Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1214 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CoryK.
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    This game is WAY overhyped. It's saving grace is it's amazing multiplayer. However, the campaign is not only short ut also very boring.
  2. AkiraBlue
    May 19, 2005
    10
    I enjoy halo 2 alot because it take more than skills to play this game. It also relies on team work and tactics. In addition it has alittle of realism integrated with sci-fi.
  3. JimmyT.
    May 28, 2005
    6
    This is a decent FPS and nothing more. It has good graphics and audio, but it does not make up for the mediocre gameplay. It is a decent game smothered in tons of hype.
  4. Jazzbo
    Jun 17, 2005
    5
    Biggest pros: lifelike graphics, story, changing viewpoints, destructable environment, vehicle usage (and being able to steal one in motion), split-screen mulitplayer customization Biggest cons: The ending. I felt like they just stopped somewhere in the middle of telling the story.
  5. RaphaelR.
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    Yes i gave it a nine NOT A TEN why? because its s0o0o overated sometimes the game is not perfect why are you people giving it ten i mean don't get me wrong it is a good game the single player is s0o much fun plus if u have al ot of friends that likes halo multiplayer would be a super fun experience for you. The first time i played this game (i've never played halo 1) my friendYes i gave it a nine NOT A TEN why? because its s0o0o overated sometimes the game is not perfect why are you people giving it ten i mean don't get me wrong it is a good game the single player is s0o much fun plus if u have al ot of friends that likes halo multiplayer would be a super fun experience for you. The first time i played this game (i've never played halo 1) my friend asked me to come over and play because he was talkin bout how great this game is and the graphics are unbelievable i was like ok i'll go to your house and we played for 5 hours straight while i was playing it i was like "is this the kind of graphics u were talkin bout???" because the graphics aren't really all that but it is good i was just disappointed to find out that the game wasn't what i expected form hearing what all of my friends say. This game has plenty of weapons but they should add more weapons more variety of SMG's , and assualt rifles , and so on and how come this game doesn't have light machine guns i mean the turrets are fun to use but would'nt you like a machine gun that you can carry and kill aliens with. There's also one very fun thing about this game its the dual - wielding this thing makes the game really fun especially when you have double SMG's that is my favorite combination its not the most powerful combination but i like using two fully automatic SMG's at the same time. The single player itself is fairly long its about 10 - 15 hours thats how long it took me but it really depends on what difficulty you play it on.overall the games is pretty good it is a must have for your xbox games collection this is one of the best FPS games i've played so far this game is worth $50 or $55 if u got the collectors edition..haha.. but chyeah i guess this ends my review hope i helped you with my review. Expand
  6. FrankS.
    Nov 12, 2004
    9
    I give Halo 2 a 9 for several reasons. I feel that the game delivered on it's gameplay, but the storyline in my opinion is terrible. You are constantly switching from master chief to the arbitor. They should have had a section where you could pick one character and play through with him to see what happens... then play it all over again with the other character. Graphics are GREAT I give Halo 2 a 9 for several reasons. I feel that the game delivered on it's gameplay, but the storyline in my opinion is terrible. You are constantly switching from master chief to the arbitor. They should have had a section where you could pick one character and play through with him to see what happens... then play it all over again with the other character. Graphics are GREAT and gameplay is AWESOME!!! but the storyline sucks.... I could not follow what was going on because they constantly jump around, and the last level I'm not going to ruin anything, I thought the last level was a drag for one reason and one reason only and you will all know once you beat the game. Expand
  7. EddieP.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This game is f...king great man to all those that gave this game a low score must be on something other than drugs or sniffing something other than crack. I like the way you use the guns in this one I wish they had it where you could switch to your other gun with out having to drop the two guns in your hand other then that this game is great I can't wait for part 3 to come out.
  8. KirkD.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    The incredible thing about Halo 2 is well....everything. The game just consumes you throughout every aspect. I wasnt disappointed with the length of the game only because it was so good that I am willing to go back and play it again and again. Also it is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. The online is just incredible and it is just plain fun to play period. Even though I am The incredible thing about Halo 2 is well....everything. The game just consumes you throughout every aspect. I wasnt disappointed with the length of the game only because it was so good that I am willing to go back and play it again and again. Also it is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. The online is just incredible and it is just plain fun to play period. Even though I am already itching for Halo 3, Im sure ill be just fine with this until the day comes. This is one for the ages. Expand
  9. GabeY.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!!! Just playing it for a couple hours at my friends house made me addicted. Much harder than the first, but using the duel wield kicks ass!
  10. CameronS.
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever. Bettered Halo in most repects, but the melee attacks are not as fluid as before in the combat, and its too damn short. Also Bungie offered so many more vehicles than what they gave. Great fun, but I think perfection will wait for Halo 3.
  11. WayneF.
    Nov 14, 2004
    9
    If I had never played the original Halo, this game would be the coolest, toughest, meanest, best game ever. However, I know all the tricks now and this game , in single player mode, isn't too much of a challenge. But its still Halo and even better than the first. Nice vehicles and weapons. I really want that energy sword. Unfortunately, the ending made me want to scream, i've If I had never played the original Halo, this game would be the coolest, toughest, meanest, best game ever. However, I know all the tricks now and this game , in single player mode, isn't too much of a challenge. But its still Halo and even better than the first. Nice vehicles and weapons. I really want that energy sword. Unfortunately, the ending made me want to scream, i've already cursed Bungie via email. When is Halo 3 due??!! Now back to practising on Legendary before inviting the mates around for multiplayer madness. Expand
  12. Jelly_Bean_Man
    Nov 15, 2004
    8
    Come on people. This is not the super super super super...(you get the point) game you all think it is. It's like Microsoft got so high off it's power that it ignored the people that claimed there was something wrong with the first game and just continued making Halo 2. It's makes me wonder if they made them both straight after the other without listening to people's Come on people. This is not the super super super super...(you get the point) game you all think it is. It's like Microsoft got so high off it's power that it ignored the people that claimed there was something wrong with the first game and just continued making Halo 2. It's makes me wonder if they made them both straight after the other without listening to people's complaints. Now, you're probably wondering, why did I give this game an 8. Well, I didn't say it was a bad game. On the contrary, the multiplayer is excellent, and the use of vehicles is very smart thoroughout the game, so is the A.I. However, the same problems emerge from the last game. Balance issues: you can murder someone by hitting them with a pistol but not die after being shot with an machine gun 3000000 times. Level layout: the same repetitiveness and not enough freedom in the single player mode suffer even more in the second game. Also, the story ending is crap, I'm sure even the most addicted Halo fan will agree to that. It makes people not want to replay the single player mode ever again. For multiplayer though, Halo 2 stands with the biggest of them. However, I believe Unreal and Half Life just handle things better, not like the big-headed people at Microsoft, who believed the first people who said it was the greatest game ever and never listened to anyone else afterward. However, if it is storyline and single player you're looking for, get Unreal 2, not Halo. All in all, the Halo brainwashed people will enjoy this indefinitely, but for the people who actually think, rent this before you get it, see if you can overlook the giangantic gripes some people have. Expand
  13. AramisG.
    Nov 15, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] I own just about every system and I would say am only a fan-boy of good games not of systems. This game was good and I enjoyed it, but I also think it is down right negligent to give any game you can beat in 6 hrs (while literally walking through the last levels) a 10 out of 10. I really, really wish gaming magazines would address the overly short gaming problem for what[***SPOILERS***] I own just about every system and I would say am only a fan-boy of good games not of systems. This game was good and I enjoyed it, but I also think it is down right negligent to give any game you can beat in 6 hrs (while literally walking through the last levels) a 10 out of 10. I really, really wish gaming magazines would address the overly short gaming problem for what it is no matter what franchise they are reviewing. Here is my review: Pros 1. A really solid story (except for the ending and some plot holes). 2. Great addictive gameplay augmented by cool weapons. 3. I really enjoyed being the arbiter, even more than being Master Chief. 4. Some of the vistas in this game are really breath-taking and add a feeling of urgency to the mission at hand. 5. Minimized combat with the Flood (they are really just annoying gun fodder compared to the Covenant). Cons 1. Way to short. I am really done with games that are over just when you are beginning to enjoy them. 2. This game looked way better in pictures. It still looks good, but I was expecting better. (What is up with the Brutes looking like overweight country bears instead of their original gorilla-esque design?) 3. Not much else to do except shoot at enemies or drive. Other than a few new enemy types (snipers & drones) it is the same as Halo 1. 4. The AI is over-hyped (In order for my AI comrades to be smart enough not to walk out into sniper fire I have to sacrifice my own shield strength?). 5. This game still has incredibly repetitive level design. There are still millions of pointless corridors and long drawn out chases. Expand
  14. MattR.
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    This game is sooo coool! i would have given it a 10 if bungie didnt lie to us about all that stuff like....the atv, peeking around conors, sprinting, doing combo mele attacks, the 4 different types of warthogs and being able to shoot out lights and hide in the shadows. there was not 1 light that i could shoot out. oo ya and that third granade. that wasnt in it either.
  15. Michael
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Best game out for Xbox.
  16. JohnC.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    I used to hate halo now I am a big fan of it.
  17. NathanT.
    Nov 17, 2004
    5
    Come on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyoneCome on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyone wants u to believe, eh? Expand
  18. Guardian
    Nov 19, 2004
    7
    This is a awesome game. The dual guns the energy sword. Awesome. But the game is just to short. This game is pretty much only good when you have X-box live.
  19. Niko
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Veri kuud keim. kuud kraphiks änd saunds änd multipleier änd tms.
  20. ZakA.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    One if not da sickest game eva.
  21. SteveB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    [*** SPOILER***] Good action, great story, cool weapons, great characters... but... TOO D*MN SHORT !!! When MC says he's here to "finish the fight" but then the credits roll, I was INSULTED.
  22. StephenS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    It lived up to expectations with a more frentic and less repetitive single player. LIVE plays as good as it gets and the MP maps are a must!
  23. BigD
    Nov 29, 2004
    7
    Good Game. Didn't live up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. I wouldn't go as far as some people to say that I'm trading my X-box for a PS2, but it's not as good as I hoped. A few things that come to mind that were disappointing to me were: 1.) I was hoping there would be more battling on earth. I thougth the main plot of the game was going to be the Covenant Good Game. Didn't live up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. I wouldn't go as far as some people to say that I'm trading my X-box for a PS2, but it's not as good as I hoped. A few things that come to mind that were disappointing to me were: 1.) I was hoping there would be more battling on earth. I thougth the main plot of the game was going to be the Covenant invading earth. So I figured there would be more action on the city streets and buildings of earth cities. Instead we are back on alien planets and mother ships like the original Halo. 2.) When I play Halo, whether it's the first Halo or Halo 2, I am playing to kick ass with Master Chief, not to spend half the game playing as a character that is an enemy of the humans. This was a major disappointment for me. Some people I know weren't bothered by that, but it rubbed me wrong. The game is still a good entertaining game and worth the money to me, but I was definitely expecting a little more. Expand
  24. Dbl90
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    So far, reading all the reviews, I've seen three things. The first, is that it is a perfect game, the second it is a terrible game, and the third that it doesn't matter how good it is, the developers tried. I'd like to inform you that they are all wrong. To walk down memory lane, the original Halo was a great game, even the non-FPS lover would probably eventually have to So far, reading all the reviews, I've seen three things. The first, is that it is a perfect game, the second it is a terrible game, and the third that it doesn't matter how good it is, the developers tried. I'd like to inform you that they are all wrong. To walk down memory lane, the original Halo was a great game, even the non-FPS lover would probably eventually have to admit its brilliance. I had high expectations for Halo 2...along with the dread of a long time gaming tradition...the bad sequel. The fact that it is a sequel, and most people know the original, I shall point out what has changed. Halo 2 has some pretty intresting new features, the most novel of which is playing as an elite, with cloaking. I quite enjoyed dual weilding, especially needlers, and brought a good deal of variation to the game, even though one could not melee while not dual weilding. Also, I quite liked the intoduction of of the plasma sword, and the brute shot, which made melee combat somthing that was a possibility. The vehicles now start taking visual physical damage when shot. The sound and graphics are pretty nice, and the companion marines you take with you can be funny, although I have to admit one of the voices really ended up getting to me. Where this game really comes through, is in the multiplayer, and although I think perfer the levels in the original halo, the fact that Halo 2 is live enabled makes it great. No more having to call everyone I know to see if they could drop by to play multiplayer. The only downside is that Halo multiplay is definately not geared twoard a small group, and some levels are just too rediculously big and unweildy for two, three, or even four. Apart from these small innvations I can't really say there is too much going for this game. I really don't like how the weapons were redone, maybe it is just personal taste, but my whole style of gameplay from the original Halo was really messed up with my favorite weapons becoming quite useless. The story line, while starting off pretty intrestingly, end up bieng a bit stale, and it is the typical lrun and gun style game. The highest incentive for replay is the differant difficulty modes, which unlike in most games, make quite a big deal of differance. Go from easy to legendary....and you'll probably throw your controller down cursing when you try to melee that elite to death. The removal of any proof that one beat the game on legendary removes any bragging rights, which, is somwhat of a loss. The game shines through, but it isn't a revultion in the FPS , it isn't a classic like the orginal halo, and maybe it is a bit worse , but this is by all means not a bad game. Definately worth a rental, this is one of those games everyone else has, and probably would serve somone much better to go to play a friends copy. This deserves to be recognized as one of the better consol FPSs of the year, but does it deserve a us to serenade it with praises night and day? I think not. Dbl90 Expand
  25. CameronE.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Halo 2 is a great game. yes you should buy it for your self, a friend or for your kid/kids.
  26. PerryL.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    I am sure most of the people who have rated this game are PS2 people, this game is amazing and definitely worth buying if you like FPS.
  27. JosephC.
    Dec 17, 2004
    8
    Halo 2 is an awesome game. While it is a bit too short, and not as good as Halo: Combat Evolved, it still delivers as a game.
  28. JamesD.
    Dec 21, 2004
    9
    This is one of the best games ever. there are somethings that i did not like about it which is why i didnt give it a 10 but if some minor changes were made to this game it would be the greatest game ever.
  29. Aznkyd
    Dec 25, 2004
    8
    This game is extremely fun in split screen, system link or online...but the story campaign wasn't that excitting. I got soo fustrated that grunts seem to have fully-automatic plasma pistols....they shoot at u like crazy in every lvl..the storyline wasn't that good either..but it was a great experience...
  30. BobG.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    One of the best game eva. cant be one of the classic though like the original halo. And it doesnt have that halo feeling anymore. It has the I want to kik alien ass all the way to their galaxy feeling. Still good though.The reason I gave it a 10 becuz it has new weapons, and some of the old ones got upgraded like rocketluancher and other stuff other then the pistol a.k.a magumn, newOne of the best game eva. cant be one of the classic though like the original halo. And it doesnt have that halo feeling anymore. It has the I want to kik alien ass all the way to their galaxy feeling. Still good though.The reason I gave it a 10 becuz it has new weapons, and some of the old ones got upgraded like rocketluancher and other stuff other then the pistol a.k.a magumn, new veichles like the new warthog and FINALLY u could use the wraith. I could go on for days of how this game rox but i leave it short. masterchief would need a weapon for halo3 i dont disappoint me BUNGIE!!! Expand
  31. JohnnyC.
    Dec 26, 2004
    6
    Omfg...this game is not all dat good.the ending was horrific,and the multiplayer is so noobish!the only thing that is ok on here is mayb xboxlive.and another thing.WTF WHERE THE ATV'S?!
  32. JeffP.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    it is the best graphic i have seen since halo 1 and i know what i am saying when i say Halo 2 is the best game off the year and just might be for many more.
  33. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    A top 5 game of all time for me. I could play this for hours and I would never get tired of it. Even if I got hungry and weak, I wouldn't find a faullt with this game. It's revolutionary. It's just one of those "perfect" games.
  34. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    Halo 2 ramps up the drama but manages to stay a good shooter. It gets the balance right. Halo 2 introduces duel wielding for the first time in the series and is unique in story mode for letting you play as both the hero master chief and anti hero arbiter.
  35. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Upon its release Halo quickly established itself as the original Xbox's killer exclusive and this highly anticipated sequel arrived three years later amongst huge fanfare. Fortunately, while it did not exactly reinvent the FPS genre, it more than lived up to the hype providing an excellent evolution of the close to flawless original. Single player, co-op play and online Vs modes are allUpon its release Halo quickly established itself as the original Xbox's killer exclusive and this highly anticipated sequel arrived three years later amongst huge fanfare. Fortunately, while it did not exactly reinvent the FPS genre, it more than lived up to the hype providing an excellent evolution of the close to flawless original. Single player, co-op play and online Vs modes are all accounted for and anyone that enjoys the FPS genre won't be disappointed with what they find here. Expand
  36. May 22, 2011
    10
    This is just about the best Halo ever made. I mean seriously, there have been Halos after this, Halo 3, Halo ODST, and Reach. But from all of the Halos I've played, (which are Halo 2, Halo 3, and Halo: Reach) this one is the best.
  37. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    Trying to be as unbiased as I can about this game, but over the years Halo 2 has wormed its way into my heart as one of the best games I have ever played. As a first person shooter the controls and core mechanics are an updated and improved upon version of Halo Combat Evolved which gives you more ways to kill aliens than before! But in all seriousness it's not the gameplay, or theTrying to be as unbiased as I can about this game, but over the years Halo 2 has wormed its way into my heart as one of the best games I have ever played. As a first person shooter the controls and core mechanics are an updated and improved upon version of Halo Combat Evolved which gives you more ways to kill aliens than before! But in all seriousness it's not the gameplay, or the multiplayer that makes this game so great, it's the immense and absolutely incredible story. The contrast of Master chief returning as a hero and Thel Vadamee (The Arbiter) returning in disgrace. The way Master Chief does what he always does kicks ass and saves the day, but then The Arbiter introduces himself as Master Chief's opposite. Through a twisting tale of redemption and betrayal we get a first hand look at the mysterious enemy The Covenant that we certainly didn't get in the first game. Through all this the Arbiter becomes the symbol of the Sangheili rebellion, we see the beginning of the downfall of the covenant as well as the Profit of Truth's true nature and motivations. The game brings our two heroes together and forces bitter enemies to become cold allies in a great storytelling arc. Now an issue with this game as a standalone game is the cliffhanger ending, because of this it opened itself to success or failure from a writing standpoint based on how Halo 3 turned out. Because Halo 3 concluded the story well and brought everything to a close it forces us to look at the entire trilogy as a whole and I would say that in the greater context Halo 2 looks to shine the greatest of them (especially with the Anniversary version). Looking back I would describe this as a perfect game, it's so much more than just another first person shooter it's an epic masterpiece. Expand
  38. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    Probably my favourite games of all time. The campaign was amazing and a turn for a more serious tone from halo 1. Multiplayer was revolutionary for its time and infinitely fun. Music was excellent and really set the tone while the graphics for it's time were also incredible. Generally one of the greatest games of all time.
  39. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the one of the best shooter games of all time, and the best game in the Halo series. Halo 2 is kind of the filler game between halo:CE and Halo 3. Halo 2 has the player play was Master chief (The main character from all of the good halo games) and as the Arbiter. I really liked how they allowed you to experience both sides of the game lore. You saw the struggle to save humanity, and the insanity behind the prophets great journey. Fight along side elites and grunt and riding in phantoms was awesome. My favorite part about Halo 2 was high charity. The city is huge and looked awesome. Oh, and you cannot forget about the amazing soundtrack.... Was just great.. Expand
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is hands the down the best game ever. I don't care about Zelda, Call of Duty, or even the other Halos when this game is brought up. It is so good it is at it's own level of phenomenal. One of the best stories I have ever played. The multiplayer is great and Bungie is the GOD of video games and Microsoft is amazing. People can disagree with me but I know right now a ton of peopleThis game is hands the down the best game ever. I don't care about Zelda, Call of Duty, or even the other Halos when this game is brought up. It is so good it is at it's own level of phenomenal. One of the best stories I have ever played. The multiplayer is great and Bungie is the GOD of video games and Microsoft is amazing. People can disagree with me but I know right now a ton of people who agree with exactly everything I have said in this post. Expand
  41. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo 2 was a gigantic improvement from Halo: Combat Evolved, and that's extremely commendable because Halo: Combat Evolved was a masterpiece in itself. It's difficult to improve something when the original was nearly perfect. (Look at Bioshock 2 for an example of failed improvement.)

