Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1270 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GD
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    I loved the game. It blew my f..king mind. the only thing that pisses me off is that i beat the story mode in a day. Whatever though its still damn good i'd give it a 9.5. Probably a ten if the ending wasn't so damn pissant.
  2. CaoB.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    It's the best game to come to the console ever and will be for years to come.
  3. MikeW.
    Nov 11, 2004
    7
    This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if it ain't broke don't fix it mentality to it. Only problem is it just blatantly overlooks problems from the first game. Though it isn't a complete waste, it has good enough core gameplay to make it worth buy. But if you want a mind blowing gaming experience go someplace else. Expand
  4. NedL.
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    Halo 2 is great, but not perfect, and so not worth 100% or 10. The single-player world that is created is epic and just damn cool, although I agree that the ending leaves you somewhat deflated. Those who unfavourably compare this to PC games like half-life or unreal tournament need to get in a room with one TV, four controllers and three friends. It is just SO EASY to get set up and have Halo 2 is great, but not perfect, and so not worth 100% or 10. The single-player world that is created is epic and just damn cool, although I agree that the ending leaves you somewhat deflated. Those who unfavourably compare this to PC games like half-life or unreal tournament need to get in a room with one TV, four controllers and three friends. It is just SO EASY to get set up and have fun in this game, and THAT is what makes it special. After all, it's good to play together :P Expand
  5. BradS.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    The genious of this game doesn't lie within its brilliant single-player campaign. Or its breathless Multiplayer modes. It lies within all of us. Who somehow feel that playing this game makes us better. Bungie has made the game of Halo into a world phenomenon for many years to come.
  6. DeeToo
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Not perfect, but brilliant and with a wildly imaginative story. IMO, one of the great sequals in entertainment history. Kudos to Bungie for pushing the boundaries of what is possible and yet also retaining the distinctive character of the original HALO. Yes, I agree there are some technical glitches, etc., but there are moments in this game that I can't get out of my mind and Not perfect, but brilliant and with a wildly imaginative story. IMO, one of the great sequals in entertainment history. Kudos to Bungie for pushing the boundaries of what is possible and yet also retaining the distinctive character of the original HALO. Yes, I agree there are some technical glitches, etc., but there are moments in this game that I can't get out of my mind and can't wait to encounter again. As good as THE CHRONICLES OF RIDDICK, BUTCHER BAY looked, HALO 2 is ten times more addictive and incredibly fun to play. Expand
  7. AlexBigbottom
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    Well, I am a big time halo fan. So you can probbably guess my reaction when I heard the game was coming out. I was thrilled! So the same hour I read the news i pre ordered it. This was in septembER so i started reading the halo novels. I was like i cant wait!! So the big day is here and i have my copy i race home i popped it in and it was great. A few days later when i was really in the Well, I am a big time halo fan. So you can probbably guess my reaction when I heard the game was coming out. I was thrilled! So the same hour I read the news i pre ordered it. This was in septembER so i started reading the halo novels. I was like i cant wait!! So the big day is here and i have my copy i race home i popped it in and it was great. A few days later when i was really in the game, i notiCed great things like graphics new wepons dual weiding vehicals and playing as the Arbiter! (an elite)arbiter is cool but master cheif is still cooler. a few days later i killed taturus the bad guy and a cut scene came and i was like YES THE END CUT SECENE!!!! i watched it and then guess wat? no ending. jut master chief talking to this old fool. hes like (the old guy) were are you going and cheif says to finish off this fight. and there are the credits. i stare at the screen dumb struck. 80 F***ING BUCKS (i bought collecters edition) AND I DONET EVEN GET A FREAKING ENDING?!?!?!? dont get me wrong I love halo and all you guys at bungie but CCCCOME ON! not even a frikin ending?!? this game is great an I highly reccomend buying this game. Thank you. (i would have given this a 9 and a half i cant because it only goes like 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10.) Expand
  8. KevinY.
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    I love this game. The story could've been better, and the pistol has been dumbed down. Other than that great game. And this is coming from a guy who doesn't have X-Box Live. I highly recomend this game.
  9. Mar 11, 2011
    3
    wow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was likewow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was like WTF!!!! i dont wana play as this **** i want to play as the master chief . i wouldnt have minded if it was a seperate campahn mode i could pick from the start but no it jumps back and forth and its HORRABLY annoying. then there is the wepons balance OMG! they just took a huge dump on that all the wepons ammo got cut by 1/2 or 2/3 of what they use to hold on top of that they gimped alot of the old guns. remember how sweet the pistol was? yeah now you might as well shoot spitballs as the enimy. the old machine gun use to be a pretty solid wepon to use now they tossed that for the gimp little smg which is like shooting a FKin BB gun. the enimy AI has takin a major dump . the brutes are complete idiots they just charge you over and over and over and never stop . so you eather get cheap killed up against a wall or you jump up on some thing high and laugh at them as they run into the object over and over again like a retard tryin to hump a door knob on speed. the ending is one of the worst in gaming history . it pretty much sets you up to what you think will be the final mission only to give you a big F U wait 3 damn years to play the next one HAHA dumbass . now you would think ok well the online will be awsome right i mean that was one of the coolest things about Halo 1 was how bad ass a multiplayer game it was . well WROOOOONG!!!! another Epic fail by bunjie . first off im not sure how many maps there are but i can say this much i played the same 2 FKin maps for 10 hours and thoose 2 maps sucked. this games search set up SUCKS and suck HARD! now toss in how the wepons where all gimped and you have a piss poor pathetic waste of a online game . people giving this any thing higher then a 7 ... try to defend that . you cant . this game sucks end of story. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2010
    7
    Worst Halo. Multiplayer is OK, but it has the worst campaign, and a weird place balance. For the real Halo's, check out Halo: Combat Evolved, or Halo Reach. For something different, try out MW2 or Black Ops.
  11. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Halo 2 is an excellent game. It's not quite as good as the first one, but what is? This game has a great campaign and awesome multiplayer. I got this game as a Christmas present back in 2005 and I'm still playing it! You know a game is good when it doesn't grow old even after 5 years.
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    6
    I think Halo 2 lost some of its score when they deactivated Xbox Original Live. The campaign still delivers, its epic but sometimes there are those "Where do i go?!?!" moments. Graphics are really good for Xbox, and the voice recording is good too. I think that they still could of worked on the graphics.
  13. Jan 13, 2012
    6
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok game but very disapointing.
    Expand
  14. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo 2 is one of the greatest games ever created. The story was much different than it's superior predecessor, but nonetheless Halo 2 left any other game in its day in its wake. The gameplay was solid, fluid, and realistic. Graphics were good for its day, and the game in its self was extremely addictive and fun! The world of halo explodes into a massive science fiction epic where you neverHalo 2 is one of the greatest games ever created. The story was much different than it's superior predecessor, but nonetheless Halo 2 left any other game in its day in its wake. The gameplay was solid, fluid, and realistic. Graphics were good for its day, and the game in its self was extremely addictive and fun! The world of halo explodes into a massive science fiction epic where you never know what is going to happen, and you are left at the edge of your seat until the final seconds of the game. Level designs were great and very creative! I enjoyed the variety, and the multiplayer is arguably the bar-setter for every other game to date. A great campaign, and a great multiplayer experience. A superior game and a delivering sequel. Expand
  15. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    Un total asco de juego unos estupidos con traje apretadito matando simios disfrazados.................................................................
  16. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    There are probably some minor faults in this game but it doesnt stop me giving it a 10, i was young and this was one of many of the first games i played and it is special, i have special memories of this game and is and always will be my favourite Halo game. 10/10.
  17. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    Look, I've played hundreds of video games throughout my lifetime, but I must say, Halo 2 was the greatest game I ever played. I was always afraid to buy an Xbox 360, out of fear that an "Xbox 720" would come out the day after I bought one, so basically, i played halo 2 for 4 years straight until 2010 when I finally got a 360. But you know what? During those 4 years, i never EVER got boredLook, I've played hundreds of video games throughout my lifetime, but I must say, Halo 2 was the greatest game I ever played. I was always afraid to buy an Xbox 360, out of fear that an "Xbox 720" would come out the day after I bought one, so basically, i played halo 2 for 4 years straight until 2010 when I finally got a 360. But you know what? During those 4 years, i never EVER got bored of Halo 2. That's just how perfect a game it was, and still is, and always will be. Can't wait until the remastered edition on Xbox One! Expand
  18. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    this game was great! it continued the combat evolved story and added dual wielding. the story was great, they added new characters. halo 2 was the most played purchased game on Xbox ever. the campaign was great and so was the mulitiplayer with even maps and guns. Overall, great game
  19. R.S.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    Ok people... i mean really was it that great. Ok to let you know my history... I bought the Xbox only to play halo back when it first came out, yes I admit it was one of the better first person shooters out there well considers consoles only I would say it was the best. so yes I was anticipating Halo 2, I couldn
  20. JerradH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    8
    In terms of console FPS games, it can't be beat, particularly in terms of multiplayer. However, if you're like me and are also a PC gamer, you'll likely find UT 2004's multiplayer to be far more satisfying in almost every way. So good game, but extraordinarily overrated due to most of its base being console only players.
  21. TonyC.
    Jan 5, 2005
    5
    The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once you get in the game and play it is fun. Sometimes in team battles part of your team will leave and it makes the teams so unfair you can't win and takes the fun out of the online experience. Overall online experience nothing really new or exciting Online play is definately better than single player mode. Online rating = 7, however it gets old and repetitive quick as well. Expand
  22. MikeyW.
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    Halo2 has the best multiplayer features. there is one thing that absolutley sucks about it. th laziness put into the videos and the single player levels. If you are looking for a perfect campain mode in a shooting game then don't buy halo 2. if you are looking for probally the best multiplayer and xbox live game on the market then definitely buy halo2.
  23. JesseS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    7
    A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that really shines in this game is the multiplayer. Expect it to be a great experience, but its not the giant God that everyone makes it out to be. Expand
  24. RavindK.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    As most of you know, HALO 2 was changed to adapt to the NEW story line with the New Halo Ring. HALO2 was SOOOO kick ass...the only problem with it was that thye cut it short. Rumors have it that it was cut short for the XBOX2 platform (yeah right) but in any case, the XBOX live is amazing. So far, i have not have had more fun then jumping on top of a banshee, firing a rocket into an As most of you know, HALO 2 was changed to adapt to the NEW story line with the New Halo Ring. HALO2 was SOOOO kick ass...the only problem with it was that thye cut it short. Rumors have it that it was cut short for the XBOX2 platform (yeah right) but in any case, the XBOX live is amazing. So far, i have not have had more fun then jumping on top of a banshee, firing a rocket into an enemy, kicking the guy off the banshe, then running his ass over in midair Expand
  25. JeroenVR
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started on this amazingly stupid game, and yes I am a race fan). I hope it will not be the same for Half Life 2. Expand
  26. D.C.
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super Master Cheif because he is Unbreakable. He can jump on top of almost anything, fall from the sky and all this with out a scratch. Glitching is a problem to, empty chairs one second, then bam the whole Marine Core the next. Why was it pushed back is the question of the year or should I say three years. I gave the game a 5 because of XBOX Live, THATS ALSOME. My last words are HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!!. Can't wait for Underground 2. Expand
  27. DamonC.
    Nov 19, 2004
    8
    Halo 2 was a great game but not as good as most expected. To start off the campaign isn't any better than the first one which i didnt think was good. It is repetitive and just boring. If you are a die hard single player gamer this game is not worth it. Now on the other hand if you have XBOX live or just love playing multiplayer you should get this game. The maps, artilery, guns and Halo 2 was a great game but not as good as most expected. To start off the campaign isn't any better than the first one which i didnt think was good. It is repetitive and just boring. If you are a die hard single player gamer this game is not worth it. Now on the other hand if you have XBOX live or just love playing multiplayer you should get this game. The maps, artilery, guns and variety of game types are outstanding. Though i think the multiplayer is great they made a few mistakes. On XBOX live you cant even pick your own game type you are randomly put in a game. WHICH SUCKS. Also 16 player halo isnt as good as people would think its more like you respawn you shoot you die. So if you like halo you will like Halo2. Expand
  28. MattP.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    Very overrated. I expected tight action with frantic spinning and alot of "oh jesus!" and I got it. But the fights were either way too long or way too short and the ending was the most bitter slap in the face I've experienced in gaming.
  29. TomC.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a problem. Also, the fact that everything moves at the speed of light is another problem. The game feels like it was only built for xbox live. The fact that we had to wait three years for this is pretty sad in my opinion as the improvements are extremely minimal.... an extra few weapons and options... really nothing spectacular. Expand
  30. JeffB.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    The game delivered on so many levels, and did an excellent job, the only downfall, is some comic humor,or awkardness in the weapons, but besides that,it tops the first in every area.
  31. SariD.
    Dec 22, 2004
    6
    Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game more substantial and meaningful in a Star Wars operatic way were lobotomized. The most dissapointing thing of all is that this is going to be the last Halo release on Xbox 1 and yes you will need to buy xbox2 to see how the trilogy ends in Halo3. Expand
  32. JonW.
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    This game is godly, and woulda been better if some of the multiplayer levels woulda been left in. coagulation is a way better upgrade, mostly because you can hide better from alotta snipers now. I love this game, and everybody who cant at least appreciate it... a mushroom slap to the face.
  33. SaketR.
    Jan 11, 2005
    5
    Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As has been said by many others, the single player mode is totally underwhelming. Poor game design, recycled levels, slightly polished graphics and incredibly short, this game is a black mark when compared to the good effort that was Halo 1. Regardless, the multi player is better than most; only if you can manage 3 people to come over at a minimum. Some of the weapons are too powerful while others are remarkably weak. There seems to be no justice to anyone in this game: Sales have been too much, the public has been conned, and finally all the reviewers have been overrating, this is not the messiah of all games, oh no, its simply the snake which tempted all and ended up doing nothing but ill. Expand
  34. C.E.P.N.
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    The first Halo game was a wonderful challenge in Legendary and a well crafted, choreographed, knitted, and even operatic experience in Easy mode. A well made 'chapter' in the Masterchief saga. I was drawn in emotionally and intellectually. Weapons and abilities were consequential to the expanding and evolving story and not for their own qualities. It became 'necessary' The first Halo game was a wonderful challenge in Legendary and a well crafted, choreographed, knitted, and even operatic experience in Easy mode. A well made 'chapter' in the Masterchief saga. I was drawn in emotionally and intellectually. Weapons and abilities were consequential to the expanding and evolving story and not for their own qualities. It became 'necessary' to use a charged Plasma pistol to take down an Elites' shielding in Legendary, for example. The game had that crucial beginning, middle, end in good storytelling with 'subtle' hints to something more. It ended with satisfaction and at the same time enticed furture adventures. Time constraints in the first games release perhaps put restraints on the 'intellectual' and more emphasis (as most 'artists' will testify) on the perceptual and heart. I am confident that the qualities inherent in the team that crafted the first game are still there. But these were not allowed to shine forth in Halo 2. Fame and success carry with it that malignant quality 'arrogance'. If unaddressed and not checked and within a 'closed' setting, can lead to an intellectual incest. A reactionary condition arises. And grandiosity. Was Halo 2 more about Microsoft and Bungies relations to it? Certainly the next installment of Halo is being tied to the next Microsoft console. Was it really about Bungies relationship with all the interested players who enjoyed Halo 1 and continuing that relationship? This game was fragmented with a hard and open ending. I did enjoy the dramatic device of juxtaoposing the hero and the fallen of the opposing races as a way of dovetailing and weaving the two games together and I was excited and hopefull. But from there the story never really 'fleshed out'. I was anticipating the Online experince until trusted people who are 'gamers' and spend a good amount of time on Xbox Live suddenly quit. One was disgusted by the behaviors and attitudes of players in other Clans, which means not enough monitoring. "Art" is the outward manifestation of loving, giving, caring. Not sensationalistic pushing of the envelope. It doesn't seek ulterior motives or hidden agendas. That's for advertisers, auto designers, and charlatans. Bungie first has a responsibility to themselves in the best possible way, their vision in 'making', to those who spend their time and money seeking an enveloping game experience and story, and not in 'trying to rule the world"(from the back of the instruction manuals of both games). Halo1 was a captivating and multifaceted gaming experience. Halo2, while retaining good game mechanics, overall had the feel and tone of self-indulgence and doubt. Can you at Bungie not afford to break from Microsoft? Time to grow! Expand
