User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1044 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    7
    Halo 2 is a more versatile journey than the first game, and it comes with brand new characters, gameplay elements and weapons that improve upon the original. I encountered some bugs with a frozen image over the display when emulating the Original Xbox version on Xbox 360, but other than that the game performed very well. Although not up to par with the likes of Half-Life 2 technically, itHalo 2 is a more versatile journey than the first game, and it comes with brand new characters, gameplay elements and weapons that improve upon the original. I encountered some bugs with a frozen image over the display when emulating the Original Xbox version on Xbox 360, but other than that the game performed very well. Although not up to par with the likes of Half-Life 2 technically, it is still quite an impressive game in regards to the art design, pacing and music. The story has some interesting elements here and there as well, and the characters are more relatable than ever before. However, the narrative felt a bit stretched out, and went back and forth a lot. The gameplay also lacked something to look forward to after a while, and became very repetitive. And it didn't help that the developers, similarly to the first, rehashed a lot of the level design, in addition to tossing the same enemies at you over and over again. And although I didn't need a walkthrough, I wouldn't mind being given better directions, especially in areas where you are supposed to pass by enemy fire and trying to figure out where to go. Similarly to Halo: Combat Evolved, I didn't appreciate the flying and driving as much either, since the controls are quite clunky and getting through enemy fire alive in this particular type of combat can often be more of a coincidence than determined by skill. Furthermore, the enemy AI is not very impressive, and basically runs towards you or shots at you while waiting from a distance. In the end though, this is arguably one of the richest experiences on the original Xbox, but not a giant leap forward from an already remarkable game. Expand
  2. HenryN.
    May 20, 2008
    6
    I'm really a fan of the first halo, and this game starts out delivering good gameplay, but after the first few levels the level designs become extremely repetitive (think library). The multiplayer is redeeming but many of the levels don't really feel balanced like halo1. This is a solid shooter but the first halo was superior. i would only check this out if you are a huge fan of I'm really a fan of the first halo, and this game starts out delivering good gameplay, but after the first few levels the level designs become extremely repetitive (think library). The multiplayer is redeeming but many of the levels don't really feel balanced like halo1. This is a solid shooter but the first halo was superior. i would only check this out if you are a huge fan of the series. Just don't go in expecting greatness. Expand
  3. Bob
    Nov 13, 2004
    5
    At first it was the greatest game ever!!! When i completed it the next day, it wasn't. Everything about it was so great and then when the ending sucked so much, i don't even consider it to be an ending.
  4. JohnnyBliss
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] This game is a yawning, teary-eyed disappointment. The music is not near as good as the first. The levels are much longer than needed. Much. The backstory is convoluted and soooo unnecessary. Hopping back and forth between Master Cheif and Arbiter is more irritating than interesting. And what is with such a sparse time spent on Earth? Was it two, maybe three, measley[***SPOILERS***] This game is a yawning, teary-eyed disappointment. The music is not near as good as the first. The levels are much longer than needed. Much. The backstory is convoluted and soooo unnecessary. Hopping back and forth between Master Cheif and Arbiter is more irritating than interesting. And what is with such a sparse time spent on Earth? Was it two, maybe three, measley levels out of the other 12 repetitive (yes, repetitive) levels that we got to feel like we were defending something worthwhile? Our homeland for goodness sake is being invaded by Covenant and (shudder) Flood! Wasn't that supposed to be the big shocker?!? The whole reason for caring about the sequel in the first place?!? So obviously, as we find out in the much too abrupt ending, there will be more Halo to come. I for one hope Bungie will realize that there are many gamers out here shaking our heads in disbelief at this crapulent excuse for a game. How about some innovation next time, Bungie. Oh, and enough with the freakin' Xbox Online! I would rather play with my actual friends that I see on a daily basis than some virtual whosiewhatsit! Give us a break and a decent game worthy of our time. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    Slightly better graphics and some online... almost the same game as Halo 1. I don't need more vehicles, and dual wielding on weapons I'm not going to use... I prefer the first game over this hyped fps.
  6. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    So, I had the chance to play the multiplayer of "Halo 2" thanks to a lock-in from our church. All I can say is.....STICK TO REACH, MY ****
  7. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2007
    7
    After years of hype finally people can see this game is massively over-rated. The single player is shite. No bones about saying it either. Terrible in fact, with only the humor keeping you interested. Multi player is where it's at. I think in future this game should only be an multi player title. Single player score: 4. Multi player score: 10. Average 7.
  8. DickSavage
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I despise halo for all of is bribed reviews and garbage game play. But the story of the Arbiter is actually epic. He is sent on suicide missions and they still cant kill him. This one is the best of the series, which isn't saying much. The 5 I give it is 5 points higher than what i gave the other two.
