User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 201

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IbrahimZ.
    May 10, 2005
    4
    This game looks great, the number of cars and attention to detail is staggering. But really, it just leaves me asking "Where's the fun?" I haven't played too far into the game, but so far it seems like whatever car I'm driving handles exactly the same: like a toaster on wheels.
  2. VelociraptorBlues
    May 30, 2005
    3
    30fps. Bump Mapping at 15fps. Lasts nothing Offline. Hybrid gameplay arcade-sim.
  3. 30fps
    May 7, 2005
    0
    30fps.
  4. nOsLiW
    Dec 7, 2005
    4
    Imagine buying a really powerful car, with a big powerful engine and 6 speed transmission. Youre really excited about it and want to get out on the open road asap to "open her up". To your horror you find that only 1st and 2nd gear are available. A small note in the glove box explains that all gears above 2nd have been locked. 3rd will be unlocked after you have driven 25000kms. 4th will Imagine buying a really powerful car, with a big powerful engine and 6 speed transmission. Youre really excited about it and want to get out on the open road asap to "open her up". To your horror you find that only 1st and 2nd gear are available. A small note in the glove box explains that all gears above 2nd have been locked. 3rd will be unlocked after you have driven 25000kms. 4th will be unlocked after you have driven 50000kms. 5th will be unlocked after you have driven 75000kms. And finally, 6th will be unlocked after you have driven 100000kms. Angriliy, you drive and drive and drive until finally the odometer clicks over to 100000. The cars worn out, youre worn out...and you dont feel like driving the car anymore. And to think of the irony, how much better you would have enjoyed the experience if they had all bee available from day 1. Welcome to Forza Motorsport! Expand
  5. MateusC.
    Feb 3, 2006
    0
    Runs at 30 FPS, get Gran Turismo 4 is much better.
  6. Simon
    Dec 13, 2005
    2
    Its been about 8 ish years since Grand Tourismo first arrived on the PSone, i am now the owner of an XBOX and i kinda use GT1 as a bench mark, i really really hoped that Forza would take driving sims (on the XBOX) to that next level, it hasnt, i'm gutted, i give this game 2 out of ten because the box looks nice. If you want fun get NFSU2. Hire this out from blockbuster first before Its been about 8 ish years since Grand Tourismo first arrived on the PSone, i am now the owner of an XBOX and i kinda use GT1 as a bench mark, i really really hoped that Forza would take driving sims (on the XBOX) to that next level, it hasnt, i'm gutted, i give this game 2 out of ten because the box looks nice. If you want fun get NFSU2. Hire this out from blockbuster first before you buy, or buy mine! Expand
  7. Bender
    May 29, 2005
    0
    It's the Xbox Gran Turismo but all in all is a mediocre racing game with ridiculous longevity offline and a questionable graphics with 30fps and a tremendous bump mapping at 10fps. Where's the Xbox power?
  8. Dave
    Dec 17, 2005
    4
    Running on more powerful hardware than the PS2, yet the graphics are less detailed than GT3 and GT4, yet it still runs at a treacle slow 30fps which is unforgiveable! Not impressed with this game at all. I see it has loads of high scores on review sites but why do they all gloss over the lame low framerate. Someone needs to stand up and say: this isn't good enough.
  9. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    up to about lvl 40, its great, but past that the races are way too hard, even on easy the nurburgring is near on impossible, ive smashed about 10 controllers....... the bar is way too high, its the only racing game that is this hard, im being generous with a 2
  10. MattC.
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Poor game, low textures, worst gameplay
  11. JaycenA.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    GT4 has got more cars but Forza is a better experience. Why Just look at all the GT fanboys giving Forza 0. How's that for Respect!
  12. FredG.
    Jun 27, 2005
    6
    Maybe it's my TV, but the graphics are so bad, I can't read the text clearly, which makes the instructions difficult to understand. Am not a car person and I find too many tuning adjustments, which don't make much sense.
