Fable Xbox

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 277
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BloikF.
    Oct 13, 2004
    6
    Not anywhwre near as innovative as folks would have you believe. In fact, there's very little new stuff here. Come to think of it, they borrow so heavily from other titles of the genre it's almost not funny. Is it supposed to frame out like that? Ugh. And what's with the terrible voice acting? Doesn't help with suspension of disbelief at all. Decent, but not great by Not anywhwre near as innovative as folks would have you believe. In fact, there's very little new stuff here. Come to think of it, they borrow so heavily from other titles of the genre it's almost not funny. Is it supposed to frame out like that? Ugh. And what's with the terrible voice acting? Doesn't help with suspension of disbelief at all. Decent, but not great by any stretch of the imagination. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    Tier 2
    + Offers a fun visual experience for its time
    + Unique action RPG gameplay with a wide variety of mechanics to be selected from
    ? Gameplay doesn't have long-lasting staying power despite some unique hooks
    ? The proposed player freedom is a lot more restrictive and shallow than what was promised
    - World feels somewhat shallow and empty in spite of its aesthetic accomplishments
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    5
    After playing and enjoying Fable II and hearing from just about everyone how the first Fable was better, I couldn't wait to pick this up and enjoy the ultimate Fable experience. It didn't happen. The game has a better storyline than the sequal, I'll grant that, but the graphics, combat, magic and ambiguous inventory system says to me that it needs to stay in the previous Xbox generation ofAfter playing and enjoying Fable II and hearing from just about everyone how the first Fable was better, I couldn't wait to pick this up and enjoy the ultimate Fable experience. It didn't happen. The game has a better storyline than the sequal, I'll grant that, but the graphics, combat, magic and ambiguous inventory system says to me that it needs to stay in the previous Xbox generation of games. Over all, the choices given to you are rather simple and have too much in black or white consequences, it doesn't have the same humor as the sequel and the npc interaction is only a quarter of what you are able to do in Fable II. This game really didn't invoke any emotion from me at all. It might have been great and revolutionary when it came out in2004, but personally it left me rolling my eyes Expand
  4. Tenko
    Jan 5, 2005
    6
    Oh what a let down! Fable is very pretty but it's... TOO easy TOO short TOO dull. Not too surprising it's £15 in all the sales, 2 months after release.
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    What does the feel like many years after the overhyping? Well, not great, but not terrible either. The story is very uninteresting and the hyped things about good and evil could have been made a lot more important aspect to the game. It doesn't affect story at all, which is a shame. Now it's just more like a simple detail. The story is too short and doesn't allow you to continue afterWhat does the feel like many years after the overhyping? Well, not great, but not terrible either. The story is very uninteresting and the hyped things about good and evil could have been made a lot more important aspect to the game. It doesn't affect story at all, which is a shame. Now it's just more like a simple detail. The story is too short and doesn't allow you to continue after having completed it (You can only continue with your previous save files). It does have a logical reason though.

    The combat is good though and I like the way of leveling up. Instead of leveling up, you earn XP for specific skills, which are earned in different ways (By using magic, close combat, ranged combat). The game is still too easy though. The game is worth trying. It doesn't amaze you, but it's still worth trying.
    Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2012
    5
    If it's hype over freedom and mechanics hadn't been so incredibly hyped I might of been able to enjoy the game more. It's a linear game and way too kiddy. It does have some imaginative ideas in it though and is solid in it's gameplay. Also, too easy.
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    7
    You're a hero. Your family is killed. You have to avenge their deaths and stop a guy named Jack from obtaining a powerful, world ending sword. OK. So, this is an action RPG, the first in one of three games. It's a fun game, but not the greatest in the world. It has a lot of errors and there are general hair pulling tasks. Also, the save system is just terrible.

    But it's not without its
    You're a hero. Your family is killed. You have to avenge their deaths and stop a guy named Jack from obtaining a powerful, world ending sword. OK. So, this is an action RPG, the first in one of three games. It's a fun game, but not the greatest in the world. It has a lot of errors and there are general hair pulling tasks. Also, the save system is just terrible.

    But it's not without its merit. This is the father of Fable II which is one of my favorite games of all time. Check it out.
    Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2014
    5
    This game is better than its successor in only one regard: the story. And that's not saying much. In every other regard it falls short. It's clunky, uninteresting and leaves very little lasting impression.

    I honestly believe this game is way over-hyped simply because it attempted to take RPGs to a new place. Unfortunately, that new place isn't exactly as shiny as they claimed it
    This game is better than its successor in only one regard: the story. And that's not saying much. In every other regard it falls short. It's clunky, uninteresting and leaves very little lasting impression.

    I honestly believe this game is way over-hyped simply because it attempted to take RPGs to a new place. Unfortunately, that new place isn't exactly as shiny as they claimed it would be.

    There are some fun bits, like the arena, but mostly it's a slog-fest. I'd recommend giving Fable a try just to see if you like the style of gameplay, but I wouldn't recommend buying the game until you know.
    Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Pese a que fue muy criticado, me parece un juego entretenido. Con una historia, que pese a tener diversos cuellos de botella, sigue manteniendo al usuario interesado y con una jugabilidad ajustada. Tal vez hubo demasiadas promesas, aunque no se podía esperar menos, y por eso quedó un poco deslucido.
  10. WendyB.
    Oct 1, 2004
    7
    I loved the game... until it ended. I was way too short and the end guy was too easy to beat. come on all you got to do is run from these guys. anyways the map was too small of a world needs more too do like ElderScrolls.
  11. EmilyJ.
    Oct 4, 2004
    6
    I was supremely disappointed in this game! Years of waiting with baited breath, and for what? A painfully short game with a ghastly plot and repetitive, unexciting combat. Even without the hype this was still mediocre. The graphics were okay. The character customization was admittedly cool, but even that was not enough to justify the game's sizeable flaws. A cute little game, but do I was supremely disappointed in this game! Years of waiting with baited breath, and for what? A painfully short game with a ghastly plot and repetitive, unexciting combat. Even without the hype this was still mediocre. The graphics were okay. The character customization was admittedly cool, but even that was not enough to justify the game's sizeable flaws. A cute little game, but do yourself a favor-- rent, don't buy! Expand
  12. MatthewM.
    Sep 17, 2004
    6
    If you ignore everything the developers said about this game you will probably enjoy it. If you don't and actually had hopes, prepare to be disappointed. I can forgive a lot of the missing features that were announced a few weeks before release and still enjoy the game until one point. Any open endedness, non linear, subtle choices that effect your alignment are not in this game. If you ignore everything the developers said about this game you will probably enjoy it. If you don't and actually had hopes, prepare to be disappointed. I can forgive a lot of the missing features that were announced a few weeks before release and still enjoy the game until one point. Any open endedness, non linear, subtle choices that effect your alignment are not in this game. It's like the developers told us they are making morrowind and we got delivered a diablo. Both good games in their right, but very different. You cannot be an inept hero and fail a quest (or it makes you re do it until you do complete it) it does not let you finnish a quest evil or good (usually) but rather lets you choose a good quest or an evil quest; very little choices and such. Again, not a bad game, but it is not what was even remotely promised to gamers. It is not revolutionary, it's a simple Kotor, not bad, but not what was expected. Expand
  13. VincentJC.
    Oct 1, 2004
    7
    Fable seemed to be an attempt at a true action-defined RPG that seemed to fall short of its mark. While providing another title for the RPG-deprived Xbox, the true fan will most likely find more comfort in The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. Story/Plot: The biggest complaint with the storyline is that it was too short. It is the basic genre of boy is separated from family and seeks revenge. Fable seemed to be an attempt at a true action-defined RPG that seemed to fall short of its mark. While providing another title for the RPG-deprived Xbox, the true fan will most likely find more comfort in The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. Story/Plot: The biggest complaint with the storyline is that it was too short. It is the basic genre of boy is separated from family and seeks revenge. The one unique concept is that you start off the game as this young boy only to find yourself at adulthood within the first half hour of playing. This should of been a tip-off at how quickly the storyline would continue to move. (7 of 10) Game Control: The game control seemed to have some flaws as well. Again, well conceived, but never really felt completely comfortable. Moving around Fable was performed via fixed path maps with fairly long load times and regenerating enemies. Enemies were targeted using the left trigger which never seemed to completely work just right. It seemed far too often either an enemy wasn't selected and you were caught facing the wrong direction or the wrong enemy would be chosen putting you in harm's way for a wide-open attack. On the positive side, the magic system was well designed and the navigation sysytem for conversation and item use was fairly easy to use. (5 of 10) Graphics: For the most part, the graphics were very good. It seemed to be your typical xbox game-engine generated effects. (7 of 10) Sound: I thought the soundtrack to the game was one of the best features. Most of the musical scores fit the mood and scenery. My only complaint was the repetitive booming voice of the guildmaster reminding your character to heal up or pick up a guild card. (9 of 10) Misc: Hmmm... The intangibles. After finishing the game, I felt there was necessity to finally get a game that was three-quarters complete to the market with some of the rough edges not completely smoothed out. A couple features that I think stood out was the trading system and the ability to domesticate (marry, buy and sell homes, improve an existing home). I think were the game fell short was in content, especially in sub-quests that could have provided a lot of extra hours of gameplay. Overall, this is a game that would be worth waiting for it you intend to buy it. It is far too expensive at $44.95 (Amazon) for a game that is truly beatable in less than 10 hours. (7 of 10) Expand
  14. DouglasG.
    Oct 8, 2004
    5
    I thought this game was sooooooooo disappointing. I was so excited and couldn't wait for this game, but I never should have bought it. It is definitely a renter. To take four years to develope this game and all I got was about 10 hours or less of playing time before killing the bad guy! Come on! KOTOR was much much better. The only thing that sets this apart from other games was the I thought this game was sooooooooo disappointing. I was so excited and couldn't wait for this game, but I never should have bought it. It is definitely a renter. To take four years to develope this game and all I got was about 10 hours or less of playing time before killing the bad guy! Come on! KOTOR was much much better. The only thing that sets this apart from other games was the body development and the scars that stay on your body. As for me, I'd rather have more game play then a scar on my face. I also read in a review that the game continues on after you beat the last guy, but mine didn't do this. The game ended with credits and I can only go back to my last save point. Not that it is a big deal since the only thing you can do is get married, drink beer, and fight people over and over again. I am sure there will be a sequel, but I will definately rent it to see if they improved on anything. Of course it may take 10 years for the sequel. Expand
  15. Lily
    Sep 19, 2004
    7
    I was very disappointed in this game. I expected too much out of it and was not able to enjoy it as much as I could have. The developers should have never opened their mouths, too much hype can really kill the game.
  16. KevinF.
    Sep 28, 2004
    7
    Ignore the hype and the reviews and just rent it. Sadly, for many, the best part of the game is the music.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Oct 15, 2004
    7
    It doesnt have any cheats im a cheat maniac and no cheats such as A,B,up.down or ECT just an example.
  18. NicF.
    Sep 21, 2004
    7
    I enjoyed it alot until I started to realize the end was coming... bout 11 hrs in. I leveled up (which killing wasps was about as good as bandits) Not a real challange though. Overall, the Hype killed it, hands down. Quests were way too linear and easy. nothing was a challange. o well this was just IMHO.
  19. HoratioZ.
    Sep 23, 2004
    7
    This would be an excellent budget priced game. Read all the comments about the excellent graphics and then look at the actual game. The graphics are pretty bad but everyone thinks they are excellent for some inexplicable reason. It's a fun game and worth buying but it isn't worth $50 and it's nowhere near the game that they promised.