  9. AdamL.
    Nov 29, 2005
    7
    Online is awsome, but the 1 player lacks intrest, as well as the maps. belive me, if you don't have live, don't get it
  10. FtzPronoMatser
    Jul 29, 2005
    7
    This game is fun for some time, but not to special. The enemies are not very diverse and I have to push a lot of buttons. Maybe it goes better with an extra hand. My thumbs hurt also. The multiplayer is ok and configurable enough. Coagulation Ctf is very fun. I don't like the alien weapons very much, but you can take them out. They should've put an communicator with the game, so This game is fun for some time, but not to special. The enemies are not very diverse and I have to push a lot of buttons. Maybe it goes better with an extra hand. My thumbs hurt also. The multiplayer is ok and configurable enough. Coagulation Ctf is very fun. I don't like the alien weapons very much, but you can take them out. They should've put an communicator with the game, so everybody has one and can talk. Please more models and alien weapons that are less silly. Warthog and tank are nice. But I still rather play another world on the amiga. On the xbox I like the last Splinter cell and Ninja gaiden best. Maybe Ninja Gaiden is the best game on xbox, but mileage may vary. Expand
  11. DK
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    Such a disappointment. They changed so much of what made Halo such a great game... WHY!? The developers themselves are disappointed with Halo 2. Hopefully they redeem themselves with Halo 3.
  12. Haloloser
    Oct 7, 2006
    7
    The reason this game got a seven is because its single player is so bad the mulltipler is great the best ever but the single is just so bad that I would give this game a 7, multiplayer 10, single 5, and thats being generous.
  13. OliverC.
    Jul 13, 2007
    5
    Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast away. I wont even talk about the single player. Expand
  14. BitBurn
    Nov 9, 2004
    7
    A little repetitive. Some improvement graphically. Solid multiplayer support. But overall it's pretty good.
  15. Itsy
    Oct 9, 2006
    7
    Halo 1 was a blast, Halo 2 finished in a blink of an eye, I luv playin co-op campaign mode, it was a thrill in halo 1 but in Halo 2 it finished in a blink of an eye, plus u were used 2 it b4, da same aliens, nuthin new apart from 2 guns ability, also dey left out sum great halo 1 weapons!
  16. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    6
    I'm going to rate this the same way I rated Halo (6 this time though because at least it has Live capabilities). Overrated and actually just straight up boring. Good AI is the only saving grace because multiplayer is nowhere near as fun as everyone says. Play a PC shooter instead.
  17. SamF.
    Apr 25, 2006
    7
    After waiting 2 years for this game to come out on the PC, I finally bought an XBOX and Halo2 . The game itself is not bad, it's gameplay is exactly like halo with the ability to Jack vehicles and duel wield weapons which are both pluses. Where the game fails is the story and the constant switching from Master chief to the covenant. Bungie could have made an easy nice story After waiting 2 years for this game to come out on the PC, I finally bought an XBOX and Halo2 . The game itself is not bad, it's gameplay is exactly like halo with the ability to Jack vehicles and duel wield weapons which are both pluses. Where the game fails is the story and the constant switching from Master chief to the covenant. Bungie could have made an easy nice story concerning Master Chief coming back to earth getting medals and having covenant attack earth after tracking him from halos destruction The game would focus on Fighting the covenant on the streets back on earth. With covenant taking hostages etc... and threatening cities with destruction. [***SPOILERS***] Instead you get a lame story that really makes no sense telling of the covenant problems back on another halo. I personally did not like the energy sword but the rest of the weapons were ok. As for graphics, some rooms are dark...took dark. it seems the complaints of the glowing rooms in halo made Bungie go too much the other way. In the sound area...there are really no complaints, Explosions and musics are great. So in the end this game is a shiny coated HALO With a few extras and a mixed up confusing story line. Expand
  18. GarryH.
    May 11, 2006
    6
    Halo is just a cheap ripoff of half life the flood are just like the zombies and the game play trys to imitate half life but fails misarably. and halo 2 is just a quick rehash of halo 1 with litereally no additions.
  19. AamirM.
    Jun 12, 2006
    7
    halo is an alright dunno why the hell its really popular even if its boring for the first half hour of playing because all you do is shoot shoot shoot and thats it. if you like half life 2 then dont play this.
  20. BoBBoBBy
    Aug 7, 2006
    5
    Once again as in Halo one the campaign mode SUCKS! But no other multiplayer game is better than Halo, not doubt!
  21. TheGamer
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    Extremely overrated. This game dose not come close enough to all the hype. If this game completely sucked all the die hard fans would still give it a 10.
  22. ChrisK.
    May 31, 2006
    7
    Halo 2 action is nothing more than just like the original Halo. Constantly fighting and poorly told stories, but that's not what all the good ratings come in. Players who enjoy a good bashing will like this game. The feel for the weapons are amazing and that's pretty much it. Getting a sticky grenade onto your opponent from fifty feet away is a pretty damn good feeling. The Halo 2 action is nothing more than just like the original Halo. Constantly fighting and poorly told stories, but that's not what all the good ratings come in. Players who enjoy a good bashing will like this game. The feel for the weapons are amazing and that's pretty much it. Getting a sticky grenade onto your opponent from fifty feet away is a pretty damn good feeling. The reason for all those good ratings you see, aren't because the players overrate the game. It is because they enjoy it and Halo is quite fun. I do recommend this game to anyone who is not up to date and spoiled by next-generation graphics and visual effects. Expand
  23. MikeW.
    Nov 11, 2004
    7
    This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if it ain't broke don't fix it mentality to it. Only problem is it just blatantly overlooks problems from the first game. Though it isn't a complete waste, it has good enough core gameplay to make it worth buy. But if you want a mind blowing gaming experience go someplace else. Expand
  24. Nov 13, 2010
    7
    Worst Halo. Multiplayer is OK, but it has the worst campaign, and a weird place balance. For the real Halo's, check out Halo: Combat Evolved, or Halo Reach. For something different, try out MW2 or Black Ops.
