User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 102
  2. Negative: 9 out of 102

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Holy I love this game I cant wait for the new one coming out and taking place in san andreas Omg.......This game is a masterpiece the cops are so fun to screw with as well. This is one of those hard games to come by these days when ever you can command gang members or your crew like socom it makes a great game.
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Learn to fly Carl, learn to fly... Grove Street for life... The sunset as you drive that beat up old VW over the hill, the smell of burning weed filling your senses as you cruise to Freebird... Something special was injected into every copy of this game...
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    What is there to say? This game is a beast.
    Even today, the amount of content it offers rivals many full fledged releases- and much of it rates highly- perhaps not in finesse, but definitely in the fun factor. If you don't like the shooting, you'll probably like the driving, if you don't like the main missions: be a taxi driver, race motorbikes, put out fires, play dress-up...
    If you can't
    What is there to say? This game is a beast.
    Even today, the amount of content it offers rivals many full fledged releases- and much of it rates highly- perhaps not in finesse, but definitely in the fun factor. If you don't like the shooting, you'll probably like the driving, if you don't like the main missions: be a taxi driver, race motorbikes, put out fires, play dress-up...
    If you can't find something fun to do in GTA:SA, something's wrong. And not with the game.
    Fine, some of the controls are less than intuitive, some of the missions are pretty tedious, and Carl takes some getting used to. But it will be a long time before you can't just pick up this game, jack something fast, and feel like you're really going somewhere. And this transcends demographics- from hard-core gamers, to lazy stoners, this game has plenty of appeal.
    Impressive.
    Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This game really brings back some good memories. What I liked the most about this game was that there was so much you were able to do. Like jetpacking around the city or, just going on a complete rampage against the cops. The graphics part of the game were basically amazing because it looked so real at the time and it looked like you were literally in an entire new world (which you kind ofThis game really brings back some good memories. What I liked the most about this game was that there was so much you were able to do. Like jetpacking around the city or, just going on a complete rampage against the cops. The graphics part of the game were basically amazing because it looked so real at the time and it looked like you were literally in an entire new world (which you kind of were in). It was by far one of the best in the GTA series, and if not the best. The newer ones like GTA5 are still really fun and amazing, and have a lot better graphics (At the time). But I still feel like San Andreas brought back better memories. This game was something very, very special. Expand
  5. Jon
    Jun 22, 2005
    5
    Hmm. It's about time the GTA bubble were burst. If you're over 13 years old you're gonna need a bit more than a bit of random swearing to get excited about a computer game. The GTA experience goes something like this: drive from A to B (sometimes then on to C); get out of the car for the inevitable abrupt bout of gunplay: discover an atrocious and fiddly aiming system that Hmm. It's about time the GTA bubble were burst. If you're over 13 years old you're gonna need a bit more than a bit of random swearing to get excited about a computer game. The GTA experience goes something like this: drive from A to B (sometimes then on to C); get out of the car for the inevitable abrupt bout of gunplay: discover an atrocious and fiddly aiming system that will have you tearing your hair out even before the message MISSION FAILED flashes up on the screen. Then reload (cos who, after all, actually wants to go back to square one via hospital or police station?) This is BAD DESIGN, pure and simple. Sit up and take note, Rockstar: It's not size. It's what you do with it that counts. And this sandbox stunner deserves to be frisbeed through the nearest window. Expand
  6. ERICR.
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    Great game just needs to be longer.
  7. AlecB.
    Sep 25, 2006
    5
    I thought it was a decent game but I like others a lot more. To me this GTA stuck out because every other GTA game is with the mob and real gangs. This one is all about street gangs that nobody has heard of.
  8. natassa
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    One of the best games I've ever experienced!! Congratulations to the rockstars game team!
  9. JakeP.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I own GTA: San Andreas and I am happy. It is always fun and you never lose interest and there is so much to do. Its wide open space gives lots to explore. Very creative and entertaining, a must buy for all Xbox owners.
  10. OmarC.
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Wow......
  11. BustaCapInIT
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    Excellent game. Live the life of a Gangsta in the hood.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome!!!
  13. HJ
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    I've only played this game for 2 days now, but will say that its probably one of the best games Ive played on the Xbox. Brings back memories of my Vice City days. The map is huge and graphics are awesome. Definitely a well spent purchase and highly recommended.
