Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1182 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChadB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    1
    This game dissapointed me very much. I can't believe I was lied to or led the wrong way. I got it and the game is not all that it is hyped to be. The multiplayer is good... yea yea so what. But there is a thing called single player, and that is what counts to me. That is what the first person counts to me. O yea... Bungie... you suck.
  2. Halo1Fanatic
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    Extremely disappointing.. not a sh.tty game.. but for all they hype that it got... it sucks... weapons are not fun to use for hte most part.. grenades bounce all over the place.. you can fall from 100000 feet and live without losing any energy.. you jump about 50 feet in the air.. enemies look small and not intimidating.
  3. Ghost
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    This game sucks. the weapons are weak, and i swear ive seen them somewhere else...oh yeah Unreal Tournament 2004. and that game is way better. like the other reviews said, you can fall from any distance and nothing happens. the maps look the same, just with different names, and the other maps are way to big if you only want to play with like 4 people.
  4. MasterChief
    Jul 18, 2004
    0
    Poor level design Uninteresting story Uninteresting enemies Dated gameplay Unbalanced weapons Sluggish controls only 30 frames per second Some poor multiplayer maps Those were all problems of the first, and so far it doesn't look like much has changed. While Halo 2 has some new features, it still features dated gameplay, and uninteresting enemies, story and levels.
  5. RayS.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    I LOVED Halo, the gameplay, the story, the music, Playing it I felt like I was in a movie. With much hype and anticipation I awaited Halo 2. Boring.. they kept pushing the release date back for this?!?!?! save your money or play halo 1.
  6. ChristianB.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    Great presentation. Unfortunately this game is simply a sequel to an already bland game. Maybe if Halo 1 wasn't like a million other video games this would be impressive. Improving an engine and making better graphics is what every single sequel does. Let's try something original for once. Overall it's a waste of money unless you're a diehard fan.
  7. C.T.
    Nov 9, 2004
    1
    What a waste of 3 years, we now have a new version of Unreal Tournament 2004, that's about it. The look and feel has now changed, and the first thing I can think of is...where's my Halo ONE disk!
  8. JakeS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Just old and tired ideas.
  9. K-Rap
    Dec 13, 2004
    3
    After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult gameplay, no real challenge except how fast you can pump bullets into the next 50 enemies that pop on screen. I'm bored of this gametype. The multiplayer is better, but not by much. A "No bots" feature doesn't help fill the huge maps, and X-box Live costs too damn much to justify it's existence. I refuse to shell out $200+ for the system, $60 for the game, and $40 per month for the ability to play online. Overall disappointing. I will be going back to favorites like Counter Strike and Unreal on PC before I touch Halo 2 again. Expand
  10. MankeeOfDoom
    Jan 8, 2005
    0
    Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of just about all-time would demonstrate aptitude in level design prowess. But no. Every stinking dirt-ridden, crap-spewing level I was forced to endure not only had the gall to be LONG but also unnecessarily repetitive. If you can survive the SP, then you are either brain-dead or a devout Halo fanboy. Or both. I guess one implies the other, doesn't it? As for the graphics. Screenshots don't do the graphics in this game as much justice as they should. The screenshots look amazing. The in-game graphics look like they were constructed by soggy non-fat milk cartons straight from the dumpster. And did I mention they were melded together using fecal matter? And that they were constructed by traumatized children without hands, covered in bloodthirsty bees and screaming in absolute pain? I should have. Music is equivalent to the vilest blasphemy from the 80's. Halo 1, despite it's mediocrity in the gameplay department, had an excellent soundtrack. Halo 2 doesn't. Multiplayer. From a person who's used to the convenienve of online PC gaming, Xbox Live was a catastrophe of monumental proportions. No server browser? *croak* NO SERVER BROWSER?! Dual-wielding, in my opinion, was utterly useless (how could you sacrifice the use of grenades?). Melee attacks are oddly awkward in this iteration. And the new shield system encourages cowardice. Ladies and gentlemen, if you haven't realized by now, I hate Halo 2 with all my heart. I absolutely hate how such an overrated game with virtually no talent behind can get so much more recognition and support than other VERY deserving games. The Halo fanboys reading this and going "OMG WTF BBQ U IZ TOTALL LIEING L0LZ." Seriously. Step back from your ignorant delusion, and begin to look at this game that you've been blindly and fanatically supporting for so long. Expand
  11. GTARocks
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they don't really improve the game. Some of the weapons are a big step backwards. Too much hype, not enough substance. And for those of you who disagree - The single player campaign sucks! Admit it! Expand