  13. TravisM.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal game !! The one genre the Xbox had been behind was the Race Simulation. Forza Motorsport comfortably usurpts Gran Turismo as the king of racing games. Microsoft uses the extra processing and graphic capabilities of the Xbox to create a more realistic environment with improved realism. All I can say is don't pick this game up unless you have some sick days saved Absolutely phenomenal game !! The one genre the Xbox had been behind was the Race Simulation. Forza Motorsport comfortably usurpts Gran Turismo as the king of racing games. Microsoft uses the extra processing and graphic capabilities of the Xbox to create a more realistic environment with improved realism. All I can say is don't pick this game up unless you have some sick days saved at work, because before you know it you'll be up to 4:00 a.m. thinking "Just one more race." Can't wait to see Forza Motorsport 2 on the Xbox 360. Hopefully this will be a launch title in November, but given that the first Forza didn't come out until May I'd wager we won't see this until 3/4 quarter of 2006. Expand
  14. Arthur
    May 10, 2005
    10
    This is truly an exceptional game. It has great graphics, the cars all sound and handle very realistically. The career mode progresses great and I like how it makes you use a variety of cars, meaning that no one car can get you through the entire career. As a result, you can see how different cars handle completely different from each other. I think the best part of the game is that the This is truly an exceptional game. It has great graphics, the cars all sound and handle very realistically. The career mode progresses great and I like how it makes you use a variety of cars, meaning that no one car can get you through the entire career. As a result, you can see how different cars handle completely different from each other. I think the best part of the game is that the best reward for buying and tuning the cars is being able to smoke others online with your suped-up wares. It's also great that you can take the time to adjust almost any aspect of the car to be able to get better performance than someone else with the exact same car. The customizable difficulty level allows players of any skill to enjoy this game. The easy choice for anyone at all interested in racing games with an xbox. Expand
  15. JeffC.
    May 12, 2005
    10
    This game is by far the best racer on xbox, and in my opinion, trumps GT4 on PS2, particulary when you consider the online play/buy/sell of cars. The physics are top notch, the tracks are well designed - only thing missing is the Lamborghini franchise. I particularly like the ability to see the worlds best scores and times on each track, and your friends' best times, not to mention This game is by far the best racer on xbox, and in my opinion, trumps GT4 on PS2, particulary when you consider the online play/buy/sell of cars. The physics are top notch, the tracks are well designed - only thing missing is the Lamborghini franchise. I particularly like the ability to see the worlds best scores and times on each track, and your friends' best times, not to mention to see and get info on how these fast times were recorded genius! I find myself constantly trying to one up my score over a friends.Dangerously Addictive, Highly Recommended. Expand
  16. HarryA.
    May 17, 2005
    10
    Goodbye GT4.Never see again.
  17. MarkM.
    May 10, 2005
    8
    I love how games like this bring out the fanboys of both consoles--so, instead of getting realistic reviews, you get people ripping the PS2, or PS2 guys giving this game a 0. Totally pathetic on both fronts. This game definitely has it's advantages -- the graphics are outstanding, the physics are sensational, and having damage is what GT4 lacked. It also has the online option, but I I love how games like this bring out the fanboys of both consoles--so, instead of getting realistic reviews, you get people ripping the PS2, or PS2 guys giving this game a 0. Totally pathetic on both fronts. This game definitely has it's advantages -- the graphics are outstanding, the physics are sensational, and having damage is what GT4 lacked. It also has the online option, but I don't take that into account since I don't play online. But the one thing this game is missing, that moves it out of a top score IMHO, is no support for a force-feedback steering wheel. Can someone, anyone, tell me what car they drive that uses a gamepad only? If that would've been included, this game would've gotten a 10 from me, but without it, it's not a real simulator, IMHO. Just another racer. Expand
  18. JohnD.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant game!
  19. XERO
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Had to give it a 9...as no game is perfect....but this is as close as it comes...stop reading theses reviews and get this game!!!!
  20. V.V.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Forza is not perfect, but being the BEST console sim racing game on ANY console I will give it a big 10, amazing physics, amazing graphics and amazing gameplay, a game that will last for years
  21. CiscoM.
    May 9, 2005
    9
    this game did a lot of things right outta the gate. i love that it's online and has model damage. it even took a couple cues from TOCA 2 and added the feature of crippling the car if you damage it too much. it also took a note from SEGA GT 2002, and reduced your winnings the more you damage the car. features like these make the game seem more real. my only real gripe is the controls; this game did a lot of things right outta the gate. i love that it's online and has model damage. it even took a couple cues from TOCA 2 and added the feature of crippling the car if you damage it too much. it also took a note from SEGA GT 2002, and reduced your winnings the more you damage the car. features like these make the game seem more real. my only real gripe is the controls; i've played the game for about 5 hours now, and i never really feel like i'm totally in control of the car as i am in GT4. if GT4 had online play like it promised i may not have bought Forza, but i'm glad i did. Expand
  22. PaddyW.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Amazing
  23. SIMON
    May 9, 2005
    6
    Ridicoulus fps, good handling strange A.I....... the best is gtr for pc
  24. IvanS.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    Definitely one of the best driving games around. Better phissich than GT4 and better gameplay mechanics.
