Half-Life 2 Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 122
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    this is the best FPS ever made. possibly the best game EVER made. i have been playing games since 1982, and have played hundreds if not thousands of games....this is number 1. even there are next generation systems now, like xbox360 and soon to be released ps3...i daubt they will have a game as good as this for a while...i hope they do, but very-very daubt it.
  2. SamC.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on the XBOX 360 it runs fine. So looks like a great game can get better? Expand
  3. Ricardo
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is the music - excellent, creepy techno score. Framerate not an issue for me. Only problem is getting through doors - a bit too precise. Far, far superior to most FPS games including the risible Halo 2 and Doom 3 and mediocre stuff like FarCry and Area 51. The Best. Expand
  4. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS have. I didnt think anything would blow me away in the FPS stakes like Halo did but this dethrones the king. There is so much atmosphere in this game and the level design is top notch. By that I mean what I love about HalfLife2 is that you can cruise along then all of a sudden you are in a situation where you must use ya noggin to get through which is very rare in FPS. I also love the mutliple was of takin out your oponents from firing into barrels, to the command of flying green bugs. Kudo's to the development team for bringing it to the box - I now compare all games to this one - on par with GTA San Andreas, ahead of Halo, Ninja Gaiden, and Strangers Wrath. Expand
  5. DevinM.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best first person shooters on the xbox. The game has great gameplay, graphics, and the storyline is captivating. I thouroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.
  6. KrisP.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a little time consuming its worth it for the vast areas you go through. Everything looks great and the gameplay is solid a definite buy and my choice for game of the year(xbox). Expand
  7. PatB.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    What the original Half-Life did in redefining a suffering genre, Half-Life 2 has done to our modern conception of gaming.
  8. NathanW.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Wow, what a great game! Stunning environments and brilliant gameplay.
  9. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I'm sure that almost all the bad reviews here are just from Halo fanboys who wouldn't know a good first person shooter if it bit them in the a**. This game has excellent graphics, excellent story line, and excellent characters and voice acting. Halo 2 can't fit into any of those last categories.
  10. GautamM
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES series,RE series,Syphon filter series etc.As you can see I am a big third person action fan.I have played the original HL and HL:BS and CS and enjoyed them but never really was a FPS person till i played HL2.This game takes all the elements of every game,mixes them up with some brilliant innovation and makes an almost ethereal work of art that has to be played to be believed.I cant stop playing it.It is the most fun and intense game i have EVER played.the physics engine ROCKS.the gravity gun is like a paintbrush in the hand of an adept artist,there are so many things you can do with it.I dont even need to comment on the graphics.JAW DROPPING!!I cant really say more than what has already been said.I love this game with a vengeance.This will go down as the greatest game ver made!!Play it to believe it. Expand
  11. RichardS.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved Riddick - it is in my top 4 - but this has the look and feel I really wanted. As for gameplay - it's got the smoothness and action of Halo with the puzzle solving and platform elements of Riddick plus low level stealth elements. Beautiful graphics and excellent sound. This has immediately entered my top 4 all time alongside Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Expand
  12. Daz
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    So far, so good. I
  13. SammyF.
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    It would be better if there still was teams like medic,enginers,gunners stuff like that.
  14. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Fantastic from start to finish, this is an excellent port of the PC game. Despite some occasional slowdown and brief loading times, Half-Life 2 provides the best FPS single-player on any sixth-gen console. This is the best looking game for the Xbox -- who needs next-gen when you can play this?
  15. DorianG
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Practically flawless. Thrilling gunplay, genuinely puzzling puzzles, a cast made up entirely of likable characters and a fantastic sense of immersion.
  16. RedRose
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    The posters who are making silly comments about this game missing the boat vis a vis the xbox 360 are missing the point. The next generation of consoles do not make games any better than yesteryear. The point is that it is the gameplay that makes the game not the graphics (Far Cry Instincts on the Xbox being an exponent of a game that looks magnificent but suffers from poor gameplay/AI). The posters who are making silly comments about this game missing the boat vis a vis the xbox 360 are missing the point. The next generation of consoles do not make games any better than yesteryear. The point is that it is the gameplay that makes the game not the graphics (Far Cry Instincts on the Xbox being an exponent of a game that looks magnificent but suffers from poor gameplay/AI). This is without doubt the best FPS on this system and anyone who marks it lower on the basis that it could be graphically superior on a 360, has obviously not made informed objective assessment. Expand
  17. SteveP.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    I've been wating for this for a long time. The frist Half-Life was Great and now they've taken all the good things about the 1st on and put in in the second with even more stuff. The Game play is great, the graphics great, good AI. My only complant is the controlls are a little sticky and there's no multiplayer, but the single player more makes up for it. If you want a I've been wating for this for a long time. The frist Half-Life was Great and now they've taken all the good things about the 1st on and put in in the second with even more stuff. The Game play is great, the graphics great, good AI. My only complant is the controlls are a little sticky and there's no multiplayer, but the single player more makes up for it. If you want a great multiplayer just pick up Halo or Halo2, but if you a big single player guy (like me) get Half-Life2. Half-Life is truely the Final Fanticy of Frist Person Shooters. Expand
  18. JamesH.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Simply the best single player campaign of any first person shooter on the Xbox (and thats coming from a complete Halo fanboy). The atmosphere and pacing of the game is perfect with no cutscenes or interuptions to gameplay (apart from load screens). The excellent AI, gunfights, physics and the option to set and avoid complex traps are all supported by a solid narrative that spans more than Simply the best single player campaign of any first person shooter on the Xbox (and thats coming from a complete Halo fanboy). The atmosphere and pacing of the game is perfect with no cutscenes or interuptions to gameplay (apart from load screens). The excellent AI, gunfights, physics and the option to set and avoid complex traps are all supported by a solid narrative that spans more than 20 hours of hugely enjoyable gameplay. The story is not critical to the game but those who choose to follow it and spend time exploring the rich and detailed world will get the most rewarding experience from this title. A few frame rate issues that occur later in the game are a bit irritating but should (hopefully) be eliminated when playing on the Xbox360... Expand
  19. DustinM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, it ranks right beside Halo, the whole time I was playin I was immersed in the story and action, not once was I bored. This is definately one of the best games ever made for xbox.
  20. Nanokiwi
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    Definitely one of the best games on xbox - really advanced physics engine, tight controls, FPS bliss with enjoyable rather than frustrating puzzles thrown in.
  21. Alex
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most enthralling FPS I've ever played on the Xbox. An intriguing yet somewhat obscure storyline takes a backseat to the brilliant gameplay. This isn't simply a shooter - it mixes in adventure, exploration, platforming, driving, and squad-based combat into a stunning amalgam of fun. The variety of level design, enemies, and methods of killing, along with This is by far the most enthralling FPS I've ever played on the Xbox. An intriguing yet somewhat obscure storyline takes a backseat to the brilliant gameplay. This isn't simply a shooter - it mixes in adventure, exploration, platforming, driving, and squad-based combat into a stunning amalgam of fun. The variety of level design, enemies, and methods of killing, along with astonishing visuals, make Half-Life 2 truly one of the greatest games of all time. Highly recommended for any fan of action games. Expand
  22. JayB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    By far; the best fps you can own on the box. no multi but, ill trade it for the greatness of the single player. my last xbox title before the 360. Well worth the cash.
  23. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Anyone who knows me or see my reviews will know i rarely give ten scores but this game is living proof that that xbox360 is not needed! This game has too much quality to go through but this easily is the xbox game of the year. From intense action, engaging story and beautiful back-drops. Its a must for people who's PC cldn't hack playing the original and those who refuse to buy Anyone who knows me or see my reviews will know i rarely give ten scores but this game is living proof that that xbox360 is not needed! This game has too much quality to go through but this easily is the xbox game of the year. From intense action, engaging story and beautiful back-drops. Its a must for people who's PC cldn't hack playing the original and those who refuse to buy into the new generation con! A classic/legend in modern gaming. Expand
  24. Megatron
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    I thought that a conversion from the pc counterpart would b a lot lesser expirience on the black machine from microsoft...thank god i was wrong....this proves drastically that when a developer such as Valve puts a goal and gives its best shoot at it,it just cant b that bad...on the contrary,i ve enjoyed it as much as i did on my medium pc set up,although this time,i did nt get any palm,or I thought that a conversion from the pc counterpart would b a lot lesser expirience on the black machine from microsoft...thank god i was wrong....this proves drastically that when a developer such as Valve puts a goal and gives its best shoot at it,it just cant b that bad...on the contrary,i ve enjoyed it as much as i did on my medium pc set up,although this time,i did nt get any palm,or back aches during my quest in city 17 as Gordon Freeman... hail 2 xbox!Having last years best pc game,i think the xbox has stil a lot to offer,hope other developers see it and produce such fine titles in terms of graphics quality and gameplay...2 bad the life o f the xbox is slowly ending,since the xbox 360 has arrived...i say...bring on Quake 4(!!!?????!!!) on xbox ,and i wont b that surprised... Expand
  25. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    By far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and the gameplay is amazing and addictive. Voice actors are great. There are so many levels of creativity in this game that it is just stunning.
  26. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This game will go down as one of the best of all time, with a great continued story, long campaign, memorable characters, and fun not-too-over-the top gameplay. One of a rare kind that actually evokes real emotion from the player, Half-Life 2 is great in every aspect and is an absolute classic.
  27. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    A very good game! A variety of characters, enemies, weapons, and environments to come across in this game. The story line is amazing, you play as Gordon Freeman who was in the original Half - life( which was amazing too). This game has a horror,action, and drama like game-play style. I recommend this game to anyone who wants a good cheap game to play for hours.
  28. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game. The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype. Half-Life 2 however, does. Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation. I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game.
    The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype.
    Half-Life 2 however, does.
    Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation.
    I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going on.
    The story and its characters couldn’t keep my attention at all, everything pertaining to the story seemed so generic to me, luckily though the gameplay is good enough on its own to take you through the 10 plus hour journey.
    Half-Life 2 is a very linear game, but at the same time every section of the game feels connected, it feels open world… you hardly ever feel like you are bread crumbed to the finish.. When you find passages you feel like it was your work, when really the game cleverly got you there with its carefully constructed design.
    The pacing is nearly perfect
    you’re slowly hand fed new weapons..
    you’ll get to a point in the game where you’re introduced to a new weapon and then instantly have to use it for what its intended for, this is a perfect way to get you accustomed to and comfortable with everything at your disposal and prevent you from wasting unnecessary ammo.
    There wasn’t one weapon or item given that I wasn’t thankful for or that I didn’t find useful.
    This is great considering you’ll find yourself in some spots out of a particular set of ammo.
    The game play is also varied, so you’re not quite sure what to expect.
    Some games find a formula and stick to it.
    Half Life 2 doesn’t do this
    one minute you’re playing a stealth shooter, the next moment you’re playing call of duty style taking out troops, and 2 hours later you’re cruising through the world with vehicle based combat only to end up at a horror game style section
    This variation keeps the game from ever feeling like a grind, but at the same time the stress is kept at a near maximum.
    You won’t find too much challenge outside of the final few chapters, but the constant feeling of survival mode will definitely have you stepping away for a few hours or days.
    I now understand why everyone wants half-life 3 so bad.
    I loved climbing through every hole not knowing who or what would meet me on the other side.
    Half-Life 2 is a must play for gamers to experience the magic every developer has been chasing since 2004
    For what it is
    First person shooter – 9.5/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  29. GabeC.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great atmosphere too. Very unique world. One gripe: Movement is different than most Xbox FPSs. Takes some getting used to. I also wished they'd minimized the loading message... I understand the wait... I just don't want the half screen message taking me out of the game. If you haven't played this game on the PC... by all means... this is a must buy. If you have an Xbox and have played it on the PC... it isn't really worth a second purchase because it is the same exact experience as the PC.. but at all lower resolution. Expand
  30. GaryE.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    An almost perfect game.This has delayed my purchase of the Xbox360 for a couple on months. There's plenty of life in the old dog yet!

Awards & Rankings

5
3
#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
13
#13 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. AceGamez
    100
    The most immersing and compelling game I've ever played.
  3. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.