Half-Life 2 Xbox

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 105
  2. Negative: 7 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Valve original creation had enormous critic scores, rabid fan base, and one of the most important games in the history ever. The engine by the time really looked very advanced compared to other games graphics, the details are ugly no denying in that point. The narration or how the story progress while not looking the same formula of cut-scenes it's outstanding. Great action, interaction,Valve original creation had enormous critic scores, rabid fan base, and one of the most important games in the history ever. The engine by the time really looked very advanced compared to other games graphics, the details are ugly no denying in that point. The narration or how the story progress while not looking the same formula of cut-scenes it's outstanding. Great action, interaction, indeed the puzzles makes this a winner. Half-Life is a masterpiece with few flaws. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    By far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and the gameplay is amazing and addictive. Voice actors are great. There are so many levels of creativity in this game that it is just stunning.
  3. Bill10
    Nov 18, 2005
    2
    Ok it looks ok but just face it the XBOX is just not made for first person shooters. the controls are just plain shit and the graphics are compaired to the pc just sub standard. FPS and RTS belong to the PC where they can be done correctly and the XBOx should just stick to platform and driving games this goes for the PS2 also.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Bad graphics, bad story line, not even close to realistic, just plain sucked.
  5. TobyK
    Sep 23, 2009
    3
    although this game has gamers everywhere lining up in single file to get on there knees I found it dull, uninspired, confusing, dull and repetitive. the much touted physics gameplay did nothing for me, because they kept on doing the same 3 or 4 tricks, primarily involving stacking objects up or using a see-saw. by todays standards the source engine is prehistoric, with dreadful graphical although this game has gamers everywhere lining up in single file to get on there knees I found it dull, uninspired, confusing, dull and repetitive. the much touted physics gameplay did nothing for me, because they kept on doing the same 3 or 4 tricks, primarily involving stacking objects up or using a see-saw. by todays standards the source engine is prehistoric, with dreadful graphical capabilities, the worst interface in human history and peculiar bugs, amongst which my favourite was the sheer ease it took to make objects spaz out and fly all over the place spinning and warping for no reason and the equal ease it took to get something stuck in the world geometry. the infuriating way that valve attempted constantly to make me care about the irritatingly revered mute scientist Gordon Freeman and his clichéd crowbar antics showed up the writing staff, whilst the uninspired environments and irritatingly awful AI combined to make this one of my gaming lows. Frankly I dont understand why it has such high accord: it is one of my least favourite games. the one satisfying aspect of the gameplay is the actual killing, specifically of zombies. it is the most satisfying thing in te world to seperate a zombie's torso from his legs with a shard metal disc. Expand
  6. JobA.
    Apr 27, 2006
    5
    I really dont see what is so great about this game.I dont understand all the good reviews for the x-box version.The computer version is a pretty good game but not great. The x-box game has problems from the second it comes on with the frame rate. Its a very bad port and the game has to much hype.This game is a 5 and no more cause its not all that and thats all there is to it!
  7. ScottH.
    Aug 20, 2006
    6
    I think most of the people must have played this game when they were high or something to review it a 9 or 10. No multiplayer, bad frame rate, repetitive enemies, lack of story, linear gameplay, etc.