  25. OskariO.
    May 12, 2005
    10
    Absolutely Xbox's best raicing game.
  26. BrianR.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    This game is certainly one of the best simulation racers on the market, on any system. People that give this game a score of 0 obviously have some other beef with the game than its actual content or gameplay, as both are equally up there with most sim. racers at present. What keeps me from giving this game a 10 is the AI, which at times can be incredibly frustrating and at other times can This game is certainly one of the best simulation racers on the market, on any system. People that give this game a score of 0 obviously have some other beef with the game than its actual content or gameplay, as both are equally up there with most sim. racers at present. What keeps me from giving this game a 10 is the AI, which at times can be incredibly frustrating and at other times can can be incredibly easy. There is a lack of cosistency in the way the game plays by the AI, at times utilizing a rubber band effect and at times just being downright dirty. There will be moments when you will race the same track 20 times in a row trying to figure out how to get past the same frustrating AI opponent that seems to perpetually have times a second ahead of yours, and then this will be followed by a streak of 5 or 6 straight races where you blow away the competition to get a championship. The game is otherwise an incredible experience to play and is a certain must-have by anyone who enjoys a serious racing simulation. Expand
  27. BlueFalcon
    May 18, 2005
    8
    I can't help but feel this one's overrated. The aliasing here is among the worst I've seen in an xbox game. The tracks aren't as diverse or numerous as they could have been. The graphics in a game like Rallisport Challenge 2, or even Project Gotham 2 are much better eventhough they're both over a year old. With that said, Forza does offer a unique experience to I can't help but feel this one's overrated. The aliasing here is among the worst I've seen in an xbox game. The tracks aren't as diverse or numerous as they could have been. The graphics in a game like Rallisport Challenge 2, or even Project Gotham 2 are much better eventhough they're both over a year old. With that said, Forza does offer a unique experience to the xbox. No other xbox racer feels this realistic in handling or car performance. It's a solid title, but not as outstanding as some would have you believe. Expand
  28. Peter
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Great. far better than GT4
  29. CMack
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Best Driving Simulator....Full Stop, Period.
  30. Gabriel
    May 2, 2005
    10
    sonystas fdps falam que esse jogo é ruim pq ñ querem ver seu amado GT4 derrotado pelo melhor!. aceitem a realidade! forza é o mwelhor dos melhores e é só do xbox! a equipe do GT4 é boa... o playstation2 que é podre! Forza is better than GT4!
  31. AJHayabusa
    May 2, 2005
    10
    The Best!!!!!
  32. JRL.
    May 26, 2005
    10
    I have never liked any games in the GT series. To me they were all very tedious and not fun. I'm also not into extensive customization of cars and I don't really even care how many cares a game has. So I don't know which is more realistic or has more cars. All I care about is the driving, and this game has some top notch realistic driving. The graphics are decent but I I have never liked any games in the GT series. To me they were all very tedious and not fun. I'm also not into extensive customization of cars and I don't really even care how many cares a game has. So I don't know which is more realistic or has more cars. All I care about is the driving, and this game has some top notch realistic driving. The graphics are decent but I don't really care about that either. The driving is very realistic and challenging and actually fun. The single player alone is worth buying because of the challenge and addictiveness of the racing. Expand
  33. SimonS.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    I loved this game.
  34. NaseerN.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Forza Motorsport RuleZZZZZ.
  35. BunnyR
    May 4, 2005
    10
    A superior game.
  36. LukeS.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Best sim ever.
  37. PsychopompusB.
    May 4, 2005
    8
    It's a great game but it's such a shame that there isn't a proper Steering Wheel for the XBOX, with a gamepad it is so "NOT REAl" A driving simulator should be played with a solid force feedback wheel, so for me it's still GT4 with the Driving Force Pro wheel that gives the best driving experience on any console.
  38. SlippyNickCooper
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome. a true GT4 beater
  39. LeroyR.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Forza motorsport is by far the greatest racing game xbox has ever developed good job guys!!!