    Halo 2 might not have had the best story, but the fun factor the game offered was outstanding. The game was especially fun with couch co-op. It's also good to mention that this is the only Halo game where you play on the Covenant's side. Halo 2 also has the longest Halo campaign to date. Now, every game has it's flaws, and Halo 2 isn't spared from them. As mentioned before, story-wise, you get absolutely nothing done in the game. You discover a Halo ring, and prevent it from firing. That's pretty much the gist of it. Because of that, the 15 chapter campaign (again, longest Halo campaign to date) was pointless. However, it was still interesting. I guess you could say that the entire game was just a lead-up to Halo 3. The ending of the game was also not very great. But let's just put all of that behind and focus on what made Halo 2 such a success: Halo 2 took all of the fun from the first Halo, brought it over and enhanced it. Halo 2 all in all was loads of fun, and in the end isn't that what a game is supposed to be?
    Expand
  42. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Halo: Combat Evolved was always going to hard to follow up and Halo 2 almost manages it. The sprawling environments return, so do the covenant, so does the flood in fact so does everything. It feels like a copy and paste at times with very few gameplay changes and very few variations in environment. However what it does well is it brings the intergalactic war well and truly home and turnsHalo: Combat Evolved was always going to hard to follow up and Halo 2 almost manages it. The sprawling environments return, so do the covenant, so does the flood in fact so does everything. It feels like a copy and paste at times with very few gameplay changes and very few variations in environment. However what it does well is it brings the intergalactic war well and truly home and turns up the epicness to 11. Invading giant mobile covenant bases, assaulting a hanging city before it falls into the depths below and a story to bonkers that you get far too in over your head and it feels right! Halo 2 is by no means as good as Halo:CE but it damn well comes close. Expand
  43. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    This game is the sequel to one of the best game of all time! Great campaign, really fun missions and you can play as the Arbiter in some missions. Multiplayer is just amazing and improved on the multiplayer (BT). And halo 4 will be awesome, HALO FTW!!!!!!! Halo 2 9.6/10
  44. May 5, 2012
    8
    Halo 2 adds several mechanical achievements over Halo:CE, as well as continues the incredible story arc the first began. What is loses is the originality of the first without introducing enough new elements to feel completely fresh. This is understandable, considering what a feat the first game was and how soon after this game was released. Again, graphics and controls stand up well,Halo 2 adds several mechanical achievements over Halo:CE, as well as continues the incredible story arc the first began. What is loses is the originality of the first without introducing enough new elements to feel completely fresh. This is understandable, considering what a feat the first game was and how soon after this game was released. Again, graphics and controls stand up well, even after a considerable amount of time. The Soundtrack from any Halo game is incredible, and this one is no different. For the completionist, this game on Legendary is, in my opinion, the hardest of all the Halo games, CE to Reach. Overall, a great continuation that just failed to deliver enough new material to be the greatest. Expand
  45. May 7, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Bungie really did an Awsome job with halo 2. It has the best soundtrack in the series, and introduced some exiting gameplay elements like boss fights and hidden skulls to find. I really enjoyed the master chief's new suit of armor as well. No longer will you have to look all over the levels for health packs. Your mark vi completely brings you back to full health and negatesAmazing game. Bungie really did an Awsome job with halo 2. It has the best soundtrack in the series, and introduced some exiting gameplay elements like boss fights and hidden skulls to find. I really enjoyed the master chief's new suit of armor as well. No longer will you have to look all over the levels for health packs. Your mark vi completely brings you back to full health and negates fall damage. I will continue to play this game untill the day I die. I will play it with my future children as well. Expand
  46. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    I have done my halo 1 review and now it is time to move onto the best of the series. It is important to point out that I am only basing this review on the singleplayer as I didn't manage to play the multiplayer before it was shut down, shame because I heard it was the best in the series :/. Anyway onto the review, the games plot is great with some good voice acting and cutscenes added intoI have done my halo 1 review and now it is time to move onto the best of the series. It is important to point out that I am only basing this review on the singleplayer as I didn't manage to play the multiplayer before it was shut down, shame because I heard it was the best in the series :/. Anyway onto the review, the games plot is great with some good voice acting and cutscenes added into it, the gameplay is still as great as always and (again) the music and sound effects are where it is at, they went for an electric guitar in the music this time as opposed to the choir in the original and it pays off as it makes for great action music. 10/10 (I have redeemed myself for the halo 1 review) Expand
  47. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    A fantastic and welcome addition to the Halo universe. The gameplay has changed in a very positive way with the ability to dual wield and the addition of the sword. For fans of the original, get the sequel.
  48. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An improvement on the first game. I enjoyed the Covenant parts of the game and I had no problem with the cliff-hanger ending. Needless to say that fans of the first game will enjoy this. Expand
  49. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Halo 2 to this day is one of the greatest games I have ever played. And to my personal opinion it is the best Halo game. There was such hype for this game upon release because the first Halo redefined the FPS genre and put Xbox on the map so much was expected of this game, and it did not disappoint. It returned with some innovative features such as dual wielding weapons, hi-jackingHalo 2 to this day is one of the greatest games I have ever played. And to my personal opinion it is the best Halo game. There was such hype for this game upon release because the first Halo redefined the FPS genre and put Xbox on the map so much was expected of this game, and it did not disappoint. It returned with some innovative features such as dual wielding weapons, hi-jacking enemy vehicles and new weapons. This may not seem like a big deal but it really did change the experience.