  12. JimK.
    Dec 4, 2004
    4
    I enjoyed playing the new version but not worth the hype. The ending a shameless setup for HALO 3 on X-Box 2. The game was just getting intresting when it quit and ended. It was like microsoft pulled the plug on development and rushed it to market in time for christmas. They would have been better served to develop it fully.
  13. ShoaibA.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    It was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because itsIt was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because its halo if halo was good it doesnt mean halo 2 will be good is well. I also didnt like to play with arbiter because who really wants to know about the covenant we want to destroy them the ending was even worse all these people who are giving it a high score play the game again and see the diffrence between halo 1 and halo 2 Expand
  14. MonsterMash
    Nov 26, 2004
    3
    Sorry, I can't give this game a good review. I live in a rural area, so Xbox Live is no option for me. I otherwise have found a bland, repetitive, boring game with no improvements from Halo 1, and a much worse storyline. It's too bad that Halo3 won't be out for probably another three years, but then again, maybe it's not such a bad thing. After this stinker, I Sorry, I can't give this game a good review. I live in a rural area, so Xbox Live is no option for me. I otherwise have found a bland, repetitive, boring game with no improvements from Halo 1, and a much worse storyline. It's too bad that Halo3 won't be out for probably another three years, but then again, maybe it's not such a bad thing. After this stinker, I won't be holding my breath for the next game. I'm trading my Xbox in for a PS2 so I can get GTA:SA. Expand
  15. DoodleBerry
    Dec 1, 2004
    4
    Not a bad game, but not worth the hype. I waited too long for this game, and I'm disappointed. Like someone else said, the great scenes that were at E3 aren't in the game. Unreal 2004 is a much better structured game, and more balanced. Give me my pistol back! Too much hype over this game. Microsoft just lost one Xbox2 sale.
  16. ZackO.
    Dec 11, 2004
    3
    I agree with C tunnel. This game is not near worth the hype it is getting. i just played it for about 2 hours at my friends house, both single player and multiplayer, and there is nothing great about this game. it is identical to any other decent FPS out there. The multiplayer requires no brains or strategy, and all you do is jump around and blast your SMG. The capabilities of the playerI agree with C tunnel. This game is not near worth the hype it is getting. i just played it for about 2 hours at my friends house, both single player and multiplayer, and there is nothing great about this game. it is identical to any other decent FPS out there. The multiplayer requires no brains or strategy, and all you do is jump around and blast your SMG. The capabilities of the player are so limited that it is hard to try to do anytyhing smart. all you can do is run jump and crouch. wow, thats AMAZING. The maps are god awful, and the mechanics of the sword are horrible. i played a swords only match, and it was the most boring experience of my life. there is no variety to what will happen. you just run up to the guy and try to hit him first. wow, thats fun. If you want a really good FPS, get Call of Duty for the PC. Expand
  17. C.Tunnel
    Dec 10, 2004
    1
    Halo 2 doesn't live up to it's hype. I was waiting a long time for this game - watching all of the previews, buying all the magazines, reading all the boards. I waited in line for this game, got it home, turned it on, and almost cried. It was CRAP! Single player was horrible, multiplayer has no small maps, no bots or anything. The weapons now suck and are all automatic for the Halo 2 doesn't live up to it's hype. I was waiting a long time for this game - watching all of the previews, buying all the magazines, reading all the boards. I waited in line for this game, got it home, turned it on, and almost cried. It was CRAP! Single player was horrible, multiplayer has no small maps, no bots or anything. The weapons now suck and are all automatic for the stupid players. I'm risking Carpal Tunnel syndrom for this piece of garbage? Not anymore. I think it will be funny. Ten years from now people who spent a whack of money on that game will be in debt, have bad wrists, and still will be delusional about the game's success. I agree with one of the guys here who said that people who give the game perfect don't ever point out why. A game needs to be flawless to get a ten. This game is nowhere near flawless. It might be a good rental, but that's about it. Expand
  18. MasterChump
    Dec 8, 2004
    2
    Is it just me that notices that people who give the game perfect scores have no reason? Answer - They've been brainwashed by Microsoft's advertising, waiting for the game, and preordering schnanegans. Meanwhile, those who didn't have a clock on their wall counting down the days to the release, see the game for what it really is. It's a weak, watered down version of the Is it just me that notices that people who give the game perfect scores have no reason? Answer - They've been brainwashed by Microsoft's advertising, waiting for the game, and preordering schnanegans. Meanwhile, those who didn't have a clock on their wall counting down the days to the release, see the game for what it really is. It's a weak, watered down version of the first game. The first game was linear, repetitive, and not that imaginative. There was so much more potential. The second game improves in some areas, but also makes others worse. Dual-weiliding is nice, but more tedious and ammo-wasting than anything else. The storyline stinks, and the multiplayer can't be played with anything less than 16 or so people - the maps are just too damn big. Vehicles are done much better in Unreal Tournament 2004. Halo 2 doesn't have the flair and solid performance of the first game. Hopefully, Halo 3 will be better, but I'm not holding my breath. It if is the first game for Xbox2 like people have been saying, I won't be paying my hard earned money for it. Expand
  19. BillyBob
    Oct 29, 2004
    2
    After completing the game i found that this game is no diffrent from the first game. because there are no improvments over the original gamplay and the fact that that they are being lazy in stating that halo 2 is all about multiplayer this game deserves a big 2
  20. Jared
    Feb 13, 2005
    1
    I didnt like the alien levels. all others were good the first time but only the first time except the first earth level and kind of the second. multiplayer was ok. 1'D
  21. PaulM.
    Jun 18, 2005
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] Simply the worst ending of any video game I have ever played. Switching from Master Chief to the Arbiter ruined the game. Overhyped trash. Halo was much better. At least it wasn't a rip off. Someone said who cares that plants get drawn in from 5 feet away. You know nothing about video games. Four years into the life of the Xbox console and Bungie should have done a[***SPOILERS***] Simply the worst ending of any video game I have ever played. Switching from Master Chief to the Arbiter ruined the game. Overhyped trash. Halo was much better. At least it wasn't a rip off. Someone said who cares that plants get drawn in from 5 feet away. You know nothing about video games. Four years into the life of the Xbox console and Bungie should have done a much better job. The game was supposed to take place mostly on Earth. It probably would have if Bungie wasn't concentrating all their efforts on Halo 3 for Xbox 360. A below average FPS with tons of hype still equals a below average FPS. We were all ripped off. Gaming sites and people scoring this game higher than 510 are mindless drones. Expand
  22. KevinC.
    Nov 10, 2004
    2
    Good game for Xbox, really bad game for anything else. I mean, come on, face it - Halo honestly isn't that good. Especially if compare it to the likes to Half Life and Unreal Tournament. It's the same tired repeating scenes, limited number of weapons and enemies, and only semi-decent multiplayer capacity. Microsoft has a reputation for bad games, and this one just continues it. Good game for Xbox, really bad game for anything else. I mean, come on, face it - Halo honestly isn't that good. Especially if compare it to the likes to Half Life and Unreal Tournament. It's the same tired repeating scenes, limited number of weapons and enemies, and only semi-decent multiplayer capacity. Microsoft has a reputation for bad games, and this one just continues it. A large number of reviews I've read say that Halo 2 doesn't live up to the hype it's been given - but they still give it top score? Bottom Line: There's WAAAY better games out there. Halo 2 is mediocre at best, but it will sell a gazillion copies, because most people who buy an Xbox in the first place are too dumb to care. Expand
  23. M.Thrasher
    Nov 16, 2004
    1
    Very poor sequel, whats the difference - dual wield (you cant see in front of you when you do etc) different scenery blah blah.