  40. Eric
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This game has an enormous list of amazing features. The physics are astoundingly good. Collecting cars is addicting. The paint shop is amazing and seems to have no limit! The graphics are very good as well, and the engine/car sounds are totally real.
  41. JimY.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Developers have done fantastic job!
  42. Devil'sAdvocate
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Yes it really is as good as the reviews and votes suggest. Buy this and say goodbye to your social life.
  43. SEAND.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing game, very deep and fun for a long time!
  44. AB
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Forza Motorsport makes up for all of GT4's pathetic mistakes, plus adds its own amazing features. GT4 was nice, but now it can go to hell because Forza is just better.
  45. JimS.
    May 8, 2005
    10
    30fps, go play the game and don't just give it a zero because you like GT4, or whatever your reason is.
  46. JamieM.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    Racing games... I've been playing them since before I can remember. From Grand Prix on the Amiga (the Geoff Crammond classic), to GT series and beyond, but over the years I've seen them come and go. Some have been good, some bad, and some pretty awful, but once in a while comes a game which you know is brilliant; one which raises the bar for all to follow. Forza Motorsport is Racing games... I've been playing them since before I can remember. From Grand Prix on the Amiga (the Geoff Crammond classic), to GT series and beyond, but over the years I've seen them come and go. Some have been good, some bad, and some pretty awful, but once in a while comes a game which you know is brilliant; one which raises the bar for all to follow. Forza Motorsport is just such a game! The gameplay, graphics, sound, customisation and sheer fun is brilliant. I could explain the reasons above but put simply Forza is what GT3 should have been, let alone GT4... It's racing grown up style, something that the GT series never really did since it's launch... If you like driving games... buy it! [96] Expand
  47. MikeDD.
    Jun 18, 2005
    9
    Gran Turismo, where now is thy domination? I have played and loved the GT series for an awfully long time and have loved every minute of it, but Forza takes the Genre to the next level. True there are fewer cars than GT4, but everything looks and sims so much better. This is the type of racing sim that Microsoft should have put out when the XBOX launched.
  48. VincentS.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Really really amazing!
  49. A.D.
    Sep 21, 2005
    5
    I am a big fan of GT4, and I was looking forward to an xbox version. this ain't it. the graphics are average, the driving is average, toca 2 urinates on this from a very great height.
  50. GameBreaker
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    I really hope this game kills the GT franchise. What am I saying? Even though this game is going to be a racing fans dream on XBOX, reviewers will put it down because they are all afraid of change. How many XBOX games, in particular genres, have totally killed PS2 and GC games in all areas, including graphics, but been put down by reviewers even though they can't seem to really find I really hope this game kills the GT franchise. What am I saying? Even though this game is going to be a racing fans dream on XBOX, reviewers will put it down because they are all afraid of change. How many XBOX games, in particular genres, have totally killed PS2 and GC games in all areas, including graphics, but been put down by reviewers even though they can't seem to really find one bad thing in the games? A whole lot. All I'm saying is it is time to let go of memories from 9 years ago of Sony being the best company in the world and give credit where credit is due. Almost every game in its respective category that has been made only on XBOX is far better than anything else on the market. I am a hardcore car jockey, but would take PGR2 or RS2 over GT4 any day. Hell, I am loving Sudeki better than any turn based Squaresoft game and I am only 10 minutes into it! Sorry to get off the subject but I can't seem to figure out why people keep spending money on the PS2 when Microsoft and other XBOX only developers make the best games around. The first time I saw GT3 I thought it was GT2 on PS1. How many XBOX only games have you mistaken for games made on 4 year old inferior hardware? Yeah, that's right, NONE! And the PS2 was not even a year old then! Anyone feel the same way? Give me a hell yeah if you feel that the world is coming to an end when people spend money on inferior hardware and software when there is clearly a better choice. This is the kind of thing that shys hardware and software developers from continuing to back companies even though the better hardware should be on top. We are all in trouble if Sony reigns once again only because of its name. It is clear who should be on top, so what the hell is wrong with you Sony backers? PS2 with the same controllers and barely updated graphics from PS1 should not have put Sony on top. They will be sorry when the next XBOX comes out and kills all their 'Power Cell' plans and is so far ahead of its technology that they are left only with the 'backwards compatability" thing to sell PS3's which will probably barely be powerful enough to be called a PS2.1 just like the PS2 is really a PS1.2. HOLLA BACK! Expand
  51. Hype
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    Best console sim evar!
