• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 71
  2. Negative: 28 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CoryK.
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    This game is amazing.....the graphics are top notch on the Xbox....the story is very entertaining....the gameplay is amazing....the multiplayer is addicting.....this is personally my favorite FPS ever.....yes better than Halo 2.....It's done by Ubisoft Montrela who did the Splinter Cell and Rainbow Six games so you know it's at least good.....but this game is great! Buy this This game is amazing.....the graphics are top notch on the Xbox....the story is very entertaining....the gameplay is amazing....the multiplayer is addicting.....this is personally my favorite FPS ever.....yes better than Halo 2.....It's done by Ubisoft Montrela who did the Splinter Cell and Rainbow Six games so you know it's at least good.....but this game is great! Buy this game if you have an Xbox and if you don't have an Xbox, well then buy this game and then buy an Xbox...you will not be disappointed. Expand
  2. TonyM
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Best game of the year, hands down.
  3. Daz
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    One of the best first person shooters i've ever played, possible only bettered by halo 2. I love the visuals, the vehicles (once you get used to driving/riding them), and the gameplay. I haven't tried it online yet but the single player game is brill. The mapmaker looks very interesting and should bring a bit of variety to the game after the supplied maps have been played to One of the best first person shooters i've ever played, possible only bettered by halo 2. I love the visuals, the vehicles (once you get used to driving/riding them), and the gameplay. I haven't tried it online yet but the single player game is brill. The mapmaker looks very interesting and should bring a bit of variety to the game after the supplied maps have been played to death. Overall 10/10 Expand
  4. FPSMaster
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Great game in almost every respect. The lag online is a bummer, but should work itself out over time. The first person vehicle controls could be better, but you get used to them. Overall, the graphics are great but all the pop-in seems kinda out of place considering this is an Xbox exclusive title, and most other Xbox exclusive titles don't have that tale-tale PS2 like feature. Once Great game in almost every respect. The lag online is a bummer, but should work itself out over time. The first person vehicle controls could be better, but you get used to them. Overall, the graphics are great but all the pop-in seems kinda out of place considering this is an Xbox exclusive title, and most other Xbox exclusive titles don't have that tale-tale PS2 like feature. Once again, EGM shows it's Sony fanboyism giving this game a 7.0. You can bet your bottom dollar if it hadn't been canned on the weak PS2 that they'd given the game at least a 9.0. Expand
  5. JoeM.
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Best map editor ever!!!
  6. MickS.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome.
  7. MercZerk
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I'm with rose... i wuz hooked on halo2, but now im hooked on this... im even gettin all my friends into it, to.
  8. Sapo
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Também achei muito interessante. Gráficos excelentes - claro que piores que os do PC, mas não se pode ter tudo -, e a ótima sacada dos 'feral powers'. Muito bom. Recomendo.
  9. Qickthumz
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    By far one of the best buys out for the Xbox right now. I recommend it to any and everyone.
  10. MikeE.
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    This is easily the best video game I've ever played. The atmophere and feral abilities make this game different than any other shooter I've played. The map editor alone has led to hours of entertainment. Yes, the game is easy due to your abiltiy to heal yourself and an insane amont of health, but just adjust the settings and you'll agree that its the greatest game on the This is easily the best video game I've ever played. The atmophere and feral abilities make this game different than any other shooter I've played. The map editor alone has led to hours of entertainment. Yes, the game is easy due to your abiltiy to heal yourself and an insane amont of health, but just adjust the settings and you'll agree that its the greatest game on the Xbox hands down. Expand
  11. BobRoberts
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    This is just an amazing game - talk about fun. Yep, the single player is pretty linear compared to the sprawling PC levels but there you go -limitations of the Xbox CPU, and it's still one hell of a linear shooter regardless. The gold is in the online. For me, online FPSs with vehicles are where its at, and high-speed quad bike chases at Mercy Creek are worth the price tag alone. It This is just an amazing game - talk about fun. Yep, the single player is pretty linear compared to the sprawling PC levels but there you go -limitations of the Xbox CPU, and it's still one hell of a linear shooter regardless. The gold is in the online. For me, online FPSs with vehicles are where its at, and high-speed quad bike chases at Mercy Creek are worth the price tag alone. It should be a no-brainer, particularly for the halo-haters (such as myself). Forget those laser bolts and clunky metal geek-suits, get some real action here. Expand
  12. JeffA.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    If I was on a tropical island and I could only bring one game I would pick Far Cry. Words do not do this game justice. You really feel like you are on a tropical island being hunted my mercenaries. If you can't afford a vacation then buy this game for the scenery. If you are looking for the best first person shooter on any console ever, buy Far Cry. In 29 years of videogaming this is If I was on a tropical island and I could only bring one game I would pick Far Cry. Words do not do this game justice. You really feel like you are on a tropical island being hunted my mercenaries. If you can't afford a vacation then buy this game for the scenery. If you are looking for the best first person shooter on any console ever, buy Far Cry. In 29 years of videogaming this is the best game I have ever played. Expand
  13. RedRose
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Better than the pc version. Even better than Halo 2. Awesome.
  14. Cynerg
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I can honestly say this has to be the best FPS ever made. Play this game with the lights out and with good surround sound speakers, and you're unmistakably scared for your life. Brings me back to the days of Doom, but 10 times more advanced. Can't wait for the sequel!
  15. CharlieH.
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    This game is awesome...I never thought they'd be able to pull off far cry on a console...but they did one helluva job. The feral abilites add depth to the gameplay and the map editor is chock full with options. This is a must buy for any FPS fan and those interested in spending long hours making tropical paradises...
  16. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    very fine game, one of xbox's best. insane graphics, great action, allright story...good transition from the hunted to the hunter with your new animal abilities. sloppy rag-doll effects, a bit feels weightless all around, sometimes you need to pump like 10 bullets into a guy before he dies...but hey, they cramped in lots of cool things in this game, i feel bad complaining. kind of very fine game, one of xbox's best. insane graphics, great action, allright story...good transition from the hunted to the hunter with your new animal abilities. sloppy rag-doll effects, a bit feels weightless all around, sometimes you need to pump like 10 bullets into a guy before he dies...but hey, they cramped in lots of cool things in this game, i feel bad complaining. kind of feels like turok in some areas, well...i cannot say that this is THE best fps there is...after playing half-life 2...far cry seems like pong, but...okay, its the second best. Expand
  17. SystekTECH
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This game was a surprise to bring home for the xbox. I never really got into the PC version but I remember it looking amazing and it truely shines on the xbox. The single player missions are fun and worth playing once but the multiplayer is incredible. The map editor is really easy to come up with some creative things. One cool feature is to test out your map while you are creating it. This game was a surprise to bring home for the xbox. I never really got into the PC version but I remember it looking amazing and it truely shines on the xbox. The single player missions are fun and worth playing once but the multiplayer is incredible. The map editor is really easy to come up with some creative things. One cool feature is to test out your map while you are creating it. The multiplayer action is just as good as halo and better with normal weapons. This game supports 16 players, however in multiplayer system link, the game is limited to one person per xbox. Not sure why... maybe performance reasons but it is still fun with 2 or 3 people if you have 3 xbox's around. BUY IT!!! Expand
  18. MichaelP.
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    I have played, and completed the PC version of FarCry, and waited anxiously for this Xbox version. I was thrilled to find a whole new story to play through, a killer online mode, and a user friendly map editor, which is producing some amazing results from the Xbox community. I think that finally, there's a 'Halo2 killer' that'll make it's presence felt on Xbox I have played, and completed the PC version of FarCry, and waited anxiously for this Xbox version. I was thrilled to find a whole new story to play through, a killer online mode, and a user friendly map editor, which is producing some amazing results from the Xbox community. I think that finally, there's a 'Halo2 killer' that'll make it's presence felt on Xbox Live! for a long time from now... Excellent game...a must have for any FPS fan... And you can drink the water...hehehe Expand
  19. Lucas38
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    With a map making tool that is a Far Cry from that of Pariah, Far Cry: Instincts has what it takes to be the best FPS on the current generation of the XBOX console! Talk about lush! The water, foliage, sound effects, and overall graphic presentation is IMO phenomenal! The story mode is alot of fun and mixes stealth with a bit of run 'n' gun brilliantly! For me , as a designer, With a map making tool that is a Far Cry from that of Pariah, Far Cry: Instincts has what it takes to be the best FPS on the current generation of the XBOX console! Talk about lush! The water, foliage, sound effects, and overall graphic presentation is IMO phenomenal! The story mode is alot of fun and mixes stealth with a bit of run 'n' gun brilliantly! For me , as a designer, the best part is the map maker! You can create some pretty sophisticated maps with the easy to use map making mode and there is a huge sense of satisfaction when you see the world you created literally come alive! This may very well be a "Game of the Year" title, indeed!!! Collapse
