FIFA Soccer 2004 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FIFA Soccer kicks its game up a few notches with new installment, FIFA Soccer 2004. This year's action features more advanced levels of player detail and responsiveness. Play as one of the best players from 16 leagues and 350 teams, from Europe's super leagues to the Americas. Plus, a new Career Mode gives you the chance to take a team from the lower divisions, battle through ranks, sign new players, and turn them into champions. With immersive atmospheres, total realism with the world's premier clubs, and improved gameplay, FIFA Soccer 2004 looks to reach the goals of soccer fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Not to be outdone by "Winning Eleven 6," EA Sports has pulled out all the stops and created a soccer game that is second to none... I dare you to find a soccer game where the ball moves so dynamically and realistically. [Nov 2003, p.108]
  2. Ultimately, whether 2004 is, in fact, a better game than Konami's "Winning Eleven 7" on PlayStation 2 is debatable; what is clear, however, is that this is easily the finest game of footy to be found on Xbox.
  3. Even though Xbox was screwed out of online support yet again, anyone who is a fan of soccer will enjoy this title thoroughly, and find a lot of depth worth hours of play.
  4. Definitely an improvement on previous editions and it seems that EA is some way towards emulating "Pro Evolution Soccer" on the PS2. Unfortunately for Xbox fans, it hasn't quite got it yet.
  5. The Practice mode could've been more intuitive, like "Madden 2004's" minicamp mode. It was not only difficult to figure out, but also, ultimately, not even that helpful. [Dec 2003, p.86]
  6. 78
    Great Graphics and quality sound provides an overall good game that seems to be lacking in the gameplay area, not due to lack of depth but the difficultness just isn’t there and the game comes across too easy for many.
  7. An average game that lacks the spirit of the sport.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. FernandoM.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome.
  2. OuS.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    This game is the bomb, its juss like the real thang..10 for me.
  3. HughJass
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    The graphics are dazzling and well known faces are extremely detailed. The only downside is that some of the lesser known players faces are all the same. But that is nothing compared to the whole game - brilliant. Expand
  4. Dave
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    I had the opportunity to play both Winning Eleven 7 and Fifa 2004. The true crown definitely goes to Fifa 2004 without question. The presentation, audio, commentary, and gameplay all combine to bring the gamer into the shoes of the best soccer players in the world. Sorry, Winning Eleven fans, the game just isn't as good as Fifa 2004. Expand
  5. MitchB.
    Feb 3, 2004
    8
    After playing 24/7 and mastering FIFA 2003, I decided to hock it off on the Social Club DB and purchase the 2004 version. Hey man, this game did impress. I was glad I could still be my favourite player, Davids. There is so much more detail in this version that I can virtually see what jocks Davids is wearing. Davids mate!! I did eventually master this game as well, although I do struggle against human oppostion a bit hey? A final word of warning man, I made the fatal mistake of also purchasing Urban Street Soccer. I won my first match 9-0 without even knowing the controls. Suffice to say I haven't played it since. Collapse
  6. IamKapuder
    Nov 11, 2003
    8
    This game has made substancial imporvements from Fifa 2003. Despite the improvements, the game does hold some short-comings. The most difficult being the lack of control over "player runs". But all together a better game with more features. EA is moving in the right direction but still a year or two away from the ultimate game. Expand
  7. J.H.
    Oct 23, 2003
    3
    This is the first time I´ve been so frustrated with EA´s Fifa game. First of all the graphics, They are just horrible. The game looks much worse than fifa 2003 and the phrase "dated" comes to mind. The crowd for example, it looks like it is animated with two frames. One frame with hands up the next with hands down. The gameplay is also a big disappointment. What the h*** is EA doing with this franchise. I´m not even going to mention no online play for xbox. If you are a die hard FIFA fan. Rent this sorry excuse for game. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews