Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1214 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MankeeOfDoom
    Jan 8, 2005
    0
    Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of just about all-time would demonstrate aptitude in level design prowess. But no. Every stinking dirt-ridden, crap-spewing level I was forced to endure not only had the gall to be LONG but also unnecessarily repetitive. If you can survive the SP, then you are either brain-dead or a devout Halo fanboy. Or both. I guess one implies the other, doesn't it? As for the graphics. Screenshots don't do the graphics in this game as much justice as they should. The screenshots look amazing. The in-game graphics look like they were constructed by soggy non-fat milk cartons straight from the dumpster. And did I mention they were melded together using fecal matter? And that they were constructed by traumatized children without hands, covered in bloodthirsty bees and screaming in absolute pain? I should have. Music is equivalent to the vilest blasphemy from the 80's. Halo 1, despite it's mediocrity in the gameplay department, had an excellent soundtrack. Halo 2 doesn't. Multiplayer. From a person who's used to the convenienve of online PC gaming, Xbox Live was a catastrophe of monumental proportions. No server browser? *croak* NO SERVER BROWSER?! Dual-wielding, in my opinion, was utterly useless (how could you sacrifice the use of grenades?). Melee attacks are oddly awkward in this iteration. And the new shield system encourages cowardice. Ladies and gentlemen, if you haven't realized by now, I hate Halo 2 with all my heart. I absolutely hate how such an overrated game with virtually no talent behind can get so much more recognition and support than other VERY deserving games. The Halo fanboys reading this and going "OMG WTF BBQ U IZ TOTALL LIEING L0LZ." Seriously. Step back from your ignorant delusion, and begin to look at this game that you've been blindly and fanatically supporting for so long. Expand
  2. R.S.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    Ok people... i mean really was it that great. Ok to let you know my history... I bought the Xbox only to play halo back when it first came out, yes I admit it was one of the better first person shooters out there well considers consoles only I would say it was the best. so yes I was anticipating Halo 2, I couldn
  3. CraigK.
    Nov 10, 2004
    3
    Craig's Review 4U: The Guns are to damn big and in your face obstructing most of the visible area, especially in dual equipt mode. There is to much flashing to see what you are doing. Sets are to dark due to the new eviromental shaders. Story is awsome though but once again it takes a lot to get used to the interface. They should have left well alone.
  4. TuomasK.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Too Bad this game was ugly rubbish. No where near at Killzone.
  5. JoseQ.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Absolute perfection!
  6. EricM.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    This game is so tight.
  7. JerradH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    8
    In terms of console FPS games, it can't be beat, particularly in terms of multiplayer. However, if you're like me and are also a PC gamer, you'll likely find UT 2004's multiplayer to be far more satisfying in almost every way. So good game, but extraordinarily overrated due to most of its base being console only players.
  8. JoshC.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    It is awesome.
  9. TonyC.
    Jan 5, 2005
    5
    The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once you get in the game and play it is fun. Sometimes in team battles part of your team will leave and it makes the teams so unfair you can't win and takes the fun out of the online experience. Overall online experience nothing really new or exciting Online play is definately better than single player mode. Online rating = 7, however it gets old and repetitive quick as well. Expand
  10. GodComplex
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    I would like to state that this game is not broken. You H2-haters are. You are broken because you are blind, and comfortable in being that way. I hate people that are ignorant because they want to be. Any real Halo fan would know this. I lost many hours of my life at lan-parties for years because of the first game, and many things that made me say: "bullsh.t" were taken out. Face it. The I would like to state that this game is not broken. You H2-haters are. You are broken because you are blind, and comfortable in being that way. I hate people that are ignorant because they want to be. Any real Halo fan would know this. I lost many hours of my life at lan-parties for years because of the first game, and many things that made me say: "bullsh.t" were taken out. Face it. The pistol took too little skill to be effective. I could kill you in 2-3 shot all the time, everytime. Even noobs could kill you in 5-7 shots. Were's the skill in that old-school fans? Hell, you could snipe a Spartan from a Scorpion tank. Yeah right. They fixed the Devil-pistol. In Multiplayer you cannot go Lone-Ranger as much anymore. You can be good, but any team that works well together will make short work of you. They will hunt you in packs. Have all the weapons. They will own you. I owned people by myself in the first game. I can't do that as much now. I need tactics, not just brawn to win. As for match making, it's good. You play against people of your lv. They system works. People also complain about online problems, like swearing and glitching. Bungie fixes these problems. People can also report you if you are bad! YOU WILL BE EXPLELLED OR WORSE! Trust me, I see it everyday. I also haven't had much problems with lag, which surprised me. Also old-school fan's bitch about duel weilding. Old-school fans can be idiots and not try things, because they are afraid of change. Besides, duel-weilding isn't that effective! I own people that do that! A well place nad' and a single smg clean house all the time, everytime. You guys could also try a battle rifle with a plasm gun. So deadly it's scary! Owns the duel-weilding freaks so much it's scary! I don't understand people hatred for the single player mode. Halo had me going "holy shit" everytime. Halo 2 did that for me and more. I love the Arbiter too. I guess people expected a different game. I feel sorry for these pathetic masses of rage and hatred. They are broken relics. Note: Pc games and console are like judging fresh water from salt water. That's why I don't mention Half-Life 2 or World of Warcraft. Expand
  11. AidanB.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    The game is an exellent sequel to halo, and both multiplayer modes are amazing.
  12. MikeyW.
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    Halo2 has the best multiplayer features. there is one thing that absolutley sucks about it. th laziness put into the videos and the single player levels. If you are looking for a perfect campain mode in a shooting game then don't buy halo 2. if you are looking for probally the best multiplayer and xbox live game on the market then definitely buy halo2.
  13. Charlie
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever. The graphics are some of the best ever on X-Box. I see that Nathan complained about plants? Who cares about plants materializing 5 feet in front of you when every other part of the game looks simply amazing? Nathan didn't like the multi-player because he got his ass handed to him. If he won he would say it was great. I dont know how you could say something This is the best game ever. The graphics are some of the best ever on X-Box. I see that Nathan complained about plants? Who cares about plants materializing 5 feet in front of you when every other part of the game looks simply amazing? Nathan didn't like the multi-player because he got his ass handed to him. If he won he would say it was great. I dont know how you could say something is wrong with the maps when they are beautiful. The gameplay sucked? The gameplay definitely doesn't suck. It is action packed and fluent. Even on x-box live there aren't problems with framerate or anything. Shoaib complained about not really saving earth. You saved earth by forcing the covenant to leave earth. Then you followed them to stop them from ever coming back to earth. Yes, being the arbiter sucked, but the gameplay with the arbiter was awesome. Being invisible was freaking sweet! When the arbiter talked then it was stupid, because i agree with you. I just want to kill elites, but you barely notice them when you are playing as the arbiter. in first person as along as you dont look straight down you dont even notice. To wrap it all up Halo 2 is the best game ever and everyone who doesn't agree with me and complains about the game are ... Expand
  14. JesseS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    7
    A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that really shines in this game is the multiplayer. Expect it to be a great experience, but its not the giant God that everyone makes it out to be. Expand
  15. PatrickL.
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Halo 2 is the best multiplayer game ever.
  16. ZacheryG.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Good game but one was the most original.
  17. BenW.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This game is a great, quality shooter that easily captures the attention of all gamers.
  18. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    2
    I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, especially since you can get the same online experience buy getting HL2 and dling mods with the same multiplayer modes as Halo 2. Expand
  19. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2007
    7
    After years of hype finally people can see this game is massively over-rated. The single player is shite. No bones about saying it either. Terrible in fact, with only the humor keeping you interested. Multi player is where it's at. I think in future this game should only be an multi player title. Single player score: 4. Multi player score: 10. Average 7.
  20. DanielP
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Easily the best FPS on the xbox. Great story, even with the cliffhanger ending. Great enemies and weapons. A little too short, but multiplayer adds a hell of alot of life to this game.
  21. LukeP
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    I can't tell you how great the moment i got this game and looking at the graphics. After playing NOTHING but Halo 1 for three years, seeing this games graphics stuned me. I spent hours just looking at the games graphics in awe. a great game in everyway
  22. DickSavage
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I despise halo for all of is bribed reviews and garbage game play. But the story of the Arbiter is actually epic. He is sent on suicide missions and they still cant kill him. This one is the best of the series, which isn't saying much. The 5 I give it is 5 points higher than what i gave the other two.
  23. KeeenenFunk
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Multiplayer perfection.
  24. Dave
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Its great fun to pick up and play. What more do you want?
  25. RavindK.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    As most of you know, HALO 2 was changed to adapt to the NEW story line with the New Halo Ring. HALO2 was SOOOO kick ass...the only problem with it was that thye cut it short. Rumors have it that it was cut short for the XBOX2 platform (yeah right) but in any case, the XBOX live is amazing. So far, i have not have had more fun then jumping on top of a banshee, firing a rocket into an As most of you know, HALO 2 was changed to adapt to the NEW story line with the New Halo Ring. HALO2 was SOOOO kick ass...the only problem with it was that thye cut it short. Rumors have it that it was cut short for the XBOX2 platform (yeah right) but in any case, the XBOX live is amazing. So far, i have not have had more fun then jumping on top of a banshee, firing a rocket into an enemy, kicking the guy off the banshe, then running his ass over in midair Expand
  26. JeroenVR
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started on this amazingly stupid game, and yes I am a race fan). I hope it will not be the same for Half Life 2. Expand
  27. KaineB.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    What is wrong with people and this game. Was it the gameplay? The special effects? Sound? Presentation? The rankings for this game are some what adequate because yes it does have some flaws. For those who wanted to play it on online you will be disappointed with the online play because, and I stress on this, a lot and a lot of people will be playing online and your connection will be very What is wrong with people and this game. Was it the gameplay? The special effects? Sound? Presentation? The rankings for this game are some what adequate because yes it does have some flaws. For those who wanted to play it on online you will be disappointed with the online play because, and I stress on this, a lot and a lot of people will be playing online and your connection will be very poor, although it may be better than other games. Second the coop play is extordinary. What people are lacking in their reviews is subtance. They really don't know understand how to critize a game because one they are bias towards other games. Two many people do not play a variety of games. they play one game or juse one genre. People are naive when it comes down to the pure reality of video games. This game deserves the score no less than a 9.8. IGN gave it the best review than any other because it seemed to be the most involved with the true aspect of it. other game sites and magazines are bias. Please don't take the view of other games take your own and play the game advidly on your own. Don't rent a game and judge it without the time it takes to review a game. Expand
  28. D.C.
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super Master Cheif because he is Unbreakable. He can jump on top of almost anything, fall from the sky and all this with out a scratch. Glitching is a problem to, empty chairs one second, then bam the whole Marine Core the next. Why was it pushed back is the question of the year or should I say three years. I gave the game a 5 because of XBOX Live, THATS ALSOME. My last words are HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!!. Can't wait for Underground 2. Expand
  29. DamonC.
    Nov 19, 2004
    8
    Halo 2 was a great game but not as good as most expected. To start off the campaign isn't any better than the first one which i didnt think was good. It is repetitive and just boring. If you are a die hard single player gamer this game is not worth it. Now on the other hand if you have XBOX live or just love playing multiplayer you should get this game. The maps, artilery, guns and Halo 2 was a great game but not as good as most expected. To start off the campaign isn't any better than the first one which i didnt think was good. It is repetitive and just boring. If you are a die hard single player gamer this game is not worth it. Now on the other hand if you have XBOX live or just love playing multiplayer you should get this game. The maps, artilery, guns and variety of game types are outstanding. Though i think the multiplayer is great they made a few mistakes. On XBOX live you cant even pick your own game type you are randomly put in a game. WHICH SUCKS. Also 16 player halo isnt as good as people would think its more like you respawn you shoot you die. So if you like halo you will like Halo2. Expand
  30. MattP.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    Very overrated. I expected tight action with frantic spinning and alot of "oh jesus!" and I got it. But the fights were either way too long or way too short and the ending was the most bitter slap in the face I've experienced in gaming.
  31. JasonM>
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    as the xbox official will agree this is quite possibly the best first person shooter game ever to be released on this generation of consoles.
  32. BenP.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the most immersive multiplayer experience in existence on any platform.
  33. Two-YearOldAdult
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Got this game one hour ago. This is better than Halo 1, and is one of the Xbox's very best.
  34. SukjeetK.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!
  35. PatrickW.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Fantastic only people who dislike it have never played it.
  36. C.T.
    Nov 9, 2004
    1
    What a waste of 3 years, we now have a new version of Unreal Tournament 2004, that's about it. The look and feel has now changed, and the first thing I can think of is...where's my Halo ONE disk!
  37. GeorgeL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    It's HALO. Enough said.
  38. TomC.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a problem. Also, the fact that everything moves at the speed of light is another problem. The game feels like it was only built for xbox live. The fact that we had to wait three years for this is pretty sad in my opinion as the improvements are extremely minimal.... an extra few weapons and options... really nothing spectacular. Expand
  39. Buried-In-The-Box
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    If I could score it higher, I would. This game is so great it could be a reason to keep on living when you've had enough of life. Graphics, control, A.I. and atmoshere are just too good to put into words. If you are disappointed, you don't like games.
  40. JeffB.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    The game delivered on so many levels, and did an excellent job, the only downfall, is some comic humor,or awkardness in the weapons, but besides that,it tops the first in every area.
  41. BenH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Superb, just what i was expecting. best game ever made.
  42. GTARocks
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they don't really improve the game. Some of the weapons are a big step backwards. Too much hype, not enough substance. And for those of you who disagree - The single player campaign sucks! Admit it! Expand
  43. SariD.
    Dec 22, 2004
    6
    Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game more substantial and meaningful in a Star Wars operatic way were lobotomized. The most dissapointing thing of all is that this is going to be the last Halo release on Xbox 1 and yes you will need to buy xbox2 to see how the trilogy ends in Halo3. Expand
  44. JonW.
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    This game is godly, and woulda been better if some of the multiplayer levels woulda been left in. coagulation is a way better upgrade, mostly because you can hide better from alotta snipers now. I love this game, and everybody who cant at least appreciate it... a mushroom slap to the face.
  45. JimK.
    Dec 4, 2004
    4
    I enjoyed playing the new version but not worth the hype. The ending a shameless setup for HALO 3 on X-Box 2. The game was just getting intresting when it quit and ended. It was like microsoft pulled the plug on development and rushed it to market in time for christmas. They would have been better served to develop it fully.
  46. Luciort
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    bob g.df? camera angles? mmmm, i thought this was a first person shooter
  47. SykotikW.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    this game is the most kick ass ive ever played, and i cant get over the graphics. way to go bungie! Dont give my email to anyone!
  48. MikeH
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    November 9th is the most important date in gaming in 2004 and beyond, letalong being the most important date for the xbox. Halo 2 is strong on so many levels. It's single player campaign promises to deliver a powerful story and great gameplay. It's multiplayer component will be the best of the best. With people still avidly playing Halo, Halo 2 will drive people insane with its November 9th is the most important date in gaming in 2004 and beyond, letalong being the most important date for the xbox. Halo 2 is strong on so many levels. It's single player campaign promises to deliver a powerful story and great gameplay. It's multiplayer component will be the best of the best. With people still avidly playing Halo, Halo 2 will drive people insane with its abundant capapbilities. Clan Support, Online Stats, Decals, and XBL guests only tip the iceberg. New features such as dual wielding, destructible environments, new weapons, new enemies will also make Halo 2 obsessively fun to play. Expand
  49. K.K.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    I played this up in brisbane at electronic boutique on a demo, it is awesome, everything about it. This will get score 99 i think.
  50. SaketR.
    Jan 11, 2005
    5
    Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As has been said by many others, the single player mode is totally underwhelming. Poor game design, recycled levels, slightly polished graphics and incredibly short, this game is a black mark when compared to the good effort that was Halo 1. Regardless, the multi player is better than most; only if you can manage 3 people to come over at a minimum. Some of the weapons are too powerful while others are remarkably weak. There seems to be no justice to anyone in this game: Sales have been too much, the public has been conned, and finally all the reviewers have been overrating, this is not the messiah of all games, oh no, its simply the snake which tempted all and ended up doing nothing but ill. Expand
  51. AdamL.
    Nov 29, 2005
    7
    Online is awsome, but the 1 player lacks intrest, as well as the maps. belive me, if you don't have live, don't get it
  52. C.E.P.N.
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    The first Halo game was a wonderful challenge in Legendary and a well crafted, choreographed, knitted, and even operatic experience in Easy mode. A well made 'chapter' in the Masterchief saga. I was drawn in emotionally and intellectually. Weapons and abilities were consequential to the expanding and evolving story and not for their own qualities. It became 'necessary' The first Halo game was a wonderful challenge in Legendary and a well crafted, choreographed, knitted, and even operatic experience in Easy mode. A well made 'chapter' in the Masterchief saga. I was drawn in emotionally and intellectually. Weapons and abilities were consequential to the expanding and evolving story and not for their own qualities. It became 'necessary' to use a charged Plasma pistol to take down an Elites' shielding in Legendary, for example. The game had that crucial beginning, middle, end in good storytelling with 'subtle' hints to something more. It ended with satisfaction and at the same time enticed furture adventures. Time constraints in the first games release perhaps put restraints on the 'intellectual' and more emphasis (as most 'artists' will testify) on the perceptual and heart. I am confident that the qualities inherent in the team that crafted the first game are still there. But these were not allowed to shine forth in Halo 2. Fame and success carry with it that malignant quality 'arrogance'. If unaddressed and not checked and within a 'closed' setting, can lead to an intellectual incest. A reactionary condition arises. And grandiosity. Was Halo 2 more about Microsoft and Bungies relations to it? Certainly the next installment of Halo is being tied to the next Microsoft console. Was it really about Bungies relationship with all the interested players who enjoyed Halo 1 and continuing that relationship? This game was fragmented with a hard and open ending. I did enjoy the dramatic device of juxtaoposing the hero and the fallen of the opposing races as a way of dovetailing and weaving the two games together and I was excited and hopefull. But from there the story never really 'fleshed out'. I was anticipating the Online experince until trusted people who are 'gamers' and spend a good amount of time on Xbox Live suddenly quit. One was disgusted by the behaviors and attitudes of players in other Clans, which means not enough monitoring. "Art" is the outward manifestation of loving, giving, caring. Not sensationalistic pushing of the envelope. It doesn't seek ulterior motives or hidden agendas. That's for advertisers, auto designers, and charlatans. Bungie first has a responsibility to themselves in the best possible way, their vision in 'making', to those who spend their time and money seeking an enveloping game experience and story, and not in 'trying to rule the world"(from the back of the instruction manuals of both games). Halo1 was a captivating and multifaceted gaming experience. Halo2, while retaining good game mechanics, overall had the feel and tone of self-indulgence and doubt. Can you at Bungie not afford to break from Microsoft? Time to grow! Expand
  53. AmazingBen
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I don't usually buy into the hype of games, and Halo 2 was no exception. I enjoyed the first installment, but I have to admit I was a little suspicious of all the 100s the gaming magazines were giving it. Let me say this much: this is the best game on the Xbox. Many people trashed on the story and particularly the ending. I must disagree. I think the game definitely had an epic feel I don't usually buy into the hype of games, and Halo 2 was no exception. I enjoyed the first installment, but I have to admit I was a little suspicious of all the 100s the gaming magazines were giving it. Let me say this much: this is the best game on the Xbox. Many people trashed on the story and particularly the ending. I must disagree. I think the game definitely had an epic feel to it and even the ending left you pumped up for the third installment. In short, Halo 2 is the "Empire Strikes Back" of the Halo legacy. The graphics are amazing, the levels are cool and the ability to dual wield brings a whole new dimension to the game. Buy it, and you will never regret it. Expand
  54. ViasubRosa
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    WARNING: this game is not for the occasional gamer or less and definitely not for those nausiated by FPS games. I found this game to be a "sit at the edge of your seat while blasting your opponents away, then getting smacked from behind and cursing your head off!" kind of game. Then again, that's more like what happened to me earlier while I was playing. The fact is that this game is WARNING: this game is not for the occasional gamer or less and definitely not for those nausiated by FPS games. I found this game to be a "sit at the edge of your seat while blasting your opponents away, then getting smacked from behind and cursing your head off!" kind of game. Then again, that's more like what happened to me earlier while I was playing. The fact is that this game is for those who want to play, enjoy playing, and look forward to palying it some more. If this doesn't suit your style of gaming, then let it be. Expand
  55. Jacob
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This is truly the one of the best first person shooters ever.It has great gameplay, an interesting story continuation from the original, although the ending was fairly disappointing.
  56. DaveS.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    This was the best game of the year, according to gamestop. I am tired of little n00bs, like half of you people, who don't know how to properly rate games.
  57. KevinB.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Dis game rocks! I play it every day wether im shootin up those tiny grunts or tearin the monkey people to pieces.
  58. JoeM.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    Multi-player Gold.
  59. D
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    Halo 2. There is not another game that gives you chills down your spine when you say the title. This was the most anticipated game ever in the videogame industrie. This game definatley lived up to its hype, and in my opion it passed that hype. Many people believe that GTA: St. Andraes is a much better game. I say GTA made 115 million dollars in a week......not bad. Halo 2 on the other Halo 2. There is not another game that gives you chills down your spine when you say the title. This was the most anticipated game ever in the videogame industrie. This game definatley lived up to its hype, and in my opion it passed that hype. Many people believe that GTA: St. Andraes is a much better game. I say GTA made 115 million dollars in a week......not bad. Halo 2 on the other hand sold 125 million dollars in a day.........amazing. I think the thing that attracts people most to Halo 2 and Halo 1 is not just the great guns, storyline, vechiles, enimes, online play,etc. It is the amazing entertainment of throwing a plasma grenade into a bunch of covenet then continuing to flank the others while your soliders are cleaning up the stragliers. Also there is no other game that can give "chills" down your spine while entering a battle, and there is no other noise like "oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-oh" The thing I love most about Halo 2 is that it brings all of the fun from Halo 1, but it times it by 10. There are also new features for Halo 2 such as duel wielding, the ability to steal a ghost or any other veichale from your enimes or your friends, heat seaking missiles, just to name a few. After you finish the campian mode (which really is amazing, but i dont want to say anything because it might spoil the game) there is a bunch of other things to do. Such as, the online play, it really is amazing, the fun of you and your buddies getting in warthogs, ghosts, and banshees and atacking your friends base then when you finally get there flag the challenge of running away while rockets and bullets are zooming by your head is pricless. Even if you dont have Xbox live you can play split screen with up to 4 players. Now while this is not as entertaing as Xbox live it still does have its advantages. They are, being able to see the person you are playing and knowing them personally, the ablillty to braging rights around the people you see everyday, but my personal favorite is the victory dance you can do when you end your friends killing spree with a rocket demolishing the wartghog hes been in for 3 hours. So, in conclusion me and the other 100 million people would probally agree that this is the greatest game to ever be made. There once was a line in the Offical Xbox Magazine that stated that Rockstar had said that Halo 2 will "never come" and "if the game does come out it will be the greatest game to ever be seen, but of course no such thing can be done" they also were stated saying that "Even if Halo 2 does come out Bungie could never put all of the things they say will be in the game by November 9" In Halo 2's comerical they show everything in the game and then at the end of the comerical they say "To all those that said this day would never come what are they to say now" Expand
  60. ChrisB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    6
    With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. The graphics are nowhere near as good as this year's PC shooters such as Half-Life 2, Far Cry, or Doom 3. And the online play is very run-of-the-mill. Still, I can see why console gamers think this is an amazing game - it's easily one of the best shooters ever made FOR A CONSOLE. But best game ever? Not even close. Halo 2 isn't even in the top 5 for best game of the year, if all platforms are taken into account, and when judged against it's shooter-peers on the PC, it's no better than average. Expand
  61. HappySquirrel
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    I would almost think Half-Life 2 was a better FPS, until I played Halo 2's X-Live. The mutiplayer is hands-down the best! I have never seen a better competetive feel/edge to a game ! The lan-parties of old are obsolete, since you can meet your friends online, and have the old beat down quests of old! The imbalances of old were fixed too. The pistol cannot kill you from across the I would almost think Half-Life 2 was a better FPS, until I played Halo 2's X-Live. The mutiplayer is hands-down the best! I have never seen a better competetive feel/edge to a game ! The lan-parties of old are obsolete, since you can meet your friends online, and have the old beat down quests of old! The imbalances of old were fixed too. The pistol cannot kill you from across the level now. Also vehicle sniping w/ the pistol doesn't work too. You can also destroy vechiles, so no one can go forever in the ghost. No more health packs. The shotgun got a needed reduction, since it was used as a medium range weapon in the first game. Also, the Legendary mode in the old game was kinda weak. In Halo 2, you will get your ass-handed to you! Be prepared to sream in rage at the tv for hours on the new Legendary mode! More customizable options for multiplayer games. I could go on. Point is, it's not broken. Any style of weaponry can be countered with another! The only thing people bitched about was the story mode. People are weird, since nothing was broken about it, but then again this is Halo 2, and so much was expected from this game. People expected their own "fantisy" version of the game. A lot of people's complaints were directed towards playing as the Arbiter. Kinda ironic, since people bitched about not being able to play as Covies in the first game. And people are wrong about campaign too, it has the most EPIC feel of any game i've played. Halo was EPIC. Halo 2 delivers. Hands down the best console game this year! I'd almost say best game ever, but PC has World of Warcraft. Expand
  62. Nibbsy
    Feb 24, 2005
    8
    Has any other game been more the victim of its own hype? For me, one of the beauties of the first Halo was that I expected nothing from it and it delivered so much. (I only bought an xbox as an after thought shortly after getting a Gamecube but as soon as I booted up Halo the 'Cube didn't get touched for months). Halo 2 on the other hand carried such enormous weight of Has any other game been more the victim of its own hype? For me, one of the beauties of the first Halo was that I expected nothing from it and it delivered so much. (I only bought an xbox as an after thought shortly after getting a Gamecube but as soon as I booted up Halo the 'Cube didn't get touched for months). Halo 2 on the other hand carried such enormous weight of expectation that disappointment was probably inevitable on some levels. That said, contrary to the very misguided or plain daft people who give it scores of 1 (?) Halo 2 is an undeniably first class video game. In almost all respects it is head and shoulders above almost every other xbox action game. However, its key failing is that it is too similar to the first game and for this reason it doesn't have the "wow" factor that Halo engendered. The storyline is more intrusive than Halo's but paradoxically less coherent and engaging. Basic gameplay is very sound and the production values are as high as expected but there are just too many times when the whole thing feels like a slightly glossier retread of the original (which would be fine of course if the original had never existed!). Overall for me Halo 2 lacked the spark of brilliance that made Halo my favourite game in 20 years of gaming but it is nevertheless a very fine game. Expand
  63. KalebW.
    Feb 2, 2005
    9
    I like this game is the best! I love Xbox Live Halo2 is is so cool. I like how u can talk to other people and I like the way how you can save friends and all. The thing I like about Halo2 is that you can hold 2 weapons and i like the sword also!!! :) :) :) :)
  64. JohnS.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    I give the single player only an 9, but the multiplayer is above and beyond anything I've ever played. My friends and I (who usually play a different multiplayer game every month) will be playing H2 multiplayer for a couple of years at least. If they continue to add new maps, it'll be practically inexhaustible. Multiplayer is just that good.
  65. MarkW.
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    Its amazing how many people call this game nearly flawless, then give it a 100% rating. It's honestly less than average. It has some decent movie clips that bring interest to an otherwise dull playing experience. If your not playing online there is no reason to buy this game.
  66. RichardD.
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    Good Game..bad Levles..X Box Live..Perfect.
  67. ScottG.
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Everything was good. but they promised great maybe if they'd actually tried instead of loffing around on their asses it would have been a ten. still a good game but that one point i think is the most important one.
  68. TheBair
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever!! This tops any other game that came out. This will kill any GTA or Metroid Prime. the suck!!!
  69. AndrewF.
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Fanboy, but this game coulda been, woulda been, shoulda been... but isn't that great. By the way, if you like playing online against 12 year old boys and their dads, then give the xbox live Halo experience a try. It's super neat. Give me something that requires the use of my mind any day of the week. Guarantee you won't find little children in Xbox Live of Brother in Arms. You know why? Because that game requires actual thought, instead of mindless, unrealistic shooting of anything that moves. C'mon! This game is ALL HYPE! It's gets a 5/10 from me, purely on it's techinical acheivements. Expand
  70. SPYBREAK
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    Halo conquered the "universe", with good level designs, great sounds, fun gameplay and a glorious musical score. And so came time for the battle of planet Earth
  71. MarioL.
    Apr 8, 2005
    8
    This game is pretty fun on solo. If you have Xbox live this game can be pretty damn addictive. I recommend this game to all those people who like "Tom Clancy" like games. you can be very sneaky.
  72. TedS.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    This game was so awesome. the multiplayer was unreal and the x box live really whent well with halo 2. im a huge fan and i really think this is the best ever game created thats just me though but i hope i can change some of your minds.
  73. JMyst
    May 9, 2005
    8
    I cannot get enough of multiplayer, if it were only multiplayer this game would deserve a 20. Unfortunately we also have the shoot and move, unstrategic and short single player missions! It took me two days playing 2 hours a day to beat this game on Normal. Very easy, only died twice (jumping off ledges). The storyline was incomplete and made me scared of whats to come. I didnt even get I cannot get enough of multiplayer, if it were only multiplayer this game would deserve a 20. Unfortunately we also have the shoot and move, unstrategic and short single player missions! It took me two days playing 2 hours a day to beat this game on Normal. Very easy, only died twice (jumping off ledges). The storyline was incomplete and made me scared of whats to come. I didnt even get the dramatic effect when Cortana said "Another Halo". I was like awww man more flood, dangit. Expand
  74. JasonS.
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    The gameplay totally sucks, but if you get xbox live it really makes up for it. hate the gameplay, love it on xbox live.
  75. ShoaibA.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    It was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because itsIt was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because its halo if halo was good it doesnt mean halo 2 will be good is well. I also didnt like to play with arbiter because who really wants to know about the covenant we want to destroy them the ending was even worse all these people who are giving it a high score play the game again and see the diffrence between halo 1 and halo 2 Expand
  76. OmarI.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    I say this is the best game ever! Only downside is its short Campaign player but i still reccemend buying it and specially Xbox Live. Even though Halo 2 campaign was short, Online gives such a good time......For all i know this is the best online system game i have ever seen........Better than runescape, halo 1 online......Halo 2 online is the best Online system EVER!
  77. EricG.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    I wanted to give this game an 8, but i just could'nt do it. This is a very good game, a VERY good game. The graphics are some of the best I've seen. The only drawback is the short campaign. But it's hard to complain when the campaign is still extremely fun, even if it is a little short.
  78. GulagWarden5
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    This game is great, but not as much as I expected. The game was fun to play, but it was really short, and ither to easy or to hard to beat (depending on you difficulty leavel). And the ending sucked, but still it had a great multi-player. So 9 is my #
  79. FtzPronoMatser
    Jul 29, 2005
    7
    This game is fun for some time, but not to special. The enemies are not very diverse and I have to push a lot of buttons. Maybe it goes better with an extra hand. My thumbs hurt also. The multiplayer is ok and configurable enough. Coagulation Ctf is very fun. I don't like the alien weapons very much, but you can take them out. They should've put an communicator with the game, so This game is fun for some time, but not to special. The enemies are not very diverse and I have to push a lot of buttons. Maybe it goes better with an extra hand. My thumbs hurt also. The multiplayer is ok and configurable enough. Coagulation Ctf is very fun. I don't like the alien weapons very much, but you can take them out. They should've put an communicator with the game, so everybody has one and can talk. Please more models and alien weapons that are less silly. Warthog and tank are nice. But I still rather play another world on the amiga. On the xbox I like the last Splinter cell and Ninja gaiden best. Maybe Ninja Gaiden is the best game on xbox, but mileage may vary. Expand
  80. Batman
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    Online Ranking System is the greatest...i only wish there were no cheaters.
  81. Dr.Worm
    Oct 11, 2006
    8
    This and Halo 1 get everything about FPS gameplay right, but just doesn't do anything new and the characters are and story are pretty lame. To be honest, I HATE Master Chief and would rather play as Cortana.
  82. DK
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    Such a disappointment. They changed so much of what made Halo such a great game... WHY!? The developers themselves are disappointed with Halo 2. Hopefully they redeem themselves with Halo 3.
  83. Haloloser
    Oct 7, 2006
    7
    The reason this game got a seven is because its single player is so bad the mulltipler is great the best ever but the single is just so bad that I would give this game a 7, multiplayer 10, single 5, and thats being generous.
  84. DanielP.
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    man this game is amaing. everythings all great. im glad the pistals got degraded, there were too many pistal *****s that gets me irritated. and the only shield thing is awesome, it makes the game more stressful and stuff so u dont go up to an hunter and start hitting him with ur pistal. the graphics are amazing. the dual wielding is awesome. the storyling is awesome too and leaves the man this game is amaing. everythings all great. im glad the pistals got degraded, there were too many pistal *****s that gets me irritated. and the only shield thing is awesome, it makes the game more stressful and stuff so u dont go up to an hunter and start hitting him with ur pistal. the graphics are amazing. the dual wielding is awesome. the storyling is awesome too and leaves the story in a suspense. u can destroy vehicles now and thers no missles in the banshee thank goodness and the rocket lanuncher is great its homing!!! the dual wielding is great too halo 2 is a gotta buy that is until halo3 comes out, believe me i read the story and from what i figured theres a halo4 coming out. Expand
  85. Ben
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Are you kidding me, the whole point of halo2 is the multiplayer, it is so much fun online, the game is pretty much pointless without xbox live or multiplayer but that is the entire point.
  86. DavidH.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Although the single player campaign isn't quite as good as its prequel's - the story in particular veering wildly and ending far too abruptly - the improved physics and more tactile environment (principally the destructable vehicles) do make up for most of the shortcomings (as does one intriguing twist). However, what really gives it maximum scores is the simply spellbinding Although the single player campaign isn't quite as good as its prequel's - the story in particular veering wildly and ending far too abruptly - the improved physics and more tactile environment (principally the destructable vehicles) do make up for most of the shortcomings (as does one intriguing twist). However, what really gives it maximum scores is the simply spellbinding multiplayer. Expand
  87. JamesS.
    May 13, 2006
    9
    VERY FUN GAME it is very fun and very interactive with the co-op, but still like hl2 better :P
  88. MiguelM.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    best game of the year and for ever more best glithes and sweet game play and best grafics.
  89. Exos1stWalker
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    First of all if you walked into a store and you saw Halo 2 and Half-life 2 on shelf and you never had any of them get Half-life 2. There's nothging next-gen about it but one thing. The graphics not so good. The storyline is more off an ass wipe. But the way it's put together is quite next gen indeed. The multiplayer is quite sexy indeed. Counter Strike is still better...
  90. JakeP.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    Actually, my vote would be an 11, because this is my favourite videogame of all time.
  91. DeanK.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This game kicks ass, the weapons, vehicles, levels, and multiplayer are all awesome, a must buy for any xbox owner.
  92. TimF.
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever. Not perfect (the campaign is very average and rubbish compared to halo 1) and a with slightly unoriginal plot Halo 2 does disappoint at times. Not in Multiplayer however, where it is actually perfect.
  93. TrevorH.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game out there!! Some of you guys don't know what your talking about. Halo is the best. Awesome graphics, awesome games design, and its awesome online!!!
  94. RyanD.
    Aug 5, 2006
    0
    Talk about over hype. This game just sucked, the only grace was 2 gun mode, thats it. the next time someone says hl2 was over hyped, look at this crap.
  95. GarryM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Took an amazing game and improved on it in every way. Excellent story mode, full of variety. Unbelieveable online game, perfect multiplayer maps.
  96. DaltonH.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I really like the storyline in this game. This game is the best I have ever seen!
  97. DavidV.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Perhaps not as good as it's ground breaking predessecor, but it's still a lot of fun. The gameplay, graphics, and multiplayer are top notch but the story is a little shoddy compared to the orginal. Then again, it's tough being in the middle of the trilogy.
  98. RombieR.
    Mar 17, 2007
    2
    This game is highly overrated and no game reviewer wants to admit it. The graphics looked like a downgrade, the character acting was abysmal and the gameplay just sucked. If your a true fanboy of the series none of that would have affected you but as for me, I'll stick with Halo 1.
  99. JamesA.
    Apr 23, 2007
    4
    This game is nothing different. The graphics are 7 but weapon choice gets a 1. The physics are 0, compare to Half Life 2. The online system is very well made but the habitual game play brings it down to a 4. The single player story is like watching a train wrech in slow motion.
  100. OliverC.
    Jul 13, 2007
    5
    Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast away. I wont even talk about the single player. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]