FIFA Soccer 06 Xbox

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Fifa is a non-stop fun filled game. Fifa 06 is much better than winning eleven. Great game all around.
  2. DaveR.
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    This is without a doubt the best iteration within the FIFA series. To be honest, I am a bit surprised by moderate reviewer scores. It addresses virtually all the plaguing problems encounted by previous versions adding the necessary gameplay upgrades and tactics we expect as serious soccer fans. Hats off to EA, for a superior effort. The other aforementioned reviewers rating this game This is without a doubt the best iteration within the FIFA series. To be honest, I am a bit surprised by moderate reviewer scores. It addresses virtually all the plaguing problems encounted by previous versions adding the necessary gameplay upgrades and tactics we expect as serious soccer fans. Hats off to EA, for a superior effort. The other aforementioned reviewers rating this game below an 8 need to actually play real life soccer before belittling EA's efforts. Expand
  3. Bonanza
    Jul 9, 2006
    4
    I've played both WE9 and Fifa, and I can EASILY say that winning eleven is much more realistic. Its gameplay is much better. I've been playing both for about a year, and I can quickly spot where Fifa's weaknesses lie. First, Fifa has the same goal animations. Forget hitting the top of the cross bar. This really inhibits gameplay; you feel as if you're playing the same I've played both WE9 and Fifa, and I can EASILY say that winning eleven is much more realistic. Its gameplay is much better. I've been playing both for about a year, and I can quickly spot where Fifa's weaknesses lie. First, Fifa has the same goal animations. Forget hitting the top of the cross bar. This really inhibits gameplay; you feel as if you're playing the same game and seeing the same goals over and over. Second, the goalie is ridiculously easy to head over, but ridiculously hard to actually kick the ball past. After playing hundreds and hundreds of games, I finally learned how to beat opponents 9-1 regularly. The key to scoring is to cross the ball, and then to head it past the goalie. 80% of headers will be goals. On the other hand, even if you have a spectacular run, forget ever kicking the ball past the goalie (the goalie reacts a couple of milliseconds later). Only once in a blue moon does this happen (it happens if you're on a breakaway against the goalie but other than that not really). Winning eleven has Fifa beat in this; goals feel unique and the goalie is actually realistic in blocking goals that he realistically could get. Another issue is how awkward and stiff everything is. Teams stick to formation perfectly, leaving you with the same opportunities over and over. Players can only move in 8 directions, making movement awkward. There are no fouls, and gameplay is WAY too quick. Finally, to defend all you have to do is hold down A. The players will defend for you, and more often than not he'll come away with the ball. Ultimately, the goal scoring issues keep this game from even coming close to WE. You feel as if you're playing the same game. It is faster, so it'll appeal to kids with no patience. However, if you want a real soccer game, look no further than WE Expand
  4. TheTruth
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    Basically, if you prefer fifa to pes you must be either a young child or an adult with arrested development. PES gets the feel right and pes 5 absolutely destroys the mockery that fifa has become. However, it never fails to amaze me how a lot of advertising dollars and the fact that today's people are too lazy to do an hour's editing with stuff off the net that takes five Basically, if you prefer fifa to pes you must be either a young child or an adult with arrested development. PES gets the feel right and pes 5 absolutely destroys the mockery that fifa has become. However, it never fails to amaze me how a lot of advertising dollars and the fact that today's people are too lazy to do an hour's editing with stuff off the net that takes five minutes to print out means we have to hear so-called soccer experts (give me a break) tell us like puppets that fifa best represents a game of footy. You're kidding right? I mean lol! That is plain ridiculous frankly. As a watcher and a player of soccer but someone who prefers other sports and wishes there was a better rigby or cricket sim out there I can tell you that PES5 is arguably the greatest sports sim of all time...period. While fifa is iceskating with a footyball an array of ridiculous showboat moves befitting a friendly and all the gloss of a porn movie with no decent sex....Sad. Expand
  5. BillLee
    Oct 11, 2005
    4
    Basically if you give this game a high review, you haven't played the PES/WE series before. I have both and FIFA is terrible as always. Players on both sides are 100% predictable resulting in easy ways to create chances and arcade style play. It does have more licenses than PES5/WE9 but there are always several great patches available for PES/WE the day after it comes out. It is mind Basically if you give this game a high review, you haven't played the PES/WE series before. I have both and FIFA is terrible as always. Players on both sides are 100% predictable resulting in easy ways to create chances and arcade style play. It does have more licenses than PES5/WE9 but there are always several great patches available for PES/WE the day after it comes out. It is mind boggling to me that anyone who has both would favour FIFA over PES/WE. If you prefer FIFA you have either not playes PES/WE or have never watched an actual game of football/soccer. Expand
  6. JackS.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Best football game around. much better than any pro evo games.
  7. RonH.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Best fifa yet.
  8. RichardS
    Oct 7, 2005
    2
    It's an EA sports game, so you know it's going to be bad. It's an EA FIFA game, so you know it's going to be far inferior to Pro Evo Soccer. But what takes the breath away is the manner in which EA has never corrected the problems evident with the series since it debuted on the PS One. As usual everyone skates about on ice instead of running; the tempo is way too high It's an EA sports game, so you know it's going to be bad. It's an EA FIFA game, so you know it's going to be far inferior to Pro Evo Soccer. But what takes the breath away is the manner in which EA has never corrected the problems evident with the series since it debuted on the PS One. As usual everyone skates about on ice instead of running; the tempo is way too high with ball popping about like a ping pong ball; the players unable to run in straight and jagging about; terrible AI etc. Okay it has the licences. But EA FIFA has never had the gameplay, but this is an EA Sports game, so we've come to expect poor gameplay and lashings of shallow gloss. Expand
  9. SamuelG.
    Sep 28, 2005
    9
    This game is good overhaul of the game. Everything is much more fluid, and allows for alot more strategy than the old pass thru with the "Y" button, kick and score.. You now have to pass around and wait for the cpu/player mistakes, and then try and capitalise on them. I also love the new corner's idea, where you have to guess where the ball is getting crossed to, instead of know This game is good overhaul of the game. Everything is much more fluid, and allows for alot more strategy than the old pass thru with the "Y" button, kick and score.. You now have to pass around and wait for the cpu/player mistakes, and then try and capitalise on them. I also love the new corner's idea, where you have to guess where the ball is getting crossed to, instead of know exactly who and when they are getting it. The freekicks at goals are a lot harder, since you cannot choose the amount of spin and where in the goal you are shooting it at, but i am sure with a little bit more practice, it will be worth it. I am loving the new pin point passing idea, and how the ball rolls properly and consistantly with real life physics. The game as a whole is much more fluid, and allows a good 200% more control over plays, attacking, ball defence, on and off the ball control, goal keeping and my favourite, being able to elbow and nudge players when fighting for the ball. This game is easily the best soccer sim. I cannot recommend highly enough. O, did i mention... total re-working of commentary. Fantastic. There are a whole lot more changes, but i will let you discover them. Why didn't i give it a 10... cause 10's are reserved for my favourite sports game... Basketball. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#66 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. It plays superbly, the management mode is certainly addictive in the extreme, the AI is great, the graphics detailed and crisp and there are so many modes to enjoy. So it all comes down to those stutters, which seem to affect some gamers more than others.
  2. AceGamez
    80
    I feel in about a year's time, when they have this new engine perfected, FIFA might be a serious contender, but at the moment it's not quite realising its full potential.
  3. As it stands, FIFA once again offers a huge amount of entertainment - but you'll be left covering your face after you've witness EA miss a hatful of chances to go top of the table.