  20. JaviF.
    Nov 23, 2004
    7
    Okay first of all this game isnt as good as everyone though it was going to be but it is good. Simply put i would not rcommend it but it is a good game. there are just bigger fish in the ocean to waste your time with this game. My experience of this game was that it limits freedom and the world isnt really a world. Just a bunch of pathways through the wilderness put together. I was also Okay first of all this game isnt as good as everyone though it was going to be but it is good. Simply put i would not rcommend it but it is a good game. there are just bigger fish in the ocean to waste your time with this game. My experience of this game was that it limits freedom and the world isnt really a world. Just a bunch of pathways through the wilderness put together. I was also highly disappointed with the ending. Expand
  21. CuppaJoe
    Oct 13, 2004
    5
    Oh dear. They used the same voice actors from B&W...Oh dear... Tired RPG elements galore, where is the supposed originality? Hype. Is it supposed to frame out this much? Disgraceful. Peter Molyneux, Legend? Populous and Magic Carpet a legend do not make. Over-rated as it is though, Fable is OK, just not excellent. And I re-iterate, the voice acting is terrible.
  22. EricS.
    Sep 15, 2004
    7
    I dont know if Anthony is on the payroll or if hes just apoligizing for every thing it isn't. And i dont know if this is everybodys first "rpg". which it really isnt i'ts a basic game. im not saying it isn't fun. but it pales in comparison to games like morrowind. games where you can roam free and dont have to follow the path. for the hype and the time it took it'sI dont know if Anthony is on the payroll or if hes just apoligizing for every thing it isn't. And i dont know if this is everybodys first "rpg". which it really isnt i'ts a basic game. im not saying it isn't fun. but it pales in comparison to games like morrowind. games where you can roam free and dont have to follow the path. for the hype and the time it took it's somewhat disappointing. 20 hours thats it. i could care less about punting chickens, or getting a haircut or tattoo. the camera's somewhat tough but the fighting style is good. Why was the childhood over and done with in 10 minutes with just a few things to do. right to the guild with an hour of training that was basic at best. the first town is small a couple of merchants a tavern and a barber. oh and a whole bunch of guards and townsfolk who dont do or say anything different from each other. yea i'm sure ill have fun playing it but to say "the best rpg ever" i dont think its even close. Had more fun with Shining Force from genisis 10 years ago. Expand
  23. DylanM.
    Sep 17, 2004
    7
    I must say i enjoyed playing this game, and i will continue playing it many more times, how ever i was very very disappointed, i tried doing everything they at one time said you would be able to do, but couldn't. Not to mention the lacking of quests. I do think they should try and make another game similar to this, except add the grand concepts of morrowind ;) thousands of weapons, I must say i enjoyed playing this game, and i will continue playing it many more times, how ever i was very very disappointed, i tried doing everything they at one time said you would be able to do, but couldn't. Not to mention the lacking of quests. I do think they should try and make another game similar to this, except add the grand concepts of morrowind ;) thousands of weapons, or make more detailed story line............ In Fable you never change the story only how you are known, this is something they got wrong, taking one thing calling it another. I guess over all im giving it about 7.5. Expand
  24. MichaelR.
    Sep 19, 2004
    7
    I enjoyed Fable, but it certainly was a letdown. The painted a picture of something very similar to Morrowind, but much deeper character customization and enviornments, but what I got instead was a poor version of Zelda combined with a gimped version of The Sims. You'll certainly have fun with Fable, and it is certainly a novelty, but there are better ways to spend fifty dollars. A I enjoyed Fable, but it certainly was a letdown. The painted a picture of something very similar to Morrowind, but much deeper character customization and enviornments, but what I got instead was a poor version of Zelda combined with a gimped version of The Sims. You'll certainly have fun with Fable, and it is certainly a novelty, but there are better ways to spend fifty dollars. A must-have when it goes Platinum Hits. Expand
  25. Derrick
    Sep 23, 2004
    5
    It was a decent game but not that every body knows u can still play after u beat jack u just have to watch the credits and by the way i was truly applaud that u couldnt explore like in morrowind.
