Enter the Matrix Xbox

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 74
  2. Negative: 17 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EarlwinF.
    Sep 7, 2003
    6
    The matrix is pretty good but it had some major flaws. The graphics were prtty descent but the gameplay was awful. It was a basic hack and slash. Punch punch punch kick kick kick. thats all you have to do to beat the game. Not challenging at all, any beginner can beat this game ina couple of hours. Don't waste your time or money on this game. The only cool part about the game was theThe matrix is pretty good but it had some major flaws. The graphics were prtty descent but the gameplay was awful. It was a basic hack and slash. Punch punch punch kick kick kick. thats all you have to do to beat the game. Not challenging at all, any beginner can beat this game ina couple of hours. Don't waste your time or money on this game. The only cool part about the game was the movies in between the game that let you see seen from Matrix reloaded. Other than that don't waste your time. Expand
  2. SimonL.
    May 14, 2003
    7
    While being set in the world of the "Matrix" is cool enough to support almost any type of game, Enter The Matrix seems to be a victim of its own hype. Gamers expecting to play as one of their favorite characters (Neo, Trinity, etc.) will only be able to choose between two hovercraft lackeys, either one of which will support the other during the game depending on who you choose. Overvall While being set in the world of the "Matrix" is cool enough to support almost any type of game, Enter The Matrix seems to be a victim of its own hype. Gamers expecting to play as one of their favorite characters (Neo, Trinity, etc.) will only be able to choose between two hovercraft lackeys, either one of which will support the other during the game depending on who you choose. Overvall this is your standard 3rd person melee game with a green tint, "bullet time" fx ala Max Payne, and a frustrating camera that seems possessed. The extra film footage from the Matrix is a definite plus that will help understand the Matrix Reloaded film, but full motion video make a great game not. Expand
  3. JohnF.
    May 20, 2003
    7
    Great fighting action and production but anyone who knows what gameplay means will be left wanting. Agree it seems to be crying out for the two stick control style, using a modifier button for strafe seems archaic.
  4. TomF.
    Jun 2, 2003
    7
    This game was solid, but could have been much better had Shiny paid more attention to the gameplay. Graphics and story were strong (lots of cool cut scenes), but the controls were awkward at best. Talk about "spraying" bullets; I had no idea where I was firing! Like so many games, weak attention to detail detracts from an otherwise entertaining title.
  5. StickN.
    Jun 3, 2003
    5
    If you really really like the movies get this game. If you sort of like the movie, then don't bother. The story isn't all that great, and the gameplay is awful. Some aspects of the game are outright cool, but beyond that the gameplay is not so good. The fighting is alright, but there are some issues. Overall it's a snorefest that could have been a lot better. I remember If you really really like the movies get this game. If you sort of like the movie, then don't bother. The story isn't all that great, and the gameplay is awful. Some aspects of the game are outright cool, but beyond that the gameplay is not so good. The fighting is alright, but there are some issues. Overall it's a snorefest that could have been a lot better. I remember thinking about a hundred times that the original syphon filter had a better game engine. Also, who wants to play a matrix game and play as niobe or ghost? Expand
  6. Pain
    May 28, 2003
    7
    Let's be honest gameplay and replay value are just not the same. As I played Enter the Matrix, there were definitely bugs that stood out: the pop up messages that would leave you clueless at times in knowing where to go or look, constant respawning of police/SWAT soldiers from out of thin air, no "directional damage" to signal if you are being shot from the left, right, top, or Let's be honest gameplay and replay value are just not the same. As I played Enter the Matrix, there were definitely bugs that stood out: the pop up messages that would leave you clueless at times in knowing where to go or look, constant respawning of police/SWAT soldiers from out of thin air, no "directional damage" to signal if you are being shot from the left, right, top, or bottom (there were a number of times guns would be blasting like mad and you could not tell from where or who i.e. snipers), sound from the car engine in the driving sequences is just horrid, and finally the camera in tight spots is relentless in showing you a wall while you lay the smackdown on somebody. That was the bad stuff, the fight gameplay is rather satisfying (Focus Fighting) but I have asked myself "How Do I Do That Move Again !" A training dojo/mode i.e. the first Matrix against Morpheus would have been an awesome addition. Neo learned to fight before becoming "superman." The fighting somehow becomes the "glue" that holds the game together. Graphically much time was given to the ingame character models, however the bland underground evironments make you wish for a bright and sunny outdoor missions. Not to mention the boss fights were not all together challenging, excluding agents. Lastly replay value is one of my biggest areas of concern. The "sub" story line, yet interesting, will only give you a repetition of what and where to expect things a second time through, in addition to the bugs mentioned earlier. Skipping through the FMV will be your first choice and simply completing the missions, you already know the story. In all, the game definitely excels in Focus fighting gameplay and martial art acrobatics, but a number of things such as 2 player coop, unlocking more characters, secret/sub-missions, and different styles of fighting would have been great in building a more customized feel to the game (the wanting more principle). And this definitely would have left me guessing if, as in the movie, certain choices or decisions would determine the outcome of the game. Point being, having the ability to make tactical decisions as you play. Enter the Matrix is definitely a good game that could have been great. I suggest a rental before dropping the big 50. Expand
  7. MichaelF.
    Jul 10, 2003
    5
    Good until the newness wears off. Which happens after a few hours or so.