  8. AnonymousCriticAnon
    Apr 19, 2009
    6
    Overall Half-Life 2 is nothing special. Probably one of the most overrated games ever. So what makes Half-Life 2 such a normal game? Let us look at the story. While there are definitly some interesting concepts and ideas behind the game, the game isn't that full of background storytelling parts. Here and there are some hints. But nothing more. The main story of the game self is a Overall Half-Life 2 is nothing special. Probably one of the most overrated games ever. So what makes Half-Life 2 such a normal game? Let us look at the story. While there are definitly some interesting concepts and ideas behind the game, the game isn't that full of background storytelling parts. Here and there are some hints. But nothing more. The main story of the game self is a typical snitcher story, mixed with a typical story about resistance against an evil power. The side characters aren't really convincing. Dr. Kleiner has become the typical crazy professor. You won't get that "This my colleague"-feeling from Half-Life 1 anymore. Alyx is supposed to be your sidekick / girlfriend. Most of her appereances in the game just seem to be forced. Dog seems to be one of these characters you'll mostly find in Disney movies. You know what I mean? The kind of cute looking characters, which are mostly put into Disney movies in order to entertain smaller children watching the movie. Now let's get to the gameplay: You'll have various different weapons, have the possibility to drive some vehicles and fight trough a variety of maps. Now where's the problem? The weapons are not very innovative. Most of them were just taken from Half-Life 1 and were getting new skins. But one of the most popular Half-Life 1 weapons, the Gauss gun was even removed. The Gravity Gun is fun to use for the first time. But it get's pretty old very fast. Especially since it's use is mostly limited on close-combat as well as on the availability of physical objects near you. The game has some puzzles in which the Gravity Gun helps. But overall these puzzles are all too simple. You don't get a feeling of joy after you solved one of the puzzles. There are no rewards for them available. The only reason you are doing the puzzles is in order to progress in the game. But there's no other motivation behind them. The vehicles chases are definitly fun but also too long. All you do is rushing trough some very nice and detailled looking industrial and costal areas while clearing the map from every enemy you see. Walking through these levels makes you feel like more could have been done with them. And now let us get about the enemies. Overall the range of enemies in Half-Life 2 is quite short. You will mostly end up making a genocide on Combines, with the difference that the skin changes the more you progress. While Headcrabs and Zombies make again an appearence in the game, the game lacks of completely new NPCs. What happened with the other Xen monsters which were teleported to earth? Why not more different Combine soldiers? Overall Half-Life 2 is a nice game, but it's not innovative, there's nothing real new in it which you didn't saw anywhere before. There was definitly some huge potential in the game, but it feels like the developers didn't followed a clear concept as they made the game. The source engine delivers great graphics and physics and is a nice platform for various kind of mods and machinimas. Collapse
  9. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    I have to give it such a low rating purely because the controls for vehicles were HORRIFIC. Also the game was just far too linear and repetitive to fill time, otherwise the game would be too short.
    I do think though that the graphics and physics are impressive.
  10. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game. The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype. Half-Life 2 however, does. Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation. I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game.
    The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype.
    Half-Life 2 however, does.
    Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation.
    I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going on.
    The story and its characters couldn’t keep my attention at all, everything pertaining to the story seemed so generic to me, luckily though the gameplay is good enough on its own to take you through the 10 plus hour journey.
    Half-Life 2 is a very linear game, but at the same time every section of the game feels connected, it feels open world… you hardly ever feel like you are bread crumbed to the finish.. When you find passages you feel like it was your work, when really the game cleverly got you there with its carefully constructed design.
    The pacing is nearly perfect
    you’re slowly hand fed new weapons..
    you’ll get to a point in the game where you’re introduced to a new weapon and then instantly have to use it for what its intended for, this is a perfect way to get you accustomed to and comfortable with everything at your disposal and prevent you from wasting unnecessary ammo.
    There wasn’t one weapon or item given that I wasn’t thankful for or that I didn’t find useful.
    This is great considering you’ll find yourself in some spots out of a particular set of ammo.
    The game play is also varied, so you’re not quite sure what to expect.
    Some games find a formula and stick to it.
    Half Life 2 doesn’t do this
    one minute you’re playing a stealth shooter, the next moment you’re playing call of duty style taking out troops, and 2 hours later you’re cruising through the world with vehicle based combat only to end up at a horror game style section
    This variation keeps the game from ever feeling like a grind, but at the same time the stress is kept at a near maximum.
    You won’t find too much challenge outside of the final few chapters, but the constant feeling of survival mode will definitely have you stepping away for a few hours or days.
    I now understand why everyone wants half-life 3 so bad.
    I loved climbing through every hole not knowing who or what would meet me on the other side.
    Half-Life 2 is a must play for gamers to experience the magic every developer has been chasing since 2004
    For what it is
    First person shooter – 9.5/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  11. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    this is the best FPS ever made. possibly the best game EVER made. i have been playing games since 1982, and have played hundreds if not thousands of games....this is number 1. even there are next generation systems now, like xbox360 and soon to be released ps3...i daubt they will have a game as good as this for a while...i hope they do, but very-very daubt it.
  12. SamC.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on the XBOX 360 it runs fine. So looks like a great game can get better? Expand
  13. Ricardo
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is the music - excellent, creepy techno score. Framerate not an issue for me. Only problem is getting through doors - a bit too precise. Far, far superior to most FPS games including the risible Halo 2 and Doom 3 and mediocre stuff like FarCry and Area 51. The Best. Expand
  14. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS have. I didnt think anything would blow me away in the FPS stakes like Halo did but this dethrones the king. There is so much atmosphere in this game and the level design is top notch. By that I mean what I love about HalfLife2 is that you can cruise along then all of a sudden you are in a situation where you must use ya noggin to get through which is very rare in FPS. I also love the mutliple was of takin out your oponents from firing into barrels, to the command of flying green bugs. Kudo's to the development team for bringing it to the box - I now compare all games to this one - on par with GTA San Andreas, ahead of Halo, Ninja Gaiden, and Strangers Wrath. Expand
  15. DevinM.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best first person shooters on the xbox. The game has great gameplay, graphics, and the storyline is captivating. I thouroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.
  16. KrisP.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a little time consuming its worth it for the vast areas you go through. Everything looks great and the gameplay is solid a definite buy and my choice for game of the year(xbox). Expand
  17. PatB.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    What the original Half-Life did in redefining a suffering genre, Half-Life 2 has done to our modern conception of gaming.
  18. NathanW.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Wow, what a great game! Stunning environments and brilliant gameplay.
  19. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I'm sure that almost all the bad reviews here are just from Halo fanboys who wouldn't know a good first person shooter if it bit them in the a**. This game has excellent graphics, excellent story line, and excellent characters and voice acting. Halo 2 can't fit into any of those last categories.
  20. WilliamT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    A great game to play on you beloved 'Box. The controls suffer from some degree of PC to Console, but it's still fun nevertheless.
  21. GautamM
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES series,RE series,Syphon filter series etc.As you can see I am a big third person action fan.I have played the original HL and HL:BS and CS and enjoyed them but never really was a FPS person till i played HL2.This game takes all the elements of every game,mixes them up with some brilliant innovation and makes an almost ethereal work of art that has to be played to be believed.I cant stop playing it.It is the most fun and intense game i have EVER played.the physics engine ROCKS.the gravity gun is like a paintbrush in the hand of an adept artist,there are so many things you can do with it.I dont even need to comment on the graphics.JAW DROPPING!!I cant really say more than what has already been said.I love this game with a vengeance.This will go down as the greatest game ver made!!Play it to believe it. Expand
  22. MarzzeV.
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    Nice graphics and good action but ( but ) no innovation, the problem i see, is the late arrival, when the consoles have reached their limits and the expectatives are focused on the new generation consoles.
  23. GabeC.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great atmosphere too. Very unique world. One gripe: Movement is different than most Xbox FPSs. Takes some getting used to. I also wished they'd minimized the loading message... I understand the wait... I just don't want the half screen message taking me out of the game. If you haven't played this game on the PC... by all means... this is a must buy. If you have an Xbox and have played it on the PC... it isn't really worth a second purchase because it is the same exact experience as the PC.. but at all lower resolution. Expand
  24. RichardS.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved Riddick - it is in my top 4 - but this has the look and feel I really wanted. As for gameplay - it's got the smoothness and action of Halo with the puzzle solving and platform elements of Riddick plus low level stealth elements. Beautiful graphics and excellent sound. This has immediately entered my top 4 all time alongside Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Expand
  25. Daz
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    So far, so good. I
  26. GiantOctopusDizz
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention slowdowns. Comparing between Doom3 and Half-life2 on xbox. Hands down Doom3 wins in graphics,sound and control except for gameplay half-life2 wins that but with slowdowns its so unaccaptable for today standard of games to have that kind of major flaw its not as polished as Doom3 was. Doom3 wins overall. Expand
  27. GaryE.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    An almost perfect game.This has delayed my purchase of the Xbox360 for a couple on months. There's plenty of life in the old dog yet!
  28. Mike
    Nov 30, 2005
    7
    I gave this game a 7 because I came away on the fence about it. I never played the first Half-Life, but did dabble in CS. And I wasn't really sure what to expect from this iteration. But having played it, my impression is that its a very good story driven game, but everything else seems a little off. I don't agree that the controls are spot on, especially on the air boat. And I gave this game a 7 because I came away on the fence about it. I never played the first Half-Life, but did dabble in CS. And I wasn't really sure what to expect from this iteration. But having played it, my impression is that its a very good story driven game, but everything else seems a little off. I don't agree that the controls are spot on, especially on the air boat. And the weapons definitely seem a little underpowered. I also CAN NOT stand how many loads there were, it was like every other corner you turned in the game had to load up, it was very frustrating and I found myself putting the game down and returning it to Blockbuster after 4 levels. There were some nice parts, but all in all, it didn't impress me as much as the critics. And I'm definitely glad i rented it. This is a good rental if you're bored and waiting for your Xbox 360, but that's about it. Expand
  29. GaryR.
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    This is an excellent game! When I first started playing, I wasn't all that impressed, but as the story develops and you make your way further along, it gets GREAT! What a masterpiece!
  30. DaneF.
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    this game is just about the best game i have ever played i love how you get a wide selection of weapons and stuff,i love the gravity gun because you can pick up saw blades and sharp stuff and have the pleasure of launching it into their body thats why gave this game a 9 I out of 10.
  31. JL
    Oct 7, 2006
    9
    People may complain about the frame rate, but that is all I can complain about. This is by far the best FPS to come to the Xbox console.
  32. RavB.
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    This has set a new benchmark for FPS. One of the best games I have played. Absorbing story line and extremely clever use of the surrounding environment uses a brilliant physics engine. Highly enjoyable game play. I cant wait for the next installment.
  33. SammyF.
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    It would be better if there still was teams like medic,enginers,gunners stuff like that.
  34. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Fantastic from start to finish, this is an excellent port of the PC game. Despite some occasional slowdown and brief loading times, Half-Life 2 provides the best FPS single-player on any sixth-gen console. This is the best looking game for the Xbox -- who needs next-gen when you can play this?
  35. MarcD.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this game?' No. No no no no no. Enjoy gaming at it's finest now. Expand
  36. JoeM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    I was grateful for this game as I was not prepared to dish out the dough for a high powered PC. But it came at a price. There were some performance issues, which was understandable given the calibre of technology that the game demanded. And, I dont know about the rest of you, but I was looking forward to blasting some fools into oblivion on XBL. But unfortunately, it never materialised. I was grateful for this game as I was not prepared to dish out the dough for a high powered PC. But it came at a price. There were some performance issues, which was understandable given the calibre of technology that the game demanded. And, I dont know about the rest of you, but I was looking forward to blasting some fools into oblivion on XBL. But unfortunately, it never materialised. But still, looking forward to the Orange Box. A good strong 8. Expand
  37. BrentV
    Oct 4, 2008
    8
    I need to say that Half-Life 2 Does not have many flaws. It's original counter part (HL1) is superior, but not by much. Half-Life 2 Did as well as it could for an XBOX game but it just didn't live up to the original PC HL2. The fram rate is horrible too. It will run from 30-9 FPS. I strongly think that Valve should have just waited for the XBOX 360. I love Valve, but every once I need to say that Half-Life 2 Does not have many flaws. It's original counter part (HL1) is superior, but not by much. Half-Life 2 Did as well as it could for an XBOX game but it just didn't live up to the original PC HL2. The fram rate is horrible too. It will run from 30-9 FPS. I strongly think that Valve should have just waited for the XBOX 360. I love Valve, but every once in a while they make horrible choices (Half-Life 1 HD pack incompatible with other model packs: HL2 not on 360: Left 4 Dead delayed) however, the love I have for this game is so high. There is nothing wrong with this game, but the XBOX just cant handle Half-Life 2 that well. They should have made it for 360 and I know that they have it on the orange box but they had to still compress it to fit 5 games on one disc. It runs great but a standalone port (before the OB) would have ran much better. Expand
  38. DorianG
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Practically flawless. Thrilling gunplay, genuinely puzzling puzzles, a cast made up entirely of likable characters and a fantastic sense of immersion.
  39. DrPuckwell
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    This game is about as good as there is. I did not have the pleasure of playing the PC version but this is excellent. Pushes Xbox graphics to their max. Refresh rate is only a problem after loads and in big open spaces it seems. May be the best campaign mode FPS on Xbox. More real and gritty than Halo and not as scary as Doom. Lots of fun so far.
  40. RedRose
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    The posters who are making silly comments about this game missing the boat vis a vis the xbox 360 are missing the point. The next generation of consoles do not make games any better than yesteryear. The point is that it is the gameplay that makes the game not the graphics (Far Cry Instincts on the Xbox being an exponent of a game that looks magnificent but suffers from poor gameplay/AI). The posters who are making silly comments about this game missing the boat vis a vis the xbox 360 are missing the point. The next generation of consoles do not make games any better than yesteryear. The point is that it is the gameplay that makes the game not the graphics (Far Cry Instincts on the Xbox being an exponent of a game that looks magnificent but suffers from poor gameplay/AI). This is without doubt the best FPS on this system and anyone who marks it lower on the basis that it could be graphically superior on a 360, has obviously not made informed objective assessment. Expand
  41. SteveP.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    I've been wating for this for a long time. The frist Half-Life was Great and now they've taken all the good things about the 1st on and put in in the second with even more stuff. The Game play is great, the graphics great, good AI. My only complant is the controlls are a little sticky and there's no multiplayer, but the single player more makes up for it. If you want a I've been wating for this for a long time. The frist Half-Life was Great and now they've taken all the good things about the 1st on and put in in the second with even more stuff. The Game play is great, the graphics great, good AI. My only complant is the controlls are a little sticky and there's no multiplayer, but the single player more makes up for it. If you want a great multiplayer just pick up Halo or Halo2, but if you a big single player guy (like me) get Half-Life2. Half-Life is truely the Final Fanticy of Frist Person Shooters. Expand
  42. Ed
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Excellent gaming experience! Half Life 2 makes the perfect swan song for this generations XBOX. As for all the PC users locked away in their rooms curtains drawn, please keep in mind that your rantings about how the PC is superior brings one to recall when the same was said about the radio in comparison to a relatvely new medium called "Television" in the 1930's; eventually consoles Excellent gaming experience! Half Life 2 makes the perfect swan song for this generations XBOX. As for all the PC users locked away in their rooms curtains drawn, please keep in mind that your rantings about how the PC is superior brings one to recall when the same was said about the radio in comparison to a relatvely new medium called "Television" in the 1930's; eventually consoles (like the TV) will surpass the PC in popularity with regard to gaming because (as I alluded to earlier) it attracts groups of socially demonstrative people to play together from varying backgrounds, unfortunately the stereotype of PC gamers as a group of pimply-faced social outcasts is hard to shake. More importantly consoles are cost effective and extremely user friendly. Expand
  43. JamesH.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Simply the best single player campaign of any first person shooter on the Xbox (and thats coming from a complete Halo fanboy). The atmosphere and pacing of the game is perfect with no cutscenes or interuptions to gameplay (apart from load screens). The excellent AI, gunfights, physics and the option to set and avoid complex traps are all supported by a solid narrative that spans more than Simply the best single player campaign of any first person shooter on the Xbox (and thats coming from a complete Halo fanboy). The atmosphere and pacing of the game is perfect with no cutscenes or interuptions to gameplay (apart from load screens). The excellent AI, gunfights, physics and the option to set and avoid complex traps are all supported by a solid narrative that spans more than 20 hours of hugely enjoyable gameplay. The story is not critical to the game but those who choose to follow it and spend time exploring the rich and detailed world will get the most rewarding experience from this title. A few frame rate issues that occur later in the game are a bit irritating but should (hopefully) be eliminated when playing on the Xbox360... Expand
  44. JaceN.
    Nov 22, 2005
    8
    Excellent FPS and a great way to end the XBOX software run before the 360...and the inevitable dregs that make it from this generation to the next. I feel the developers went a bit Tech-Happy with the whole Havok physics engine. At times it appears that structures that have apparently been there for 20 years or more serve no other purpose than providing a means for Freeman to put Excellent FPS and a great way to end the XBOX software run before the 360...and the inevitable dregs that make it from this generation to the next. I feel the developers went a bit Tech-Happy with the whole Havok physics engine. At times it appears that structures that have apparently been there for 20 years or more serve no other purpose than providing a means for Freeman to put cinderblocks in a rusty old elevator just in case he comes through this part of town in his hovercraft some day...quite contrived! And on occasion your legs seem to stop working just because youre standing too close to a cardboard box. Dont scientist know that your shoulder can safely brush past objects with no harm? Expand
  45. DustinM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, it ranks right beside Halo, the whole time I was playin I was immersed in the story and action, not once was I bored. This is definately one of the best games ever made for xbox.
  46. J.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Do yourself a service and read every review. There is some pretty bad ignorance in some of these. For some bozo to bash Valve and their "stuborness" is flat-out offensive to every programmer out there, industry insider or not. This game is a marvel feat without any question when it is looked at objectively. That brings up the "shoulda been on 360" hogwash. Again, these folks seem to be Do yourself a service and read every review. There is some pretty bad ignorance in some of these. For some bozo to bash Valve and their "stuborness" is flat-out offensive to every programmer out there, industry insider or not. This game is a marvel feat without any question when it is looked at objectively. That brings up the "shoulda been on 360" hogwash. Again, these folks seem to be number monkeys (it has to be better because it has a bigger processor and memory number). The fact that they got this code with these resources running on this hardware at these specs is amazing. Oh yah, the game. Right-on. Controls take getting used to and that, but other than this minor "hmph?" there are no complaints. Loads are not unreasonable when you understand what a load is doing and I have not experienced significant framerate issues and I have one of the very old school boxes (with the evil dvd drive even). Yes, there are slow downs here and there, but when taken against the big scheme, they are well within the margin of acceptable in occurence, severity and lenght. Expand
  47. Nanokiwi
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    Definitely one of the best games on xbox - really advanced physics engine, tight controls, FPS bliss with enjoyable rather than frustrating puzzles thrown in.
  48. JonD.
    Jan 18, 2006
    7
    O.K. i really need to set the point straight. Everyone on here is saying how wonderful this game is and believe me it is a great game but for some reason no one wants to point out that the game takes what 10-12 hours to finish and 4-5 of those hours are on two different vehicles. Theres almost no story. You arrive on a train and from then on out you just go through the very linear but fun O.K. i really need to set the point straight. Everyone on here is saying how wonderful this game is and believe me it is a great game but for some reason no one wants to point out that the game takes what 10-12 hours to finish and 4-5 of those hours are on two different vehicles. Theres almost no story. You arrive on a train and from then on out you just go through the very linear but fun levels. theres no second way around in the levels because of all the load points and you know ur going the right way if you come up to a load point. the action is 10 out of 10 and the controls 9 out of ten the sound and graphics 10/10 but the story/ level construction although the vehicle levels are huuuge you can only go in one direction so i gotta give those areas 6/10 and with the short and the ending i gotta give a 7/10 because the entire game makes you want to see what happens in the end and the end is as long as teh beginning cut scene. rent it till you beat it but after that theres no point of playing this game. Expand
  49. CoryK.
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    If u have this game for the PC, don't buy this version! If u don't have this game for the PC, buy this version! It's a game that shouldn't be missed whether u play it on the superior PC or the inferior Xbox.
  50. Alex
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most enthralling FPS I've ever played on the Xbox. An intriguing yet somewhat obscure storyline takes a backseat to the brilliant gameplay. This isn't simply a shooter - it mixes in adventure, exploration, platforming, driving, and squad-based combat into a stunning amalgam of fun. The variety of level design, enemies, and methods of killing, along with This is by far the most enthralling FPS I've ever played on the Xbox. An intriguing yet somewhat obscure storyline takes a backseat to the brilliant gameplay. This isn't simply a shooter - it mixes in adventure, exploration, platforming, driving, and squad-based combat into a stunning amalgam of fun. The variety of level design, enemies, and methods of killing, along with astonishing visuals, make Half-Life 2 truly one of the greatest games of all time. Highly recommended for any fan of action games. Expand
  51. JayB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    By far; the best fps you can own on the box. no multi but, ill trade it for the greatness of the single player. my last xbox title before the 360. Well worth the cash.
  52. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Anyone who knows me or see my reviews will know i rarely give ten scores but this game is living proof that that xbox360 is not needed! This game has too much quality to go through but this easily is the xbox game of the year. From intense action, engaging story and beautiful back-drops. Its a must for people who's PC cldn't hack playing the original and those who refuse to buy Anyone who knows me or see my reviews will know i rarely give ten scores but this game is living proof that that xbox360 is not needed! This game has too much quality to go through but this easily is the xbox game of the year. From intense action, engaging story and beautiful back-drops. Its a must for people who's PC cldn't hack playing the original and those who refuse to buy into the new generation con! A classic/legend in modern gaming. Expand
  53. Lucas38
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Very atmospheric, great fun. However, due to frame rate issues I have a hard time playing the game for more than 45 minutes at a time, I actually get nausiated. I play a lot of FPS and this is the only game that I find difficult to play for that reason only. The question for me would be: is it worth playing 'til I puke? I answer with a rousing YES!!
  54. Megatron
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    I thought that a conversion from the pc counterpart would b a lot lesser expirience on the black machine from microsoft...thank god i was wrong....this proves drastically that when a developer such as Valve puts a goal and gives its best shoot at it,it just cant b that bad...on the contrary,i ve enjoyed it as much as i did on my medium pc set up,although this time,i did nt get any palm,or I thought that a conversion from the pc counterpart would b a lot lesser expirience on the black machine from microsoft...thank god i was wrong....this proves drastically that when a developer such as Valve puts a goal and gives its best shoot at it,it just cant b that bad...on the contrary,i ve enjoyed it as much as i did on my medium pc set up,although this time,i did nt get any palm,or back aches during my quest in city 17 as Gordon Freeman... hail 2 xbox!Having last years best pc game,i think the xbox has stil a lot to offer,hope other developers see it and produce such fine titles in terms of graphics quality and gameplay...2 bad the life o f the xbox is slowly ending,since the xbox 360 has arrived...i say...bring on Quake 4(!!!?????!!!) on xbox ,and i wont b that surprised... Expand
  55. Patrick
    Nov 25, 2005
    8
    Good game but like some others, I get dizzy playing this game due to frame rate issues. No other games have done this to me.
