User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 123
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Valve original creation had enormous critic scores, rabid fan base, and one of the most important games in the history ever. The engine by the time really looked very advanced compared to other games graphics, the details are ugly no denying in that point. The narration or how the story progress while not looking the same formula of cut-scenes it's outstanding. Great action, interaction,Valve original creation had enormous critic scores, rabid fan base, and one of the most important games in the history ever. The engine by the time really looked very advanced compared to other games graphics, the details are ugly no denying in that point. The narration or how the story progress while not looking the same formula of cut-scenes it's outstanding. Great action, interaction, indeed the puzzles makes this a winner. Half-Life is a masterpiece with few flaws. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    By far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and the gameplay is amazing and addictive. Voice actors are great. There are so many levels of creativity in this game that it is just stunning.
  3. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game. The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype. Half-Life 2 however, does. Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation. I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game.
    The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype.
    Half-Life 2 however, does.
    Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation.
    I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going on.
    The story and its characters couldn’t keep my attention at all, everything pertaining to the story seemed so generic to me, luckily though the gameplay is good enough on its own to take you through the 10 plus hour journey.
    Half-Life 2 is a very linear game, but at the same time every section of the game feels connected, it feels open world… you hardly ever feel like you are bread crumbed to the finish.. When you find passages you feel like it was your work, when really the game cleverly got you there with its carefully constructed design.
    The pacing is nearly perfect
    you’re slowly hand fed new weapons..
    you’ll get to a point in the game where you’re introduced to a new weapon and then instantly have to use it for what its intended for, this is a perfect way to get you accustomed to and comfortable with everything at your disposal and prevent you from wasting unnecessary ammo.
    There wasn’t one weapon or item given that I wasn’t thankful for or that I didn’t find useful.
    This is great considering you’ll find yourself in some spots out of a particular set of ammo.
    The game play is also varied, so you’re not quite sure what to expect.
    Some games find a formula and stick to it.
    Half Life 2 doesn’t do this
    one minute you’re playing a stealth shooter, the next moment you’re playing call of duty style taking out troops, and 2 hours later you’re cruising through the world with vehicle based combat only to end up at a horror game style section
    This variation keeps the game from ever feeling like a grind, but at the same time the stress is kept at a near maximum.
    You won’t find too much challenge outside of the final few chapters, but the constant feeling of survival mode will definitely have you stepping away for a few hours or days.
    I now understand why everyone wants half-life 3 so bad.
    I loved climbing through every hole not knowing who or what would meet me on the other side.
    Half-Life 2 is a must play for gamers to experience the magic every developer has been chasing since 2004
    For what it is
    First person shooter – 9.5/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  4. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    this is the best FPS ever made. possibly the best game EVER made. i have been playing games since 1982, and have played hundreds if not thousands of games....this is number 1. even there are next generation systems now, like xbox360 and soon to be released ps3...i daubt they will have a game as good as this for a while...i hope they do, but very-very daubt it.
  5. SamC.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on the XBOX 360 it runs fine. So looks like a great game can get better? Expand
  6. Ricardo
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is the music - excellent, creepy techno score. Framerate not an issue for me. Only problem is getting through doors - a bit too precise. Far, far superior to most FPS games including the risible Halo 2 and Doom 3 and mediocre stuff like FarCry and Area 51. The Best. Expand
  7. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS have. I didnt think anything would blow me away in the FPS stakes like Halo did but this dethrones the king. There is so much atmosphere in this game and the level design is top notch. By that I mean what I love about HalfLife2 is that you can cruise along then all of a sudden you are in a situation where you must use ya noggin to get through which is very rare in FPS. I also love the mutliple was of takin out your oponents from firing into barrels, to the command of flying green bugs. Kudo's to the development team for bringing it to the box - I now compare all games to this one - on par with GTA San Andreas, ahead of Halo, Ninja Gaiden, and Strangers Wrath. Expand
  8. DevinM.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best first person shooters on the xbox. The game has great gameplay, graphics, and the storyline is captivating. I thouroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.
  9. KrisP.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a little time consuming its worth it for the vast areas you go through. Everything looks great and the gameplay is solid a definite buy and my choice for game of the year(xbox). Expand
  10. PatB.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    What the original Half-Life did in redefining a suffering genre, Half-Life 2 has done to our modern conception of gaming.
  11. NathanW.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Wow, what a great game! Stunning environments and brilliant gameplay.
  12. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I'm sure that almost all the bad reviews here are just from Halo fanboys who wouldn't know a good first person shooter if it bit them in the a**. This game has excellent graphics, excellent story line, and excellent characters and voice acting. Halo 2 can't fit into any of those last categories.
  13. WilliamT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    A great game to play on you beloved 'Box. The controls suffer from some degree of PC to Console, but it's still fun nevertheless.