  8. Jake
    May 16, 2003
    7
    To be honest.... The matrix universe is so cool and so immersive that it can raise any games to an acceptable level. That is the case with enter the matrix. The gameplay is not good enough majors annoying stuff, the graphics are sometimes good sometimes bad (the flinstones wheels cant be forgiven sorry!!! ) Music is great, Martial arts are easy to use maybe a little too easy but it is a To be honest.... The matrix universe is so cool and so immersive that it can raise any games to an acceptable level. That is the case with enter the matrix. The gameplay is not good enough majors annoying stuff, the graphics are sometimes good sometimes bad (the flinstones wheels cant be forgiven sorry!!! ) Music is great, Martial arts are easy to use maybe a little too easy but it is a lot of fun doing stuff they do in the film. And Cinematics are just like seeing more from the movie... very impressive..... So let's say without the Wachowski borthers.... I would probably rate a 2 or 3 but i give it a 7 because of the cinematics and the work of Wo ping for combats. And of course Wonderful cinematics Expand
  9. Em
    May 17, 2003
    7
    Wish I could give a higher score, because everything BUT the gameplay is excellent. So much of the atmosphere of the film universe is actually intact, and that in itself is an amazing achievement. Special kudos to the beautiful incorporation of FMV and the film score -- really the best use of music in a game that I've ever experienced! Also, at least as far as I've played, great Wish I could give a higher score, because everything BUT the gameplay is excellent. So much of the atmosphere of the film universe is actually intact, and that in itself is an amazing achievement. Special kudos to the beautiful incorporation of FMV and the film score -- really the best use of music in a game that I've ever experienced! Also, at least as far as I've played, great "focus" (yeah, intended) on decent story elements to immerse the player in the sense of a self-propelled cinematic adventure (even if the characters sometimes move like the wooden puppets on Thunderbirds...). All these points should have resulted in a 9+ score . . . EXCEPT the gameplay when using weapons is shockingly terrible, impossible to aim w accuracy unless you rely totally on auto-target -- which means you have to have your right trigger held down through an entire shoot-out and you also have to enjoy watching your character shoot uncontrollably at airport railings, fire escapes, tv monitors, etc etc while the baddies are air-conditioning your skull. The hand to hand kung fu is idiotically simple but kinda fun -- and the need to use the Focus "bullet time" (left trigger) in tandem makes it a challenge as enemies get tougher. But it's hard to forgive a fight-centric game that boasts a generally crippled targeting feature, a first-person view that is worse than useless (help, I can't move..!) and also stupidly easy to toggle on by mistake (right joystick tap) in the middle of a fight, and uses the little black/white buttons for your weapons fire. Really, the controls needed to be much more customizable (three control mappings, with only one using a trigger for weapons fire) for such a button-heavy game. But it's all moot since you can't aim anyway... Nice try, check it out definitely, think twice before buying it! Expand
  10. MichaelC.
    Aug 19, 2003
    7
    Ya know, I actually had a lot of fun playing this game. Yeah, the gameply was lacking in some areas, and the character control wasn't what it should have been, but it was actually better than I expected it to be (movie license games are usually traumatic experiences). Also, if you're a fan of the movie, you'll enjoy the layer of depth it adds to the Matrix story. Ya know, I actually had a lot of fun playing this game. Yeah, the gameply was lacking in some areas, and the character control wasn't what it should have been, but it was actually better than I expected it to be (movie license games are usually traumatic experiences). Also, if you're a fan of the movie, you'll enjoy the layer of depth it adds to the Matrix story. Altogether, a pretty cool game (not $50 cool, but cool). Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Enter the Matrix isn't a perfect slice of interactive entertainment, but it does provide at least a dozen hours of action-packed fun and serves as a clever vehicle to expand on the events in "The Matrix Reloaded."
  2. Nerds may activate two-player mode using the DOS-throwback "hacking gameplay element." If any of you figure out how to boff Trinity during a rave, please e-mail me.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    30
    Fails dramatically... Severe, fundamental flaws permeate the experience, ranging from wince-inducing run-cycle animations to sloppy, unrefined controls. [Aug 2003, p.78]