  35. AmazingBen
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I don't usually buy into the hype of games, and Halo 2 was no exception. I enjoyed the first installment, but I have to admit I was a little suspicious of all the 100s the gaming magazines were giving it. Let me say this much: this is the best game on the Xbox. Many people trashed on the story and particularly the ending. I must disagree. I think the game definitely had an epic feel I don't usually buy into the hype of games, and Halo 2 was no exception. I enjoyed the first installment, but I have to admit I was a little suspicious of all the 100s the gaming magazines were giving it. Let me say this much: this is the best game on the Xbox. Many people trashed on the story and particularly the ending. I must disagree. I think the game definitely had an epic feel to it and even the ending left you pumped up for the third installment. In short, Halo 2 is the "Empire Strikes Back" of the Halo legacy. The graphics are amazing, the levels are cool and the ability to dual wield brings a whole new dimension to the game. Buy it, and you will never regret it. Expand
  36. ViasubRosa
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    WARNING: this game is not for the occasional gamer or less and definitely not for those nausiated by FPS games. I found this game to be a "sit at the edge of your seat while blasting your opponents away, then getting smacked from behind and cursing your head off!" kind of game. Then again, that's more like what happened to me earlier while I was playing. The fact is that this game is WARNING: this game is not for the occasional gamer or less and definitely not for those nausiated by FPS games. I found this game to be a "sit at the edge of your seat while blasting your opponents away, then getting smacked from behind and cursing your head off!" kind of game. Then again, that's more like what happened to me earlier while I was playing. The fact is that this game is for those who want to play, enjoy playing, and look forward to palying it some more. If this doesn't suit your style of gaming, then let it be. Expand
  37. Jacob
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This is truly the one of the best first person shooters ever.It has great gameplay, an interesting story continuation from the original, although the ending was fairly disappointing.
  38. DaveS.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    This was the best game of the year, according to gamestop. I am tired of little n00bs, like half of you people, who don't know how to properly rate games.
  39. KevinB.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Dis game rocks! I play it every day wether im shootin up those tiny grunts or tearin the monkey people to pieces.
  40. D
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    Halo 2. There is not another game that gives you chills down your spine when you say the title. This was the most anticipated game ever in the videogame industrie. This game definatley lived up to its hype, and in my opion it passed that hype. Many people believe that GTA: St. Andraes is a much better game. I say GTA made 115 million dollars in a week......not bad. Halo 2 on the other Halo 2. There is not another game that gives you chills down your spine when you say the title. This was the most anticipated game ever in the videogame industrie. This game definatley lived up to its hype, and in my opion it passed that hype. Many people believe that GTA: St. Andraes is a much better game. I say GTA made 115 million dollars in a week......not bad. Halo 2 on the other hand sold 125 million dollars in a day.........amazing. I think the thing that attracts people most to Halo 2 and Halo 1 is not just the great guns, storyline, vechiles, enimes, online play,etc. It is the amazing entertainment of throwing a plasma grenade into a bunch of covenet then continuing to flank the others while your soliders are cleaning up the stragliers. Also there is no other game that can give "chills" down your spine while entering a battle, and there is no other noise like "oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh" The thing I love most about Halo 2 is that it brings all of the fun from Halo 1, but it times it by 10. There are also new features for Halo 2 such as duel wielding, the ability to steal a ghost or any other veichale from your enimes or your friends, heat seaking missiles, just to name a few. After you finish the campian mode (which really is amazing, but i dont want to say anything because it might spoil the game) there is a bunch of other things to do. Such as, the online play, it really is amazing, the fun of you and your buddies getting in warthogs, ghosts, and banshees and atacking your friends base then when you finally get there flag the challenge of running away while rockets and bullets are zooming by your head is pricless. Even if you dont have Xbox live you can play split screen with up to 4 players. Now while this is not as entertaing as Xbox live it still does have its advantages. They are, being able to see the person you are playing and knowing them personally, the ablillty to braging rights around the people you see everyday, but my personal favorite is the victory dance you can do when you end your friends killing spree with a rocket demolishing the wartghog hes been in for 3 hours. So, in conclusion me and the other 100 million people would probally agree that this is the greatest game to ever be made. There once was a line in the Offical Xbox Magazine that stated that Rockstar had said that Halo 2 will "never come" and "if the game does come out it will be the greatest game to ever be seen, but of course no such thing can be done" they also were stated saying that "Even if Halo 2 does come out Bungie could never put all of the things they say will be in the game by November 9" In Halo 2's comerical they show everything in the game and then at the end of the comerical they say "To all those that said this day would never come what are they to say now" Expand
  41. ChrisB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    6
    With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. The graphics are nowhere near as good as this year's PC shooters such as Half-Life 2, Far Cry, or Doom 3. And the online play is very run-of-the-mill. Still, I can see why console gamers think this is an amazing game - it's easily one of the best shooters ever made FOR A CONSOLE. But best game ever? Not even close. Halo 2 isn't even in the top 5 for best game of the year, if all platforms are taken into account, and when judged against it's shooter-peers on the PC, it's no better than average. Expand