  25. Dec 22, 2010
    6
    I think Halo 2 lost some of its score when they deactivated Xbox Original Live. The campaign still delivers, its epic but sometimes there are those "Where do i go?!?!" moments. Graphics are really good for Xbox, and the voice recording is good too. I think that they still could of worked on the graphics.
  26. Jan 13, 2012
    6
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok game but very disapointing.
    Expand
  27. R.S.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    Ok people... i mean really was it that great. Ok to let you know my history... I bought the Xbox only to play halo back when it first came out, yes I admit it was one of the better first person shooters out there well considers consoles only I would say it was the best. so yes I was anticipating Halo 2, I couldn
  28. TonyC.
    Jan 5, 2005
    5
    The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once you get in the game and play it is fun. Sometimes in team battles part of your team will leave and it makes the teams so unfair you can't win and takes the fun out of the online experience. Overall online experience nothing really new or exciting Online play is definately better than single player mode. Online rating = 7, however it gets old and repetitive quick as well. Expand
  29. JesseS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    7
    A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that really shines in this game is the multiplayer. Expect it to be a great experience, but its not the giant God that everyone makes it out to be. Expand
  30. JeroenVR
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started on this amazingly stupid game, and yes I am a race fan). I hope it will not be the same for Half Life 2. Expand
  31. D.C.
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super Master Cheif because he is Unbreakable. He can jump on top of almost anything, fall from the sky and all this with out a scratch. Glitching is a problem to, empty chairs one second, then bam the whole Marine Core the next. Why was it pushed back is the question of the year or should I say three years. I gave the game a 5 because of XBOX Live, THATS ALSOME. My last words are HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!!. Can't wait for Underground 2. Expand
  32. MattP.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    Very overrated. I expected tight action with frantic spinning and alot of "oh jesus!" and I got it. But the fights were either way too long or way too short and the ending was the most bitter slap in the face I've experienced in gaming.
  33. TomC.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a problem. Also, the fact that everything moves at the speed of light is another problem. The game feels like it was only built for xbox live. The fact that we had to wait three years for this is pretty sad in my opinion as the improvements are extremely minimal.... an extra few weapons and options... really nothing spectacular. Expand
  34. SariD.
    Dec 22, 2004
    6
    Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game more substantial and meaningful in a Star Wars operatic way were lobotomized. The most dissapointing thing of all is that this is going to be the last Halo release on Xbox 1 and yes you will need to buy xbox2 to see how the trilogy ends in Halo3. Expand
  35. SaketR.
    Jan 11, 2005
    5
    Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As has been said by many others, the single player mode is totally underwhelming. Poor game design, recycled levels, slightly polished graphics and incredibly short, this game is a black mark when compared to the good effort that was Halo 1. Regardless, the multi player is better than most; only if you can manage 3 people to come over at a minimum. Some of the weapons are too powerful while others are remarkably weak. There seems to be no justice to anyone in this game: Sales have been too much, the public has been conned, and finally all the reviewers have been overrating, this is not the messiah of all games, oh no, its simply the snake which tempted all and ended up doing nothing but ill. Expand
  36. ChrisB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    6
    With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. The graphics are nowhere near as good as this year's PC shooters such as Half-Life 2, Far Cry, or Doom 3. And the online play is very run-of-the-mill. Still, I can see why console gamers think this is an amazing game - it's easily one of the best shooters ever made FOR A CONSOLE. But best game ever? Not even close. Halo 2 isn't even in the top 5 for best game of the year, if all platforms are taken into account, and when judged against it's shooter-peers on the PC, it's no better than average. Expand
  37. MarkW.
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    Its amazing how many people call this game nearly flawless, then give it a 100% rating. It's honestly less than average. It has some decent movie clips that bring interest to an otherwise dull playing experience. If your not playing online there is no reason to buy this game.
  38. AndrewF.
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Fanboy, but this game coulda been, woulda been, shoulda been... but isn't that great. By the way, if you like playing online against 12 year old boys and their dads, then give the xbox live Halo experience a try. It's super neat. Give me something that requires the use of my mind any day of the week. Guarantee you won't find little children in Xbox Live of Brother in Arms. You know why? Because that game requires actual thought, instead of mindless, unrealistic shooting of anything that moves. C'mon! This game is ALL HYPE! It's gets a 5/10 from me, purely on it's techinical acheivements. Expand
  39. Kaim
    Nov 14, 2004
    7
    After playing Metroid Prime.. its hard not to see the game's shortcomings. Somewhat basic gameplay, frustrating weapon pick up system (slooow).. Fantastic atmosphere though. 'King of the Hill' mode in multiplayer is top fun. As is 'Juggernaught'
  40. RogerW.
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    No multiplayer co-op. What were they thinking???