  52. JacobL.
    Oct 1, 2005
    10
    I had heard of GT4 and had seen the reviews about how it was the best racing game ever. Then I saw reviews for forza on "X-Play" and "Judgment Day" on G4TV. They gave it excellent scores. This is because of online play and car damage adding to the realisticness. There is also the use of a suggested line telling you where to drive and when to slow down and speed up which was quite useful. I had heard of GT4 and had seen the reviews about how it was the best racing game ever. Then I saw reviews for forza on "X-Play" and "Judgment Day" on G4TV. They gave it excellent scores. This is because of online play and car damage adding to the realisticness. There is also the use of a suggested line telling you where to drive and when to slow down and speed up which was quite useful. you could also turn this off and adjust the difficulty level to earn more credits. There was numerous tracks to dive and lots of cars to collect. This game is very addicting and you may find yourself racing for hours on end. This game was a ton of fun 10 out of 10. Expand
  53. PatCosta
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    The game play is similar to other sim racers, but the overall feel of the cars are so well done, I
  54. DavidJ.
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    Forza motorsport is one of the best racing games ive ever played it is as nearly as good as is contender project gothem racing, but the game is fantastic beacuse of the graphics.
  55. HayabusaAJ
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Is the most perfect simulation game ever made!!
  56. [Anonymous]
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    It DOMINATES GT4 and it is the best driving sim you can get right now
  57. ChuckS.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    Seen it, played it, loved it!
  58. MatthewW.
    Apr 30, 2005
    9
    Puts GT4 to shame as far as replay value goes. Graphics are the best seen on xbox.
  59. MikeD.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    This is hands down the best racing sim yet on any console. I'm about 10% into the career mode now and I've never had so much fun with a sim. This will eat up hours upon hours of your life and leave you wanting more. Don't even look back at Gran Turismo 4, there is no real comparison. The only thing Forza lacks that GT has that I do miss is Rally Racing, but otherwise, this This is hands down the best racing sim yet on any console. I'm about 10% into the career mode now and I've never had so much fun with a sim. This will eat up hours upon hours of your life and leave you wanting more. Don't even look back at Gran Turismo 4, there is no real comparison. The only thing Forza lacks that GT has that I do miss is Rally Racing, but otherwise, this is a very solid package that delivers on every aspect that GT4 missed and then some. Also, if you're not a seasoned sim racer, the on screen race line will be a godsend for you. Expand
  60. TomH.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Aside from the dead-on racing in the game, every single little thing about the game is perfect. The attention to detail in all of the menus, options, and controls is stunning. Any game with custom soundtracks should be forced to adopt the d-pad music controls found here. As much as the actual gameplay, it is the complete Forza experience that makes this game the best in the genre.
  61. JeremyJ.
    May 21, 2005
    9
    Mindblowing, just provide your own soundtrack and have patience because: Game sometimes freezes on loads for some people, and Live menus arent intuitive.
  62. Lou
    May 2, 2005
    10
    The only true simluator on a console.
  63. JosivanB.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Forza is the real simulator others games is marketing.
  64. Flamez
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Great game physics, about 250 different cars to choose from and upgrade, graphics are definately xbox quality, car damage is nice too, paint chips off from light brushes against another car, or railing.
  65. NikkiL.
    May 4, 2005
    7
    No force feedback support for XBOX, so no good steering Wheel. I rest my case
  66. RonM.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Forza is *the* sim that all other sims should be judged by. It has cars you want to drive on tracks you want to be on and upgrades and customization you want to make your car your own. The physics and details of the track is second to none. When a real race car driver on Road Atlanta can match his real car time versus his Forza time by 0.4 seconds, then you've got realism baby and Forza is *the* sim that all other sims should be judged by. It has cars you want to drive on tracks you want to be on and upgrades and customization you want to make your car your own. The physics and details of the track is second to none. When a real race car driver on Road Atlanta can match his real car time versus his Forza time by 0.4 seconds, then you've got realism baby and this game has it in spades. Go read the Popular Science article about Forza for more proof on how real this puppy is. When you think sim now, think Forza. Expand
  67. JohnA.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Excellent game. quality, gameplay, graphics... It's forza!!
  68. BenL.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Superb Game. Beats out GT4 in every aspect. Look no where else for the racing sim of the century!
  69. Henri
    May 5, 2005
    9
    So far so good, some of the cars are off, but I will chalk that up to my inexperience with the controls. I have driven the Enzo ( game play handles worse then the real car does, but then again, I didn
  70. RocRaidenRaider
    May 6, 2005
    10
    YA, whats up Sony. You have been trying to make a game this good 4 times, and Microsoft perfected the realistic racing game on its first try. Will this finnaly be the breaking point that the XBOX is far better that the PS 2 will every hope to be.
  71. MickeyG.
    May 6, 2005
    9
    Really fun, and nice and simmy.
  72. M.M.
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Just amazing!
  73. DustinM.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This game just amazes me. This is the funnest and most realistic racer Ive ever played. It actually beats Rush as my all time favorite racer. The car damage looks great, the cars look great, the tracks are very beautiful. So what if the crowd a little pxelated dudes, who the hell wants to stop in the middle of a race and go "oh look at tha beautiful crowd". The ability to buy parts and This game just amazes me. This is the funnest and most realistic racer Ive ever played. It actually beats Rush as my all time favorite racer. The car damage looks great, the cars look great, the tracks are very beautiful. So what if the crowd a little pxelated dudes, who the hell wants to stop in the middle of a race and go "oh look at tha beautiful crowd". The ability to buy parts and cars ect is awesome. I finaly have a sim where I can buy part and stuff with some actual high end cars and not just stupid civics, who buys a game to drive a civic? You buy video games to do stuff you usually couldnt. And plus, Koenigsegg, my favorite car maker is in the game with there CC8S, sadly no CCR though :( Expand
  74. Clemulus
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    A very, very good game. Personally like it much better than GT4. The guys who gave it a '3' and '0' appear to be the same peeps. Nice. Obviously, they are here for no other reason than to bring the game down. Anyone with half a brain knows that this is a great game and by giving it a zero shows that they have an agenda other than giving it a fair score.
  75. JeffA.
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    I've played Burnout 2 and 3, Project Gotham Racing 1 and 2, Rallisport Challange 1 and 2 and Gran Turismo 3 and 4. All of these games combined are not as good as Forza Motorsport. Forza is simply the best racing game on any console. For those that knock the graphics, upgrade from your 12" B & W TV. The graphics are 100100. So realistic that Microsoft advertises the game showing Forza I've played Burnout 2 and 3, Project Gotham Racing 1 and 2, Rallisport Challange 1 and 2 and Gran Turismo 3 and 4. All of these games combined are not as good as Forza Motorsport. Forza is simply the best racing game on any console. For those that knock the graphics, upgrade from your 12" B & W TV. The graphics are 100100. So realistic that Microsoft advertises the game showing Forza graphics and real photos of the same area. It's hard to tell the difference. A must have game. Expand
  76. ApocalyseBrown
    Jul 24, 2005
    8
    Being a fan boy of the ps2 but respectiful of the xbox this is a good effort from microsoft. Yeah the graphics are quite 'bland' but it excels in terms of gameplay, on and offline. The learning curve is steep but very rewarding, A.I is the BEST in any racing game to date (bastards will end your race for fun), controls are tight and very responsive but the career mode is average Being a fan boy of the ps2 but respectiful of the xbox this is a good effort from microsoft. Yeah the graphics are quite 'bland' but it excels in terms of gameplay, on and offline. The learning curve is steep but very rewarding, A.I is the BEST in any racing game to date (bastards will end your race for fun), controls are tight and very responsive but the career mode is average compared to GT4. Best racer on xbox and great with three of your mates racing against you, if you got them! Expand
  77. Supra
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    Really good game.
  78. KurdtK.
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    This is an extraordinary game that easily bests polyphony's latest offering with its depth, control, game play and modeling. Where GT4 is vitually unplayable in 3rd person, it is in this mode where Forza shines. Forza has amazingly rendered cars, and spot-on controls, in any visual mode besides. To the guy who criticised Forza for not having everything available at the start of the This is an extraordinary game that easily bests polyphony's latest offering with its depth, control, game play and modeling. Where GT4 is vitually unplayable in 3rd person, it is in this mode where Forza shines. Forza has amazingly rendered cars, and spot-on controls, in any visual mode besides. To the guy who criticised Forza for not having everything available at the start of the game I say, welcome to video games; that's how they work. And besides, a lot of the game's high powered cars are available right from the start, albeit in arcade mode. There has to be some motivation to compete and continue through the game. To be honest, I prefer TOCA's varied racing styles, but Forza's depth of car choices far and away outstrip TOCA, and GT4 for that matter. Anyhow, I'm getting caried away. This is my #1 game of 2005, and my #1 racer of all time. The only knock I'd give it is in the graphical dept., and that's in comparison with GT4's track detail, which is ever so lovely. Expand
  79. ChaseP.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    i thought this game rocked!!! i dont know wuts wring with the people who rated it low!! they must be mental cause this game was one in a million. Microsoft makes the best consoles and games!