  24. ConnorB.
    Nov 20, 2004
    4
    I played and fell in love with the first Halo. In fact it's the reason i purchased an xbox. But WOW; this game was so boring i couldnt even bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes at a time. I understand the first game was a labour of love. Years in the making, well scripted, innovative, compelling and just damn entertaining; so i expected something at least of the same I played and fell in love with the first Halo. In fact it's the reason i purchased an xbox. But WOW; this game was so boring i couldnt even bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes at a time. I understand the first game was a labour of love. Years in the making, well scripted, innovative, compelling and just damn entertaining; so i expected something at least of the same caliber. That was a major error of logic on my part. This was obviously a cash-cow for bungie and microsoft. It was a sure thing for them, all they had to do was dress up the old halo, toss in some new guns and a meager few new gameplay additions and they had themselves a top seller. Well i, as a paying customer feel quite cheated. This game was as elementary in gameplay as the original castle wolfenstein seems today. Expand
  25. MikeR.
    Nov 28, 2004
    4
    Frankly, I'm tired of the worshiping Halo 2 has received.Single player is disappointing, both in story and originality. When there are two characters in the story going against each other, what's the point? Dual-wielding, while a great add to put on the back cover, completly overbalances the weapons. Going into battle with a rifle on multiplayer?Dead. Especially when some prick Frankly, I'm tired of the worshiping Halo 2 has received.Single player is disappointing, both in story and originality. When there are two characters in the story going against each other, what's the point? Dual-wielding, while a great add to put on the back cover, completly overbalances the weapons. Going into battle with a rifle on multiplayer?Dead. Especially when some prick has the energy sword. Graphics are about the same as Halo 1, which is still impressive,but there was just so much potential. A disappionting follow up, and terrible when compared to Halo1. Expand
  26. RichardR.
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the lighting effects on the needler you hold are rubbish now. Aagh! All the reviews giving it top grades are wrong. As a single player game it is miles below Riddick and the original Halo. It sucks. as with the majority of gamers, I don't have Live. The only trustworthy reviews are those at the bottom of the list who tell it like it is. Expand
  27. Distinct
    Dec 13, 2004
    1
    First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you have someone thats about to beat the hell out of you like a noob....The makers screwed the game over by making it easy for noobs to grab a sword or a battle rifle or a vehicle and just take control. In Coagulation if theres like what ten vehicles there should atleast by 2 maybe 3 rocket launchers hidden in the map. The sniper should respawn quicker also. If you havent noticed Im a straight shooter....no hiding no tricks no b/s. I see you I kill you type of player. I dont care if your with 7 other players. Thats what the game should be about. Killing people with guns. Not lucky head shots or a sword or a vehicles because you have no aim at all. As for the campaign mode....it was boring but I always played it with a friend so we just messed around in vehicles and stuff it wasnt that bad when you dont take it seriously and just have fun. Expand
  28. MattC.
    Mar 22, 2005
    3
    This game is absolute !@#$ the original was much better i dont know how many times i replayed the levels in the original i did not enjoy this game as much
  29. DakotaG.
    Sep 23, 2005
    1
    The game was these worst i every play all you do is shoot and be stupid so my rate is a 1.
  30. Ricardo
    Jan 11, 2006
    3
    Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and shiny. The weapons are mostly weak and useless - why ruin the superb handgun? The level design is truly horrific - an appalling mess passing for cities or spaceships. The first level sums it all up - boring, ugly, pointless and a mess. The gameplay is just not on the level of the first game. The reviewers giving 100% are just cowards going with the crowd. There is one good thing - the dual weilding weapons. But that can't overcome the stench from the rest of the game. I finally completed it in spite of the boredom but won't pick it up again. Expand
  31. Halo2Stinks
    Nov 24, 2004
    4
    This game was way too hyped up. The E3 scenes that everyone drooled over didn't even make it into the game. Poor controls, lack of real weapons, and repetitive screens. That's what I took away from this game. Crappy storyline doesn't exactly help either. Halo 3 is supposed to be the first game for Xbox2 so I hear, but I won't waste my money after this pile of crud.