  56. CharlieB.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    I must have gotten the super-secret high-powered Xbox when I bought mine, because, aside from a handful of hiccups that lasted less than five seconds each, I didn't notice any framerate issues. This is easily the best FPS on the Xbox console, just a tiny bit ahead of the first Halo, and leagues ahead of any of the rest I've played, including Halo2, Timesplitters2, Doom3, and I must have gotten the super-secret high-powered Xbox when I bought mine, because, aside from a handful of hiccups that lasted less than five seconds each, I didn't notice any framerate issues. This is easily the best FPS on the Xbox console, just a tiny bit ahead of the first Halo, and leagues ahead of any of the rest I've played, including Halo2, Timesplitters2, Doom3, and Deus Ex. I suppose there might be one out there I've missed, but if so, I hope I find it, because this is the best. Expand
  57. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This game will go down as one of the best of all time, with a great continued story, long campaign, memorable characters, and fun not-too-over-the top gameplay. One of a rare kind that actually evokes real emotion from the player, Half-Life 2 is great in every aspect and is an absolute classic.
  58. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    A very good game! A variety of characters, enemies, weapons, and environments to come across in this game. The story line is amazing, you play as Gordon Freeman who was in the original Half - life( which was amazing too). This game has a horror,action, and drama like game-play style. I recommend this game to anyone who wants a good cheap game to play for hours.
  59. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    Unless you played Half-Life 2 when it was released it is almost impossible to understand just how far ahead of its time it was. The graphics, gameplay, physics (including the superb gravity gun) and interactive storytelling were all simply superb and it is a true testament to its enduring quality that it still stands up today, almost a decade after it was first available on PC!

    The only
    Unless you played Half-Life 2 when it was released it is almost impossible to understand just how far ahead of its time it was. The graphics, gameplay, physics (including the superb gravity gun) and interactive storytelling were all simply superb and it is a true testament to its enduring quality that it still stands up today, almost a decade after it was first available on PC!

    The only slight let down with this Xbox conversion was a little bit of slowdown when the screen got too busy but it was certainly never game breaking and a small price to pay for such excellence.
    Expand
  60. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Half Life 2 has obtained legendary status as one of the most flawless modern games BUT the question does need to be asked: is Half Life 2 over-rated? My answer is Yes as all things are flawed (even Half Life 2), that's not saying the game is not one of the best the industry has provided in recent times, it is however just an interactive game with a lot of copied elements of other scienceHalf Life 2 has obtained legendary status as one of the most flawless modern games BUT the question does need to be asked: is Half Life 2 over-rated? My answer is Yes as all things are flawed (even Half Life 2), that's not saying the game is not one of the best the industry has provided in recent times, it is however just an interactive game with a lot of copied elements of other science fiction, it's not as original as many claim. Half Life 2 has awesome graphics, innovative physics, game play, fabulously designed levels and game moments but my point is that it shows how lacking and unoriginal the rest of the industry is - that many would claim Half Life 2 to be better than it actually is. If Half Life 2 is the best there is in single player gaming - then video games truely are lacking... HL2 is still a real achievement and Valve has something to be proud of.â Expand
  61. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Meh, it's okay.
    Half-Life 2 does a lot of things right. It looks great, plays great, has a large interconnected world, and has a fairly interesting story with cool characters.
    Except the game feels somewhat tedious. Every level is similar to the last later on in the game. You kill the same/similar enemies over and over again. Every now and then there is a driving section to break up the
    Meh, it's okay.
    Half-Life 2 does a lot of things right. It looks great, plays great, has a large interconnected world, and has a fairly interesting story with cool characters.
    Except the game feels somewhat tedious. Every level is similar to the last later on in the game. You kill the same/similar enemies over and over again. Every now and then there is a driving section to break up the tedium, but those suck.

    This game is really overrated. I've played much better FPS games than Half-Life 2; games that were far less tedious and less boring. It's a good game, just not that great.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. 100
    The most immersing and compelling game I've ever played.
  3. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.