  41. RichardC.
    Nov 20, 2004
    6
    It goes without saying that, after the majesty of the original, I was twisted with anticipation waiting for what I thought would be an experience to savour. Surely the time between games would have been spent bettering the original...surely? All I can say is that the Halo 2 experience is distinctly underwhelming. Graphically, and I really hope it's just me, but is it really, really It goes without saying that, after the majesty of the original, I was twisted with anticipation waiting for what I thought would be an experience to savour. Surely the time between games would have been spent bettering the original...surely? All I can say is that the Halo 2 experience is distinctly underwhelming. Graphically, and I really hope it's just me, but is it really, really patchy and poor? The cutscene quality is appalling at times. I could hardly believe seeing it at first. Was there so much of a rush and pressure to meet deadlines that they cut corners and left rough edges unpolished? Why else would the game look and feel as clunky as it does? Has anyone tried playing the original after a few hours of the newer? How does it feel? The audio is sad as well. 5.1? I'd settle for simple effects being audible and defined. I'd love to gush about how amazing this game is but sadly, as a simple game player, my disappointment has proven more telling and truthful than all the hype Chairman Bill can throw at me. Halo 2: a parasitic doppelganger that imitates poorly the radiance of the original host. Expand
  42. SteveG.
    Nov 25, 2004
    5
    i dont get it. why is this game supposed to be the best thing out. plz explain to me, cause from what i see it ain't anything special.
  43. LordVader
    Nov 29, 2004
    7
    This was a hard one to call, I have been waiting for this game since completing the first one but having completed this one, have found Halo 2 somewhat...lacking. I'm not sure what it is but it just doesn't have that 'Halo Spark'. The ending is a disgrace, it really does feel like the game has been halved and I cannot help but wonder if Microsoft are going to do a This was a hard one to call, I have been waiting for this game since completing the first one but having completed this one, have found Halo 2 somewhat...lacking. I'm not sure what it is but it just doesn't have that 'Halo Spark'. The ending is a disgrace, it really does feel like the game has been halved and I cannot help but wonder if Microsoft are going to do a surprise announcement in early 2005 to say "Good news Halo 2 fans!!! We have another 15 levels of Halo 2 coming out in Feb 2005, yea for us!. Well, you'll excuse me if I don't applaud, shame on you MS and shame on you Bungie for allowing this to happen, the single player was incredibly short (50% short in fact). But it's not all bad news, the graphics are the best on the box and Multiplayer is fantastic. it's for this alone that the game gets 7/10 from me. I may be wrong about the extra 15 levels in Feb but wait and see. Hey Bill, what's next? Halo 3 - Home and Pro editions? The Pro version having ALL the single players levels??? Expand
  44. AndrewM.
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Plays like the original, has a few tweaks that make multiplayer gaming more entertaining but there are too many fireworks, too much "I save the world like a Starship trooper" elements and no innovation. Seen it somewhere before and done it... Good for parties though.
  45. Jamal
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Not so good.
  46. GaryB.
    Dec 8, 2004
    6
    Okay, so what we have here is a fairly decent game with not bad graphics and fun multiplayer. But to be brief, this is why the game isn't a masterpiece or anywhere near it: 1) awful single player which I was bored of by the 4th level 2) plot confusing because of emotionless master chief and pointless Arbiter. 3) Graphics pretty square and Master Cheif is still a polygon block. 4) Okay, so what we have here is a fairly decent game with not bad graphics and fun multiplayer. But to be brief, this is why the game isn't a masterpiece or anywhere near it: 1) awful single player which I was bored of by the 4th level 2) plot confusing because of emotionless master chief and pointless Arbiter. 3) Graphics pretty square and Master Cheif is still a polygon block. 4) Downgraded weapons 5) Awful level design 6) Poor enemy A.I. 7) multiplayer only effective when connected to a Network hub 8) No destructive enviroment 9) No peeking round corners 10) No running twice as fast Just go rent this one, or better yet save your money and get Half-Life 2, which is a lot better. Expand
  47. GaryW.
    Jan 1, 2005
    5
    If you dont have xbox live this is disappointing, graphical popup, over sensitive controls, stupidier ai than last time and very few memorable or smile inducing areas, not enough new ideas.
  48. AlistairF.
    Jan 21, 2005
    7
    Halo 2 - The biggest let down in gaming history? Probably. Halo 2 is not a bad game as such, its just that nothing stands out and their are better FPS games on the Xbox including Halo and Chronicles of Riddick to name a couple. So whats wrong with the game? Well the graphics do look better close up, but the texture pop-up is quite bad and you can see the texture change to a more basic one Halo 2 - The biggest let down in gaming history? Probably. Halo 2 is not a bad game as such, its just that nothing stands out and their are better FPS games on the Xbox including Halo and Chronicles of Riddick to name a couple. So whats wrong with the game? Well the graphics do look better close up, but the texture pop-up is quite bad and you can see the texture change to a more basic one after just a few steps back from the object. So they are not really pushing the graphics in any way. They have addedd better models and more detailed textures at the expense of having quite a lot of pop-up to keep the frame rate up. The story is pretty poor also, it does not feel as epic as the first game, they could have had a massive struggle on Earth between Humans and Covenant but they took the story in other directions, which I feel was to the detrement of the game. They should have kept the story simple, it worked with the first game, why change it? I dont want to give anything away but the ending feels like a cop out too and that their is a few levels missing from the end. The multiplayer system is a good idea and the match up system works quite well in matching you with equal players, the only problem is that the actual multiplayer gameplay is not as good as Halo 1. Its basically just a "spray-a-thon" first one to pull the trigger wins. The lack of health has taken all strategy away from the games. The CTF and other team modes should have been quite good but most people who play online seem to completely misunderstand the idea of team play so its a frustrating waste of time. The level design with exception of two or three is quite uninspiring. On the plus side the game controls are great and the AI has improved a bit. It also sounds quite good. Its an average game that really doesnt justify the Hype that surrounded it. Expand
  49. JackRJC.
    Feb 16, 2005
    5
    Say over-hyped!
