User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StephenM.
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    i loved the game.... while it lasted...although i used Faqs i still bet it pretty quick. So now what am i supose to do. I think it was a rentable game.
  2. JodyM.
    Nov 10, 2005
    3
    I'm a huge evil dead fan, but this game was just PANTS! a complete waste of time, I just sat there playing it and it was completed before I even knew I was past the first level, absolute SHITE!!!
  3. JamesS.
    Jun 1, 2003
    8
    Good game.....if you love the movies, a must play.
  4. Stitch
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    This game is great! Especially if your like me and hate games that take forever and a day to get into and after a week tire you...don't even mention splinter cell..yawn! Nope I like games like this one, hacking, slaughtering, quick and easy. Ok so the graphics arn't the best, especially considering what the xbox can do, but the entire esscence of the evil dead triolgy is This game is great! Especially if your like me and hate games that take forever and a day to get into and after a week tire you...don't even mention splinter cell..yawn! Nope I like games like this one, hacking, slaughtering, quick and easy. Ok so the graphics arn't the best, especially considering what the xbox can do, but the entire esscence of the evil dead triolgy is captured! Thumbs up from me! Expand
  5. ParaR.
    Sep 13, 2003
    9
    Ash is back and itchin to kick some deadite rear. It's a good solid game. More fun than "Hail to the King."
  6. JJJHJiji
    May 28, 2003
    10
    Its good.
  7. Gus
    Jun 20, 2003
    8
    I hate to say it....but I am starting to feel sorry for hardcore gamers. This game is FUN. Pure and simple. Its not the next splinter cell....the graphics arent created to be next gen or so real that its not fun anymore....its about killing zombies with a chainsaw...SORRY ITS NOT MORE REALISTIC. If you liked the movies....or even if you just like a break from most modern games and just I hate to say it....but I am starting to feel sorry for hardcore gamers. This game is FUN. Pure and simple. Its not the next splinter cell....the graphics arent created to be next gen or so real that its not fun anymore....its about killing zombies with a chainsaw...SORRY ITS NOT MORE REALISTIC. If you liked the movies....or even if you just like a break from most modern games and just want a no brainer killing spree....this is your game. Bruce Campbell is as entertaining as ever....although....sometimes the cheese is a little over the top. But hey. What does he care...its just a video game...not the next movie, right? but. Yeah. its a solid romp. simple controls. some nice additions...(spells....gatling gun....) and MILLIONS OF DEADITES. Story is average....so is most of the voice acting. But. Like it said. ITS FUN! I dont know why!!! But swinging around a chainsaw and a doule barrel is just fun! Sue me! For $20 brand new....this game is worth every penny. Expand
  8. MichaelC.
    Sep 24, 2003
    5
    To be honest, the game was better than I expected it would be. I still can't say I enjoyed it. Crappy control, lame visuals, repetitive gameplay...everything you'd expect from a movie license game. If you're a fan of the movies, it may hold your attention, but if you're just looking for a good beat 'em up, go buy Hunter:The Reckoning.
  9. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Evil Dead: A Fistful of Boomstick
    The story begins 3 years after the events of the first game (Hail to the king) and 11 years after (Army of darkness) Ashley J Williams is telling a story to an asian man about how he fights the necronomicon and how he fought the demons that attacked him, he starts of by telling the man about the night before it all happened in Dearborn Michigan, Ashley
    Evil Dead: A Fistful of Boomstick
    The story begins 3 years after the events of the first game (Hail to the king) and 11 years after (Army of darkness) Ashley J Williams is telling a story to an asian man about how he fights the necronomicon and how he fought the demons that attacked him, he starts of by telling the man about the night before it all happened in Dearborn Michigan, Ashley (Ash) is sat in his favourite bar watching the T.V When a program turns on about the necronomicon and how Professor Knowby studied the book in a log cabin (This takes place in the first game Hail to the King) The T.V program claims that they have the last known tape of Knowby, the tape contains a speech of Knowby reading the words that awake the deadites (demons) from hell. The camera follows a spirit towards the bar where ash is talking to his favourite bartender, the spirit breaks through the door and flies into the bartender, suddenly the bartender stands up and has been taken over by the deadite and states to Ash
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. To be fair, games aren't meant to replicate the dynamics of cinema. Especially ones like "State of Emergency," the anarchic kill-'em-all from which A Fistful of Boomstick derives its engine.
  2. Under normal circumstances, this would be just tedious, but combined with endless deadite enemies and little in the way of ammunition and health packs, it's a sermon on frustration. [July 2003, p.79]
  3. This is a fistful of something, all right. And it's not to be stepped in, taken internally, or flung at humans. [Aug 2003, p.81]