Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. The best "FIFA" game to date. The ball's movement seems to be much more realistic. The passes seem more crisp, yet, realistically, the ball doesn't always go where you want it to go.
  2. Soccer fans rejoice! FIFA 06 is, by far, the best soccer game EA Sports has ever produced for the Xbox.
  3. FIFA 06 is particularly unusual in that it ditches some of the series' recent innovations in favor of tried-and-tested gameplay mechanics. However, it also adds plenty of new features that help make it the most realistic and accessible (and best) FIFA game to date.
  4. FIFA 06 is a great game for both soccer novices and enthusiastic players alike, and is a worthy investment to a soccer fan's entertainment library.
  5. A true upgrade to the previous years, and as I mentioned before, is possibly the best version of the series since its inception.
  6. The gameplay is extremely solid, the managerial mode is surprisingly deep and the additional features make FIFA 06 a great sports addition for fans of the sport.
  7. 90
    It's certainly very enjoyable, it's incredibly slick, and packed with features, but it still loses out a little to Konami's game on that difficult-to-quantify quality; feel.
  8. 90
    The PS2 version isn't as pretty, but it controls better, while the Xbox version is substantially more beautiful to look at. Either way, though, it's a solid game.
  9. If you just want to play soccer with a bunch of no names, it's "Winning Eleven" all the way. But if you have even an inkling of playing with any of the pro world's best or any official squads, then you can't really go wrong with FIFA 06 Soccer.
  10. It's the solid gameplay and the balanced addition of a revamped game engine and player controls that makes this one a treat to play for fans of soccer.
  11. 87
    A decent improvement over the 2005 edition and it's instantly apparent to anybody familiar with the series. The visuals and physics will the first to grab you and the manager mode will keep you fumbling around menus for hours.
  12. Most annoying of all is the painfully slow response of the players, as they stumble through their pre-set animations, never sparing a thought that the button you pressed two-seconds earlier might be a little inappropriate now.
  13. EA has officially regained the top spot in the console soccer wars with FIFA '06. Winning Eleven will still be the choice for the unyielding hardcore "footballers" in Europe, but for the best overall appeal to gamers of every interest and skill level, it's hard to top FIFA 06.
  14. Superb graphics and an improved controller system make this a very enjoyable soccer simulation.
  15. It features a revamped Manger Mode that will provide many hours of fun, and it is the only game to offer the FIFA leagues and teams.
  16. The AI is especially tough, but never so much so that it becomes frustrating, and unlike previous FIFA games I never felt that the AI scored against me by using cheap shots or cheating.
  17. Armchair managers will undoubtedly love the marvelous simulation mode.
  18. It plays superbly, the management mode is certainly addictive in the extreme, the AI is great, the graphics detailed and crisp and there are so many modes to enjoy. So it all comes down to those stutters, which seem to affect some gamers more than others.
  19. I feel in about a year's time, when they have this new engine perfected, FIFA might be a serious contender, but at the moment it's not quite realising its full potential.
  20. FIFA is still doomed to feel a little stiff due to its reliance on set animations to govern play, and there are plenty of frustrating AI mistakes that linger. [Oct 2005, p.128]
  21. There's still a long way to go, but with better controls and a huge but slightly dull management game, FIFA 06 isn't far away from getting it right. [Official UK Xbox Magazine]
  22. The game feels pretty good, the presentation is killer, and the abundant extras will probably keep you busy until the next World Cup tournament unfolds.
  23. Shielding, tackling and dribbling have been boosted for better on-pitch control, while business in the boardroom looms with a more comprehensive management game and careers judged over a 15-year span.
  24. For 2006, soccer fans will get the most complete representation of the top leagues, best players, and fanciest skills, but will still be waiting for the total killer app package. This one is a good step in that direction. [Nov 2005, p.118]
  25. FIFA 06 looks great and has a fabulous atmosphere, but feels too much like a video game and not enough like football. Where are the Finnish teams? [Oct 2005]
  26. FIFA 06 does deserve a purchase but it simply doesn't offer up anywhere near enough improvements for owners of "FIFA 2005" to part with cash this year.
  27. Though always attempting to up the ante on their long time rival, this year's FIFA actually seems more of a step back when compared to the 2005 iteration.
  28. FIFA 2006 has so many features to get you going and playing. I am not sure what more you can ask for in a soccer game.
  29. 72
    Now more than ever if you haven't already started to look at "Pro Evo" perhaps you should, it plays much better and feels like more a game of football than FIFA 06 ever will.
  30. Gameplay has always been the staple of a good Soccer game, and when playing against the computer, FIFA '06 just doesn't have it like "FIFA 2005" did.
  31. As it stands, FIFA once again offers a huge amount of entertainment - but you'll be left covering your face after you've witness EA miss a hatful of chances to go top of the table.
  32. Hardcore soccer fans who wanted even more realism from this series will enjoy playing around with the new controls but if you're a player who thought FIFA 2005 wasn't a great game might as well rent this game or stay away from it cause you won't be missing much.
  33. One of the best looking sports titles I have seen this year.
  34. A solid all-around improvement over last year's game. Still, EA should focus on really nailing the online play missing in "Winning Eleven" and stop embarrassing the franchise with petty control tweaks.
  35. On the occasions when the game flows it's possible to produce some breathtaking football, but all too often the game slows to a crawl and it's extremely difficult to produce anything like a constructive passing move. [Nov 2005, p.116]
  36. Oh EA what have you done; we we're getting to enjoy FIFA once again and now this. We're never ones to severely criticise an average game, however FIFA 06 beggars belief.
  37. It is inexcusable to omit adding intelligent substitution and foul AI.
  38. 60
    It's tough to keep calling FIFA on issues of accuracy, especially when Konami seems to have soccer realism cornered.
  39. 50
    It might seem a little harsh, but we really do have to punish FIFA for regressing this year - what did EA Canada have to gain by going against the series' strengths? Wait for the Xbox 360 version, or jump to the "Pro Evolution Soccer" camp, but don't settle for this.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Bonanza
    Jul 9, 2006
    4
    I've played both WE9 and Fifa, and I can EASILY say that winning eleven is much more realistic. Its gameplay is much better. I've I've played both WE9 and Fifa, and I can EASILY say that winning eleven is much more realistic. Its gameplay is much better. I've been playing both for about a year, and I can quickly spot where Fifa's weaknesses lie. First, Fifa has the same goal animations. Forget hitting the top of the cross bar. This really inhibits gameplay; you feel as if you're playing the same game and seeing the same goals over and over. Second, the goalie is ridiculously easy to head over, but ridiculously hard to actually kick the ball past. After playing hundreds and hundreds of games, I finally learned how to beat opponents 9-1 regularly. The key to scoring is to cross the ball, and then to head it past the goalie. 80% of headers will be goals. On the other hand, even if you have a spectacular run, forget ever kicking the ball past the goalie (the goalie reacts a couple of milliseconds later). Only once in a blue moon does this happen (it happens if you're on a breakaway against the goalie but other than that not really). Winning eleven has Fifa beat in this; goals feel unique and the goalie is actually realistic in blocking goals that he realistically could get. Another issue is how awkward and stiff everything is. Teams stick to formation perfectly, leaving you with the same opportunities over and over. Players can only move in 8 directions, making movement awkward. There are no fouls, and gameplay is WAY too quick. Finally, to defend all you have to do is hold down A. The players will defend for you, and more often than not he'll come away with the ball. Ultimately, the goal scoring issues keep this game from even coming close to WE. You feel as if you're playing the same game. It is faster, so it'll appeal to kids with no patience. However, if you want a real soccer game, look no further than WE Full Review »
  2. JackS.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Best football game around. much better than any pro evo games.
  3. TheTruth
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    Basically, if you prefer fifa to pes you must be either a young child or an adult with arrested development. PES gets the feel right and pes Basically, if you prefer fifa to pes you must be either a young child or an adult with arrested development. PES gets the feel right and pes 5 absolutely destroys the mockery that fifa has become. However, it never fails to amaze me how a lot of advertising dollars and the fact that today's people are too lazy to do an hour's editing with stuff off the net that takes five minutes to print out means we have to hear so-called soccer experts (give me a break) tell us like puppets that fifa best represents a game of footy. You're kidding right? I mean lol! That is plain ridiculous frankly. As a watcher and a player of soccer but someone who prefers other sports and wishes there was a better rigby or cricket sim out there I can tell you that PES5 is arguably the greatest sports sim of all time...period. While fifa is iceskating with a footyball an array of ridiculous showboat moves befitting a friendly and all the gloss of a porn movie with no decent sex....Sad. Full Review »