Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1193 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Halo CE came out and it was awesome and I couldn't think it could get better. But it did, Halo 2 will forever be in my mind the greatest FPS of all time. The campaign was well thought out and a great continuation of the first. And the multiplayer was so addicting. Its the one game I have played until that sad day when the shut down the servers. I will miss you Halo 2 MP.
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This game didn't only change my life but I'm sure it changed other peoples too. This was not only the start of Xbox Live and Xbox, but the start of something bigger. Life. Yes Halo 2 was life for me back then. What I like about this game is that everybody can relate to it. It is by far the best Xbox game created. It really changed how gamers thought (Considering there werent a lot backThis game didn't only change my life but I'm sure it changed other peoples too. This was not only the start of Xbox Live and Xbox, but the start of something bigger. Life. Yes Halo 2 was life for me back then. What I like about this game is that everybody can relate to it. It is by far the best Xbox game created. It really changed how gamers thought (Considering there werent a lot back then). This game not only boosted its series but it boosted Xbox, gaming, and even some peoples lives. Including mine. I know they will continue to make Halos and I believe it will continue to succeed. I Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Halo 2 is the best games that have been created in history, by the fact the gameplay, story, soundtrack and others, this is my favorite video game, and no one can change it
  4. JoseQ.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Absolute perfection!
  5. GodComplex
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    I would like to state that this game is not broken. You H2-haters are. You are broken because you are blind, and comfortable in being that way. I hate people that are ignorant because they want to be. Any real Halo fan would know this. I lost many hours of my life at lan-parties for years because of the first game, and many things that made me say: "bullsh.t" were taken out. Face it. The I would like to state that this game is not broken. You H2-haters are. You are broken because you are blind, and comfortable in being that way. I hate people that are ignorant because they want to be. Any real Halo fan would know this. I lost many hours of my life at lan-parties for years because of the first game, and many things that made me say: "bullsh.t" were taken out. Face it. The pistol took too little skill to be effective. I could kill you in 2-3 shot all the time, everytime. Even noobs could kill you in 5-7 shots. Were's the skill in that old-school fans? Hell, you could snipe a Spartan from a Scorpion tank. Yeah right. They fixed the Devil-pistol. In Multiplayer you cannot go Lone-Ranger as much anymore. You can be good, but any team that works well together will make short work of you. They will hunt you in packs. Have all the weapons. They will own you. I owned people by myself in the first game. I can't do that as much now. I need tactics, not just brawn to win. As for match making, it's good. You play against people of your lv. They system works. People also complain about online problems, like swearing and glitching. Bungie fixes these problems. People can also report you if you are bad! YOU WILL BE EXPLELLED OR WORSE! Trust me, I see it everyday. I also haven't had much problems with lag, which surprised me. Also old-school fan's bitch about duel weilding. Old-school fans can be idiots and not try things, because they are afraid of change. Besides, duel-weilding isn't that effective! I own people that do that! A well place nad' and a single smg clean house all the time, everytime. You guys could also try a battle rifle with a plasm gun. So deadly it's scary! Owns the duel-weilding freaks so much it's scary! I don't understand people hatred for the single player mode. Halo had me going "holy shit" everytime. Halo 2 did that for me and more. I love the Arbiter too. I guess people expected a different game. I feel sorry for these pathetic masses of rage and hatred. They are broken relics. Note: Pc games and console are like judging fresh water from salt water. That's why I don't mention Half-Life 2 or World of Warcraft. Expand
  6. AidanB.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    The game is an exellent sequel to halo, and both multiplayer modes are amazing.
  7. Charlie
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever. The graphics are some of the best ever on X-Box. I see that Nathan complained about plants? Who cares about plants materializing 5 feet in front of you when every other part of the game looks simply amazing? Nathan didn't like the multi-player because he got his ass handed to him. If he won he would say it was great. I dont know how you could say something This is the best game ever. The graphics are some of the best ever on X-Box. I see that Nathan complained about plants? Who cares about plants materializing 5 feet in front of you when every other part of the game looks simply amazing? Nathan didn't like the multi-player because he got his ass handed to him. If he won he would say it was great. I dont know how you could say something is wrong with the maps when they are beautiful. The gameplay sucked? The gameplay definitely doesn't suck. It is action packed and fluent. Even on x-box live there aren't problems with framerate or anything. Shoaib complained about not really saving earth. You saved earth by forcing the covenant to leave earth. Then you followed them to stop them from ever coming back to earth. Yes, being the arbiter sucked, but the gameplay with the arbiter was awesome. Being invisible was freaking sweet! When the arbiter talked then it was stupid, because i agree with you. I just want to kill elites, but you barely notice them when you are playing as the arbiter. in first person as along as you dont look straight down you dont even notice. To wrap it all up Halo 2 is the best game ever and everyone who doesn't agree with me and complains about the game are ... Expand
  8. JasonM>
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    as the xbox official will agree this is quite possibly the best first person shooter game ever to be released on this generation of consoles.
  9. Two-YearOldAdult
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Got this game one hour ago. This is better than Halo 1, and is one of the Xbox's very best.
  10. PatrickW.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Fantastic only people who dislike it have never played it.
  11. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    This is where the multiplayer started getting hype. Thanks to Bungie doing an almost perfect game, no other game have made an addictive multiplayer game. Halo 2 kicked ass back then, and it still does.
  12. May 27, 2012
    10
    Probably my favorite war shooter multiplayer game. Had so much fun with this one. One of the best multiplayers ever.
  13. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    It's hard to believe you could improve in anyway on the first, but they did! recommend playing this one after playing the first though. The game continues on the story of the original game and adds cool key things in the game like new weapons and the feature of dual wielding which was a great feature added in. Definitely a BUY.
  14. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Halo 2 did what I thought was impossible it improved upon what Halo: Combat Evolved did, it improved on gameplay, story, sound, and graphics, and created the best multiplayer experience ever that set the pace for games like the Call of Duty and Battlefield series, in my personal opinion this is the best in the Halo series, the only reason this does not get a perfect 10 is that there is noHalo 2 did what I thought was impossible it improved upon what Halo: Combat Evolved did, it improved on gameplay, story, sound, and graphics, and created the best multiplayer experience ever that set the pace for games like the Call of Duty and Battlefield series, in my personal opinion this is the best in the Halo series, the only reason this does not get a perfect 10 is that there is no more multiplayer, but this is still a absolute must play. Expand
  15. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Story: 7
    Characters: 8
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.8/10
  16. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    better tahn teh butt seckz. halo 2 was perfect, is perfect, and halo 2 anniversary will save the franchise. 343 made a terrible game called halo 4 and killed our franchise. let's get it back by pressuring microsoft to release a halo 2 remake. halo 2 is better than halo 5 because we know 343 can't do anything right.
  17. LukeP
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    I can't tell you how great the moment i got this game and looking at the graphics. After playing NOTHING but Halo 1 for three years, seeing this games graphics stuned me. I spent hours just looking at the games graphics in awe. a great game in everyway
  18. EricM.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    This game is so tight.
  19. JoshC.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    It is awesome.
  20. ZacheryG.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Good game but one was the most original.
  21. BenW.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This game is a great, quality shooter that easily captures the attention of all gamers.
  22. KeeenenFunk
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Multiplayer perfection.
  23. Dave
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Its great fun to pick up and play. What more do you want?
  24. BenP.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the most immersive multiplayer experience in existence on any platform.
  25. SukjeetK.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!
  26. GeorgeL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    It's HALO. Enough said.
  27. SykotikW.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    this game is the most kick ass ive ever played, and i cant get over the graphics. way to go bungie! Dont give my email to anyone!
  28. DeanK.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This game kicks ass, the weapons, vehicles, levels, and multiplayer are all awesome, a must buy for any xbox owner.
  29. Deanna
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    I don't see why there are so many people who dislike Halo 2. I will admit, that it is not as good as the 1st, but is it still a terrific game! I like that they put in new weapons, espically the plasma sword and the beam rifle. I also like being both the Arbitur and the Master Cheif. It is fun, fighting for both sides and then joining together, to kick the crap out of some brutes. I I don't see why there are so many people who dislike Halo 2. I will admit, that it is not as good as the 1st, but is it still a terrific game! I like that they put in new weapons, espically the plasma sword and the beam rifle. I also like being both the Arbitur and the Master Cheif. It is fun, fighting for both sides and then joining together, to kick the crap out of some brutes. I think Halo 2 was also more challenging, I found it harder to beat on heroic than Halo 1. (which is a good thing). I also liked the introduction of the Prophits. They made it very interesting, adding a sort of religious aspect to the game. ( am athiest btw). The only thing[s] I didn't like was that they got rid of the assult rifle!!! That thing whipped butt. I also sometimes found it difficult being the Arbitur and having to right against other Grunts and Jackals, it was sometimes hard to figure out who was good and who was bad. Expand
  30. StevyC.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Best game ever made.
  31. JS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Possibly the best of the Halo series. A huge step forward from the drool that was Halo 1. The storyline was great, the comparison is unfathomable... No storyline to spectacular storyline. The graphics, a huge step forward from Halo 1; the gameplay was immensely improved from the old bare-bones format. Overall, a masterpiece of a game. How did this come out of Halo 1's Amazing game. Possibly the best of the Halo series. A huge step forward from the drool that was Halo 1. The storyline was great, the comparison is unfathomable... No storyline to spectacular storyline. The graphics, a huge step forward from Halo 1; the gameplay was immensely improved from the old bare-bones format. Overall, a masterpiece of a game. How did this come out of Halo 1's mediocrity? Oh, massive budget from previous game's advertising campaign. The people who didn't like this were just upset about a character change for 2 levels, and the fact that one of their favorite guns was 'nerfed'. I, for one, suggest the gamey gamers go back to Atari. Expand
  32. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    While not quite as good as the first one, Halo 2 does a great job at continuing the story of Master Chief. This time around though you play as two characters in their own stories. Arbiter and Chief.
    The only problem I have with the game is that the cliffhanger at the end annoyed me a bit.

    Verdict:
    A great game which continues the legacy of the Chief and introduces a new character
    8/10
  33. Marc.D.
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    I recently played this game after I got myself a 360. Therefore, my review of the game is decidedly influenced by the arrival of newer and flashier games like Gears. That said, Halo 2 stands as a fine example of videogames as an interactive medium for storytelling. The epic sci-fi plot boasts a wonderfully rich narractive and succeeds in engaging the player on some many levels. The single I recently played this game after I got myself a 360. Therefore, my review of the game is decidedly influenced by the arrival of newer and flashier games like Gears. That said, Halo 2 stands as a fine example of videogames as an interactive medium for storytelling. The epic sci-fi plot boasts a wonderfully rich narractive and succeeds in engaging the player on some many levels. The single player admittedly lacks innovation. However, it takes many elements of the FPS genre, adds in a deep level of strategy and meshes it with the ace plot. Like everyone else has been saying...Halo 2 is about the multiplayer. And this is where is ruled until Gears arrived on the scene last year. Check it out if you haven't...then jump straight into Halo 3. After completing the second installment...you'll be compelled to finish the fight. Expand
  34. KenE.
    May 19, 2004
    10
    The rating scale is maxed out at 10!! What the f**k!! Halo 2 has an all new graphics engine and basically all the problems from the first have been corrected and with the inclusion of xbox live Halo 2 = Winning every single game award imagineable!! What's this about Killzone on PS2 being the Halo killer?! Bring it on Sony.
  35. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. It is bigger and better than the original. There are several more weapons, enemies and vehicles. The multiplayer is spectacular. The campaign is fun but the story is not the best in my opinion. Also this game was rushed so the graphics were not up to the expectation of the e3 demo. It still deserves a 10.
  36. PatrickL.
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Halo 2 is the best multiplayer game ever.
  37. DanielP
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Easily the best FPS on the xbox. Great story, even with the cliffhanger ending. Great enemies and weapons. A little too short, but multiplayer adds a hell of alot of life to this game.
  38. KaineB.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    What is wrong with people and this game. Was it the gameplay? The special effects? Sound? Presentation? The rankings for this game are some what adequate because yes it does have some flaws. For those who wanted to play it on online you will be disappointed with the online play because, and I stress on this, a lot and a lot of people will be playing online and your connection will be very What is wrong with people and this game. Was it the gameplay? The special effects? Sound? Presentation? The rankings for this game are some what adequate because yes it does have some flaws. For those who wanted to play it on online you will be disappointed with the online play because, and I stress on this, a lot and a lot of people will be playing online and your connection will be very poor, although it may be better than other games. Second the coop play is extordinary. What people are lacking in their reviews is subtance. They really don't know understand how to critize a game because one they are bias towards other games. Two many people do not play a variety of games. they play one game or juse one genre. People are naive when it comes down to the pure reality of video games. This game deserves the score no less than a 9.8. IGN gave it the best review than any other because it seemed to be the most involved with the true aspect of it. other game sites and magazines are bias. Please don't take the view of other games take your own and play the game advidly on your own. Don't rent a game and judge it without the time it takes to review a game. Expand
  39. Buried-In-The-Box
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    If I could score it higher, I would. This game is so great it could be a reason to keep on living when you've had enough of life. Graphics, control, A.I. and atmoshere are just too good to put into words. If you are disappointed, you don't like games.