  32. MasterChef
    Nov 29, 2004
    1
    Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just because there'd be too many idiots who have memorized every map and know where every powerup is. That's not a bad thing in most games, but it is here. When the weapons are THIS unbalanced, you only need to figure out where you start on the map to see if you have a chance of winning. The hype the game received even makes things worse. I've read so many reviews that people give the game 10/10, but then say "Well, it doesn't live up to the hype, and there are problems..". Expand
  33. CraigK.
    Nov 10, 2004
    3
    Craig's Review 4U: The Guns are to damn big and in your face obstructing most of the visible area, especially in dual equipt mode. There is to much flashing to see what you are doing. Sets are to dark due to the new eviromental shaders. Story is awsome though but once again it takes a lot to get used to the interface. They should have left well alone.
  34. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    2
    I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, especially since you can get the same online experience buy getting HL2 and dling mods with the same multiplayer modes as Halo 2. Expand
  35. RyanD.
    Aug 5, 2006
    0
    Talk about over hype. This game just sucked, the only grace was 2 gun mode, thats it. the next time someone says hl2 was over hyped, look at this crap.
  36. RombieR.
    Mar 17, 2007
    2
    This game is highly overrated and no game reviewer wants to admit it. The graphics looked like a downgrade, the character acting was abysmal and the gameplay just sucked. If your a true fanboy of the series none of that would have affected you but as for me, I'll stick with Halo 1.
  37. supersteve
    Jun 5, 2006
    0
    biggest waste of money in my life, this game has an incredibly terrible first person game mode. It is as if bungie resold the original halo and stamped a 2 on the end so all the fans would repurchase it.
  38. HaloExpert
    Sep 14, 2006
    0
    The story is the worst in any video game, Period! I killed the last boss with 1 hit. The story is so short I completed it in half an hour and the multiplayer...2 words: " Its Crap!". Only plus is the two weapons ability.
  39. RA
    Sep 18, 2006
    0
    Overrated. Halo 1 was way way better than this piece of garbage.
  40. BryanM.
    Jun 5, 2007
    3
    I hope 3 will be way better. The story was ok until the end. and now they want me to buy 3 it better not have the gayest ending in the world or I will say good bye Halo and spend my $60 on a better game. Multiplayer is the only reason you should still have this game.
  41. Nathan
    Jun 12, 2005
    4
    People, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends housePeople, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends house for 4 hours totla. multiplayer is supposed to be the highlight, right? i got my ass beat. im not mad about that. The gameplay sucked. The maps blew chunks. the graphics were decent, but nothing stunning. u want stunning? try RE4. overall, halo 2 is nothing new, just a mix of things that have been done before. attack on earth: done. aliens: done. vehicles: done. guns: done. running around and hopping like a frickin noob: done. come on people, look at the whole game THEN review it. and i dont believe all those 10's. where are the reasons? o wait, there arent ne, cause u guys are all xbox fanboys. Expand
  42. JohnW.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the graphical upgrade, second character, and beam-sword...everybody gotta love dat beam sword. Expand
  43. JamesA.
    Apr 23, 2007
    4
    This game is nothing different. The graphics are 7 but weapon choice gets a 1. The physics are 0, compare to Half Life 2. The online system is very well made but the habitual game play brings it down to a 4. The single player story is like watching a train wrech in slow motion.
