Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 75
    A fun, if flawed, hack'n'slash game that provides a good 10 hours or so of shooting, explosives, and plenty of mutants to dig into.
  2. The action is repetitive and straightforward, but the game features a lot of cool weapons and tons of stuff to hack or shoot at, plus it's got some of the charm that helped make Fallout a genuine classic.
  3. The game doesn't have any glaring failures, which is always good. And it made me laugh, which isn't necessarily bad. [Feb 2004, p.107]
  4. 75
    A competent and occasionally compelling hack-and-slash, but fans of the PC games will continue to dream of the true RPG they'll never get, and fans of Dark Alliance would presumably rather play "Dark Alliance II."
  5. Though it did seem repetitive in several parts, I found it to be a fun way to pass the time. On the other hand however, I really don't think this game stayed true to the Fallout series, and I was definitely expecting more.
  6. 40
    Most importantly, though (especially for fans of the PC Fallout), you've got an RPG without any sort of enticing story.
  7. A bit of a cookie-cutter game that was simply taking an established engine and an established genre and putting a post-apocalyptic facelift on it.
  8. Brotherhood of Steel can be described like this: "Dark Alliance" minus encumbrance minus magic minus feats plus guns plus grenades. It's "Dark Alliance" for dummies.
  9. There's practically no aspect that doesn't appear half-hearted. Black Isle's drawn-out death has undoubtedly poisoned Brotherhood, but it's hard to tell if there was ever a good game here to begin with. [May 2004, p.109]
  10. As with all action-RPGs, Fallout's best played with a friend. It's not the deepest dungeon crawler, but it is among the most fun. [Feb 2004, p.76]
  11. You'll be capping scumbags left and right in a fireworks display of flesh and blood, going after the town prostitute's heisted jewelry or collecting giant scorpion tails for some much-needed extra cash, and things of this nature. [Feb 2004, p.42]
  12. What a thermonuclear disappointment. To someone like me, who loved all three Fallout role-playing games on PC, this is a power fist to the face - an insult. [March 2004, p.114]
  13. This is essentially a stylish "Day After" dumb-and-gunner, with even less brainpower required than "Dark Alliance," and it's safe to say that if you enjoyed that game, this will have some appeal for you.
  14. Only get this title if you've finished everything there is to do in the previous titles, and even then only at a discounted rate.
  15. A lot of the fun got nuked out of Dark Alliance when it was moved to Fallout's post-apocalyptic future.
  16. A decent action RPG that manages to be as good as Baldur's Gate, though not better than it, and so falls short of really offering anything new.
  17. Those encountering BoS without ever playing "Baldur's Gate" will definitely find some sweet RPG style gameplay and some nifty real-time action to boot.
  18. It's exactly what I find fun in games and the fact it's a Fallout title automatically makes it a winner in my book. But to the rest of the world, load times, freeze up, tough viewable angle and way mature themes might make you want to rent this one before buying.
  19. The problem is that you get thrown into the game with very little to work with. That would be fine if using the weapons weren't so freaking hard to do. Collision detection was not a big thought in this game, or at least it seemed to be an afterthought.
  20. 66
    It does, apart from the lack of options and jumping puzzles, have solid gameplay, decent graphics, and excellent sound, but the lack of originality and poor story keeps it from being really worth anything more than a casual rental.
  21. A decent example of the genre and has some creative design, but it won't blow any minds or win many awards.
  22. Interplay's Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel is an action/RPG title that seems like it's less than the sum of its parts. Not only is the action disjointed, but it's just a bit too much of a chore to bash your way through it.
  23. 55
    The new style of gameplay, which is best described as Baldur's Gate: Post-Apocalypse, could have been interesting, but simply falls flat on it's ass in terms of overall quality and should be apprehended for identity theft.
  24. Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel isn't a bad game, but it's far from memorable. It'll keep you entertained for a good 10-12 hours, but beyond unlocking harder difficulties there's not much replay value.
  25. My advice to the developers would be to broaden their horizons and come up with something a little more original, or if you're going to repaint an old car, disguise it better. It just doesn't seem a lot of effort went into this one.
  26. This is one of those games where you really want to see a sequel come out with a lot more depth and perhaps a different gameplay viewpoint.
  27. The deadly combination of shopping for new murder gear and completing missions of mass destruction make this game more addictive than caramel-coated OxyContin.
  28. What makes an otherwise solid action RPG mediocre is the obscenely slow and tedious beginning. [Mar 2004, p.101]
  29. The game is a spin-off from the original Fallout games for the PC. Fans of the original will appreciate and recognize the campy retro-50's sci-fi feel of the in-game jokes, music and cut scenes.
  30. This is simply too flawed a title to recommend for purchase, especially in light of the competition, but it's a fantastic guilty pleasure.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. YojimbosEver_kill
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    I like the game but it has its down points 1. its too short...8hrs is not long enuf 2. not enuf weapons 3. death claws are to easy to kill in I like the game but it has its down points 1. its too short...8hrs is not long enuf 2. not enuf weapons 3. death claws are to easy to kill in this on. Full Review »
  2. Andyman
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Anyone who compares this to the Fallout games on the PC is making a huge mistake. Fallout: BoS is nothing like them, nor is it trying to be. Anyone who compares this to the Fallout games on the PC is making a huge mistake. Fallout: BoS is nothing like them, nor is it trying to be. This is Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance in a post-apocalyptic world, and I think it rocks. It is a raw, unapologetic, violent romp thru a grungy wasteland, and incredibly fun, especially 2-player! What's not to love about beating the crap out of anything and everything that gets in your way? Full Review »
  3. [Anonymous]
    Feb 2, 2004
    0
    Bleh! This game is the stupidest, I ever heart of! I think it doesn't cost that 5 hours of downloading ilegal ISO! It is just taking Bleh! This game is the stupidest, I ever heart of! I think it doesn't cost that 5 hours of downloading ilegal ISO! It is just taking space on my XBOX HD! I like love (and I prey for Fallout 3 everyday (stupid consloidistic Interplay, you ruined my dreams! - by fallout fan)) Fallout, but this is most stupid game, i ever play (and i played games from Cryo!) and what's even worse - it is destroying VERY GOOD name of Fallout. I hate it! Full Review »