  14. Simon
    Jul 6, 2005
    8
    It always make me depressed to see the lack of objectivity in reviews of big game franchises. Like the rest of the GTAs, this one is a very good game but its by no means perfect. There is a lot I like about this game but to keep this as short as possible, I'll concentrate on where improvements are needed. For me, the real problem with this iteration of GTA is that it's scope and It always make me depressed to see the lack of objectivity in reviews of big game franchises. Like the rest of the GTAs, this one is a very good game but its by no means perfect. There is a lot I like about this game but to keep this as short as possible, I'll concentrate on where improvements are needed. For me, the real problem with this iteration of GTA is that it's scope and ambition, while being one of its major strengths, are also its downfall in some respects. The game tries so much and succeeds admirably in some areas, but fails in many others. For this reason it feels very hit and miss at times. For example, we have a new aiming system but the aiming controls are terrible - using the white and black buttons to change targets is simply too fiddley; and why can't I look directly behind when driving (especially if I'm being chased) or admire the view in first person mode? It's as though they simply ran out of buttons. Workable controls are the basis of a good game. The games also still contains a lot of old niggles which should have been ironed out by now - for example why the heck can't I park a car somewhere and be sure it won't have disappeared when I return to the spot later (perhaps it's been stolen)? I also agree with the criticisms made of the game save system. A quick save feature is probably needed now that the game world is so big. There are plenty of other ways to be penalised for failing a mission and it's incredibly annoying to have to go through some long missions again from the beginning (particularly if failing the mission was for reasons beyond the player's control). Graphically the game again suffers from its own ambition, which has led me to the conclusion that GTA might really come to life on the next gen systems. There was a fairly significant improvement in the Xbox version of Vice City, but apart from a slightly better frame rate I'd be hard pushed to tell the difference between the PS2 version of San Andreas and this one. The vehicles and scenery details (e.g grass) block in horribly late in places for example, which affects gameplay at times - I can't shoot something I can't see. While good graphics don't make a game they do help to cement the impression of a believable game world in this type of game. Despite all this its a fine game and a series, if Rockstar would start to address some of the fundamental flaws before launching the next cash cow on the world, that really could be one of the highlights of the next gen (if the hype is to believed and the machines are finally up to the task of matching the ambition of the game). Expand
  15. FPSMaster
    Jun 12, 2005
    9
    Whoever down below said this game needs to be longer needs to actually PLAY this game and stop whining about something you have never tried. And play through everything, not just the missions you casual gamer. Saying this game needs to be longer is like saying Legendary on Halo 2 needs to be harder. This is the biggest game ever made outside of The Elder Scrolls 3 and has some of the best Whoever down below said this game needs to be longer needs to actually PLAY this game and stop whining about something you have never tried. And play through everything, not just the missions you casual gamer. Saying this game needs to be longer is like saying Legendary on Halo 2 needs to be harder. This is the biggest game ever made outside of The Elder Scrolls 3 and has some of the best gameplay elements from many genres put together to give everyone something to have fun with. The graphics, control's, A.I., draw distance, textures and framerates have been improved upon in the PS2 version, making this one of the best game purchases an Xbox owner could make so far this year. Other than HL2 coming out later, GTASA on Xbox along with SCCT and UC2 WILL BE the games in the runnings for Xbox game of the year. If anyone thinks this game needs to be longer or bigger, I suggest you actually play the damn thing and stop lying. Expand
  16. KyleM.
    Jun 25, 2005
    9
    WTF is Jon and Daz talking about.This game is awsome.Not perfect,but near it,and sure as hell is worth your money$$$$$$
  17. MatC.
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Yes, it's essentially the same as the PS2, but the x has a huge advatage -- that's the analog triggers. It's not a button for the gas, it's a trigger that much closer allows you a "gas pedal". This along with the better graphics are a big plus. Graphics off in the distance are drawn a lot sooner, a lot farther away. It lets you drive better than the PS2. Yes, there are Yes, it's essentially the same as the PS2, but the x has a huge advatage -- that's the analog triggers. It's not a button for the gas, it's a trigger that much closer allows you a "gas pedal". This along with the better graphics are a big plus. Graphics off in the distance are drawn a lot sooner, a lot farther away. It lets you drive better than the PS2. Yes, there are still problems. It's not perfect, but no game is. GTASA is still the largest, most open, most dynamic game ever created for console. Maybe some MMORP is bigger, but this isn't swords & dice. If you have it for PS2 already, you're probably used to those controls. Don't bother for just the replay mode; save your $50. It's the same game. If you haven't indulged in this game before, you are really, really missing out. Back to the 'hood, 1992 style. Keep Bangin', Big Balla. Expand