  14. GautamM
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES series,RE series,Syphon filter series etc.As you can see I am a big third person action fan.I have played the original HL and HL:BS and CS and enjoyed them but never really was a FPS person till i played HL2.This game takes all the elements of every game,mixes them up with some brilliant innovation and makes an almost ethereal work of art that has to be played to be believed.I cant stop playing it.It is the most fun and intense game i have EVER played.the physics engine ROCKS.the gravity gun is like a paintbrush in the hand of an adept artist,there are so many things you can do with it.I dont even need to comment on the graphics.JAW DROPPING!!I cant really say more than what has already been said.I love this game with a vengeance.This will go down as the greatest game ver made!!Play it to believe it. Expand
  15. MarzzeV.
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    Nice graphics and good action but ( but ) no innovation, the problem i see, is the late arrival, when the consoles have reached their limits and the expectatives are focused on the new generation consoles.
  16. GabeC.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great atmosphere too. Very unique world. One gripe: Movement is different than most Xbox FPSs. Takes some getting used to. I also wished they'd minimized the loading message... I understand the wait... I just don't want the half screen message taking me out of the game. If you haven't played this game on the PC... by all means... this is a must buy. If you have an Xbox and have played it on the PC... it isn't really worth a second purchase because it is the same exact experience as the PC.. but at all lower resolution. Expand
  17. RichardS.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved Riddick - it is in my top 4 - but this has the look and feel I really wanted. As for gameplay - it's got the smoothness and action of Halo with the puzzle solving and platform elements of Riddick plus low level stealth elements. Beautiful graphics and excellent sound. This has immediately entered my top 4 all time alongside Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Expand
  18. Daz
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    So far, so good. I
  19. GiantOctopusDizz
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention slowdowns. Comparing between Doom3 and Half-life2 on xbox. Hands down Doom3 wins in graphics,sound and control except for gameplay half-life2 wins that but with slowdowns its so unaccaptable for today standard of games to have that kind of major flaw its not as polished as Doom3 was. Doom3 wins overall. Expand
  20. GaryE.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    An almost perfect game.This has delayed my purchase of the Xbox360 for a couple on months. There's plenty of life in the old dog yet!
  21. GaryR.
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    This is an excellent game! When I first started playing, I wasn't all that impressed, but as the story develops and you make your way further along, it gets GREAT! What a masterpiece!
  22. DaneF.
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    this game is just about the best game i have ever played i love how you get a wide selection of weapons and stuff,i love the gravity gun because you can pick up saw blades and sharp stuff and have the pleasure of launching it into their body thats why gave this game a 9 I out of 10.
  23. JL
    Oct 7, 2006
    9
    People may complain about the frame rate, but that is all I can complain about. This is by far the best FPS to come to the Xbox console.
  24. RavB.
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    This has set a new benchmark for FPS. One of the best games I have played. Absorbing story line and extremely clever use of the surrounding environment uses a brilliant physics engine. Highly enjoyable game play. I cant wait for the next installment.
  25. SammyF.
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    It would be better if there still was teams like medic,enginers,gunners stuff like that.
  26. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Fantastic from start to finish, this is an excellent port of the PC game. Despite some occasional slowdown and brief loading times, Half-Life 2 provides the best FPS single-player on any sixth-gen console. This is the best looking game for the Xbox -- who needs next-gen when you can play this?
  27. MarcD.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this game?' No. No no no no no. Enjoy gaming at it's finest now. Expand
  28. JoeM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    I was grateful for this game as I was not prepared to dish out the dough for a high powered PC. But it came at a price. There were some performance issues, which was understandable given the calibre of technology that the game demanded. And, I dont know about the rest of you, but I was looking forward to blasting some fools into oblivion on XBL. But unfortunately, it never materialised. I was grateful for this game as I was not prepared to dish out the dough for a high powered PC. But it came at a price. There were some performance issues, which was understandable given the calibre of technology that the game demanded. And, I dont know about the rest of you, but I was looking forward to blasting some fools into oblivion on XBL. But unfortunately, it never materialised. But still, looking forward to the Orange Box. A good strong 8. Expand
  29. BrentV
    Oct 4, 2008
    8
    I need to say that Half-Life 2 Does not have many flaws. It's original counter part (HL1) is superior, but not by much. Half-Life 2 Did as well as it could for an XBOX game but it just didn't live up to the original PC HL2. The fram rate is horrible too. It will run from 30-9 FPS. I strongly think that Valve should have just waited for the XBOX 360. I love Valve, but every once I need to say that Half-Life 2 Does not have many flaws. It's original counter part (HL1) is superior, but not by much. Half-Life 2 Did as well as it could for an XBOX game but it just didn't live up to the original PC HL2. The fram rate is horrible too. It will run from 30-9 FPS. I strongly think that Valve should have just waited for the XBOX 360. I love Valve, but every once in a while they make horrible choices (Half-Life 1 HD pack incompatible with other model packs: HL2 not on 360: Left 4 Dead delayed) however, the love I have for this game is so high. There is nothing wrong with this game, but the XBOX just cant handle Half-Life 2 that well. They should have made it for 360 and I know that they have it on the orange box but they had to still compress it to fit 5 games on one disc. It runs great but a standalone port (before the OB) would have ran much better. Expand
  30. DorianG
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Practically flawless. Thrilling gunplay, genuinely puzzling puzzles, a cast made up entirely of likable characters and a fantastic sense of immersion.

Awards & Rankings

5
3
#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
11
#11 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. AceGamez
    100
    The most immersing and compelling game I've ever played.
  3. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.