• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 17, 2003
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CameronK.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    4 player co op that's really fun.
  2. SupaFlySnooka
    Jan 29, 2006
    8
    If you're into co-op action RPGs such as Dark Alliance, X-Men Legends and Gauntlet Legends than this game is for you. I played this with 2 friends and it is a lot of fun and can actually get challenging at times unlike Gauntlet Seven Sorrows. Maybe not as fun by yourself, but at least worth the rental with some friends. I don't know what games(TM) is talking about, the camera If you're into co-op action RPGs such as Dark Alliance, X-Men Legends and Gauntlet Legends than this game is for you. I played this with 2 friends and it is a lot of fun and can actually get challenging at times unlike Gauntlet Seven Sorrows. Maybe not as fun by yourself, but at least worth the rental with some friends. I don't know what games(TM) is talking about, the camera never ever moves unless you tell it to, and is the same system found in any other game like this. Maybe they had a broken controller or sucked at the game. Collapse
  3. JuanAntonioM.
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    Buen juego. Me recuerda al Diablo I para PC. Adictivo y facil de jugar. Quizas esta falto de escenas para meterte mas en la historia, pero en general el juego es bastante bueno. Esperemos que la saga no se quede aqui y podamos disfrutar de muchos D&D.
  4. MarkW.
    Feb 10, 2005
    5
    This was the first game that my girlfriend played. She was really getting into her character. I was kind of borred, but was having fun watching her have fun. When you die you have so many seconds to rejoin the game---she got panicky and accidently cloned my character and saved it over hers. Later on that night she was crying in her sleep saying, "Im sorry". I wasn't mad at her I was This was the first game that my girlfriend played. She was really getting into her character. I was kind of borred, but was having fun watching her have fun. When you die you have so many seconds to rejoin the game---she got panicky and accidently cloned my character and saved it over hers. Later on that night she was crying in her sleep saying, "Im sorry". I wasn't mad at her I was mad at a very ignorant game design. I wish I had never bought this game. We play Baldur's Gate now and it's OK. Expand
  5. BenD.
    Feb 4, 2004
    8
    Dungeons & Dragons Heroes (D&DH) is a fun game that won?t disappoint fans of the Action/RPG genre. People that like Action/RPG?s (i.e. hack-n-slash with leveling up attributes) will surely compare D&DH to Baldur?s Gate Dark Alliance. Each of these games has different strengths from each other. The first thing I noticed after playing D&DH for the first time is my initial impression of the Dungeons & Dragons Heroes (D&DH) is a fun game that won?t disappoint fans of the Action/RPG genre. People that like Action/RPG?s (i.e. hack-n-slash with leveling up attributes) will surely compare D&DH to Baldur?s Gate Dark Alliance. Each of these games has different strengths from each other. The first thing I noticed after playing D&DH for the first time is my initial impression of the graphics were slightly not as good as Baldurs Gate. But on the other hand, I found that I was having a lot more fun, quicker in the campaign with D&DH than I had with Baldur?s Gate. Baldur?s Gate?s fighting is pretty rudimentary. D&DH has some of the same simple features to it?s fighting, but it also has finishing moves and special abilities that you can map for quick access to your controller buttons. The introduction of finishing moves added another level of interactivity to the fighting/combat that I greatly appreciated. Personally, I am a fan of more Action than RPG in my Action/RPG, so that fit nicely for me. In addition, there are some very creative potions that can be thrown in D&DH such as the stinging insect potion. It is a lot of fun to watch your enemies walk into the cloud of insects. D&DH had interesting and challenging enemies to fight. D&DH didn?t seem to have as many customizable features as Baldur?s Gate, but seems to have favored to keep that simple to keep the action going. One feature that I enjoyed in D&DH, is that each character has an Ancestral weapon that can be upgraded over time. The easiest way I can describe the Ancestral weapon is to think of the weapon as their natural default weapon. This Ancestral weapon is a weapon that cannot be sold of dropped and again can be improved as the campaign progresses. There is definitely a sense of accomplishment, as your Ancestral weapon gets stronger and stronger. Unfortunately slain enemies don?t lie around forever in D&DH as they did in Baldur?s Gate, but that is overshadowed by the enjoyable combat. Overall I enjoyed both Baldur?s Gate and D&DH, but found that D&DH took the overall gameplay and thus the fun to the next level. I am glad D&DH took the standard Baldur?s Gate set to the hack-n-slash genre and improved upon it in some areas. Although there are opportunities to improve Dungeons & Dragons Heroes, if you are a fan of Action and Action/RPGs, I recommend playing this game. Expand
