• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 17, 2003
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. 100
    Offers a smooth ramp of power, fast-but-strategic combat, and a real variety of gameplay. Alone, it's cool. With friends, it's a blast.
  2. A splendid dungeon crawler that's one of the best co-op experiences on Xbox. [Nov 2003, p.108]
  3. This is one of the best new multiplayer games and its exclusive to the Xbox, so you even get some system bragging rights to go along with your hack and slash adventures.
  4. 85
    Both a souped-up "Gauntlet" and a stripped-down "Dark Alliance"; it's not as pretty as it should be, but the gameplay is rock-solid, and the multiplayer mode is can't-miss entertainment.
  5. 85
    While the graphics seems to be a baby step back, the camera, which can zoom in and out, makes up for it. The gameplay is incredible, the musical score is impressive and the controls are fantastic.
  6. 85
    Dungeons and Dragons: Heroes may get flack from the hardcore D&D crowd for simply being a "Diablo" clone set in the D&D universe, but it's still hard to deny the simple joy in teaming up with three friends to kick the crap out a Beholder.
  7. Atari has mixed old-school dungeon hack games with modern gameplay to make D&D Heroes a pretty decent success.
  8. Heroes covers a totally different set of rules and a different story. And a strong multiplayer setup which allows players to jump in and out at will make this a game not only should you have, but one your friends should pick up too.
  9. 83
    We all loved "Gauntlet" in the arcade and D&D Heroes captures the adventure-filled essence of that classic but with a very clever new control system that can be enhanced and refined in all sorts of interesting ways.
  10. The roleplaying elements have been stripped-down and the play can feel repetitive at times, but all things considered Dungeons & Dragons Heroes is an enjoyable dungeon romp.
  11. A true delight, offering fast-paced hack and slash action gaming in the comfort of my living room. With a in-depth storyline, multiple quests, a hefty assortment of weapons and awesome graphics, Heroes is a solid title for those gamers who just love a good adventure.
  12. In terms of gameplay, there is little that is new or different here. While basically seamless, the overall gameplay is a rehash of other titles.
  13. I enjoyed my time with this title, but for most, the lack of variety and options will disappoint. [Nov 2003, p.163]
  14. The quintessential arcade-style RPG. Anyone can play it anytime. Some may say this game has training wheels but I like to think they're hooked up to a wheelie bar on a Harley.
  15. A decently done hack-and-slash, harkening back to the days of "Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance" on the consoles. This Xbox exclusive title doesn't hold up very well against its two-year-old cousin however, sporting spotty graphics and an inconstant frame rate.
  16. While the single-player game is also enjoyable this game was designed to be played with others. It's easy to pick up and difficult to put down. The fast-paced, frenzied gameplay will have you and your friends addicted for hours.
  17. 75
    There's something immensely satisfying about plowing through hordes of monsters with a group of friends, and Heroes does that exceptionally well, despite its other flaws.
  18. The single player experience is good for a short while, but the repetitiveness of it all may tire on some gamers.
  19. It's a fun title that gives the genre some notable tweaks, and it's certainly recommendable to anyone with an itch for a fast and furious dungeon crawl.
  20. May get flack from the hardcore D&D crowd for simply being a "Diablo" clone set in the D&D universe, but it's still hard to deny the simple joy in teaming up with three friends to kick the crap out a Beholder.
  21. I enjoyed this game, because it's one of the few games that you can take a few buddies and play through. It doesn't require much thought and in fact much skill. Anyone can seemingly pick up and play this game for some good fun.
  22. Unfortunately, the game's lackluster visuals and simple and easy gameplay prevent this experience from being anything remarkable, especially in the wake of the much better, much older games that inspired it.
  23. Play solo, and you'll find scant motivation to hew through hundreds of drooling monsters. Forming a party, on the other hand, changes everything. [Nov 2003, p.189]
  24. With Heroes, D&D has severed its dorky roots in favor of fast-paced, arcade-style hackin' 'n' slashin'.
  25. A decent, facile translation of the D&D experience, but only for those who weren't already obsessed and experienced with the original. It's paradoxically ill-suited to the hardcore audience.
  26. This is not the "Baldur's Gate" killer people were hoping for, and I fear that once "Dark Alliance II" hits retail, our four Heroes will become but a distant memory for another 150 years.
  27. The slower pacing and repetitive gameplay wear thin after a few hours if you're all by your lonesome. [Nov 2003, p.78]
  28. It won't frustrate you too much, but likewise it won't inspire you either. It's a straight up hackandslash that anyone with friends to play it with will probably enjoy, falling somewhere between Gauntlet's button-mashing traditions and Dark Alliance's intelligence and fun.
  29. 58
    Slower-paced than "Dark Alliance," and it feels a lot more soulless and generic. [Nov 2003, p.54]
  30. There are just too many design flaws within the monotony of the dungeon-crawling template. [Oct 2003, p.73]
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. CameronK.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    4 player co op that's really fun.
  2. SupaFlySnooka
    Jan 29, 2006
    8
    If you're into co-op action RPGs such as Dark Alliance, X-Men Legends and Gauntlet Legends than this game is for you. I played this with If you're into co-op action RPGs such as Dark Alliance, X-Men Legends and Gauntlet Legends than this game is for you. I played this with 2 friends and it is a lot of fun and can actually get challenging at times unlike Gauntlet Seven Sorrows. Maybe not as fun by yourself, but at least worth the rental with some friends. I don't know what games(TM) is talking about, the camera never ever moves unless you tell it to, and is the same system found in any other game like this. Maybe they had a broken controller or sucked at the game. Full Review »
  3. JuanAntonioM.
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    Buen juego. Me recuerda al Diablo I para PC. Adictivo y facil de jugar. Quizas esta falto de escenas para meterte mas en la historia, pero en Buen juego. Me recuerda al Diablo I para PC. Adictivo y facil de jugar. Quizas esta falto de escenas para meterte mas en la historia, pero en general el juego es bastante bueno. Esperemos que la saga no se quede aqui y podamos disfrutar de muchos D&D. Full Review »