  50. TravisM.
    Apr 13, 2005
    7
    Overall Halo 2's single player campaign played through pretty well, although the abrubt ending was a shock the storyline was well written. They took a risk with have diverging storylines with the Covenant and Elite forces, and I for one would have rather just have played as the first Halo did from one side. But where this game is severely lacking is in actual Multiplayer difficulty. Overall Halo 2's single player campaign played through pretty well, although the abrubt ending was a shock the storyline was well written. They took a risk with have diverging storylines with the Covenant and Elite forces, and I for one would have rather just have played as the first Halo did from one side. But where this game is severely lacking is in actual Multiplayer difficulty. Halo 1 I played for nearly 3 years and competed on various State and National level tournaments (iGames, MLG, and AGP) and was an avid supporter of the evolving Halo community. Although Halo 2 did bring forth an entire new wave of potentional gamers about 90% of the best players are still Halo 1 pros. The downfall of the multiplayer component is where I have to rank this game as low as I did. Bungie switched graphics engines and while Halo 1 felt smooth and "just right." Halo 2's graphics engine is far to "busy" and makes me feel like I'm playing a slowed down Unreal game. If I wanted Quake or Unreal I would have purchased those games, but Halo 1 was different and almost "perfect." The pistol while a little to powerful but it was the equalizer against all other weapons. If you did not get a head shot with the sniper rifle or get the kill with the rocket launcher you had a good chance of being "3 shot" and killed by a decent player before you had a chance to get that second shot off. Secondly how can you release a game following the blockbuster caliber of Halo with less maps than the original ?? Especially when 2 are just remakes of the originals (Battle Creek and Blood Gulch). All in all Halo 2 is not a bad game, but it just doesn't have the replayability of the original. If Bungie would release a Halo 1 with Xbox Live capabilities and some new maps it would easily sell for $75 or more. And you know what we'd buy it. But then again this is a business and Bungie did make $125 million dollars in the first 24 hours of releasing Halo 2. That was inherently due to the fact that the overhyped advertising and Halo 1 die hard fans. I for one will wait to rent Halo 2.5 or 3 before I waste anymore of my money on a less than the original game. Expand
  51. JENNIFERJ.
    Apr 8, 2005
    5
    I like this game, but there are some people that are cheating. When you tell the workers that made Halo 2 they would tell them that they could not play, but they do anyway by using a different username.
  52. ChrisC.
    May 24, 2005
    7
    Average shooter.
  53. EricS.
    Jul 29, 2005
    7
    If this was just a review of the multiplayer, I would give it a 10/10. However, since there is also a singleplayer component, it really brings down the quality of the entire product. The story, while not as good overall as the first game, had some moments that were superior. For example, I really liked how things were seen from the Covenant perspective. The Arbiter is a much more If this was just a review of the multiplayer, I would give it a 10/10. However, since there is also a singleplayer component, it really brings down the quality of the entire product. The story, while not as good overall as the first game, had some moments that were superior. For example, I really liked how things were seen from the Covenant perspective. The Arbiter is a much more interesting and deep character than the master chief, who people just like for being "kewl." He is your stereotypical heroic super-soldier whose dialogue consists of un-original one-liners. I also agree with those who thought the ending was disappointing. Bungie doesn Expand
  54. JohnL.
    Nov 14, 2006
    5
    Halo was fun, not Godlike, but fun. Halo 2 was not fun. It's boring, short, and definately not up to the hype. The multiplayer? Sucks. I don't understand how being thrown into a game that you barely choose any specs on is fun? Gee, I can't wait to have a sniper match when I want a normal deathmatch.
  55. AlexA.
    Mar 16, 2007
    6
    Overall halo 2 was not as good as halo 1. the addition of ther sword was cool and the brute shot was nice but other than that all ther other covanant weapons were rip-offs of human ones. they also dithched the assault riffle and turned it into two useless weapons the battle riffle and the smg. the smg is weak it's only effective when dual wielded with a plasma pistal or plasma Overall halo 2 was not as good as halo 1. the addition of ther sword was cool and the brute shot was nice but other than that all ther other covanant weapons were rip-offs of human ones. they also dithched the assault riffle and turned it into two useless weapons the battle riffle and the smg. the smg is weak it's only effective when dual wielded with a plasma pistal or plasma riffle. compared to the assault riffle which could carry 660 shots the smg carries half that. the battle riffle is a 3 shot burst weapon with a scope it is pretty useless. the postol wich was god in halo 1 stinks now they got rid of the scope and it deos not do that much damage. dual wielding was cool but it's kind of annoying to use nades you have to drop one gun then throw the nade then find the gun again and pick it up. as for campaign i liked how you swithched between the master chief and the arbiter. liked how the elites unlike the marines had sheild generators and could carry swords. the story for halo 2 was ok except for the ending wich left me staring at the tv about 3 minutes after it ended expeciting some other cut scene to pop up, but in comparison to halo 1's story it was not as good. in halo 2 the sniper does not have the night vision scope it did in halo 1 and it carries a lot less ammo. the plasma riffles shoot faster in halo 2. in the levels you play as the arbiter you only fought other covanent and the flood, i thought you would fight marines but no. as for the rooms in pretty much the whole game one looks exactly like the other there is no vaiety within a level. also the vehicles explode a lot faster in halo 2 but you can hijack them. they also added the specter (the covanant warhog) and the wraith (the covonant tank). also in halo 2 your oversheild goes down over time regardless of if you've been shot or not so you opponent can just avoid you till it goes down. in comparison to halo 1 halo 2 was bad, but as a game on it's own not as a sequel it was pretty good. most people who play online can't except defeat if they lose they will make up bs exuses like oh i was taking a dump while playing thats the only reason you won. also on line the battle riffle and sniper are overused and once you get really high in rank they are pretty much the only waepons used. as for the super bounces which are really cheap people do it all the time and get places that let them snipe everyone on the level with ease. online play is fun the lower the rank you are. my final point about campaign is taking your allies weapons (or as I call them homies) you can take your allies weapons and give them yours. this gives you choices you can either give your homies good guns so they kick but or you can take the good weapons for yourself and your homeis will probobly get owned. the good thing is homeis don't use amo so you could give them a sniper with one shot and they could use it for the rest of the level. all in all halo 2 was a good game but not nearly as good as halo 1. Expand
  56. PeterW.
    Nov 11, 2004
    6
    Honestly i think this is a decent game for the x-box. It has some unique AI elements, some interesting encounters, and some really nicely detailed skymaps...character quality goes up in cinemas, and the customizing ability of the multiplayer is really cool. ...But, the controls are still clunky, very slow multiplay, does not compare to PC games like Unreal Tournament, and the single Honestly i think this is a decent game for the x-box. It has some unique AI elements, some interesting encounters, and some really nicely detailed skymaps...character quality goes up in cinemas, and the customizing ability of the multiplayer is really cool. ...But, the controls are still clunky, very slow multiplay, does not compare to PC games like Unreal Tournament, and the single player graphical glitches are unforgivable for this age. Horrible textures, bad inconsistent lighting, overused ugly bump and normal maps, unbelievable amounts of lod popping, lighting popping, normal map popping and popping popping, exists everywhere throughout the game. Graphically it is very boring, and the setups for characters don't compare to half life ethics. Design for the suits are boring, voice acting is terrible, check out other games like metal gear or metroid prime for better design first. Expand
  57. ElZilcho
    Nov 12, 2004
    6
    Halo 2 is missing the freedom and epic battles of the first game. It still has the annoying parts from the first game too, like repeating corridors, etc. The worst part is the story, which is like a dodgy fan-fiction compared to Halo 1 and the books. Great combat and graphics though.
  58. S.Harv
    Nov 13, 2004
    6
    I mean, hell, it's Halo, so the gameplay and action rock. The sound is some of the best I've ever heard. However, it's just too damn short! There was no "Flood Moment" in this game, where your expectations suddenly turned upside-down. I'm shockingly disappointed.
  59. JoshuaM.
    Nov 13, 2004
    7
    First off, let's be clear: the multiplayer in Halo 1 was great, and it's even better in Halo 2. Lots of people were willing to get 6 or 8 people together at a friends house with 2 Xbox
  60. DanF.
    Nov 16, 2004
    5
    In regards to the campaign, the levels are ridiculously long, the plot is bland and frankly in some parts the story would be better off if a giant plot hole was just confessed, instead of some terribly devised event. The repEtition is mind-numbing. I find myself stuck in rooms searching for 20 minutes for a stupid exit that's either concealed, behind a discreet corner, or in a maze In regards to the campaign, the levels are ridiculously long, the plot is bland and frankly in some parts the story would be better off if a giant plot hole was just confessed, instead of some terribly devised event. The repEtition is mind-numbing. I find myself stuck in rooms searching for 20 minutes for a stupid exit that's either concealed, behind a discreet corner, or in a maze of tunnels, shoots and ladders, making the game more frustrating and stressful than fun and relaxing. Once I do get out, I'm back with my preferred weapons shooting the same guys over and over again unchanging. Like a show on green screen, the background changes and that's about it. My score gets all its points from the multiplayer mode, which I still feel is unbalanced and...somehow more mindless than Halo 1. Overall, pretty disappointing. Expand
  61. DinoF.
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] Great game with fantastic scenery and set pieces, however I thought the plot was no where near as good as the first, with the biggest plot twist being the unexpected ending just 10 hours into the game as things were beginning to heat up! Unlike the first game there where no massive and unexpected plot twists (who can forget the unexpected appearance of the flood in the[***SPOILERS***] Great game with fantastic scenery and set pieces, however I thought the plot was no where near as good as the first, with the biggest plot twist being the unexpected ending just 10 hours into the game as things were beginning to heat up! Unlike the first game there where no massive and unexpected plot twists (who can forget the unexpected appearance of the flood in the first game), or dramatic ending as the Halo explodes and the covanent and humans drop their weopans and make up that made the game feel like it was a complete story.... Although visually stunning and with the incredibly high production values, the game really delivered more of the same with some extra weopans, vehicles and enemies. I was a bit disapointed to find that the flood storyline was re used, and if it were not for the online part of the game, I would question what exactly Bungie have been doing all this time ? When this game ended I was absolutely stunned. The game just ended leaving me in a state of disbelief and like other reviewers I was actually expecting the game to continue after the credits as I could not believe that was it !! Expand
  62. NakedClam
    Nov 21, 2004
    5
    I've only played single-player mode thus far, but to date, I'm thoroughly underwhelmed. The story line is interesting enough, but I think I'd rather have read the book than wasted so many hours of my life for such a lame ending. The entire game was only about as long as one chapter of the original HALO, and the graphics are really no better. I do like the additional I've only played single-player mode thus far, but to date, I'm thoroughly underwhelmed. The story line is interesting enough, but I think I'd rather have read the book than wasted so many hours of my life for such a lame ending. The entire game was only about as long as one chapter of the original HALO, and the graphics are really no better. I do like the additional vehicles though. All in all, this game was NOT worth the two year wait. Unless multi player is better, I'll be returning this one to the store... Expand