  40. BenH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Superb, just what i was expecting. best game ever made.
  41. Luciort
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    bob g.df? camera angles? mmmm, i thought this was a first person shooter
  42. MikeH
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    November 9th is the most important date in gaming in 2004 and beyond, letalong being the most important date for the xbox. Halo 2 is strong on so many levels. It's single player campaign promises to deliver a powerful story and great gameplay. It's multiplayer component will be the best of the best. With people still avidly playing Halo, Halo 2 will drive people insane with its November 9th is the most important date in gaming in 2004 and beyond, letalong being the most important date for the xbox. Halo 2 is strong on so many levels. It's single player campaign promises to deliver a powerful story and great gameplay. It's multiplayer component will be the best of the best. With people still avidly playing Halo, Halo 2 will drive people insane with its abundant capapbilities. Clan Support, Online Stats, Decals, and XBL guests only tip the iceberg. New features such as dual wielding, destructible environments, new weapons, new enemies will also make Halo 2 obsessively fun to play. Expand
  43. K.K.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    I played this up in brisbane at electronic boutique on a demo, it is awesome, everything about it. This will get score 99 i think.
  44. JoeM.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    Multi-player Gold.
  45. Batman
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    Online Ranking System is the greatest...i only wish there were no cheaters.
  46. Dr.Worm
    Oct 11, 2006
    8
    This and Halo 1 get everything about FPS gameplay right, but just doesn't do anything new and the characters are and story are pretty lame. To be honest, I HATE Master Chief and would rather play as Cortana.
  47. DanielP.
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    man this game is amaing. everythings all great. im glad the pistals got degraded, there were too many pistal *****s that gets me irritated. and the only shield thing is awesome, it makes the game more stressful and stuff so u dont go up to an hunter and start hitting him with ur pistal. the graphics are amazing. the dual wielding is awesome. the storyling is awesome too and leaves the man this game is amaing. everythings all great. im glad the pistals got degraded, there were too many pistal *****s that gets me irritated. and the only shield thing is awesome, it makes the game more stressful and stuff so u dont go up to an hunter and start hitting him with ur pistal. the graphics are amazing. the dual wielding is awesome. the storyling is awesome too and leaves the story in a suspense. u can destroy vehicles now and thers no missles in the banshee thank goodness and the rocket lanuncher is great its homing!!! the dual wielding is great too halo 2 is a gotta buy that is until halo3 comes out, believe me i read the story and from what i figured theres a halo4 coming out. Expand
  48. Ben
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Are you kidding me, the whole point of halo2 is the multiplayer, it is so much fun online, the game is pretty much pointless without xbox live or multiplayer but that is the entire point.
  49. DavidH.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Although the single player campaign isn't quite as good as its prequel's - the story in particular veering wildly and ending far too abruptly - the improved physics and more tactile environment (principally the destructable vehicles) do make up for most of the shortcomings (as does one intriguing twist). However, what really gives it maximum scores is the simply spellbinding Although the single player campaign isn't quite as good as its prequel's - the story in particular veering wildly and ending far too abruptly - the improved physics and more tactile environment (principally the destructable vehicles) do make up for most of the shortcomings (as does one intriguing twist). However, what really gives it maximum scores is the simply spellbinding multiplayer. Expand
  50. JamesS.
    May 13, 2006
    9
    VERY FUN GAME it is very fun and very interactive with the co-op, but still like hl2 better :P
  51. Exos1stWalker
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    First of all if you walked into a store and you saw Halo 2 and Half-life 2 on shelf and you never had any of them get Half-life 2. There's nothging next-gen about it but one thing. The graphics not so good. The storyline is more off an ass wipe. But the way it's put together is quite next gen indeed. The multiplayer is quite sexy indeed. Counter Strike is still better...
  52. JakeP.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    Actually, my vote would be an 11, because this is my favourite videogame of all time.
  53. TimF.
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever. Not perfect (the campaign is very average and rubbish compared to halo 1) and a with slightly unoriginal plot Halo 2 does disappoint at times. Not in Multiplayer however, where it is actually perfect.
  54. TrevorH.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game out there!! Some of you guys don't know what your talking about. Halo is the best. Awesome graphics, awesome games design, and its awesome online!!!
  55. GarryM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Took an amazing game and improved on it in every way. Excellent story mode, full of variety. Unbelieveable online game, perfect multiplayer maps.
  56. DaltonH.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I really like the storyline in this game. This game is the best I have ever seen!
  57. DavidV.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Perhaps not as good as it's ground breaking predessecor, but it's still a lot of fun. The gameplay, graphics, and multiplayer are top notch but the story is a little shoddy compared to the orginal. Then again, it's tough being in the middle of the trilogy.
  58. jjss
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Greatest fps on a console...EVER. the single player was a little short and the ending was anticlimatic but MAN was it amazing while it lasted. then multiplayer...woo never got any sleep that year lol this game is a all time classic even better than the first.
  59. aaronb
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    it is high-detailed and has a really tremendous story. even the multiplayer mission mode is really good. and let's not forget all the bugs & bounces! this game is really worth playing!!!
  60. BendO.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    This is gonna be the best best game of the year because everything is more advanced.
  61. GregD.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Wow, ok if you all hate the game so much, ill buy them all off you, then sell them on e-bay for $200. This game made $80,000,000 in two hours, Lets see the cool people who gave the game 0-5 ratings, create somthing like that. People spent thousands of working hours to make this game, deadlines, bugs, research, project costs, its not easy. So every time you give this game 0-5 just rember Wow, ok if you all hate the game so much, ill buy them all off you, then sell them on e-bay for $200. This game made $80,000,000 in two hours, Lets see the cool people who gave the game 0-5 ratings, create somthing like that. People spent thousands of working hours to make this game, deadlines, bugs, research, project costs, its not easy. So every time you give this game 0-5 just rember some poor guy or girl was up all night 7 days a week to make this thing, and i dont think they appreciate your ignorant opinon. Expand
  62. EdS.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Halo was a fun game. It balanced the elements well. The thing I feared most was that Bungie would try to make it "better" and make all kinds of changes. Halo 2 was an incremental step forward: nicer graphics, online play, and a couple of other enhancements. Initially I like it better than Halo (1) which I would have rated a 10. So a 10 it is for Halo 2. And for those of you malcontents Halo was a fun game. It balanced the elements well. The thing I feared most was that Bungie would try to make it "better" and make all kinds of changes. Halo 2 was an incremental step forward: nicer graphics, online play, and a couple of other enhancements. Initially I like it better than Halo (1) which I would have rated a 10. So a 10 it is for Halo 2. And for those of you malcontents who are comparing it the Half Life: at least we can play Halo 2. Can you play Half Life 2??? Expand
  63. RobM.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    First of all, I can't believe they're 220 votes already up on this game which has been out for basically 24 hours. Secondly - I REALLY can't believe how utterly spoiled some y'all are for hating on this game. I've played this game for roughly 30 minutes, and I'm already dumbfounded how sick this game is. In the past 3 weeks I've picked up Mortal Kombat: First of all, I can't believe they're 220 votes already up on this game which has been out for basically 24 hours. Secondly - I REALLY can't believe how utterly spoiled some y'all are for hating on this game. I've played this game for roughly 30 minutes, and I'm already dumbfounded how sick this game is. In the past 3 weeks I've picked up Mortal Kombat: Deception, Dead Or Alive Ultamite, NBA 2005, and now Halo 2. Golden time for games and you ingrates who are knockin should appreciate it. Expand
  64. TinkReloaded
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    I didin't do any reading up on the game so I was surprised to have the multi-character game play and the depth of the story line. I haven't finished it yet, so I can only anticipate where it can go from here. I'm impressed by everything except the inability to use the mellee attack while holding two weapons.
  65. AngelicaJ.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    This game is a great game and it will be a hit until furthermore. [Ed: until when?]