  20. MarceloS.
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    O game é lindo! jogabilidade ótima, graficos maravilhosos, recomendo com certeza.
  21. JustinO.
    Sep 30, 2005
    9
    Finally a really fun new FPS has come out. 'Normal' weapons with none of that futuristic ray gun crap. Cool vehicles- ATV, Jet Ski, HMV, and even hang gliders and zip lines. Fun singleplayer, great multiplayer and a simply amazing map editor. What's not to like? This will be one of my main games for quite some time.
  22. RavenX301
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    Muiltiplayer is the best of the best (If you like the hint type of game) The levels are so wonderful and lovely that you wish you could walk around them. The A.I are not as impressive as they claim they are and the guns can act up (like not killing someone in under 20 shots) But the feel of this game is so ingrossing its unbelieveable. The biggest complaint would have to be the fact you Muiltiplayer is the best of the best (If you like the hint type of game) The levels are so wonderful and lovely that you wish you could walk around them. The A.I are not as impressive as they claim they are and the guns can act up (like not killing someone in under 20 shots) But the feel of this game is so ingrossing its unbelieveable. The biggest complaint would have to be the fact you dont see your hands when you drive and you have really interact with anything. I know thats not much to some but to me it takes some of the bad a$$ or slick killer feel away sense it just looks dumb. you can't just pull a knife out and you can't see you hands push the grass back as you run through it (which was in a trialer of this game as an 'in game' screen) However these are small personal problems that i have with games that take some of the real life out of it. (also Half Life 2) But that can't take away the fact that the game is amazing. Still.....I can't help but feel underwhlemed by making due with not so great traps (They are all the same) and stealh killing....I like it finally that when you kill some one in a group they all dont automatically know where you are. But overall the game was sweet. Expand
  23. TheBigmac
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    First of all, I'm not a first person shooter fan. I don't even play halo eventhou everybody says it's the best game an bla bla bla, for a simple reason. i suffer of motion sickness. For I reason I can't explain, I ended up playing this game and I was hooked, Really well designed game, great graphics, cool weapons and something most games nowadays forget about: FUN!!!
  24. Nanokiwi
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Make no mistake - this is a very very good game - i would put it in my top 5 of the 40 xbox games ive played. Though i dont think the vehicles are anywhere near as good as halo - day-2-day killing is just as much fun. If you are vaugely interested in FPS, youve got to get your hands on this.
  25. MadameC.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Trés bon!
  26. BenG.
    Feb 13, 2006
    9
    This game is better than halo. I've noticed a resemblance between the people who hate it. First off: they have terrible aim. Your not shooting a guy in the head if he goes "What was that?" You are missing. Your xbox would have to have smoke coming out of it for the AI to stink. A guy noticed me when I was like a quarter of a mile away. The map-editor is what makes the game though. Its great!
  27. FarcryMaster
    May 24, 2006
    10
    brilliant grafics as always and some rearly cool story like killing mercinaries and getting powers but awsome game witch i say one you must buy!
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. I was expecting a lot from Instincts, and boy, I got it. Smooth as silk, pretty as a picture and as vicious as an angry lion, Jack Carver's second title is as good as his first, and is pretty much a must-own for any fan of the FPS or stealth genres. Top notch.
  2. Nigh on perfect. There's no other way to put it. Words simply cannot do this game the justice it so admirably deserves. It's the most original, involving and technically astounding first person shooter since Halo 2 finally emerged and barged its way into every Xbox owner's home, and it puts most of its competitors to absolute shame.
  3. Hopefully, upcoming sequels will further tweak an already solid concept into a great game.