  63. JamesW.
    Nov 21, 2004
    6
    Umm well. wot the helll was that. i like fps games , and u can find me playing pretty poor games until i complete them, but. i couldn't wait to play halo 2, although i wasn't the biggest fan of halo. i still thought halo 2 would be fantastic. but it was just repetitive and boring. there is always the feel that the game has been rushed just to make deadlines. a game that had soUmm well. wot the helll was that. i like fps games , and u can find me playing pretty poor games until i complete them, but. i couldn't wait to play halo 2, although i wasn't the biggest fan of halo. i still thought halo 2 would be fantastic. but it was just repetitive and boring. there is always the feel that the game has been rushed just to make deadlines. a game that had so much potential, has become an almost exact copy of number 1. and if you want a game that really deserves 10/10. check out half life 2 on pc. Expand
  64. TheSoup
    Nov 24, 2004
    7
    Overrated, the campaign is incredibly repetitive. Does anyone else remember when the plot was supposed to be Master Chief defending Earth form the covenant? That lasted about two levels then back to another halo. Also the legendary difficulty has changed form challenging to virtually impossible. Furthermore the dual wielding has completely unbalanced the weapons.
  65. TerryB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    6
    Same as the first one. New levels. 6 on 10
  66. CraigS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    My initial thoughts are that it is to similar to Halo1, little or no improvement in graphics. Can hardly expect it to live up to the hype - the first version was the ultimate...and still is in my opinion. Damn.
  67. TonyThePirate
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    TOO MUCH HYPE!!!!! I don't know what the big deal is but Microsoft sure did a great job in marketing. And, people sure got suckered into it. There are way better games out there.
  68. Propchecy15
    Dec 11, 2004
    7
    It is sad i never thought halo 2, would be so depressing after the 2years and a half of waiting for halo 2 to come out and beat it on the 11th pissed me off i found it way to short, and the storyline sometimes pisses me off they count one level as 4 in the beggining menu and the first level is actually a movie i was really ticked at bungie the dual wielding is cool, new vehicles, but the It is sad i never thought halo 2, would be so depressing after the 2years and a half of waiting for halo 2 to come out and beat it on the 11th pissed me off i found it way to short, and the storyline sometimes pisses me off they count one level as 4 in the beggining menu and the first level is actually a movie i was really ticked at bungie the dual wielding is cool, new vehicles, but the glitched movies really got to me. in all i thought this game wasnt as good as it could have been but the multiplayer is fun. too bad no bots. Expand
  69. M.S.
    Dec 22, 2005
    6
    After playing this game on all of the difficulties (Yes even Heroic and Legendary level stuff) I felt absolutely abbandoned. This was one of the most non-thrilling, straight-foward, technically underwhelming, and totally monotanous games I have ever played! I am sorry but there was simply no gameplay variation, there was no logic in the level design waht's so ever, the weapons were After playing this game on all of the difficulties (Yes even Heroic and Legendary level stuff) I felt absolutely abbandoned. This was one of the most non-thrilling, straight-foward, technically underwhelming, and totally monotanous games I have ever played! I am sorry but there was simply no gameplay variation, there was no logic in the level design waht's so ever, the weapons were boring and all felt very much the same when I used them (Except the sword which was kick ass), the sound track bugged the hell out of me (Although Incubus was perfect), the story-let's face it-is perhaps the most worthless piece of game motivation I have ever seen, and may I mention that Halo 3 better improve upon this..this was high level crap. Compaired to games such as Half-Life 2 (10), Far Cry (7), Doom 3 (9), and Quake 4 (7), it pails and shivers. I already stated exactly why I disliked this indulgent crap...sub par graphics, atrocious story, unexciting level design, tedium...but why a six? Well because the mutli-player is the best thing to happen to FPS games...if you have a bunch of friends with Xbox's and cables..throw a party and play this game! It is the most fun you will have with a group of friends on the Xbox. It elevates on so many levels here. The extention of Maps is also a fine purchase for those who really don't give two shits about the single player...like me after I played through it. Expand