  18. EricS.
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played, and I can see what all the hype is about. The world is huge beyond what I expected, and there are constantly new things to do. It was easy to get lost in this complex world for hours on end, do to the sheer variety of things to do. Unfortunately, the incredible mass of content is probably the reason for a few of the game's flaws. For This is the first GTA game I've ever played, and I can see what all the hype is about. The world is huge beyond what I expected, and there are constantly new things to do. It was easy to get lost in this complex world for hours on end, do to the sheer variety of things to do. Unfortunately, the incredible mass of content is probably the reason for a few of the game's flaws. For instance, whenever you die during a mission you have to start from the very beginning. Some of the missions are long and consist of a lot of driving from place to place, making it frustrating at times. You also lose all of your weapons, which is a rather extreme penalty for failing a mission. Maybe I'm too used to RPGs, where you often keep your hard-earned gear after death, or at least have a chance to reclaim it. Finally, some of the controls need could have used polishing. This particularly applies to flying vehicles. There was one flying mission fairly early in the game that was almost impossible due to the controls. This was more difficult than some of the game's final missions. GTA was an excellent game (better even than the over-hyped Halo 2 IMO), it could have been even better if the developers had taken the time to fix some flaws. On the PS2 version these flaws were acceptable, but should have been fixed for the Xbox and PC, especially because a lot of people seem to complain about them. Expand
  19. Daz(again!)
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    OK OK i think my last review may have been a little harsh. Since posting the review i've tried the game again and really got into it now. I think the problem was that the first 10 to 15 missions were relatively boring but as soon as the action goes west or north then the missions are so much better. This game will NOT be going back to the shop for a refund.
  20. Ceasar_Swampbubblehead
    Aug 2, 2005
    8
    they still havent improved on using weapons, when multiple enemies aproach you from different direction while pressing right trigger to draw your weapon and then press B button to fire , it locks on to a target, and then after you killed one of the five enemies approaching you the aiming swings badly to diff. direction wildly, from auto-target to manual aiming , doesnt anyone else gets they still havent improved on using weapons, when multiple enemies aproach you from different direction while pressing right trigger to draw your weapon and then press B button to fire , it locks on to a target, and then after you killed one of the five enemies approaching you the aiming swings badly to diff. direction wildly, from auto-target to manual aiming , doesnt anyone else gets pissed when this thing happens( it also happens often when other gang member tries to beat you up with melee combat, being beaten onesided even when your down they still beat you up, also works other way around when you beat them up) it still rely on old school shooting which by the way was so 2001, it already passed the days of it glorious g.t.a3 (move on, for gods sake those days were fargone already, many games already improve the controls for shootings yet g.t.aS.A still suffering from previous gta syndrome. Lets talk about the new stuff in San Andreas, muscle , during the beginning of the game i go to the gym everyday to built up those biceps and i did built it up to maximum limit, but when i explored the game it didnt really changed how you play the game. it more of a gimmick thing even the gaining of respect does not really affect how you play the game. The explorations in the game though is so massive finding oysters,photos, horshoe will take a whole month or two , to have the 100% of the game, thats about the only compliment i can give. It still a very flawed game glitches from ps2 version is still there , draw distances still suffers, heavy slowdown during the fog effect during changes of weather, they put volumetric shadows on the character and cars which added to the slowdown during gameplay. Look at the explosions in merceneries, g.t.aS.A could have been better with the weapons and game engine of merceneries. It was flawed and frustratingly difficult game begging to played with a cheat code and strategy guide(they should fire whoevers in charge of weapons and aiming) The coffe mod is both lame and useless. the dumb australians thinks its pornographic, it wont even be categorized into softcore. while terminator 2 s violent nature is ok( by the way theres also a sequence in the G.t.aS.A) theres also an appearance of tommy vercetti in farewell my love mission. Anyway the game is fast becoming cartoon violence, other games flourish with the latest game engines, while g.t.aSA suffers on bad engine. Expand
  21. PimpPlayer
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    Phenomenal this game is Awesome n Crazy in a good way.The freedom that you have is very cool.Plus the features in this game (working out,eating,go to barber shop,)feels like you are in a real life situaiton fighting your rivals to take control over the land and to gain respect is just phenomenal.Every GTA fan or better said everyone needs to play this REAL GTA GAME.
  22. Jack
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    All i have to say is good game.
  23. MattJ.
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome game just about pefect. Cant wait till xbox 360 comes out and we see this kind of game with photo relestic grafix.
  24. AaronA.
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    Graphics could have had abit more of a boost for the xbox but this is still the best current generation game by miles. bring on the xbox 360!!!
