3D some 15 years ago. At least I haven't lost my critical perspective? Maybe the multiplayer kicks butt, but if I can't at least get my $$$ worth out of the single-player, I don't see a buy. Plus, Halo and Splinter Cell have both set the bar pretty high for multiplayer, I can't see Doom3 bringing anything new to the table for me. Maybe if I'd upgraded my PC's video card and played this over a year ago, I might have been a little more impressed. As others have said, this feels more like a tech demo than a legitimate game. Carmack and the ID guys may still be technical geniuses, but I can't wait to see what a shop with some IMAGINATIVE genuises can do with this engine. I'm giving this an overly high 6, but only because the overall level of quality and some technical aspects are above what many higher-ranked titles have achieved. Expand
  64. PuckW.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    Doom 3 makes Halo 2 seem like kindergarden. This game is truly terrifying. I have never played a game like this that grabs you in the pit of your stomach and thrashes you around the room. While the gameplay is not unique for the FPS genre the "experience" is like nothing else. So far the graphics have been nothing short of spectacular and the game is running very smoothly. One of the best Doom 3 makes Halo 2 seem like kindergarden. This game is truly terrifying. I have never played a game like this that grabs you in the pit of your stomach and thrashes you around the room. While the gameplay is not unique for the FPS genre the "experience" is like nothing else. So far the graphics have been nothing short of spectacular and the game is running very smoothly. One of the best I have seen out of this generation of consoles. A MUST for anyone with an Xbox. If you want to run around like a lunatic play Halo. If you want a very unique gaming experience give this one a try, turn off the lights, crank the bass, and have some Tylenol PM at the ready for when you need to put it down. Expand
  65. JayS.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    Doom 3 is an amazing adaptation of what the original Doom was supposed to be. This is by far the scariest game on the market, and I am a veteran of all four Silent Hill installments, so you can understand my love for scary games. It's about time that a game developer bridges the gap between survival-horror and first person shooter, and Doom is the franchise to do it, and it does it Doom 3 is an amazing adaptation of what the original Doom was supposed to be. This is by far the scariest game on the market, and I am a veteran of all four Silent Hill installments, so you can understand my love for scary games. It's about time that a game developer bridges the gap between survival-horror and first person shooter, and Doom is the franchise to do it, and it does it well. There are a few flaws, like the corpses of slain demons burning into ash, but you have to admit, it's a very clever way to save memory for the game's spellbinding visuals. Expand
  66. Obi1
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    In cooperative mode you will die. Then, you will die again... and again... But it doesnt matter. You will stay at your couch 5 hours playin with a friend or just another marine til the end.
  67. ThomasT.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Scared THE SH.T OUT OF ME! Online co-op and multiplayer rock and doom 1 and 2 sweeten the deal. AWESOME game!
  68. Bas
    Apr 3, 2005
    7
    Same boring PC game, but with lesser graphics, no ability the use the duct tape mod, and horrible leveldesign. Like the PC version, it's more of a techdemo then a real game.
  69. Daz
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    I first played doom in about 1995 on the original playstation and it was fantastic. So when i heard that doom 3 was being released for my beloved xbox i just hope the developers would do it justice. Did they? You bet your life they did!! This is just like the original doom except for the improved graphics and sound. I have played this for about 5 hours and must have jumped at least 25 I first played doom in about 1995 on the original playstation and it was fantastic. So when i heard that doom 3 was being released for my beloved xbox i just hope the developers would do it justice. Did they? You bet your life they did!! This is just like the original doom except for the improved graphics and sound. I have played this for about 5 hours and must have jumped at least 25 times. I would strongly advise you to play this at night in a dark room to get the full effect. One really wonderful idea the developers had is to make it so that you cannot carry your torch and a gun at the same time. This means you have to go into dark areas with no gun in your hand. You could try going into these areas with no torch but i find that it is even more frightening not being able to see where you are going. The graphics on this game are amongst the best on the xbox and as you get closer to 'hell' they get better and better. I haven't played the multiplayer but i have heard that over xbox live it is superb. One thing to consider is getting the special edition of this game which has copies of the original doom 1 and doom2, which, i believe, can be played online. In short i'd give this more than 10/10 if i could - simply brilliant. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go until your eyes bulge, your face turns blue, and your heart thuds against your rib cage like a charging rhino... Screw the PC version. This feels like the game Xbox was always meant to host. [Feb 2005, p.81; NOTE: 1UP's Doom 3 review is simply XBN's review republished without credit.]
  2. 90
    Doom 3 won't win prizes for originality, but for low-key storytelling combined with all-out action and immense atmosphere, it's deserving of any shooter fan's time.
  3. If there's light beyond the fringes of Doom 3 multiplayer, it's the eternal flame of id's past: the perfect emulations of "Ultimate Doom" and "Doom II."