  26. JohnW.
    Sep 24, 2004
    7
    This game didn't do as well as it should have with the critics simply because it did not live up to the hype. If you ignore the hype and just play the game as it is it's a really wonderful RPG. It is as many critics have mentioned, very linear, and it is also very very short. The shortness of the game and how linear it is really takes away from what could have been the best RPG This game didn't do as well as it should have with the critics simply because it did not live up to the hype. If you ignore the hype and just play the game as it is it's a really wonderful RPG. It is as many critics have mentioned, very linear, and it is also very very short. The shortness of the game and how linear it is really takes away from what could have been the best RPG to date hands down. Expand
  27. JeremyG.
    Sep 27, 2004
    6
    Way to short. A RPG that only lasts 9 hours is a renter as far as I'm concerened. Great gameplay but to little - um - too little.
  28. DanwiseG.
    Nov 23, 2004
    7
    First off let me say this game had lots of potential. Secondly this game had been built to be one of the greatest RPG's ever made. Well after playing it I can without a doubt say it's not. Starting with some of the good things about this game. By far this game has some of the best graphics on the xbox. Lionhead designed some beautiful environments to hack and slash through as First off let me say this game had lots of potential. Secondly this game had been built to be one of the greatest RPG's ever made. Well after playing it I can without a doubt say it's not. Starting with some of the good things about this game. By far this game has some of the best graphics on the xbox. Lionhead designed some beautiful environments to hack and slash through as well as characters that look good if not repetitive. Soundwise this game rocks, the sound was inspired by the guy who wrote the batman soundtrack and you can tell they put some effort into giving each area it's own theme. Gameplay is fun and you can fight enemies with a zelda like feel, though the enemies are a bit on the stupid side once you learn their patterns; bosses are way to easy to beat as well, leaving you a little unsatisified. The game fails however in two areas other than being way too easy. First is the lackluster story which doesn't involve you at all in your characters or the quest that seems to end way too soon. What makes a great RPG is the feeling that you're involved in a movie and the characters involved are actually ones that you care about and celebrate their victories while mourning their defeats. I could have cared less about the characters in this game, not to mention how characters just appear and dissapear out of nowwhere in the game's story. What's the point in creating a hero's academy if you feel like you're the only hero running around a world that's way too small. Now going to another of the game's flaws the length. As stated earlier I said the world is way too small and that's an understatement. You explore about half of it, over and over again for 50 percent of the game and then are thrown into the last half of it in about 8 hours left in the game. Now the developers had 4 years to make this game so COME ON!!! Also touching on the length of this game, well you can beat in in under 20-25 hours flat and that's no joke. What might keep you interested, the sims like marriage and buying house features, feel a little flat and boring, meaning you won't spend too much time on this aspect of the game. I love an RPG that gives me a immediant desire to want to replay it and catch what I missed before. Once you beat this game you probably won't want to replay it unless you just want to see both very short endings, you won't miss much in this game. Fable is a rental hands down, don't make the mistake I did in purchasing it, playing it, beating it in under 25 hours, and then letting it collect dust on your shelf the rest of it's lifespan. For the fact that it does achieve a playable game that you can rent and have fun with, for a short time, I give this game a 7 out of 10. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#39 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 87
  2. Negative: 1 out of 87
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    88
    9 / 9 / 8 / 9 - platinum [Vol 149]
  2. 100
    Just remember, Fable is not "Project Ego." What it is, though, is a redefinition for RPG's. It takes out all the frustrating elements of the genre, and instead puts in a heap of fun options and possibilities. This is why; despite its disappointing conclusion, Fable is one of the most gripping and enjoyable games that has come to grace the console scene.
  3. Fable both soars and sinks. It's wondrous and wearisome, a great step forward in the development of heroes in RPGs and a tremendous stumble over its own two feet. And in the rising and falling, it finds itself. [Oct 2004, p.88]