    It not only tells the story of the main character Master Chief but also a new protagonist called the Arbiter. He is a disgraced Elite from the Covenant who has been given one last chance to redeem himself. Some people did not like the Arbiter's side of the story but personally I felt it was the highlight of the game, the political struggle for the Covenant was incredibly interesting. In my eyes its an almost faultless game, the most fun I have ever endured in a campaign and had the best and most intriguing story line.

    10/10
    Expand
  50. Nov 30, 2015
    10
    The multiplayer in this game was even better than Halo: Combat Evolved. Take Combat Evolved, add in even more unforgettable maps which would be redone a million times for the next Halo games, and improve on everything from the first game and you've got the best Halo game ever made. Spent countless hours on Xbox Live playing this. I've never seen better maps in a FPS game before and I'veThe multiplayer in this game was even better than Halo: Combat Evolved. Take Combat Evolved, add in even more unforgettable maps which would be redone a million times for the next Halo games, and improve on everything from the first game and you've got the best Halo game ever made. Spent countless hours on Xbox Live playing this. I've never seen better maps in a FPS game before and I've played them all since the first Unreal Tournament.

    The single player campaign was a 9/10 for me, but the perfectly balanced multiplayer and maps turns this into a 10. The only problem was the damn modem hackers that would make your game freeze and they would get an instant win for their team.
    Expand
  51. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    Following up Halo: Combat Evolved is no small feat. Luckily, Halo 2 was open to the challenge and succeeded in every way. The multiplayer speaks for itself. The only nitpick is the brevity of the campaign and the cliffhanger ending. Still, the campaign, while short, is incredibly original containing a twist you will never see coming.
  52. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Awesome game, improvement over the first in some ways. The only reason I dinged it down a notch was because I hated the missions when you were forced to be an alien, I rushed through them and didn't enjoy them at all. Multiplayer was also awesome, loved the introduction to the BR in this game.
  53. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    For me this was a massive disappointment from the original Halo coming out a few years earlier. But don't ignore this epic AAA title, it is still worth a purchase. But again I recommend the PC version over the Xbox version.
  54. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game will make your dick hard and thats not a lie. You can debate on weather this halo or halo 3 being the best halo. The gameplay was insane. Did I mention it makes your dick hard?
  55. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Greatest game i have ever played. Matchmaking in this game was so much fun, plus I would play hours on end with friends in private games. The campaign was awesome, you get to drive around in a tank, drop in a pod from space, survive a flood onslaught, basically anything you could want to do in a Halo game. NO game has had better multiplayer, and NO sequel has lived up to its name period.Greatest game i have ever played. Matchmaking in this game was so much fun, plus I would play hours on end with friends in private games. The campaign was awesome, you get to drive around in a tank, drop in a pod from space, survive a flood onslaught, basically anything you could want to do in a Halo game. NO game has had better multiplayer, and NO sequel has lived up to its name period. We wouldn't have GOW, COD, or any modern first person shooter without this game happening. Game summed up by emoney "This game will make your dick hard." Microsoft can GO TO HELL for taking off this games multiplayer and ruining the series with Halo 3 and 4. 3 wasn't bad but 4 is unplayable. Expand
  56. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    better then the first one in my view but still have the feeling that the levels arren't changing at all there's not much variety between rooms
    the campaign itzelf is good you play again with masterchief and for the first time with a sanghieli called arbiter now you can explore new dimensions of gameplay with too different story working their way together
    +:cool looking sights +:good
    better then the first one in my view but still have the feeling that the levels arren't changing at all there's not much variety between rooms
    the campaign itzelf is good you play again with masterchief and for the first time with a sanghieli called arbiter now you can explore new dimensions of gameplay with too different story working their way together
    +:cool looking sights
    +:good campaign
    +:awesome characters
    +:multiplayer options
    -:dark rooms
    -:no variety in levels
    Expand
  57. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    This is probably the weakest of the main series Halo games. It's not bad, it just doesn't do much. The story is far weaker than the first Halo, the combat isn't much different, and the graphics are only a little better. The only improvement here is the multiplayer, however that alone can't make a game good. All around, it was disappointing.
  58. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    OMG I miss this game, this was the first game I modded in which so I can fly the Pelican. I love this game with a passion can really hoping they could bring the Dual make into the Halo Series.
  59. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    First the campaign has added skulls and is thrilling but the story is not as good as the original and the ending isn't as disappointing as ME3's ending it ruins the campaign.
    While the campaign is worth a 7 the multiplayer is so strong and back then matchmaking didn't exsist and online console gaming was terrible bu this made it amazing
  60. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    After nine years and counting, Halo 2 still remains one of the best (If not the best) first person shooters of all time. The sequel to the 2001 hit "Halo: Combat Evolved" not only keeps all of the characteristics that made the first game great, but also adds new exciting features including the ability of hijacking vehicles, dual wielding, and multiplayer. Halo 2 looks pretty good for aAfter nine years and counting, Halo 2 still remains one of the best (If not the best) first person shooters of all time. The sequel to the 2001 hit "Halo: Combat Evolved" not only keeps all of the characteristics that made the first game great, but also adds new exciting features including the ability of hijacking vehicles, dual wielding, and multiplayer. Halo 2 looks pretty good for a 2004 game, but Halo is best known for its gameplay, not its graphics. To no surprise, Halo 2 is an amazing game that deserves to sit in every nerds collection. Expand
  61. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    The best Halo in my honest opinion, no game has thus far been able to beat this games amazing story, amazing gameplay and amazing characters. This is where the amazing halo games ended and started going down the hill.
  62. May 26, 2013
    10
    This was the first Halo game Iv'e played on the Xbox when I was young and this one will always be the best Halo game in the franchise! Dual wielding weapons in this game was exciting, especially with SMG's, which were my favorite weapons in the entire game. Just to bad that Halo 3 didn't have the same spark this one had.
  63. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    The 2nd instalment of Halo throws players straight back to the shoes of chief after the cliff hanging ending of Halo: Combat evolved. Your in for one hell of a ride, once again as its now to fight to keep earth alive. You will be forced to make allies with the unexpected for the hopes of keeping humanity alive. Halo continues to be the best shooter of the generation with this excellent follow up.
  64. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Es un gran juego, después de su primera parte HALO COMBAT ENVOLVED(RECOMENDADO) estuve ansioso por jugar su segunda parte HALO 2, me sorprendió como un gran juego persiste en su gran variabilidad de juegos y sigue aun así siendo un muy buen juego sin des meritar las excelentes gráficas que para ese año eran y son muy buenas.
  65. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    A game with such an incredibly memorable online multiplayer that it far outweighs any problems within the campaign. Halo 2 multiplayer was the greatest combination of fun with friends and competitive play ever achieved in a console or PC game. For one to have not experienced the multiplayer of Halo 2 means they have missed out on what may possible be the best online multiplayer game of ourA game with such an incredibly memorable online multiplayer that it far outweighs any problems within the campaign. Halo 2 multiplayer was the greatest combination of fun with friends and competitive play ever achieved in a console or PC game. For one to have not experienced the multiplayer of Halo 2 means they have missed out on what may possible be the best online multiplayer game of our generation. The defining game of the xbox and many consoles to come. Expand
  66. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Halo 2 succeeds in raising the stakes and pushing further into the human races battle for survival. It has new weapons, new characters, and even gives us more insight into the covenant. Microsoft pushed up the release date for Halo 2 and it shows throughout the game. Characters and textures blink in late in cut scenes, brutes take ridiculous amounts of damage without flinching, and aHalo 2 succeeds in raising the stakes and pushing further into the human races battle for survival. It has new weapons, new characters, and even gives us more insight into the covenant. Microsoft pushed up the release date for Halo 2 and it shows throughout the game. Characters and textures blink in late in cut scenes, brutes take ridiculous amounts of damage without flinching, and a cliffhanger ending tops it off. Even with all that this game still manages to be one heck of an awesome experience. Expand
  67. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Great game! A must have. Halo 3 outdid Halo 2, but that was something expected it being developed by Bungie. You can never go wrong by getting Bungie-developed games.
  68. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Halo 2 pioneered many grounds that laid the framework for today's FPS console gaming. The development of skill based ranking systems, smart playlists, multiplayer map design and gametypes. The multiplayer was revolutionary for its time - and this was all on top of a emotionally charged, non-linear plot campaign, with the most epic score to ever accompany a video game. Halo 2 came from aHalo 2 pioneered many grounds that laid the framework for today's FPS console gaming. The development of skill based ranking systems, smart playlists, multiplayer map design and gametypes. The multiplayer was revolutionary for its time - and this was all on top of a emotionally charged, non-linear plot campaign, with the most epic score to ever accompany a video game. Halo 2 came from a time when people put their heart and sole into developing video games because they cared about the player, before everyone was worried about your wallet. Bungie listened to the feedback of its players, patched its bugs, and released quality DLC that was worth the money.

