Far Cry Instincts Xbox

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 72
  2. Negative: 28 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonJ.
    Oct 17, 2005
    6
    If the gameplay and structure of Far Cry even came close to matching the graphical lustre and polish adorned by it's creators, then this would be a fantastic gaming achievement. As it is, I think it's another case of style over substance, which is a shame really because I had quite high hopes for this one. I found the single player mode fairly solid but quite basic, repetitive If the gameplay and structure of Far Cry even came close to matching the graphical lustre and polish adorned by it's creators, then this would be a fantastic gaming achievement. As it is, I think it's another case of style over substance, which is a shame really because I had quite high hopes for this one. I found the single player mode fairly solid but quite basic, repetitive and unrewarding. The enemy AI just doesn't match up to the promise of the game's visuals and while isn't completely stupid they do have a habit taking the shortest possible route to you without the need for caution or cover. The inclusion of stealth aspects and you choosing your approach to dispatch the enemy tip-toe or gung-ho, ends up being a pretty hollow choice. If a designer wants to include a differing range of tactics in a game, then please at least include some kind of consequence to your choice of actions. I found it made no real difference in sneaking around, remaining unnoticed, planning and laying traps and generally bidding my time to dispatch the opposition compared to running in guns blazing. There was far too much ammo made available either way to add any kind of tactical depth in sniping the enemy 1 precious bullet at a time. Even when you'd just sprayed the the whole area with virtual lead there was usually more than enough either there or just round the corner and as such another opportunity to create an extra layer of gameplay is gone. Having not had the chance to explore any of the multiplayer options I cannot comment on these features. Overall, it's another lesson in that fantastic graphics do not make a fantastic game argument. It is also rather easy so if you're a seasoned FPS gamer and with no skill level options to accomodate varying difficulty needs you may find this game to be quite literally, a rather shallow but beautiful walk in the park. I would suggest at least trying before you buy or maybe a suitable rental option. Expand
  2. JanD.
    Nov 20, 2005
    7
    First impression is this game rivals Halo2 but the reality is that this game is WAY too easy: the AI is shamefull compared to the graphics and ammo & health kits are lying around in such abundance that you can fly through the levels without ever feeling really challenged. A pity in the end.
  3. RichardS.
    Nov 20, 2005
    7
    Many of the criticisms listed by others only apply to the early levels of the game - it improves with time. The stealth playing - laying traps and luring the prey in - is fun. As for shooting baddies in the head - one shot and they are down, you just have to aim properly. The graphics are impressive though the location is not as interesting or compelling as the near-future cityscapes of Many of the criticisms listed by others only apply to the early levels of the game - it improves with time. The stealth playing - laying traps and luring the prey in - is fun. As for shooting baddies in the head - one shot and they are down, you just have to aim properly. The graphics are impressive though the location is not as interesting or compelling as the near-future cityscapes of Half Life 2. The gameplay is smooth and fast and teh variety of vehicles is cool. The story develops interestingly too. I didn't like the aliens - in general I don't like the way so many FPS games deteriorate into horror etc - it would have been better to stick with human foes. The aliens moved too fast as well. It does get repetitive going from camp to camp. The music is dreadful - action scenes are accompanied by screaming guitar solos that wouldn't be out of place on ESPN's Sportscenter. Horrible. The creepy techno score of Half Life 2 is much more cinematic and atmospheric. Though the weapon noise is the best I have heard - shooting double machine guns in a narrow corridor is brilliant. Overall, I rate it below Halo, Riddick, Half Life 2, but above Area 51, Call of Duty, Medal of Honour and Doom. Expand
  4. JesseM.
    Oct 13, 2005
    6
    This game got boring. It was repetative, go to this camp, kill them. Go to next camp. Kill them... Boring. The game is worth renting. Don't buy it.
  5. Nick
    Jul 25, 2006
    6
    Ok so the game has quite impressive visuals, but it is also bugged and offers nothing new. It comes nowhere near Half Life 2 and certainly doesn't touch either of the Halos. Annoying and random difficulty make this an entirley average game.
  6. ApocalypseB.
    Dec 15, 2005
    7
    A good idea spoiled by some pretty awful A.I. and even worse map design. Fun to play? Undoubtibly yes but my desire to clock the game died after the mine level. Beaufitul graphics and back-drops but what gives this game a seven is the evil save points. It soooo annoying getting to the end of a level, only to die by complete mystery, then have to spend another 30mins getting to the same A good idea spoiled by some pretty awful A.I. and even worse map design. Fun to play? Undoubtibly yes but my desire to clock the game died after the mine level. Beaufitul graphics and back-drops but what gives this game a seven is the evil save points. It soooo annoying getting to the end of a level, only to die by complete mystery, then have to spend another 30mins getting to the same point and again dying in the same way. Recommend? Second hand yeah but not full wack! Expand
  7. JaceN.
    Nov 11, 2005
    6
    Suffers badly from marshmellow ammunition! Know anyone who can take fifteen rounds in the face and live to cause you more harm than you dealt?...this games full of em! Isnt too much of a problem on its own but when your trapped in an arena full of freaks with P90s and some fool with a big nasty rocket launcher stands overhead taking potshots...it creates an infuriating impasse very Suffers badly from marshmellow ammunition! Know anyone who can take fifteen rounds in the face and live to cause you more harm than you dealt?...this games full of em! Isnt too much of a problem on its own but when your trapped in an arena full of freaks with P90s and some fool with a big nasty rocket launcher stands overhead taking potshots...it creates an infuriating impasse very quickly. Why on earth was invincibility taken out? And the buggy map editor is of little value unless youre on Live, it even performs more "Anti-Non-Live Subscriber" discrimination as you have to be signed in to create a map that can be played live. No real reason why...just wanted to force you to sign up! Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. I was expecting a lot from Instincts, and boy, I got it. Smooth as silk, pretty as a picture and as vicious as an angry lion, Jack Carver's second title is as good as his first, and is pretty much a must-own for any fan of the FPS or stealth genres. Top notch.
  2. Nigh on perfect. There's no other way to put it. Words simply cannot do this game the justice it so admirably deserves. It's the most original, involving and technically astounding first person shooter since Halo 2 finally emerged and barged its way into every Xbox owner's home, and it puts most of its competitors to absolute shame.
  3. Hopefully, upcoming sequels will further tweak an already solid concept into a great game.