  66. DJBeanie
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    If you don't own an Xbox yet now would be reason to go out and get one. Even if it's the only game you'll ever buy it will be worth it. You better believe people will still be playing Halo 2 even with the Xuon (Xbox 2) having a few years into it's life cycle. Halo 2 is the first game ever to be deserving of a score higher than a 10.
  67. MARIO
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    To the people that are complaining about falling and not getting hurt he is in a futuristic suet and it properly has a suspense or some thing and so what if they took out the scope on the pistol you do not have scopes on pistol most of the time any way. And by giving up the scope on the pistol they but a scope on a futuristic m16. so if you have a problem with some thing I sad you can To the people that are complaining about falling and not getting hurt he is in a futuristic suet and it properly has a suspense or some thing and so what if they took out the scope on the pistol you do not have scopes on pistol most of the time any way. And by giving up the scope on the pistol they but a scope on a futuristic m16. so if you have a problem with some thing I sad you can kiss my fat Italian ass. Expand
  68. KingJustice
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    It's been worth the wait, it took me a hour just to open the plastic once i got it. hands down the best game in history. i could not have dreamed of a better game, xbox has clearly out boxed the other consoles with halo 2. it will be years before any consoles come with a game to match halo 2.
  69. Kyle
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Perfect.
  70. fe1i%T.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    The game story line is awesome including al the new weapons enemys vehicles etc, etc, etc HAL@ 2 Beats All Games DOWN TO THE GROUND!
  71. JohnG.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the best Xbox First Person Shooter ever created. It has more of everything, with great graphics and brilliant gameplay!
  72. RoyDM.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Great game multi is awsome graphics awsome everthing else awesome what else is thier to say. best console game ever
  73. JimboD.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    One printed gold DVD has been stolen, ripped and is now available on warez-sites one month earlier. :/ That sucks.
  74. Anthony
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Its awesome! Just as good as the first Halo. I love double weapons and picking up swords. Halo 2 is one of the best (or is) games ever! Buy it Now! you won't regret it.
  75. RooshiP.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    how can u guyz not vote a 10 out of 10 on this game. it went past all my expectations. HALO 2 RULES!!!!
  76. DominicU.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    Looks amasing new levels new wepons new vehicles new story line a must buy game.
  77. [Anonymous]
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    This game rocks and yes I have played it.
  78. OPA
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Halo 2 is soooo supahc00l... Yeah, they got duals in this one... Wooohoooo!
  79. JaceN.
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    I'm a much bigger Half-Life fan than Halo, but it is a good game. It deffenaly has on of (if not the) greatest vehicular combat in a FPS, and the multiplayer is great. But i'm more big on Long, Griping Single Players than Great Multiplayers. The single player thought short is fun, but has little replay value, and the story is intreaging. But where this gave is it's I'm a much bigger Half-Life fan than Halo, but it is a good game. It deffenaly has on of (if not the) greatest vehicular combat in a FPS, and the multiplayer is great. But i'm more big on Long, Griping Single Players than Great Multiplayers. The single player thought short is fun, but has little replay value, and the story is intreaging. But where this gave is it's multipalyer, it's worth getting the game just for that. I would recomend this game espasaly if you have Xbox Live. Expand
  80. ShaunM.
    Nov 5, 2005
    8
    Most overrated game ever. If you want one of the best shooters ever, go seek out Doom, Quake II, or Perfect Dark. The only thing that keeps people playing it is the online competition... not the game itself. Any game could have done this had it been introduced in the same manner on a console with such wide online support.
  81. ChiwawaK.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    It is the best game ive played on xbox halo 1 was the first game i played on the xbox and i loved it and this game suprises me again.
  82. Marshmallow
    Aug 17, 2005
    8
    To be quite frank the game shouldn't be rated a highly as it is. There are some major glitches, cheaters and hackeres online and really crap respawn points. The gameplay doesn't really improve that much on the original.
  83. KevinM.
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    Just plain awesome. Cooperative is awsome, great new weapons, maps, multiplayer is awsome, dual wielding, its just an insanely fun game. There are a few things I dont like, such as 1 life in Legendary, but then again it makes it more challenging. Thanks Bungie for an awsome game.
  84. FredB.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Doesn't quite have the flair that the first game has but it's still a must have. The shooting is just as smooth as the first and introduces a cool new character.
  85. CiaranG.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    A brilliant game. The storyline to the game is very good, the gameplay is challenging but fun and rewarding. The graphics are very good. The music and visuals are amazing and sometimes beautiful. Online play and 2-4 player multiplayer is lots and lots of fun and very addictive. There are no flaws in this game.
  86. AndrewG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    I don't understand how anyone could say that Halo 2 online was bad - this was the best online game I ever played (save Counterstrike).
  87. AxelD.
    Jul 13, 2007
    8
    I hate the online feature of this game to the full extent of the word...i only gave this game an 8 because of the extremely fun single player+cooperative play make this game worth having simply because of the storyline...little dissapointed because they took out my only weapons that i use...the pistol+scope and the assault rifle+nice big Covenant destroying clip...if you liked halo 1 then I hate the online feature of this game to the full extent of the word...i only gave this game an 8 because of the extremely fun single player+cooperative play make this game worth having simply because of the storyline...little dissapointed because they took out my only weapons that i use...the pistol+scope and the assault rifle+nice big Covenant destroying clip...if you liked halo 1 then this game is worth playing at least. Expand
  88. JackB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    I gave it an 8 because when you played as The Arbiter, you always had to fight the flood and they took the scope away on the pistol.
  89. BryanS.
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    While the story line of Halo 2 takes the series in a drastically convoluted, and (in my opinion) unwelcome direction, there is simply no denying the might of Halo 2's multiplayer. Virtually unrivaled by almost anything on the market, Halo 2 is numbered among my favorite games for its multiplayer component alone. Truly the stuff of dreams.
  90. ShutUp
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    All the people who vote this game below a ten is just stupid. This game is absolutley amazing and you cannot go wrong with it. Looking at some of these other geeks reviews I was just stunned about what these nerds said. I would love to see someone make a better shooting game than Halo. Its not possible. This is game sets a bar for what other shooting games should be aiming for.
  91. ErikS
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    9.5 I persanally halo 1 was really just an average game, except for multiplayer which me and my friends ocasionally pop in. Halo 2 though I loved mainly for duel weilding which is shallow I know but I just couldn't get enough of the SMG.
  92. messiah
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    wow...this game completely blew my mind. Not only did it deliver a intense campaign and an epic story line, but the muliplayer alone is worth buying the game. Take some advice from me: Messiah is a total jackass and you should not listen to him. This game is completely original.
  93. AB
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing. Jealous PS2 fanboys (like Kevin C.) may not think so, but it is.
  94. Halo2Combatiner
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This is defintly the best game out there.The online graphics are incredible especialy when u blow up a veicle. I would recomend this for violent players ;)
  95. ChickenMouth
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Crazy nice. a few things about it disappointed me. but still deserves more than a 9.
  96. GatorB.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Amazing online play. Zero lag after 20 matches. Hey, its Halo 2. Did you ever doubt it?
  97. GingerBreadMonkey
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    To be honest, this is the best console FPS ever made. Anyone who gives this game a low score is just plain nieve. It is brilliant. I am no fanboy, but christ I am becoming one. Bungie have excelled themselves by producing one of the most immersive games ever made. Take this with a grain of salt, multiplayer is great fun, but the single player experience blew me away. Halo2 has exceeded To be honest, this is the best console FPS ever made. Anyone who gives this game a low score is just plain nieve. It is brilliant. I am no fanboy, but christ I am becoming one. Bungie have excelled themselves by producing one of the most immersive games ever made. Take this with a grain of salt, multiplayer is great fun, but the single player experience blew me away. Halo2 has exceeded the hype by my accounts. Hype generally means the game is going to let you down, not with Halo2. You don't have to look at all the acclaim that game is getting to realise how good it is. All you have to do is play it. If you still think it is worth '0', then you should sell your xbox and become a moron. Expand
  98. Pancake
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Are you all nuts there is no way this game should be below a 9.5 ever. the graphics are great and there are so many awesome weapons and gameplay is awesome.
  99. SpudShastings
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    There is no game out in the world better than this game. And that right there at the end of that sentence was a period. Period.
  100. StuM.
    Nov 12, 2004
    8
    Fantastic game. But I do feel robbed in terms of visuals. Ramping up the resolution in cut-scenes and then popping back to a medium -low res in actual gameplay doesn't do it for me. Sound design is great but the music is, to be honest, bland, uninspiring and pretty predictable. This will play much better on it's PC release. A great game, but in no way what the Hype Machine predicted.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]