  44. C.H.
    May 16, 2007
    4
    95/100 based on 91 reviews. I never owned an xbox and I only just got Halo 2 to use on the Xbox 360. After years of hype and years of "omg this game is so amazing", I was pretty excited to play. I have never been so disappointed. Everything about the game feels weak or wimpy. They took away the Chief's health bar, they stuck a giant "Shields are recharging!!!" in the middle of my 95/100 based on 91 reviews. I never owned an xbox and I only just got Halo 2 to use on the Xbox 360. After years of hype and years of "omg this game is so amazing", I was pretty excited to play. I have never been so disappointed. Everything about the game feels weak or wimpy. They took away the Chief's health bar, they stuck a giant "Shields are recharging!!!" in the middle of my screen when I try to shoot. They took away my 60rd and massive 600rd reserve assault rifle and give me a crummy machine pistol and an M16-knock off burst-rifle with 180 reserve. Lame. I resent splitting the assault rifle, that on it's own was moderately useful, into two completely useless weapons. One is too weak, and the other doesn't have enough bullets. Who goes into a fight with 6 spare magazines? Sound effects are poor, level design is boring, the whole game is just... ugh. I cannot believe a game that is so mediocre is so popular. Expand
  45. RichardS
    Jul 4, 2007
    3
    Quite simply, the second most over-rated game of all time behind the even worse Gears of War. This took everything that was great about Halo - best game of all time - and ruined it. Horrid.
  46. Messiah.Roy
    Mar 16, 2009
    0
    Just as the Halo one game is. This isn't anything innovative. Nothing atall strikes me as good, entertaining, or new, I've seen it all in UNREAL. while I play this game I'm not awed, hud barely noticable update, guns basically the same. Story, although a continuation, still kind of the same. The whole game si nothing we've never seen in games. No new content. Truely if Just as the Halo one game is. This isn't anything innovative. Nothing atall strikes me as good, entertaining, or new, I've seen it all in UNREAL. while I play this game I'm not awed, hud barely noticable update, guns basically the same. Story, although a continuation, still kind of the same. The whole game si nothing we've never seen in games. No new content. Truely if you want a good multiplayer game that's exactly like this. Get unreal, it's better in anyway, PLUS they made it before halo = halo copied Unreal. Expand
  47. CormacH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    2
    I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the original Halo as the maps are dreadful. If you want an online halo game, buy Halo (PC). It will even work on a dial-up modem! Halo 2 is just a hype that was actually the low point to xbox not to mind the series. Expand
  48. TuomasK.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Too Bad this game was ugly rubbish. No where near at Killzone.
  49. Eric
    Dec 19, 2004
    0
    Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat DE-volved. Expand
  50. Jan 19, 2011
    1
    Complete and total trash. This is a good example of companies milking good games for money. The story is crap, the graphics did not improve and it's just one incredibly repetitive FPS with nothing special. Only thing that stands out is the incredible overhype this game recieved.
  51. Mar 11, 2011
    3
    wow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was likewow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was like WTF!!!! i dont wana play as this **** i want to play as the master chief . i wouldnt have minded if it was a seperate campahn mode i could pick from the start but no it jumps back and forth and its HORRABLY annoying. then there is the wepons balance OMG! they just took a huge dump on that all the wepons ammo got cut by 1/2 or 2/3 of what they use to hold on top of that they gimped alot of the old guns. remember how sweet the pistol was? yeah now you might as well shoot spitballs as the enimy. the old machine gun use to be a pretty solid wepon to use now they tossed that for the gimp little smg which is like shooting a FKin BB gun. the enimy AI has takin a major dump . the brutes are complete idiots they just charge you over and over and over and never stop . so you eather get cheap killed up against a wall or you jump up on some thing high and laugh at them as they run into the object over and over again like a retard tryin to hump a door knob on speed. the ending is one of the worst in gaming history . it pretty much sets you up to what you think will be the final mission only to give you a big F U wait 3 damn years to play the next one HAHA dumbass . now you would think ok well the online will be awsome right i mean that was one of the coolest things about Halo 1 was how bad ass a multiplayer game it was . well WROOOOONG!!!! another Epic fail by bunjie . first off im not sure how many maps there are but i can say this much i played the same 2 FKin maps for 10 hours and thoose 2 maps sucked. this games search set up SUCKS and suck HARD! now toss in how the wepons where all gimped and you have a piss poor pathetic waste of a online game . people giving this any thing higher then a 7 ... try to defend that . you cant . this game sucks end of story. Expand
  52. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    Un total asco de juego unos estupidos con traje apretadito matando simios disfrazados.................................................................

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]