  25. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Another Nostalgic Review by Me. The Joy. Ok, so I first got this game at Christmas 2005, and almost spunked my prepubescent pants. I was 12, and this game is an 18; I know right, what were my parents thinking? Now I murder taxi drivers in my free time, and shout the word **** at the end of every sentence in every day speech. ****. Satire aside, GTA SA was the second GTA game that I hadAnother Nostalgic Review by Me. The Joy. Ok, so I first got this game at Christmas 2005, and almost spunked my prepubescent pants. I was 12, and this game is an 18; I know right, what were my parents thinking? Now I murder taxi drivers in my free time, and shout the word **** at the end of every sentence in every day speech. ****. Satire aside, GTA SA was the second GTA game that I had ever played; the first being GTA 3. The game is set in a fictional trio of cities (all of which I forgot) in which gang activity is rife. You take on the role of literary genius and ex gang member CJ, who gets thrown back into the world of gang violence the second he visits home for a funeral. The story see's CJ progress through some outrages missions and tasks as he rises from petty criminal to rich mass murder, and along the way, meeting a colourful cast of characters traditional to the GTA series. I must say, I liked CJ as a character, as he seemed like the only character who realised that everything in this gameworld is batshi* crazy. In addition to that, he isn't a monotonous hard nut that you would find in most action games today. Aside from the story, there are plenty of missions to do just for a giggle or two. One set of missions, which was my personally favourite see's you recreate Ocean's 11 in a much more brutish manner. Joy. These all add to the massive 25 hours of gameplay. Another gameplay element that make the game such mindless fun, is the vehicle handling (and what you can do with it, a little creativity, and some satchel charges). However, there are a few issues I take with the game; namely the control assignment. In a game where the difficulty curve gets quite steep in later missions, it helps to have a robust combat system that works. The auto aiming works perfectly well in this type of game, where there is just too much going on to have the ability to differentiate from a gangster and an assortment of explosions, fires and corpses et cetera; but why the fork would you assign the aiming button to that which is traditionally the button to shoot, and why would you then assign the button to shoot to a button on the d-pad, when the thumb that is used for this task, is needed elsewhere; Namely the right analogue stick, to navigate the camera, to make moving through the chaos easier. You don't even get the option to change the controls. Regardless, I finished the game and it's ending was very good. One of my favourite sandbox games of all time and definitely worth buying, even in it's old age. Expand
  26. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    The best game of all time.
    It has everything.
    Very memorable and very fun, i would rather play it than most current games. There's so much to do and the radio stations are amazing. Much better than GTA 4
  27. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    THE BEST GRAND THEFT AUTO GAME AND OPEN-WORLD GAME EVER EVEN WITH THE OUTDATED GRAPHICS A huge world THREE CITIES,TOWNS AND EVEN A TON OF COUNTRYSIDE IT'S ALSO FUNNY I got the XBOX Originals version and I think it's the best version way better than the PS2 version Get it on Xbox Live If You Have A 360 It's The Best Xbox Original.
  28. Jan 31, 2014
    8
    Pros:

    1. Lots of gameplay features in just one disc
    2. Very good radio stations
    3. A long and wet storyline
    4. One of the biggest maps in open world
    5. Lots of fun "odd jobs"

    Cons:

    1. Graphics are not standardized for 2005 (-1)
    2. Game gets boring when you finish the game (-1)
  29. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas takes the series to a whole new level. All of the missions are exciting and action packed and some are a bit more challenging. The characters are well done each with a unique personality. The biggest aspect of San Andreas is the amount of activities outside the missions. There are so many things to do like racing, buying new clothes and property, turf wars,Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas takes the series to a whole new level. All of the missions are exciting and action packed and some are a bit more challenging. The characters are well done each with a unique personality. The biggest aspect of San Andreas is the amount of activities outside the missions. There are so many things to do like racing, buying new clothes and property, turf wars, and just exploring the entire state. It's impossible to get bored from this game even if you have it 100% complete. It was amazing when it came out, it's amazing now, and it will be as amazing in years to come. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. With its strong story, well-written dialogue, terrific voice cast, impressive graphics, and extremely entertaining and varied gameplay, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is a stupendous thrill ride that shouldn't be missed.
  2. Another major failing of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas on the Xbox is the unnatural controller layout, and it's a fault that can't be too heavily attributed to the developers.
  3. But the move to Xbox feels like more of a formality-you don't really notice the slightly nicer environments, and if ever a game didn't need custom soundtracks, this is the one.