Fable: The Lost Chapters Xbox

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this role-playing adventure game from Lionhead Studios, every action determines a character's skills, appearance and morality. A character's life story is created from childhood through adulthood and on to old age. One can grow from an inexperienced child into the most powerful being inIn this role-playing adventure game from Lionhead Studios, every action determines a character's skills, appearance and morality. A character's life story is created from childhood through adulthood and on to old age. One can grow from an inexperienced child into the most powerful being in the world, spoken of by all and immortalized in legend. As additional story and side quests await, so too does the path of righteousness, as well as the life of evil. With every choice, a character transforms into a reflection of his actions and decisions. Age leaves characters wizened and battle leaves characters scarred in the world of Fable: The Lost Chapters. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    The Lost Chapters looks as good as the original game, which still can hold its own against any other game released on Microsoft's game system.
  2. If you simply can't get enough Fable, then by all means give the developers and publisher some more of your hard earned cash.
  3. The game addresses one of the chief concerns of the first Fable, its length.
  4. While the main game can take about 15 hours at most to beat, completing all of the additional side-quests may take you up to three times as long.
  5. The story is tightly linear, so it's hard to make your character's tale your own.
  6. It's great fun to build your own good or evil hero, and with the Lost Chapters content, there are easily 20-plus hours of fun to be mined out of it. [Jan 2006, p.58]
  7. 70
    RPGs as indistinct and shallow as Fable are rare, and for good reason.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic, even to this day. The combat is still solid enough to meet today's standards in well made games. There's plenty ofThis game is fantastic, even to this day. The combat is still solid enough to meet today's standards in well made games. There's plenty of different armor sets, and you can mix match. I played this game when it first came out, and I still play it today-- the story line is a gripping one, and lets you choose here and there what you want to do based on bad or good. Your appearance even changes due to the choices. There's multiple ways of making money for an Action RPG, from just killing monsters, to renting out houses and collecting the money. I have played all the Fables, and the first is still by far the best. If you haven't played it and are skeptical on buying it, I highly recommend this game. Expand
  2. DevinM.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Incontrovertibly Fable among the best RPG's this generation. I have both KOTAR's, and Jade Empire an Fable ranks respectably at Incontrovertibly Fable among the best RPG's this generation. I have both KOTAR's, and Jade Empire an Fable ranks respectably at number two. KOTOR 1 takes the title and Fable is a very close second. Expand
  3. LucW.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Unique game that is excellent.
  4. JonathanG.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    I am not a big fan of RPGs but this a rarity. Fable is a masterpiece. I love the fact that this game gives you a choice at almost every point I am not a big fan of RPGs but this a rarity. Fable is a masterpiece. I love the fact that this game gives you a choice at almost every point in the game. The Freedom! Its only week point are its annoying loading times. Expand
  5. JoshP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    Highly enjoyable fictional game which is easy to play and is fun.
  6. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    I would like to start off by saying that, no matter what Moleneux says, Fable: The Lost Chapters is not an RPG (or at best, it is a very ****I would like to start off by saying that, no matter what Moleneux says, Fable: The Lost Chapters is not an RPG (or at best, it is a very **** one). This is the first Fable game that I ever experienced and I must say I liked it a lot. It is definitely one of my most treasured games from my younger days. I say younger, I am still quite young. LOL SMILEY FACE FML LMAO et cetera. To the task at hand; What makes Fable so great? For me, I found that the whole world was quite amusing in a childish sense and that the story was wonderfully simple yet immersive. It is true that the story is very linear and that it is your bog standard "Tragedy befalls Protagonist, Protagonist Seeks Revenge, Protagonist Realises he has a greater purpose, saves world, END" story line, but the way it is delivered is so delightfully entertaining. The choices you make along the way, don't have a massive effect on the gameworld as promised, but they still make for some good entertainment in the short term, even if it is only cosmetic. The characters throughout the game are voiced well, though a little cheesy at times; this point is mainly aimed at piss annoying villagers. I especially liked the main character. Silent as the grave. The emotions system, that is in place of any real conversation, works as the in game jester; bringing joy to the user through way of farting. It is great for a while, but it doesn't take long before it gets old. Still it works well at amusing your mates every now and then if they pop round. As I mentioned before, Fable is not an RPG and it plays best to go into it with a mindset that it is an action game. In this sense it works well, as the combat is fun enough that it doesn't get too old before the game ends, but it is simple enough that the 10 year old demographic that mainly play this game can understand it. However, it is difficult to specialise in one type of combat (either Melee, Ranged or Magic) without getting completely slaughtered by your opponents, which ruins the RPG aspect of things. Other features like marrying villagers and buying housing are all a bit blah, so they are not worth talking about. Finally, one of the main gripes that critics made sure they pointed out, was that the original game was too short. I think this problem has been well addressed with the additional content that is offered in this game. Overall, buy this game if you are looking for a good 10 to 12 hour laugh. Don't buy this game if you bought the original and still own it; instead, either rent it or sell the old version and buy this one with proceeds. Expand
  7. JaceN.
    Dec 20, 2005
    4
    More of an expansion pack than anything! Im afraid that Fable bit off ten times more than it could chew with the whirlwind of RPG greatness More of an expansion pack than anything! Im afraid that Fable bit off ten times more than it could chew with the whirlwind of RPG greatness it promised prior to release...and fell flat at Morrowinds feet after release. Its just too limiting, the whole world is just a highway from Bowerstone in the North to Twinblades camp in the south, the new areas are nothing special and the sidequests are more like pointless busywork to make the most of the fishbowl-like environment you feel trapped in. Claustraphobia ahoy! Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews