User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffF.
    Apr 20, 2005
    5
    Way way way too hard and no save points made it very frustrating.
  2. Ineedanewbike
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    Great game!!! very underated and quite fun after playing it for about 2 hours.... u get into it with all the gold and new equipment unlocked. graphics good, gameplay, okay... the bow is hard to shoot and the sword swings are weird and slow. reminds me of LOTR a bit, good variety, kight, bow person, magician... basic and easy to get into. i got it for $10 used. :D just like goin to a Great game!!! very underated and quite fun after playing it for about 2 hours.... u get into it with all the gold and new equipment unlocked. graphics good, gameplay, okay... the bow is hard to shoot and the sword swings are weird and slow. reminds me of LOTR a bit, good variety, kight, bow person, magician... basic and easy to get into. i got it for $10 used. :D just like goin to a movie, but better. also check out Ninja Gaiden if youre looking for good sword swinging gameplay!!! Expand
  3. KeithB.
    Dec 31, 2002
    8
    Very challenging. You will not beat this game without working hard and perhaps showing a little patients. As for the in game saving... Pahh. Just a few years ago you would have begun on level 1 every time you started up the machine, so learn to cope with what's available. Learn to play the game, don't run around hacking and slashing everything and cry because you didn't Very challenging. You will not beat this game without working hard and perhaps showing a little patients. As for the in game saving... Pahh. Just a few years ago you would have begun on level 1 every time you started up the machine, so learn to cope with what's available. Learn to play the game, don't run around hacking and slashing everything and cry because you didn't beat it your first try... and have fun! It's not a perfect game but can be rewarding if you give it a chance. Expand
  4. DaveH.
    Sep 21, 2002
    8
    I found the detailed scenery and colorful images more than enough to make up for the rather akward (but workable) camera angles. Try playing this one in Surround Sound on a 55" wide screen HDTV and you will appreciate the beauty of this game some seem to ovelook. The opportunities to save are few and far between, but this is no problem as magical potion seems to be easier to come by than I found the detailed scenery and colorful images more than enough to make up for the rather akward (but workable) camera angles. Try playing this one in Surround Sound on a 55" wide screen HDTV and you will appreciate the beauty of this game some seem to ovelook. The opportunities to save are few and far between, but this is no problem as magical potion seems to be easier to come by than water - so advancing from level to level rarely takes more than 2 or 3 attempts. Expand
  5. 4D
    Aug 27, 2002
    7
    GREAT visuals, draw distance on all that but the combat is too repetitive, too HARD, and there is NO SAVE POINTS!!!, plot and character development is simple yet interesting and not over complicated. (Also Jim C although the water looks good on first sight its not really reflective, and doesn't interact with the enviroment - check Morrowind and you'll see what i mean)
  6. ChuckF.
    Aug 17, 2002
    9
    Very cool game, gives you a reason to get the 5.1 hook ups on xbox. Well worth $50. Survival is harder than hell. I would suggest using god mode after your 10 try on a level, xyxxyyxyxxyy.
  7. JimC.
    Aug 15, 2002
    10
    AWESOME GRAPHICS Best on xbox so far. If you like playing rune etc. This game is great and gives a true feeling of the medevil times. With great textures and water is very real. Just check out the harbor level and see amazing amout of water and draw distance. Best experience for a true feel of a pc game.
  8. AlexR.
    Aug 14, 2002
    6
    This is a good looking game but I got too frustrated when I died half way through a level and had to start from the beginning because there are not save points along the way. Some of the levels are long so it's very irratating. If they allowed partial saves throughout a level, I would have given this game a few more points.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Beneath Enclave's pixel-shaded graphics, we find only a trace of a game worth playing. [Fall 2002, p.117]
  2. This game is indeed all we hoped for and a little bit more.
  3. A pretty average action-adventure game with some amazing visuals and sound effects. If the game had its gameplay toned up a few notches, then this could have been a must buy game.