  80. Bloodforge
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Best GT racing game ever. The low score baffles me. I was really dissapointed in what GT4 turned out to be, the same old game we have had for years and only held my attention for a week or two, but Forza really added stuff that was sorely need and put some life back into the genre. This does all the things that GT4 should have done: damage, a car class system, leveling system, online Best GT racing game ever. The low score baffles me. I was really dissapointed in what GT4 turned out to be, the same old game we have had for years and only held my attention for a week or two, but Forza really added stuff that was sorely need and put some life back into the genre. This does all the things that GT4 should have done: damage, a car class system, leveling system, online racing and actually having to work through races to unlock some of the best cars. I really love this game and still play it, only Forza 2 will get me to stop playing. Expand
  81. RyanG.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Sweet ass game even better with a steering wheel and standard mode.
  82. AdamH.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Easily my favourite game on Xbox. Allows nearly all possibilities of both imagination and skill, and hones both. Top Marks!
  83. StewartB.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    This is the best racing game ever. awesome graphics and gameplay. the one thing that makes it stand out is the car damage making it very realistic. Great game 10/10.
  84. R.Clark
    May 12, 2005
    10
    I played GTR and that was more authentic but Forza is much more fun.GT4 is slick but lacks gameplay. Get Forza because it will keep you playing.And that's why I play games, for fun.
  85. DannyN.
    May 17, 2005
    9
    I.M.H.O. the GT series is on a dead track since severe gameplay problems still aren't taken care of and the focus is on quantity instead of quality improvment. Played GT4 and leaving it be, made me ever so interested in FM. The XboxLive options sure sounded great and the promise of in depth tuning and realism made the hype get hold of me aswell. Moslty hype results in disapointment, I.M.H.O. the GT series is on a dead track since severe gameplay problems still aren't taken care of and the focus is on quantity instead of quality improvment. Played GT4 and leaving it be, made me ever so interested in FM. The XboxLive options sure sounded great and the promise of in depth tuning and realism made the hype get hold of me aswell. Moslty hype results in disapointment, but in the case of Forza only thing left after the release is sheer joy! The handling is spot on. For all you non-believers buy a Subaru Impreza and a Acura NSX and notice the apparent diffirence. Though the career mode works much like the Gt4's career mode, Forza's keeps me coming back for more due to the way it unlocks everything (with the level-rankings) where GT4's career mode is to strict into the classes and the overly annoying licenses which I see as artificial gameplay stretching which I could do without. graphics, sound and rumble is done with great resullts. The JunkyXL sountrack (fellow dutchman :)) is cool to a certain extend but tend to bore after numorous hours of playtime. Online: The class-system does not garantee competitiveness but keeps de car differences between bounderies. But to be really competitive in, for example A1, you do need a Subaru STi or a Ferrari 355. due to their accelleration adventage. Trying to get a other car in the same accelleration league makes them move up a class. So my prediction will be that in the end everybody will drive the same cars eventually. But i can't imagine a game that can balance this kind of problem out without hurting the tuning-principles and let all cars drive alike. so thats forgiven. For me this game fills the gaps in one attempt which where left open by 4 episodes of GT(which would rank 7). Expand
  86. RayM.
    May 22, 2005
    10
    This is coming from someone that does not really like racing sims. The game itself is simply awesome. Whether or not you prefer the Gran Turismo series is irrelevant. This game deserves to be in anyone's library, especially those with GT, Toca, Rallisport, PGR and other racing sims. Warning to those that like arcade racers like Burnout...there is a learning curve involved, but if you This is coming from someone that does not really like racing sims. The game itself is simply awesome. Whether or not you prefer the Gran Turismo series is irrelevant. This game deserves to be in anyone's library, especially those with GT, Toca, Rallisport, PGR and other racing sims. Warning to those that like arcade racers like Burnout...there is a learning curve involved, but if you have the patience to learn the physics of actual racing, it will reward you in spades and become what all gamers are looking for: digital crack! Expand
  87. ChadM.
    May 22, 2005
    9
    I'm not a big fan of racing games, but this one is pretty addictive and fun.
