ESPN Major League Baseball Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ESPN Major League Baseball takes baseball to the next level with Power Pitching, a new General Manager Mode, and an all-new ESPN presentation. Now you can take complete control of the mound with new pitches, pitch speeds, pitch interface, pitch animations, pitcher momentum, and exclusiveESPN Major League Baseball takes baseball to the next level with Power Pitching, a new General Manager Mode, and an all-new ESPN presentation. Now you can take complete control of the mound with new pitches, pitch speeds, pitch interface, pitch animations, pitcher momentum, and exclusive ESPN K-Zone pitch analysis. As the general manager of your team, you'll have to keep your club running on all cylinders or else answer to the owners. In addition to intuitive control and new modes, hundreds of new animations, such as broken bats and player reactions add to the MLB experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 88
    The exclusive first-person-perspective mode is an interesting gimmick, but the online play is what separates this from the minors. [May 2004]
  2. 85
    The single-player game is beefed up with a tweaked pitching interface and the ability to save games at any time. Its biggest coup over its competition from EA Sports, though, is the ability to play online.
  3. ESPN's game gives you a nice ground-level view of the action, while its Confidence Meter rises and falls depending on your on-field performance. [16 Apr 2004, p.L2T 19]
  4. 80
    The gameplay is certainly realistic, but overall, the physics of how the ball moves feel a bit floaty at times. In the final analysis, ESPN MLB trails after "MVP Baseball" and "MLB 2005," making it a good choice for those who aren't satisfied with those league leaders. [Apr 2004, p.89]
  5. ESPN may lack the innovations and overall polish of "MVP," but it's otherwise a serious contender. [May 2004, p.90]]
  6. Without solid pitching and batting interfaces, you can't help become disenchanted by this title's play. I applaud Blue Shift's decision to innovate, but the formula still needs a lot of work. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  7. This year's ESPN Major League Baseball seems less polished than its brethren, its new features seem halfhearted at best, and its graphics don't pack the punch they used to.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. ZacharyS.
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing!!!! I love it!!
  2. JudeS.
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    I have to rate this a 10 on sheer anticipation! The World Series franchise has been so strong... If it's as good as last year's I have to rate this a 10 on sheer anticipation! The World Series franchise has been so strong... If it's as good as last year's offering, with the added bonus of online play (via XBL), sign me UP!! Expand
  3. JimW.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    What else can I say. They took an already great game and added a few sparkles. Now I dont really care too much for the on-deck circle pic, What else can I say. They took an already great game and added a few sparkles. Now I dont really care too much for the on-deck circle pic, and the curtian call feature lacks some pizazz, but over all its a great game. They took the best of last year (which was overall gameplay) and added the on-line feature. By far this game has exceeded every expectation i've had. Expand
  4. DaveR.
    Apr 8, 2004
    9
    ESPN BASEBALL EDGES OUT MVP BY A STRIDE! It's spring time, time for the inevitable smell of fresh grass and baseball fever. This year I ESPN BASEBALL EDGES OUT MVP BY A STRIDE! It's spring time, time for the inevitable smell of fresh grass and baseball fever. This year I expected real improvements from all three contenders. ASB2005, MVP Baseball 2004, and ESPN Baseball. I was surprised in certain areas and disappointed in others. This is the break down of the good and bad. ASB 2005: Nice stadiums, fair crowd representation, great commentary and sound, fair player models and faces, poor gameplay mechanics. Overall 3 out of 5. MVP Baseball 2004: Good stadiums, poor texturing, fair crowd representation, good commentary and sound, excellent player models and 3-D faces, good gameplay mechanics. Overall 4 out of 5. ESPN Baseball: Incredible Stadiums, great crowd representation, good commentary and sound, good player models and faces, excellent gameplay mechanics. Overall 4.5 out of 5. You be the judge for yourself. Expand
  5. KevinH.
    Apr 8, 2004
    6
    I am sooo disappointed. I absolutely loved last years game, and this years installment has left me scratching my head. The actual gameplay is I am sooo disappointed. I absolutely loved last years game, and this years installment has left me scratching my head. The actual gameplay is still great, but the graphics seem like they are worse than last year. No croud reaction whatsoever. I hit 2 HR's with Joe Young aka Barry Bonds, did a curtain call, and not a peep from the croud (and it was a home game). The extra game modes are half-assed, as are the pitching meter and confidence meter. The just tossed out the same game from last year, added a few nip and tucks, and hoped no one would notice. Online play is cool, but that's about it for this. I hate to say this, but MVP 2004 is much better. Collapse
  6. Joe
    Mar 22, 2004
    5
    I used to be a big fan of the WSB series, but I cant stand this ESPN series. You cant have a single frame with out ESPN being in there I used to be a big fan of the WSB series, but I cant stand this ESPN series. You cant have a single frame with out ESPN being in there somewhere.. and in all the ESPN games Ive played thus far online play is not very good. Expand