• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dungeons & Dragons Heroes Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dungeons & Dragons Heroes is the first Dungeons & Dragons-branded experience created for the Xbox. Built from the ground up, this action RPG takes you on journey through a world filled with magic and monsters, treasures and traps, and good and evil. Your perilous quests take you throughDungeons & Dragons Heroes is the first Dungeons & Dragons-branded experience created for the Xbox. Built from the ground up, this action RPG takes you on journey through a world filled with magic and monsters, treasures and traps, and good and evil. Your perilous quests take you through alternate planes of existence with dungeons and gemstones. Improve your skills as one of four distinct characters: Fighter, Wizard, Cleric, or Thief. The game offers both single-player or cooperative multiplayer gameplay with up to four players. Dungeons & Dragons Heroes gives you a chance to taste victory as only a true hero can. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. 100
    Offers a smooth ramp of power, fast-but-strategic combat, and a real variety of gameplay. Alone, it's cool. With friends, it's a blast.
  2. 85
    While the graphics seems to be a baby step back, the camera, which can zoom in and out, makes up for it. The gameplay is incredible, the musical score is impressive and the controls are fantastic.
  3. 83
    We all loved "Gauntlet" in the arcade and D&D Heroes captures the adventure-filled essence of that classic but with a very clever new control system that can be enhanced and refined in all sorts of interesting ways.
  4. 75
    There's something immensely satisfying about plowing through hordes of monsters with a group of friends, and Heroes does that exceptionally well, despite its other flaws.
  5. I enjoyed this game, because it's one of the few games that you can take a few buddies and play through. It doesn't require much thought and in fact much skill. Anyone can seemingly pick up and play this game for some good fun.
  6. Play solo, and you'll find scant motivation to hew through hundreds of drooling monsters. Forming a party, on the other hand, changes everything. [Nov 2003, p.189]
  7. 40
    The game doesn't look bad, but it doesn't look good enough for an action game whose major draw is its audiovisual presentation.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. CameronK.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    4 player co op that's really fun.
  2. MikeC.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    This was the best multiplayer RPG I have palyed yet!!!
  3. Anonymous.N.V.M:p:))
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Woot i just loooove RPG's, especially when they are co-op!... This is The Best game i played on Xbox yet, they put a lot of work into Woot i just loooove RPG's, especially when they are co-op!... This is The Best game i played on Xbox yet, they put a lot of work into this game and turned out, worth-the-while! Expand
  4. T.W.
    Sep 20, 2003
    9
    If you liked gauntlet, or the first baldur's gate, BUY THIS GAME. It has enough in depth roleplaying action to satisfy the D&D hardcore If you liked gauntlet, or the first baldur's gate, BUY THIS GAME. It has enough in depth roleplaying action to satisfy the D&D hardcore fans, plus enough hack and slash multiplayer fun to satisfy casual gamers. Graphics could be better, but it plays, performs, and sounds great. Expand
  5. JohnD.
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    Throughout most of the play, I kept thinking, this is the lame bastard child of Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance and Gauntlet. Don't Throughout most of the play, I kept thinking, this is the lame bastard child of Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance and Gauntlet. Don't get me wrong. The game play is fun, and the way you can customize your character is what makes any RPG style game enjoyable, but D&DH just didn't offer anything really new. Furthermore, the graphics are really not that great. But the more I played, the more obsessed I became. There are a few clever twists here and there and it kept me interested. Also, you are given one weapon that slowly upgrades throughout the game. I hated the stupid thing until the final levels when the enormity of its power really came in handy. So over all, I am giving this a 9 out of 10 because what start as kind of a mediocre adventure really ended up surprising me. Oh and the control scheme is just awesome. Expand
  6. BenD.
    Feb 4, 2004
    8
    Dungeons & Dragons Heroes (D&DH) is a fun game that won?t disappoint fans of the Action/RPG genre. People that like Action/RPG?s (i.e. Dungeons & Dragons Heroes (D&DH) is a fun game that won?t disappoint fans of the Action/RPG genre. People that like Action/RPG?s (i.e. hack-n-slash with leveling up attributes) will surely compare D&DH to Baldur?s Gate Dark Alliance. Each of these games has different strengths from each other. The first thing I noticed after playing D&DH for the first time is my initial impression of the graphics were slightly not as good as Baldurs Gate. But on the other hand, I found that I was having a lot more fun, quicker in the campaign with D&DH than I had with Baldur?s Gate. Baldur?s Gate?s fighting is pretty rudimentary. D&DH has some of the same simple features to it?s fighting, but it also has finishing moves and special abilities that you can map for quick access to your controller buttons. The introduction of finishing moves added another level of interactivity to the fighting/combat that I greatly appreciated. Personally, I am a fan of more Action than RPG in my Action/RPG, so that fit nicely for me. In addition, there are some very creative potions that can be thrown in D&DH such as the stinging insect potion. It is a lot of fun to watch your enemies walk into the cloud of insects. D&DH had interesting and challenging enemies to fight. D&DH didn?t seem to have as many customizable features as Baldur?s Gate, but seems to have favored to keep that simple to keep the action going. One feature that I enjoyed in D&DH, is that each character has an Ancestral weapon that can be upgraded over time. The easiest way I can describe the Ancestral weapon is to think of the weapon as their natural default weapon. This Ancestral weapon is a weapon that cannot be sold of dropped and again can be improved as the campaign progresses. There is definitely a sense of accomplishment, as your Ancestral weapon gets stronger and stronger. Unfortunately slain enemies don?t lie around forever in D&DH as they did in Baldur?s Gate, but that is overshadowed by the enjoyable combat. Overall I enjoyed both Baldur?s Gate and D&DH, but found that D&DH took the overall gameplay and thus the fun to the next level. I am glad D&DH took the standard Baldur?s Gate set to the hack-n-slash genre and improved upon it in some areas. Although there are opportunities to improve Dungeons & Dragons Heroes, if you are a fan of Action and Action/RPGs, I recommend playing this game. Expand
  7. KevinF.
    Jan 8, 2004
    5
    This game has solid controls, but several shortcomings. These include a "lag" when too many actions occur simultaneously on screen, the fact This game has solid controls, but several shortcomings. These include a "lag" when too many actions occur simultaneously on screen, the fact that the "puzzles" consist of merely finding levers and that the entire game is completed in under 20 hours. That this happens on the Xbox in the year 2003 is quite surprising, given the likes of Halo, Max Payne 2 et al. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews