ESPN NFL Football Xbox

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JobA.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable football game.It just gets better and better every year since nkl 2k on the Dreamcast.Madden is very generic and it has a few good things going for it but nothing compared to this title.For instance something small,the comentators for 2K aren't even real commentators but there commentary blow EA's Madden out of the water by a mile and Madden and Michael's have Unbelievable football game.It just gets better and better every year since nkl 2k on the Dreamcast.Madden is very generic and it has a few good things going for it but nothing compared to this title.For instance something small,the comentators for 2K aren't even real commentators but there commentary blow EA's Madden out of the water by a mile and Madden and Michael's have been in football forever.The gameplay,the excitement,the rewards,ect...ect... A true masterpiece of sport gaming! Expand
  2. BrianL.
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    If you enjoyed playing NFL 2k3, ESPN NFL Football only gets better. The idea of the Crib, the 1st Person view, even the new time clock online to stop pausers. Graphics and gameplay has definitely improved. All I gitta say is, if you owned NFL 2k3, just gotta go out and buy ESPN NFL FOOTBALL! You will not be disappointed.
  3. MasterN.
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Madden or ESPN? Your choice should be based on what you like more. Are you a sim freak who likes to sit in the booth and franchise your team till 2008? If so, Madden is for you. But if you are into the actual game of football, where you can pick up and play without going through a week of intense training, ESPN is the one. If you want to play from the perspective of a QB, LB, or TE as you Madden or ESPN? Your choice should be based on what you like more. Are you a sim freak who likes to sit in the booth and franchise your team till 2008? If so, Madden is for you. But if you are into the actual game of football, where you can pick up and play without going through a week of intense training, ESPN is the one. If you want to play from the perspective of a QB, LB, or TE as you pass, tackle, and block your way downfield, ESPN is your game. If you want physical rewards like trophies, bonus mini-games, and the ability to unlock art and soundtracks, ESPN has got you covered. Bottom line: if you want to bore people to death with the your fantasy team you created for under $10 million that went to the Super Bowl, go get Madden and leave us alone. But if you enjoy a real football game this season that you can play with your non-football-stat-geek friends, pick up ESPN. It's at least 4 times the game and 10 tems the fun of Madden. Expand
  4. FredC.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    This is by far the best football game ever made, period...blows Madden away by far. In Madden you touch shoulders when running from a guy and you all of a sudden fall over like you've been tackled...Madden is so over-rated its pathetic. This is the most realistic tacking and football period I've ever played. This is just plain great. ESPN football is the newest and best football This is by far the best football game ever made, period...blows Madden away by far. In Madden you touch shoulders when running from a guy and you all of a sudden fall over like you've been tackled...Madden is so over-rated its pathetic. This is the most realistic tacking and football period I've ever played. This is just plain great. ESPN football is the newest and best football around. Trust me, I know madden fans that own ever games since madden started and they said that they have switched, that they like ESPN much better....I can only agree because ESPN is WAY WAY better then madden...madden is glitchy, tackling is so unrealistic and I could keep putting it down all day. ESPN blows madden away, I dont even see how madden got on the list here on metacritic. I know why, because the name is madden....well move over madden, ESPN just stepped on you. Expand
  5. JonH.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    I thought Madden was the best football game and only tried ESPN to see what all those reviews where about. I havent played madden since. I´ll have to say though that it is not as easy to pick up as madden but this game is just in another league when you spend some time with it. Games are actually exciting and you feel like you really earn each TD. Another great feature is how they I thought Madden was the best football game and only tried ESPN to see what all those reviews where about. I havent played madden since. I´ll have to say though that it is not as easy to pick up as madden but this game is just in another league when you spend some time with it. Games are actually exciting and you feel like you really earn each TD. Another great feature is how they allow you to adjust the difficulty level. In madden (and fifa) the easy setting is way to easy and you win every game with some ridicilous margin but when you step it up to semi pro or pro the AI starts to cheat to win. When you drop a game in ESPN it is because you did something wrong not because of superman AI. ESPN just feels like football. Hope they keep it up. I´m definitely not going to buy madden again without thinking. Expand
  6. K.
    Oct 26, 2003
    6
    It's ok..... madden is way way better in graphics/fun/sound. controls are funky.
  7. BrianJ.
    Aug 21, 2003
    10
    This game is the best by far. The graphics and game play are far superior to that of Madden. A lot of my friends play Madden but that's because they like easy thinking games. Don't be fooled by Madden's name this is the game to play
  8. LastCowboy
    Aug 9, 2003
    9
    If this years game, has increased the realism from last year, in the graphics dept. then I can't see how Madden can compete.---I bet anything EA, has not raised the bar graphically. hell it's been the same for the past 2 yr's (pumkin head shaped players will still be present this year.)---realism over childs play--I choose ESPN NFL FOOTBALL.
  9. Dave
    Sep 13, 2003
    9
    To be blunt, I haven't played Madden 2004 since I discovered ESPN NFL Football. ESPN NFL Football is the best football game I have ever experienced.
  10. JonA.
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    This is a great game, plain and simple! There are no faults. As good as madden is Espn NFL Football is one notch better!
  11. MacI.
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    This game is the shiznet... This is one of the biggest updates to any football series and Sega deserves hats off. Where do I start, there are so many improvements. Gang tackling is incredible where the game physics are realistic. If you try to tackle the runner and another defender is in front of you, you don't bounce off as in Madden you grab around both players. If your running and This game is the shiznet... This is one of the biggest updates to any football series and Sega deserves hats off. Where do I start, there are so many improvements. Gang tackling is incredible where the game physics are realistic. If you try to tackle the runner and another defender is in front of you, you don't bounce off as in Madden you grab around both players. If your running and run into your linemen in front of you, the runner will put his hand on the linemans back... wow! This game rocks online. No more cheesy players. Only one complaint is that the RB's are too fast. If a RB gets in the secondary they take it to the house always. A DB should be able to catch some of em... Give me a break, Ricky Williams running a 80 yard TD. Not hardly he aint that fast. Other then that this game is perfect. It really befuddles me how anyone can compare Madden to ESPN. Madden is a distant second. I've been a fan of Madden back in da Genesis days but ESPN rocks. Plus Madden has no online for xbox. I've put my copy of Madden in the closet already. ESPN is it. If you think madden is better you are in denial. this game is fresh and has cutting edge techn (first person) They also have stopped the cheap play online. Get this game before its all gone, this is a classic. Expand
  12. BigVIC
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    I was a Madden fan since the 1st game but tried ESPN 2k4 and traded in my madden game...Espn offers some of the best real features and feel of Pro ball...A must have game.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Aug 13, 2003
    3
    Last years game was ok but not great I found myself playing Madden more than NFL. Graphics wise Madden is still better, and gameplay wise as well. And until they fix some annoying camera problems(I want tiosee the field on a pass not the QB), I will not be buying this game until it goes down in price.
  14. ThomasS.
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    This game rocks! It is best graphically, it is the most accurate to the REAL SPORT! They look like the players, not some PS2 cut-out dog-shit. It has XBOX LIVE support!!! It doesnt need all the bells and whistles that Madden needs to be considered a good football game, Madden isnt even an NFL game... it might as well be blitz... good O-lines still get saCKED ON 6 OR 7 TIMES a game!!! its This game rocks! It is best graphically, it is the most accurate to the REAL SPORT! They look like the players, not some PS2 cut-out dog-shit. It has XBOX LIVE support!!! It doesnt need all the bells and whistles that Madden needs to be considered a good football game, Madden isnt even an NFL game... it might as well be blitz... good O-lines still get saCKED ON 6 OR 7 TIMES a game!!! its not realistic... if your gonna buy a game like that, you might as well buy Fever... case closed. ESPN NFL Football isnt just ahead of the game... it IS the game. Expand
  15. BryantH.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    Nothing can touch it!!!!!!!
  16. MarrL.
    Sep 10, 2003
    9
    Blows the roof off of the Madden Series. Only if this game came out before Madden it would seel a lot better i think.
  17. SteveS.
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    I was a Madden Fan, But ESPN has got me won over. Best football game around!!!!!
  18. CharlesG.
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    I love this game! With the ESPN integration, and the improved gameplay and grahics make this game great. THe new tackles make this game really fun. ESPN NFL FOOTBALL has the best runnning game out there. My only problem is that for online play, i dont think there are leagues for xbox, only for ps2. Even so, its the best football game on the market to date. You shoould pick it up!
  19. B.Bully
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    What can I say, WOW!, this game is as good as advertised. Everything plays so real, and you simply cannot beat the online play. I thought madden was the best football game I ever played until this one came out. I doubt I'll ever play madden again. I only have 1 complaint and that is the RB's are just a bit too dominant. Then again, it's better on Allpro and Legend Levels. What can I say, WOW!, this game is as good as advertised. Everything plays so real, and you simply cannot beat the online play. I thought madden was the best football game I ever played until this one came out. I doubt I'll ever play madden again. I only have 1 complaint and that is the RB's are just a bit too dominant. Then again, it's better on Allpro and Legend Levels. My hats off to Sega as ESPN tops my list of all time football greats. do yourself a favor and RUN out and get this game. OK, enough wasting my time typing, there is online teams to be beating. Expand
  20. dlo
    Aug 26, 2006
    8
    its got some cool stuff but no way you can say its better than madden because that is the most realistic football game out there.
  21. HalW.
    Nov 15, 2003
    9
    Awesome Game, Lots of replay value. Almost like watching it on the tube.
  22. MaddenSucks
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    If you want a football game this year, ESPN Football. If you want a realistic game, that makes you feel like your part of the game, buy ESPN Football. You can not go wrong. Everything is perfect, great graphics, great controls, great everything. This game is miles ahead of madden in terms of gameplay and visuals. Go. Get it. Now.