  42. HappySquirrel
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    I would almost think Half-Life 2 was a better FPS, until I played Halo 2's X-Live. The mutiplayer is hands-down the best! I have never seen a better competetive feel/edge to a game ! The lan-parties of old are obsolete, since you can meet your friends online, and have the old beat down quests of old! The imbalances of old were fixed too. The pistol cannot kill you from across the I would almost think Half-Life 2 was a better FPS, until I played Halo 2's X-Live. The mutiplayer is hands-down the best! I have never seen a better competetive feel/edge to a game ! The lan-parties of old are obsolete, since you can meet your friends online, and have the old beat down quests of old! The imbalances of old were fixed too. The pistol cannot kill you from across the level now. Also vehicle sniping w/ the pistol doesn't work too. You can also destroy vechiles, so no one can go forever in the ghost. No more health packs. The shotgun got a needed reduction, since it was used as a medium range weapon in the first game. Also, the Legendary mode in the old game was kinda weak. In Halo 2, you will get your ass-handed to you! Be prepared to sream in rage at the tv for hours on the new Legendary mode! More customizable options for multiplayer games. I could go on. Point is, it's not broken. Any style of weaponry can be countered with another! The only thing people bitched about was the story mode. People are weird, since nothing was broken about it, but then again this is Halo 2, and so much was expected from this game. People expected their own "fantisy" version of the game. A lot of people's complaints were directed towards playing as the Arbiter. Kinda ironic, since people bitched about not being able to play as Covies in the first game. And people are wrong about campaign too, it has the most EPIC feel of any game i've played. Halo was EPIC. Halo 2 delivers. Hands down the best console game this year! I'd almost say best game ever, but PC has World of Warcraft. Expand
  43. Nibbsy
    Feb 24, 2005
    8
    Has any other game been more the victim of its own hype? For me, one of the beauties of the first Halo was that I expected nothing from it and it delivered so much. (I only bought an xbox as an after thought shortly after getting a Gamecube but as soon as I booted up Halo the 'Cube didn't get touched for months). Halo 2 on the other hand carried such enormous weight of Has any other game been more the victim of its own hype? For me, one of the beauties of the first Halo was that I expected nothing from it and it delivered so much. (I only bought an xbox as an after thought shortly after getting a Gamecube but as soon as I booted up Halo the 'Cube didn't get touched for months). Halo 2 on the other hand carried such enormous weight of expectation that disappointment was probably inevitable on some levels. That said, contrary to the very misguided or plain daft people who give it scores of 1 (?) Halo 2 is an undeniably first class video game. In almost all respects it is head and shoulders above almost every other xbox action game. However, its key failing is that it is too similar to the first game and for this reason it doesn't have the "wow" factor that Halo engendered. The storyline is more intrusive than Halo's but paradoxically less coherent and engaging. Basic gameplay is very sound and the production values are as high as expected but there are just too many times when the whole thing feels like a slightly glossier retread of the original (which would be fine of course if the original had never existed!). Overall for me Halo 2 lacked the spark of brilliance that made Halo my favourite game in 20 years of gaming but it is nevertheless a very fine game. Expand
  44. KalebW.
    Feb 2, 2005
    9
    I like this game is the best! I love Xbox Live Halo2 is is so cool. I like how u can talk to other people and I like the way how you can save friends and all. The thing I like about Halo2 is that you can hold 2 weapons and i like the sword also!!! :) :) :) :)
  45. JohnS.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    I give the single player only an 9, but the multiplayer is above and beyond anything I've ever played. My friends and I (who usually play a different multiplayer game every month) will be playing H2 multiplayer for a couple of years at least. If they continue to add new maps, it'll be practically inexhaustible. Multiplayer is just that good.
  46. MarkW.
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    Its amazing how many people call this game nearly flawless, then give it a 100% rating. It's honestly less than average. It has some decent movie clips that bring interest to an otherwise dull playing experience. If your not playing online there is no reason to buy this game.
  47. RichardD.
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    Good Game..bad Levles..X Box Live..Perfect.
  48. ScottG.
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Everything was good. but they promised great maybe if they'd actually tried instead of loffing around on their asses it would have been a ten. still a good game but that one point i think is the most important one.
  49. TheBair
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever!! This tops any other game that came out. This will kill any GTA or Metroid Prime. the suck!!!
  50. AndrewF.
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Fanboy, but this game coulda been, woulda been, shoulda been... but isn't that great. By the way, if you like playing online against 12 year old boys and their dads, then give the xbox live Halo experience a try. It's super neat. Give me something that requires the use of my mind any day of the week. Guarantee you won't find little children in Xbox Live of Brother in Arms. You know why? Because that game requires actual thought, instead of mindless, unrealistic shooting of anything that moves. C'mon! This game is ALL HYPE! It's gets a 5/10 from me, purely on it's techinical acheivements. Expand
  51. SPYBREAK
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    Halo conquered the "universe", with good level designs, great sounds, fun gameplay and a glorious musical score. And so came time for the battle of planet Earth
  52. MarioL.
    Apr 8, 2005
    8
    This game is pretty fun on solo. If you have Xbox live this game can be pretty damn addictive. I recommend this game to all those people who like "Tom Clancy" like games. you can be very sneaky.
  53. TedS.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    This game was so awesome. the multiplayer was unreal and the x box live really whent well with halo 2. im a huge fan and i really think this is the best ever game created thats just me though but i hope i can change some of your minds.
  54. JMyst
    May 9, 2005
    8
    I cannot get enough of multiplayer, if it were only multiplayer this game would deserve a 20. Unfortunately we also have the shoot and move, unstrategic and short single player missions! It took me two days playing 2 hours a day to beat this game on Normal. Very easy, only died twice (jumping off ledges). The storyline was incomplete and made me scared of whats to come. I didnt even get I cannot get enough of multiplayer, if it were only multiplayer this game would deserve a 20. Unfortunately we also have the shoot and move, unstrategic and short single player missions! It took me two days playing 2 hours a day to beat this game on Normal. Very easy, only died twice (jumping off ledges). The storyline was incomplete and made me scared of whats to come. I didnt even get the dramatic effect when Cortana said "Another Halo". I was like awww man more flood, dangit. Expand
  55. JasonS.
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    The gameplay totally sucks, but if you get xbox live it really makes up for it. hate the gameplay, love it on xbox live.
  56. OmarI.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    I say this is the best game ever! Only downside is its short Campaign player but i still reccemend buying it and specially Xbox Live. Even though Halo 2 campaign was short, Online gives such a good time......For all i know this is the best online system game i have ever seen........Better than runescape, halo 1 online......Halo 2 online is the best Online system EVER!
  57. EricG.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    I wanted to give this game an 8, but i just could'nt do it. This is a very good game, a VERY good game. The graphics are some of the best I've seen. The only drawback is the short campaign. But it's hard to complain when the campaign is still extremely fun, even if it is a little short.
  58. GulagWarden5
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    This game is great, but not as much as I expected. The game was fun to play, but it was really short, and ither to easy or to hard to beat (depending on you difficulty leavel). And the ending sucked, but still it had a great multi-player. So 9 is my #
  59. MiguelM.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    best game of the year and for ever more best glithes and sweet game play and best grafics.
  60. SteveP.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    It's easy to distinguish those who have played the game and those who have not - like Kevin C. Reviews should be based on your opinion of the game after having played it for a while, not on reading some reviews and concluding it's a disappointment because IGN or some other site gave it a 98 rather than 100. I've played the single player campaign only - and it is phenomenal. It's easy to distinguish those who have played the game and those who have not - like Kevin C. Reviews should be based on your opinion of the game after having played it for a while, not on reading some reviews and concluding it's a disappointment because IGN or some other site gave it a 98 rather than 100. I've played the single player campaign only - and it is phenomenal. The action is unmatched, the graphics are top-notch and the sound is outstanding. I think the game is totally worth the price based solely on the single player campaign, the multiplayer component is added value. I've played Half-Life (excellent and I can't wait for the sequel) and Unreal Tournament (boring and repetitive - I traded the damn thing in), and I can honestly say, based on my gameplay experience, that Halo 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  61. JoeaceL.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  62. BruceB
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    OK, first of all, all who believe this game is overrated is either a PS2 fanboy, or a complete dumba$$. this game is amazing, and the story, though short, is strong. xbox owners rejoice, there is finally a Halo killer.
  63. JonG.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This game is unbelivable! This game is a 10 no doubt. I have a playstation 2 and an xbox but no game on either system compares to halo 2. i recommend this game to everyone!
  64. Kaim
    Nov 14, 2004
    7
    After playing Metroid Prime.. its hard not to see the game's shortcomings. Somewhat basic gameplay, frustrating weapon pick up system (slooow).. Fantastic atmosphere though. 'King of the Hill' mode in multiplayer is top fun. As is 'Juggernaught'
  65. TristanB.
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    Just like Halo this game is really awsome and a lot of fun to play. The only problem is the game is lacking in play time. Compared to the first Halo this game was short and it cut off without warning. The things I did like in this game was the larger variety in weapons, the amount of interactivity with the field and the vehicles, and of course the look of the game. The plot of the story Just like Halo this game is really awsome and a lot of fun to play. The only problem is the game is lacking in play time. Compared to the first Halo this game was short and it cut off without warning. The things I did like in this game was the larger variety in weapons, the amount of interactivity with the field and the vehicles, and of course the look of the game. The plot of the story was also a lot better but still not enough game play time. Expand
  66. D.Z.
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    Buy it for the xbox live but please dont buy it just for the single player. it's sooo plain. nothing new from the original. plus the texture loading problem in cutscenes is like someone scratching across the blackboard. it's horrible! i think i am the only one that is not rationalizing my purchasing decision.
  67. KasperBeach
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    This game is not perfect, but is the best game ever. New weapons, and vehicles are excellent. I will be playing it until Halo 3.
  68. PatrickH.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    I honestly can say it lived up to the hype. I still think it hasn't hit me on how totally awsome this game is. It is truely overwhemling.
  69. LordSlug
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    EXCELLENT GAME! Its like reading an award-winning novel, playing an awesome game and watching an awesome movie all at the same time. The dual weapons are fantastic and the graphics are awesome. Most graphics on PS2 games are nothing compared to Halo 2. It's da best FPS EVER MADE.
  70. RogerW.
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    No multiplayer co-op. What were they thinking???
  71. RichardC.
    Nov 20, 2004
    6
    It goes without saying that, after the majesty of the original, I was twisted with anticipation waiting for what I thought would be an experience to savour. Surely the time between games would have been spent bettering the original...surely? All I can say is that the Halo 2 experience is distinctly underwhelming. Graphically, and I really hope it's just me, but is it really, really It goes without saying that, after the majesty of the original, I was twisted with anticipation waiting for what I thought would be an experience to savour. Surely the time between games would have been spent bettering the original...surely? All I can say is that the Halo 2 experience is distinctly underwhelming. Graphically, and I really hope it's just me, but is it really, really patchy and poor? The cutscene quality is appalling at times. I could hardly believe seeing it at first. Was there so much of a rush and pressure to meet deadlines that they cut corners and left rough edges unpolished? Why else would the game look and feel as clunky as it does? Has anyone tried playing the original after a few hours of the newer? How does it feel? The audio is sad as well. 5.1? I'd settle for simple effects being audible and defined. I'd love to gush about how amazing this game is but sadly, as a simple game player, my disappointment has proven more telling and truthful than all the hype Chairman Bill can throw at me. Halo 2: a parasitic doppelganger that imitates poorly the radiance of the original host. Expand
  72. J.J.King
    Nov 22, 2004
    8
    Great game aside from a lackluster single player campaign, but who cares about sp when you ve got stellar multiplayer via xbox live?
  73. RyanG.
    Nov 22, 2004
    8
    I loved this game overall cin. are great gameplay was awsome wasn't as much action as there was in number 1 im a little dissapointed that they took the pistol out but it was pretty cool that you could throw boxes around and onlines great its deffenatly better than counter strike.
  74. DudeSweet
    Nov 23, 2004
    8
    I think it was worth the wait becuase online play is unreal even thought halo 1 did almost beat it in that subject....the whole game was short and the levels were long even though when u played basically 1 u were playin 5. It was pretty good though i did like it. i love online play thats worth it.
  75. SteveG.
    Nov 25, 2004
    5
    i dont get it. why is this game supposed to be the best thing out. plz explain to me, cause from what i see it ain't anything special.
  76. Stingdog
    Nov 26, 2004
    10
    You kow for everyone who has said how crappy the story you havn't named a better fps story ITS NOT AN RPG PEOPLE ITS A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! WHERE U SHOOT THINGS!!! plus the ending was not that bad it was a cliffhanger just because u people were so happy the game was out and u played it for 15 hours straight on normal doesnt mean the game is too short try the other difficulties You kow for everyone who has said how crappy the story you havn't named a better fps story ITS NOT AN RPG PEOPLE ITS A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER!!! WHERE U SHOOT THINGS!!! plus the ending was not that bad it was a cliffhanger just because u people were so happy the game was out and u played it for 15 hours straight on normal doesnt mean the game is too short try the other difficulties they're different. Plus its the best Live game by far. If you dont like this game then u should just throw out ur xbox now. Expand
  77. LordVader
    Nov 29, 2004
    7
    This was a hard one to call, I have been waiting for this game since completing the first one but having completed this one, have found Halo 2 somewhat...lacking. I'm not sure what it is but it just doesn't have that 'Halo Spark'. The ending is a disgrace, it really does feel like the game has been halved and I cannot help but wonder if Microsoft are going to do a This was a hard one to call, I have been waiting for this game since completing the first one but having completed this one, have found Halo 2 somewhat...lacking. I'm not sure what it is but it just doesn't have that 'Halo Spark'. The ending is a disgrace, it really does feel like the game has been halved and I cannot help but wonder if Microsoft are going to do a surprise announcement in early 2005 to say "Good news Halo 2 fans!!! We have another 15 levels of Halo 2 coming out in Feb 2005, yea for us!. Well, you'll excuse me if I don't applaud, shame on you MS and shame on you Bungie for allowing this to happen, the single player was incredibly short (50% short in fact). But it's not all bad news, the graphics are the best on the box and Multiplayer is fantastic. it's for this alone that the game gets 7/10 from me. I may be wrong about the extra 15 levels in Feb but wait and see. Hey Bill, what's next? Halo 3 - Home and Pro editions? The Pro version having ALL the single players levels??? Expand
  78. BarrieT.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    WOW, the multiplayer alone blew me away.
  79. LowievanG.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    This is the best xbox game yet!!!
  80. PhilS
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    A great game so far (haven't played alot of it), it's got this feel about it that immediately draws you in, I give this game 9.5 (closest score was 10)
  81. DavidR.
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    Awesome game! I couldnt imagine it would be so good. Thumbs up for Bungie and Microsoft. best game on Xbox this far.
  82. RabhB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    BEST GAMER EVER, it is l33t and pwns all n00bs. the game takes a whole new perspective and era into console first person shooters.
  83. AndrewM.
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Plays like the original, has a few tweaks that make multiplayer gaming more entertaining but there are too many fireworks, too much "I save the world like a Starship trooper" elements and no innovation. Seen it somewhere before and done it... Good for parties though.
  84. Jamal
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Not so good.
  85. EddieG.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Halo 2 is not just a game, it is a all consuming experiece, that grabs hold of you and never lets go. This game has delivered beyond all the hype--halo 2 is pop culture. ps. hey game reviewers--- your days are few and numbered. very soon the gamers will have a true voice. and you will be held accountable for you scores(game spot) The new mag and site are coming soon!!! [Ed: scary!]
  86. Chopin
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    Very, very, very, very kickass. Singleplayer and multiplayer deliver just as everyone hoped they would. however: this game is still overrated. it does NOT beat all games down to the ground. compared to how revolutionary HL2 is, this game seems like not that much. BUT if you have an Xbox, then there is no question about buying this game.
  87. ArnoldB.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    The only people who dilike it are those who want to see it fail mearly because it is on xbox or because they are pc fanboys who cannot see past there hard drive mrrrrrrrr.
  88. StivenB.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    (score 9.7). Firstly, anyone whom gave this game a score of say less than 6 is in my opinion an idiot. 'Halo 1 Fanatic' below, you say that this game is not a sh.tty game but you give it a '0'. Yeah you're disappointed and it didn't met your expectations but it really a zero. 98% of people on here wouldn't think so. Then Tom C below says he's (score 9.7). Firstly, anyone whom gave this game a score of say less than 6 is in my opinion an idiot. 'Halo 1 Fanatic' below, you say that this game is not a sh.tty game but you give it a '0'. Yeah you're disappointed and it didn't met your expectations but it really a zero. 98% of people on here wouldn't think so. Then Tom C below says he's disappointed because its too fast. Wake up from your 'I don't want anything to change' views and move on. The world doesn't stand still. Get used to the controls and you will find them adjusting like the first. There are good and bad points in this game but they should not be too distracting. As an exmaple why does the light distinguish after a few seconds rather than after a minute or so in the first? The fact that this game (excluding game control and plot) has the best graphics and sound) is testament to the ability of this machine and warrants some rating at least here. You can please some people all of the time and you can please all people some of the time but you can't please ALL people ALL of the time. Expand
  89. MattA.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Has anyone considered the possibility that Halo 2 plays alot like Halo because a) its the sequel and b) Halo is still an awesome game and really doesn't need too much new stuff? Excellent story, lots of dead aliens, and fantastic multiplayer. If any game deserves a perfect score, this is it.
  90. KyleF.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    The greatest...love duel wield.
  91. DavetheWave
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    This is an extraordinarily good game. The single player game was fun, but it's the multiplayer that will last me for hours and hours for the next couple of years. I would have given the original Halo a 10 and this sequel is even better.
  92. DreB.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    Good game.
  93. JaycenA'mour
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    Best FPS ever but should of been twice as long. I keep playing it but hope that 2.5 is coming out in feb.
  94. EfeB.
    Dec 16, 2004
    8
    Halo 2 is very similar to the first game and that is good in most ways. it tries to out do the first game by complicating events and stories and whatever, thats not so good. the good thing with the first one was that it was so simple. now, you can play as the elite alien race, and back to master chief and back to the aliens and those ugly zombies are back...pretty confusing. the maps areHalo 2 is very similar to the first game and that is good in most ways. it tries to out do the first game by complicating events and stories and whatever, thats not so good. the good thing with the first one was that it was so simple. now, you can play as the elite alien race, and back to master chief and back to the aliens and those ugly zombies are back...pretty confusing. the maps are pretty, the action is amazing. some levels have you flying banshee's and its done alot better this time around. vehicles get damage very nicelly, all the physics and rag doll deaths are cool. weapons are better too, duel wielding is nice but not amazing, because throwing granades remains crucial. the uzi like gun is fun and makes the action seem "earthly". havent finished but i am not dying to play it over and over like i did the first halo...maybe we are all used to this halo series, so not much of a shock there. i play battlefront star wars...now, that's a masterpiece!!!! Expand
  95. MattL.
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    This game online is one of the best online games ever, you can paly up to 18 players and talk to all your team mates. Its even better when you play capture the flag or assault. The bigger levels are alot more fun now for more open ranges sniping
  96. RobertC.
    Dec 22, 2004
    9
    The best action,shooting game i play but i like halo 1 better i dont know wy.
  97. JamesT.Kirk
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    I have this game, no i am not a mindless drone but this game has story, guns and incredible graphics. It earned my vote.
  98. OlgaG.
    Dec 27, 2004
    8
    Not as addictive as halo once was. they removed and modified weapons that work, example the assault rifle which by the way my favourite weapon replaced it with a battle rifle which feels like a beretta handgun with burstfire, pistol 2nd most fav. weapon replaced it with a magnum with a fast fire rate not very accurate in aiming, shotgun third fav weapon in halo1 they changed the fire rateNot as addictive as halo once was. they removed and modified weapons that work, example the assault rifle which by the way my favourite weapon replaced it with a battle rifle which feels like a beretta handgun with burstfire, pistol 2nd most fav. weapon replaced it with a magnum with a fast fire rate not very accurate in aiming, shotgun third fav weapon in halo1 they changed the fire rate into a very slow innefective against the brutes, flood, covenant. Smg is very useless weapon it sounds like a tiny firecracker. The most blasphemous thing they did was dual weapon, crucial part of halo1 was shoot then hide to reload, but halo2 it was shoot and shoot and shoot, using needler and plasma rifle was best combination for dual weapon pity i aint feelin the dual weapon. the death of masterchief why did they introduce arbiter, arbiter seems to outshines masterchiefs traits and new weapons, with stealth camouflage the marines doesnt , difficult for marines to approach a wraith in heroic mode compared to arbiters stealth camo its more forgiving to play. if it aint broke dont fixed, too many changes in marines scarce ammo like deus ex2 same problem. dont like to keep changing weapons becoz its always depleted. the biggest mistakes is dual weapon, tell me how can i throw a grenade if im using a dl wp by the time i switched to a sigle wp the enemy already scattered, how can they overlook the crucial elements on halo1 gameplay. the adrenaline rush you feel in halo1 is gone, why? becoz the weapons in halo2 doesnt feel right its not equally exciting while using the assault rifle in halo1, you could really feel the weapon(this feels right) final word, bad changes, dual weapon big no no no, adrenaline rush type of weapon is gone. Expand
  99. GordonF.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome, everyone says the ending sucks, its good, cuz that makes room for Halo 3, and Halo 2.5 is coming out on XBox 2, so stop crying, it has everything that was left out of Halo 2, and the ATV will probably be in there. and this is not the best game ever, but it is one of them, Half-Life 2 is alot better than Halo 2
  100. RustyDusty
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever!!!

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]