FlatOut Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BuckmanB.
    Mar 27, 2009
    8
    If you like crashes, get this game. The damage is very realistic and what this game offers that no other racing game does, is your driver will actually fly out the front window if you crash into something hard enough. This also happens in GTA IV but that is not a racing game. A very fun game to play, with lots of things to run into. Virtually everything on the track can move, so if you If you like crashes, get this game. The damage is very realistic and what this game offers that no other racing game does, is your driver will actually fly out the front window if you crash into something hard enough. This also happens in GTA IV but that is not a racing game. A very fun game to play, with lots of things to run into. Virtually everything on the track can move, so if you crash into it, it goes flying. Expand
  2. KarlN.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    Everyone has their own reasons for liking different games but this one is my favorite (though I haven't played Flatout 2 yet). I grew up on a farm driving these kinds of cars around the fields and this game takes me back there. I also love the physics in this game. I can feel each tire and the response of the suspension when a tire catches a ditch or other object. I like how there Everyone has their own reasons for liking different games but this one is my favorite (though I haven't played Flatout 2 yet). I grew up on a farm driving these kinds of cars around the fields and this game takes me back there. I also love the physics in this game. I can feel each tire and the response of the suspension when a tire catches a ditch or other object. I like how there are consequences after crashes, leading to tangible changes in the suspension performance. The races are pretty crazy and fun to play multiplayer. The ragdoll mini-games are hilarious but it would be good to have the option of turning ragdoll off during races. It gets tedious. The two faults of this game are: not being able to drive multiplayer in the demolition derby and only being able to drive one car at a time. (When you switch cars, you lose the value of all the upgrades to your existing car.) I can understand, given a number of faults, why the game is rated lower but, in my opinion, it's still more fun than Burnout. That's why I gave it a 9. Collapse
  3. CiaranG.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    Lots and lots and lots of fun to be had with this game. A challenging and fun career mode. In-game damage and physics are excellent. If you love destruction, destruction derby's, stunt cars, destructive racing etc. you will LOVE this. However, you'll find few people online and you can't play multiplayer destruction derby's and 2-4 player normal mutiplayer racing is a Lots and lots and lots of fun to be had with this game. A challenging and fun career mode. In-game damage and physics are excellent. If you love destruction, destruction derby's, stunt cars, destructive racing etc. you will LOVE this. However, you'll find few people online and you can't play multiplayer destruction derby's and 2-4 player normal mutiplayer racing is a bit boring. As a 1 player game though I'd highly recommend it. Expand
  4. HitteB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever. It is very very fun and funny. The best racing game ever play. Buy it today! I promise you that you will love this flatout game.
  5. DavidA.
    Sep 21, 2005
    9
    This is great driving/rally game! Great gameplay, great tracks etc... i love this, it's very much fun... ...and destructable enviroiments rules :)
  6. ArmandilloD.
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This game is lots of fun! If you drive of the track, your car won't stop to the fence... it will go trough it... if you smash into the tirewall all tires will fly across the track etc... This is how it should be! There are many fun "mini driving games too"... I think Flat Out is one of the best this kind of driving games...
  7. ErikT.
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    I dont have this game but i want it.
  8. EdM.
    Aug 8, 2005
    7
    Not perferct but a heckuva lot of fun online. The tracks are challenging with destructable environments and risky shortcuts. I only wish they had more oval type tracks instead of one. They could have put in a couple more with shorter or longer straights and different banking in the turns. You haven't lived until you've played the figure 8 jump track online with seven other maniacs.
  9. AnnonResponse
    Aug 5, 2005
    8
    Some people are just too negative. While not Burnout 3 this game is a heck a lot of fun. Go buy it.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Aug 1, 2005
    0
    Simply, 3 words: NOT BURNOUT 3. stay away from this, get Burnout.
  11. MichaelP.
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    Finally...A game for all of us that have always driven on the Nascar track in reverse...hehehe This game is it... With fully destructable environments, cars, and drivers...this is the game I've been waiting for all of these years. I used to play a demolition derby game on an older console, and dreamed of the day they would bring out a similar game, but with better graphics, and Finally...A game for all of us that have always driven on the Nascar track in reverse...hehehe This game is it... With fully destructable environments, cars, and drivers...this is the game I've been waiting for all of these years. I used to play a demolition derby game on an older console, and dreamed of the day they would bring out a similar game, but with better graphics, and better physics. Bugbear has done just that... With the graphical presentation of Burnout 3, and the sleek styling of Forza Motosport, it's every destructive racers playground. I haven't even tried this game online, as it's fresh out of the wrapper only a few hours ago, but I imagine that the online mode is insane... Now you can race, or demo your opponents car, without them giving you $hit about how long they've taken to get their vehicle this far... See you online...watch your @$$...hehehe Expand
  12. JamieL.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    This game absolutely rocks and its a genuin racing game that there 9is only really one of , if u enjoy smashing up cars or people this is the game for you.
  13. LukasB.
    Jan 14, 2005
    9
    `Sure, like any game it has it drawbacks, but the fun you can get out of this game... Superb! After CarmageddonII have I not been this happy with a computer game! Very, very nice in multiplayer too! Delicious carnage and mayhem...
  14. DevilsAdvocate
    Jan 13, 2005
    9
    Get past the first couple of races in a stock car and get to the later larger tracks in faster upgradeable machines and you are in for one hell of a great experience. Good graphics, great tracks, manic racing, awesome damage and physics model, even the mini games are a blast. Don't follow the crowd with the cash-in endless sequels and try out an original and challenging arcade racer Get past the first couple of races in a stock car and get to the later larger tracks in faster upgradeable machines and you are in for one hell of a great experience. Good graphics, great tracks, manic racing, awesome damage and physics model, even the mini games are a blast. Don't follow the crowd with the cash-in endless sequels and try out an original and challenging arcade racer for a change. Two thumbs up Bugbear ! Expand
  15. GloX
    Jan 2, 2005
    8
    Awesome Game! I find myself coming back and back again to it for yet more racing fun. Only downside are the mediocre music tracks.
  16. Daz
    Dec 24, 2004
    5
    Firstly, lets get one thing clear - this is nowhere near as good as burnout 3 or PGR2. I actually bought Flatout and crash n burn at the same time. I think crash is much better. Flatout seems to be difficult from the start and after only an hour i felt that the game was annoying. Crash and burn on the other hand is much more fun (especially the kamakaze mode) and i enjoy playing it.
  17. mp3
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    This game is superb for anybody who likes mindless destruction! Nice one Bugbear.
  18. BlueFalcon
    Nov 21, 2004
    6
    This title was so promising, but it seems rushed. With only a few changes it could have been a top tier xbox title.

Awards & Rankings

#31 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. I say "incredibly destructible", simply because it is. Should you plough into a tyre wall, the tyres will roll all over the track, making navigation treacherous when you find out that your car reacts somewhat realistically when you try to drive through them as if they aren't there on the next lap, and you inevitably end up rolling the car.
  2. An excellent package. Honestly, Flatout is a hairbreadth away from a 9, and legendary status.
  3. Empire's release slips under the radar, but manages to surprise us with its incredible ragdoll physics and smashing damage system.