    Thank you Bungie, this game was one hell of a ride.
    Expand
  69. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    Tier 1
    + Improves on the single-player and multiplayer gameplay of the first installment in every way
    + Defined near perfection in online matchmaking multiplayer play
    ? Some people find the narrative and inclusion of the Arbiter odd, but this and many other things showed a brave step forwards in the development of the franchise by Bungie
  70. Sep 9, 2015
    9
    The campaign was good but not perfect. The multiplayer however is 11/10. Matchmaking, teamwork, gameplay are revolutionary. With the release of Halo 2 Anniversary you can see how well ahead of its time it was. All it needed was a graphical tweak.
  71. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo 2 is an improvement on every aspect of the Halo franchise: Slighly better AI, new Xbox Live multiplayer, dual wielding weapons, a better Co-Op and better graphics. There are no weak areas in Halo 2. It is a milestone in the gendre that is FPS.
  72. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    my personal favorite halo it had a great and bad-ass story it had revolutionary graphics for the time and the multiplayer. This game set the bar for fps multiplayer very fun even now so happy 343 is making it on the Xbox one.Overall great game no flaws just buy it on the Xbox one not the original
  73. Oct 23, 2016
    9
    This is where the multiplayer started getting hype. Thanks to Bungie doing an almost perfect game, no other game have made an addictive multiplayer game. Halo 2 kicked ass back then, and it still does.
  74. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This was the first game I ever played, and by far one of the BEST games I ever played. Lets say I was on an island for the rest of my life and I could only bring one game my choices would be this one, gta 5 or assassins creed black flag. I would not only recommend, it but I would say its a must have for halos.
  75. Oct 11, 2015
    9
    At the end of 2004 when the first time I played this game on my XBox, I was so fascinated with graphics and gameplay. Really real as animated films. Until now, this is still best games ever with good graphics, gameplay, and story.
  76. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    This review cover Halo 2: Anniversary included in the Master Chief Collection for XBox One.

    Before you think I'm all hyped about this game, you can check my review for the previous game, Halo CE. I gave it a 7 and I was very hard on it. Now, this is probably the best, or at least top 3, FPS I ever played. Everything I critiqued about the first Halo game has been greatly improved in
    This review cover Halo 2: Anniversary included in the Master Chief Collection for XBox One.

    Before you think I'm all hyped about this game, you can check my review for the previous game, Halo CE. I gave it a 7 and I was very hard on it.

    Now, this is probably the best, or at least top 3, FPS I ever played. Everything I critiqued about the first Halo game has been greatly improved in this sequel.

    - Graphics and Music: they are really nice and the remastered version represents a major upgrade.

    - Story: while I considered that Halo CE had failed miserably at making the story interesting, Halo 2 hooks you from the very first minute with an amazing opening cutscene, and remains the same throughout the entire game. In addition to the great cutscenes, you play as a Covenant outcast, and you get to know the beauty of the Covenant cities, the complexity of their society, and how fragile this allegiance really is.

    - Gameplay: this time we have 15 missions which take between 30 and 45 minutes each. You'll change players between missions, so this will also help keep the game fresh.

    - Combat Mechanics: I considered this the weakest aspect of the previous Halo. I could say that this has been improved so much. Not only there are more weapons available, but now dual-wielding is also possible. Additionally, Master Chief's agility has been enhanced, which allows faster combat sequences. It's cool that you cannot throw grenades while carrying 2 weapons because, while being stronger on 1 on 1 situations, you have to be more careful when facing crowds.

    - Level Design: levels are varied and many of them have been designed with vehicles as the central element. From making your way through highways to combats in space. You even ride a tank through ancient ruins. During a considerable number of sequences we have different factions fighting each other. These are probably the parts I enjoyed the most. It really showed us how complex this universe is.

    - Enemies: We have basically the same enemies that we encounter the first time. Additionally we'll have to deal with the tough Brutes.

    - Weaponry: these are also the same we got in the first game, with a few exceptions. In my opinion, the weaker weapons have been balanced and now you can have fun with either of them.

    - Vehicles and Turrets: this is probably what I enjoyed the most about this game. I'm really glad to see a FPS in which vehicles are so important.
    Expand
  77. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    9.5 out of 10 a complete game has everything and is just EPIC................................................................................................................................................................................Play it if you haven't already
  78. Feb 7, 2016
    8
    Halo 2 is an excellent game, a worthy sequel to CE. The graphics have been improved massively, and the gameplay is much better too. There is a heap of new weapons, and Master Chief moves around quicker than he did in CE. The online multiplayer is an absolute blast too. Buy this game on the MCC if you have not already.
  79. Jul 29, 2015
    8
    This took Halo: CEs formula and doubled on it which made for an experience significantly more fun than the first, dual wielding weapons against a horde of covenant that are as violent as me? give me that.
  80. May 27, 2016
    10
    Shooters don't get as good as this. Halo 2 improved on the already amazing Halo Combat Evolved in nearly every way.

    *More refined gameplay
    *More weapons
    *Better graphics
    *Better multiplayer
    *Better story

    This game was truly a masterpiece. Grab Master Chief Collection if you haven't played it yet.
  81. Jul 9, 2015
    10
    The only reason I have An xbox...the game is easy to play and has such a rich storyline. The weapons are easy to use, and the enemy looks great. One of my favorite games.
  82. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    While Halo 2 for the original Xbox may be fading from the public memory, it will never fully fade from mine. I remember as a tween the absolute and total madness I felt waiting for this game. It is to this day the game I desired the most before I got the chance to play it. I sunk days of my youth engaged in the second installment of one of video gaming's greatest franchises. With anWhile Halo 2 for the original Xbox may be fading from the public memory, it will never fully fade from mine. I remember as a tween the absolute and total madness I felt waiting for this game. It is to this day the game I desired the most before I got the chance to play it. I sunk days of my youth engaged in the second installment of one of video gaming's greatest franchises. With an absurdly great campaign somehow bettered by what, in my opinion, is the greatest multiplayer (both online and off) ever, Halo 2 is a Top 5 video game of all-time for me with no question, and may be number 1 with some reflection.

    If you think you're a gamer, and you want to know what gaming is in its essence, you owe it to yourself to play Halo 2 in its original, purest glory. It is nothing short of absolutely legendary.
    Expand
  83. Oct 14, 2015
    10
    Halo 2 is a really good game. The graphics may be a little bit bad but only because the game was made in 2004. I would recommend Halo 2 because it’s not any 3rd person shooter like Call of Duty it’s different from that because it’s made up weapons, grenades, Armour, and different maps that are out of SC-Fi film.
    I would also recommend Halo 2 because even if you don’t play SC-FI games this
    Halo 2 is a really good game. The graphics may be a little bit bad but only because the game was made in 2004. I would recommend Halo 2 because it’s not any 3rd person shooter like Call of Duty it’s different from that because it’s made up weapons, grenades, Armour, and different maps that are out of SC-Fi film.
    I would also recommend Halo 2 because even if you don’t play SC-FI games this would be a good game to get in to and enjoy. I would recommend this game to young kids and teenagers but adults can play it as well teenagers but it the game is mainly for teenagers.
    Expand
  84. Nov 3, 2015
    10
    Halo 2 is so amazing. It has le gratest story ever and the BXR is dank. I love halo 2. The graphics is 1337. The campign is so memorable. I love halo 2. Halo 2 has the best maps in Halo and it is 420 times better than halo 4 and 5 combiened.
  85. Mar 30, 2016
    10
    Basically my parents were very irresponsible, they let me play Halo before i even went to kindergarten, but i can tell you, as a kid and now as i am older i still enjoy it. The fact that Halo CE was good shows that Halo 2 should be better, and it was, for the first time you could play as the opposite side as the Arbiter, the hero of the Covenant destined for death. But the beautiful recipeBasically my parents were very irresponsible, they let me play Halo before i even went to kindergarten, but i can tell you, as a kid and now as i am older i still enjoy it. The fact that Halo CE was good shows that Halo 2 should be better, and it was, for the first time you could play as the opposite side as the Arbiter, the hero of the Covenant destined for death. But the beautiful recipe of Halo is this, you see a gun, any gun alien or human, you can pick it up, you see a grunt charging you with a alien speeder, you can hijack it, you can fight your style, drive the warthog, or use the turret on the back, or ride shotgun with your plasma rifle. With a great story and many adventures, its no wonder why Halo literally carried the Xbox on its back. Expand
  86. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favorite game of all time and undoubtedly the best game on Xbox and one of the best First Person Shooters of all time.

    Halo 2 nailed everything from the Single player campaign (Which IMO has the best story out of any Halo game) and the revolutionary and ground breaking Multiplayer. We got an in depth look at the Covenant and their goals and got to see that oh so sweet plot twist when the brutes over took the elites. As for the Multiplayer, do I need to explain? This game CREATED Xbox Live, nuff said.
    Expand
  87. Jun 5, 2016
    10
    Maybe one of the best game on Xbox . Maybe best graphics on Xbox and amazing graphics in cutscenes, but in Shadow The Hedgehog and Sonic Riders is better . Halo 2 is most popular game on Xbox, this is bestseller on Xbox . In this game one of the best storyline on Xbox and this is amazing shooter, which the one of the best shooter about Halo and generally speaking . Halo 2 even better thanMaybe one of the best game on Xbox . Maybe best graphics on Xbox and amazing graphics in cutscenes, but in Shadow The Hedgehog and Sonic Riders is better . Halo 2 is most popular game on Xbox, this is bestseller on Xbox . In this game one of the best storyline on Xbox and this is amazing shooter, which the one of the best shooter about Halo and generally speaking . Halo 2 even better than Halo Combat Evolved, but Halo 4 is better . Poor 10/10 . Expand
  88. Aug 7, 2016
    10
    The game that bought me to the FPS genre and introduced me to the then-new multiplayer phenomenon. Ever since it was announced i was hyped to the brim constantly buying Xbox magazines and reading up the latest news of the game. And when it did release it lived up to pretty much all my expectations. The hype-train left the station and successfully arrived. The campaign, although a bitThe game that bought me to the FPS genre and introduced me to the then-new multiplayer phenomenon. Ever since it was announced i was hyped to the brim constantly buying Xbox magazines and reading up the latest news of the game. And when it did release it lived up to pretty much all my expectations. The hype-train left the station and successfully arrived. The campaign, although a bit blander than Halo Combat Evolved but it still kept me on the edge of my seat. The multiplayer was obviously the absolute highlight of the game. I drained hundreds of hours into the multiplayer with my friends. I was devastated when Microsoft shut down Xbox Live for the original Xbox. Overall without a doubt the greatest FPS of the Xbox. Expand
  89. Nov 17, 2016
    9
    Halo 2 was an excellent sequel to the very successful Halo: Combat Evolved. It's story not as good at the original but it's was still a very good solid story. It did a good job of carrying the story of Halo forward in a good direction. I won't spoil it. The high point of the game and why it was the best selling game on the Original Xbox was the online multiplayer. The multiplayer wasHalo 2 was an excellent sequel to the very successful Halo: Combat Evolved. It's story not as good at the original but it's was still a very good solid story. It did a good job of carrying the story of Halo forward in a good direction. I won't spoil it. The high point of the game and why it was the best selling game on the Original Xbox was the online multiplayer. The multiplayer was revolutionary for it's time. Online gaming on consoles really wasn't a thing until Halo 2 came along and popularized it. I spent so many hours and days on the multiplayer from 2004 till 2007. Then I went back and forth between Halo 2 and Halo 3 as they both had wonderful online multiplayer's. Then in April of 2010, all of Original Xbox's servers were shut down including beloved Halo 2. I devoted all my time on Halo 2 online multiplayer on the last week, Then it was gone. *Sigh* We'll never have an excellent online multiplayer like Halo 2 or Halo 3 again. Expand
  90. Mar 11, 2011
    0
    wow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was likewow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was like WTF!!!! i dont wana play as this **** i want to play as the master chief . i wouldnt have minded if it was a seperate campahn mode i could pick from the start but no it jumps back and forth and its HORRABLY annoying. then there is the wepons balance OMG! they just took a huge dump on that all the wepons ammo got cut by 1/2 or 2/3 of what they use to hold on top of that they gimped alot of the old guns. remember how sweet the pistol was? yeah now you might as well shoot spitballs as the enimy. the old machine gun use to be a pretty solid wepon to use now they tossed that for the gimp little smg which is like shooting a FKin BB gun. the enimy AI has takin a major dump . the brutes are complete idiots they just charge you over and over and over and never stop . so you eather get cheap killed up against a wall or you jump up on some thing high and laugh at them as they run into the object over and over again like a retard tryin to hump a door knob on speed. the ending is one of the worst in gaming history . it pretty much sets you up to what you think will be the final mission only to give you a big F U wait 3 damn years to play the next one HAHA dumbass . now you would think ok well the online will be awsome right i mean that was one of the coolest things about Halo 1 was how bad ass a multiplayer game it was . well WROOOOONG!!!! another Epic fail by bunjie . first off im not sure how many maps there are but i can say this much i played the same 2 FKin maps for 10 hours and thoose 2 maps sucked. this games search set up SUCKS and suck HARD! now toss in how the wepons where all gimped and you have a piss poor pathetic waste of a online game . people giving this any thing higher then a 7 ... try to defend that . you cant . this game sucks end of story. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]