  70. JonathanZ.
    Feb 14, 2005
    7
    You can tell right off the bat that Halo 2 is going to be different from it
  71. Wongit
    Apr 11, 2005
    7
    It's good...but i seriously SERIOUSLY think this game is way overhyped
  72. GordonU.
    Apr 19, 2005
    6
    In attitudes(relations) to campaign, levels are ridiculously long, plot (site) is soft, and is sincere in some parts a history would be more provided, if the huge aperture of plot (site) only admitted, instead of some awfully invented case. Recurrence (copy) - opinion - numbing. I find myself visiting rooms (place) of looking 20 minutes for a silly output(exit), it or is latent, behind of In attitudes(relations) to campaign, levels are ridiculously long, plot (site) is soft, and is sincere in some parts a history would be more provided, if the huge aperture of plot (site) only admitted, instead of some awfully invented case. Recurrence (copy) - opinion - numbing. I find myself visiting rooms (place) of looking 20 minutes for a silly output(exit), it or is latent, behind of a cautious corner, or in a stable (labyrinth) of tunnels, shoots also ladders, doing(making) the game more upsetting (more sad) both intense than entertainment and a relaxation. As soon as I really leave, I have returned with my exclusive (preferable) weapon, shooting the same guys who are many times not changing. Similarly to display on the green screen, the background changes, and it - about it. My account receives all his(its) items(points) (points) from a way of the multiplayer which I still feel, wonderful and... Anyhow more senseless than the halo 1. As a whole, rather unfavourable. Expand
  73. JimmyT.
    May 28, 2005
    6
    This is a decent FPS and nothing more. It has good graphics and audio, but it does not make up for the mediocre gameplay. It is a decent game smothered in tons of hype.
  74. Jazzbo
    Jun 17, 2005
    5
    Biggest pros: lifelike graphics, story, changing viewpoints, destructable environment, vehicle usage (and being able to steal one in motion), split-screen mulitplayer customization Biggest cons: The ending. I felt like they just stopped somewhere in the middle of telling the story.
  75. AramisG.
    Nov 15, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] I own just about every system and I would say am only a fan-boy of good games not of systems. This game was good and I enjoyed it, but I also think it is down right negligent to give any game you can beat in 6 hrs (while literally walking through the last levels) a 10 out of 10. I really, really wish gaming magazines would address the overly short gaming problem for what[***SPOILERS***] I own just about every system and I would say am only a fan-boy of good games not of systems. This game was good and I enjoyed it, but I also think it is down right negligent to give any game you can beat in 6 hrs (while literally walking through the last levels) a 10 out of 10. I really, really wish gaming magazines would address the overly short gaming problem for what it is no matter what franchise they are reviewing. Here is my review: Pros 1. A really solid story (except for the ending and some plot holes). 2. Great addictive gameplay augmented by cool weapons. 3. I really enjoyed being the arbiter, even more than being Master Chief. 4. Some of the vistas in this game are really breath-taking and add a feeling of urgency to the mission at hand. 5. Minimized combat with the Flood (they are really just annoying gun fodder compared to the Covenant). Cons 1. Way to short. I am really done with games that are over just when you are beginning to enjoy them. 2. This game looked way better in pictures. It still looks good, but I was expecting better. (What is up with the Brutes looking like overweight country bears instead of their original gorilla-esque design?) 3. Not much else to do except shoot at enemies or drive. Other than a few new enemy types (snipers & drones) it is the same as Halo 1. 4. The AI is over-hyped (In order for my AI comrades to be smart enough not to walk out into sniper fire I have to sacrifice my own shield strength?). 5. This game still has incredibly repetitive level design. There are still millions of pointless corridors and long drawn out chases. Expand
  76. NathanT.
    Nov 17, 2004
    5
    Come on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyoneCome on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyone wants u to believe, eh? Expand
  77. Guardian
    Nov 19, 2004
    7
    This is a awesome game. The dual guns the energy sword. Awesome. But the game is just to short. This game is pretty much only good when you have X-box live.
  78. SteveB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    [*** SPOILER***] Good action, great story, cool weapons, great characters... but... TOO D*MN SHORT !!! When MC says he's here to "finish the fight" but then the credits roll, I was INSULTED.
  79. BigD
    Nov 29, 2004
    7
    Good Game. Didn't live up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. I wouldn't go as far as some people to say that I'm trading my X-box for a PS2, but it's not as good as I hoped. A few things that come to mind that were disappointing to me were: 1.) I was hoping there would be more battling on earth. I thougth the main plot of the game was going to be the Covenant Good Game. Didn't live up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. I wouldn't go as far as some people to say that I'm trading my X-box for a PS2, but it's not as good as I hoped. A few things that come to mind that were disappointing to me were: 1.) I was hoping there would be more battling on earth. I thougth the main plot of the game was going to be the Covenant invading earth. So I figured there would be more action on the city streets and buildings of earth cities. Instead we are back on alien planets and mother ships like the original Halo. 2.) When I play Halo, whether it's the first Halo or Halo 2, I am playing to kick ass with Master Chief, not to spend half the game playing as a character that is an enemy of the humans. This was a major disappointment for me. Some people I know weren't bothered by that, but it rubbed me wrong. The game is still a good entertaining game and worth the money to me, but I was definitely expecting a little more. Expand
  80. JohnnyC.
    Dec 26, 2004
    6
    Omfg...this game is not all dat good.the ending was horrific,and the multiplayer is so noobish!the only thing that is ok on here is mayb xboxlive.and another thing.WTF WHERE THE ATV'S?!
  81. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    For me this was a massive disappointment from the original Halo coming out a few years earlier. But don't ignore this epic AAA title, it is still worth a purchase. But again I recommend the PC version over the Xbox version.
  82. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    This is probably the weakest of the main series Halo games. It's not bad, it just doesn't do much. The story is far weaker than the first Halo, the combat isn't much different, and the graphics are only a little better. The only improvement here is the multiplayer, however that alone can't make a game good. All around, it was disappointing.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]