  6. BaronS.
    Jan 21, 2004
    8
    Dungeons and Dragons: Heroes is smashing fun for two or more players. If you've played Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance, you'll know exactly what to expect. As everyone else seems to have referred to, there isn't a huge amount of difference between the two. Is this a bad thing? Well, that depends if you played Baldur's Gate and are now looking for more of the same. Dungeons and Dragons: Heroes is smashing fun for two or more players. If you've played Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance, you'll know exactly what to expect. As everyone else seems to have referred to, there isn't a huge amount of difference between the two. Is this a bad thing? Well, that depends if you played Baldur's Gate and are now looking for more of the same. Me? I was and am not disappointed at all. I heartily recommend this game to all Gauntlet and Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance loving nerds. It's not a particularly 'clever' game but surely not all games have to be. Expand
  7. M.Anthony
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    Easy, fun and not to complex, but enough complexity to be interesting as well as addictive. I like it alot. Reminds me of neverwinter nights somehow.... Awesome enjoy!
  8. KevinF.
    Jan 8, 2004
    5
    This game has solid controls, but several shortcomings. These include a "lag" when too many actions occur simultaneously on screen, the fact that the "puzzles" consist of merely finding levers and that the entire game is completed in under 20 hours. That this happens on the Xbox in the year 2003 is quite surprising, given the likes of Halo, Max Payne 2 et al.
  9. Anonymous.N.V.M:p:))
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Woot i just loooove RPG's, especially when they are co-op!... This is The Best game i played on Xbox yet, they put a lot of work into this game and turned out, worth-the-while!
  10. Gamer'sWife
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    This is a cool cool game... even me, the Gamer's wife just love hacking side by side with my man...
  11. MikeC.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    This was the best multiplayer RPG I have palyed yet!!!
  12. Anthony
    Oct 1, 2003
    8
    Good action but graphics could be better.
  13. SvP
    Sep 28, 2003
    9
    I haven't had this much fun since the original diablo came out. Baldur's gate it's not, and neither is it Gauntlet. But I enjoyed the combat moves. Makes every single combat enjoyable, and I look forward to more monsters. Had a problem with the view. Sometimes I wish you could see in front of the character more, and some of the walls get in the way at critical times. But I haven't had this much fun since the original diablo came out. Baldur's gate it's not, and neither is it Gauntlet. But I enjoyed the combat moves. Makes every single combat enjoyable, and I look forward to more monsters. Had a problem with the view. Sometimes I wish you could see in front of the character more, and some of the walls get in the way at critical times. But otherwise, a very fun --- and replayable - game. At least to buy time till BG:DA 2. Expand
  14. JohnD.
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    Throughout most of the play, I kept thinking, this is the lame bastard child of Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance and Gauntlet. Don't get me wrong. The game play is fun, and the way you can customize your character is what makes any RPG style game enjoyable, but D&DH just didn't offer anything really new. Furthermore, the graphics are really not that great. But the more I Throughout most of the play, I kept thinking, this is the lame bastard child of Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance and Gauntlet. Don't get me wrong. The game play is fun, and the way you can customize your character is what makes any RPG style game enjoyable, but D&DH just didn't offer anything really new. Furthermore, the graphics are really not that great. But the more I played, the more obsessed I became. There are a few clever twists here and there and it kept me interested. Also, you are given one weapon that slowly upgrades throughout the game. I hated the stupid thing until the final levels when the enormity of its power really came in handy. So over all, I am giving this a 9 out of 10 because what start as kind of a mediocre adventure really ended up surprising me. Oh and the control scheme is just awesome. Expand
  15. TheManofmanywords
    Sep 24, 2003
    9
    Great.
  16. MathieuG.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    It's fun.
  17. T.W.
    Sep 20, 2003
    9
    If you liked gauntlet, or the first baldur's gate, BUY THIS GAME. It has enough in depth roleplaying action to satisfy the D&D hardcore fans, plus enough hack and slash multiplayer fun to satisfy casual gamers. Graphics could be better, but it plays, performs, and sounds great.

Awards & Rankings

86
35
#35 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Heroes covers a totally different set of rules and a different story. And a strong multiplayer setup which allows players to jump in and out at will make this a game not only should you have, but one your friends should pick up too.
  2. 83
    We all loved "Gauntlet" in the arcade and D&D Heroes captures the adventure-filled essence of that classic but with a very clever new control system that can be enhanced and refined in all sorts of interesting ways.
  3. The roleplaying elements have been stripped-down and the play can feel repetitive at times, but all things considered Dungeons & Dragons Heroes is an enjoyable dungeon romp.