  23. MattZ.
    Oct 17, 2003
    7
    Overall a great game. The Xbox Live features are the best yet and there is no way for an opponent to cheat...sor far..... there are two bad things about this game that keep it away from the 9 plus level. #1 is that running backs get huge break runs way too much. it really makes the game unrealistic when any rb in the game can run past your d-backs time and time again pilling up huge Overall a great game. The Xbox Live features are the best yet and there is no way for an opponent to cheat...sor far..... there are two bad things about this game that keep it away from the 9 plus level. #1 is that running backs get huge break runs way too much. it really makes the game unrealistic when any rb in the game can run past your d-backs time and time again pilling up huge rushing yards. #2 is that you can see the other players formations. why on earth would you want to see other players formations before the ball is snapped. its just not realistic football. other than that its an awesome game especially live! Expand
  24. SkipC.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    More addicting than drugs, owns Madden without a doubt, most realistic game ever. I never want to leave my house because I don't want to stop playing it. If Jesus himself were a video game he'd be ESPN NFL Football.
  25. ViolentLove
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    FPF has stolen so much of my life away...I played through four seasons the first week I had the game! It's just ridiculously fun...nothing I've ever played compares with it. As far as other features go, you get really in to the Crib. I thought it sounded dumb, but then I kept playing until I had everything. And everyone gushes over Madden's Coach mode -- do people actually FPF has stolen so much of my life away...I played through four seasons the first week I had the game! It's just ridiculously fun...nothing I've ever played compares with it. As far as other features go, you get really in to the Crib. I thought it sounded dumb, but then I kept playing until I had everything. And everyone gushes over Madden's Coach mode -- do people actually play the coach mode? ESPN's might suck, I don't know, what matters (to me) is playing football. I played a demo of Madden and it was alright. Like I said, NOTHING compares to FPF...so if your fascinated by the price of hot dogs in your stadium, go for Madden, but if what you care about is dangerously addictive football action, you must get ESPN. Expand
  26. Beachdurden
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    Best football game, better commentary, not as choppy and spliced as madden, doesnt have as much side game features but has more in game features to add too realism, better graphics, easy controls, the training and tutorials are not as good as madden 2004's,also adds the first person mode football which is a nice feature, but needs some tweaking, the only thing this game needs isBest football game, better commentary, not as choppy and spliced as madden, doesnt have as much side game features but has more in game features to add too realism, better graphics, easy controls, the training and tutorials are not as good as madden 2004's,also adds the first person mode football which is a nice feature, but needs some tweaking, the only thing this game needs is maddens play maker feature, still it comes out on top. Expand
  27. RandallB.
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    Again, this game offers the most realistic players and graphics with the best animations in the biz. With the groundbreaking, jock juking, heart rupturing "First Person Mode", it sets the standard now for all others to follow. However, Madden still must be given it's worn out crown. Madden still blows the competition out of the water with it's depth of features, namely, THE Again, this game offers the most realistic players and graphics with the best animations in the biz. With the groundbreaking, jock juking, heart rupturing "First Person Mode", it sets the standard now for all others to follow. However, Madden still must be given it's worn out crown. Madden still blows the competition out of the water with it's depth of features, namely, THE FRANCHISE MODE. ESPN simply fumbles in this area. Very thin offseason options and realism. The only other area that is worse that ESPN's franchise attempt is.....it's CREATE A TEAM feature. This is in woefull need of total revamping. There MUST be more freedom of uniform and stadium creation alongside less chessy team logos. All that said, with ESPN NFL Football's online superiority and it's pulse pounding First Person Mode, all is forgiven....for now. If they seriously want to steal the crown from EA, they must keep what they have and concentrate on packing in the features. Then and ONLY then can I finally say with justification that ESPN NFL FOOTBALL IS THE KING OF ALL FOOTBALL SIMS!!!! Collapse
  28. VicM.
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    No doubt about it, this is the bast football game out this year. While playing ESPN NFL, i was actually looking for flaws, only thing i could come with is twice now the announcer has studdered, saying first-----down, and i've already played about 15 games. Game play is great the whole game is great. 5 of my friends and I are having a tournament, we tried ESPN NFL, Fever 2004 and No doubt about it, this is the bast football game out this year. While playing ESPN NFL, i was actually looking for flaws, only thing i could come with is twice now the announcer has studdered, saying first-----down, and i've already played about 15 games. Game play is great the whole game is great. 5 of my friends and I are having a tournament, we tried ESPN NFL, Fever 2004 and Madden 2004, there is no question to which one we picked, ESPN NFL is the one. We came up with these scores between us 6. ESPN NFL - 96 Fever 2004 - 75 Madden 2004 - 55 Madden just looks and feels too not real, Fever is ok, but still a distant second. If you're going to buy a football game this season get ESPN NFL 2K4, you won't regret it. Madden rides on all the hype, but that i believe is coming to an end. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    If there was no "Madden," ESPN NFL Football would easily be the best football game this year. [Oct/Nov 2003, p.96]
  2. GMR Magazine
    80
    On the field, Sega falls short of the more immediate action, tighter controls, and more powerful on-field flexibility of "Madden 2004." [Sept 2003, p.73]
  3. The best sports game I have played to date.