  88. RedRose
    May 23, 2005
    8
    Let me offer a fresh neutral (non-fanboy) perspective about the graphics on this game. I refer you to official xbox magazine (uk) who more or less give every Microsoft game a 9/10. Well, they loved the game but crucially stated that they they thought the graphics from PGR2 (a 1.5 year old game) were *BETTER* than Forza. What is beyond denial is that this is technically the best best Let me offer a fresh neutral (non-fanboy) perspective about the graphics on this game. I refer you to official xbox magazine (uk) who more or less give every Microsoft game a 9/10. Well, they loved the game but crucially stated that they they thought the graphics from PGR2 (a 1.5 year old game) were *BETTER* than Forza. What is beyond denial is that this is technically the best best racing game ever. 10/10 for game play However, the graphics are average at best. 7/10 for graphics. Expand
  89. M3Rocket
    May 25, 2005
    10
    As far as REALISTIC console driving sims go, I have finally found one to beat the good ol' F355 Challenge on the Dreamcast. Nothing on any console beats Forza for driving realism and "feel." The cars do indeed drive differently, and react to tuning. Heck, even the sounds of the engine change when you add a supercharger or turbo--listen to that whine as the turbo spools up! The As far as REALISTIC console driving sims go, I have finally found one to beat the good ol' F355 Challenge on the Dreamcast. Nothing on any console beats Forza for driving realism and "feel." The cars do indeed drive differently, and react to tuning. Heck, even the sounds of the engine change when you add a supercharger or turbo--listen to that whine as the turbo spools up! The telemetry information is so useful in tuning each car setup for each track. This information is also revealing of your driving skills, or in my case, the lack of it. :) The best thing for sim nuts though, it is a great way to learn! If you want a driving game, get Burnout and have a blast. If you want a driving simulation, Forza beats everything else to date. Looking forward to Forza on a next gen console with force feedback wheel support... Expand
  90. Sam
    May 27, 2005
    8
    I've got to say, i'm immpressed with this title. The graphics were very good, the controls were great, and there was more of a sense of speed in this than GT. The only problem is the racing. It's fun, but not Midnight Club fun. Buy this if you're a car dor or love the Midnight Club or GT series.
  91. TelyS.
    May 31, 2005
    9
    I've never been interested in worshiping at the Church of the Motor Vehicle like many people in this country, but Forza has me looking to join. It's a sublime experience watching your beautiful, photorealistic automobiles speed around turns in the best-ever replay mode yet.
  92. CMR
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    This game is definately the best track racing game I have ever played. And I have played the majority of the racers for PS2 and XBox. I found it amazing but also found that it lacked in one area that would make it almost perfect. It's too constricting, your stuck with racing on the same tracks over and over and it leaves no room for liberty.
  93. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    I'm not a huge racing game fan but I had a lot of fun with this one, it has a lot of cars and racing options, great graphics, and good controls, my favorite thing about this game is the damage physics, there awesome, if you like racing games then this is one I would recommend.
  94. Oct 9, 2014
    9
    Great game. Realistic physics, cars, tracks. Fantastic graphics for the time. Brilliant tuning mechanics. Spent many hours playing this baby. You can use your own music for bgm also. Computer AI got seriously hard during higher player levels. Would be a perfect 10 otherwise.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. All you need to know is that if it was a poker hand, Forza would be a royal flush. If a football score, it would be a 7-0 win. As a game, it is the finest straight-up racing game to grace any home console system and as such, is an absolute must buy.
  2. 100
    I'm not condoning adultery with the following analogy but it's the best way I can think of getting my point across; Forza Motorsport is like a wife - it looks pretty, you know what you're getting, you're in it for the long haul but it can become a little irritating and boring at times.
  3. Customization, handling, presentation, AI, damage, multiplayer: Forza hits the bull's-eye time after time. Although it doesn't have quite the bewildering range of cars as "Gran Turismo 4," Forza is its equal in gameplay, its superior in AI, and adds the online play "GT4" lacked.