Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1181 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardT.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    This game will be the benchmark for ALL 2nd generation X Box (or PS2) games. I have seen nothing else that comes close to delivering what this game will.
  2. LuisTrigo
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    All I know is that halo 2 has a great story line, and the ending is what made it priceless. I think ps2 sites like gamespot need to get a clue as well, I mean who gives a game a 9 on the graphics for the cinimatics when they give San Andreas a 10 when its probably the most crappy graphis I have ever seen. I am just glad this site has a good grip on what games are suppose to be rated. GO HALO 2!
  3. MichaelC.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Yeah, some friends got a copy of this one early (legally of course)... So far I was only able to play the multiplayer portion of the game, but what I experienced was incredible. Improved graphics, sound, and environments are only the tip of the iceberg. With as skeptical as I usually am, I can whole-heartedly say that this part of the game is a tenfold improvement over the original. Throw Yeah, some friends got a copy of this one early (legally of course)... So far I was only able to play the multiplayer portion of the game, but what I experienced was incredible. Improved graphics, sound, and environments are only the tip of the iceberg. With as skeptical as I usually am, I can whole-heartedly say that this part of the game is a tenfold improvement over the original. Throw XBox Live functionality into the mix, and you have a multiplayer masterpiece. I really wanted to try out the single-player campaign, but I figured that I should wait until Tuesday when I grab my own copy and can really sit down with it. I did see it in action for a few minutes, and from what I saw and what people have told me about it, it appears to be just as mind-blowing as the multiplayer. Man, my grades are going to PLUMMET this semester!!! Expand
  4. MarkM.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!
  5. JamesM.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    The penultimute [Ed: huh?] gaming experience on any platform.
  6. AdamH.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    The best game i have ever played.
  7. TerryB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    6
    Same as the first one. New levels. 6 on 10
  8. Nick
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    halo 1 was overrated. halo 2 is the game everyone said halo 1 was. easily best fps on xbox, but then it's supposed to be. story's very b-movie and i don't care for the characters one way or the other. solid title, but not the bext xbox game (i'd still put mechassault ahead of it). can't be compared to gta: san andreas, which is a superior gaming experience.
  9. TheGamer
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    Extremely overrated. This game dose not come close enough to all the hype. If this game completely sucked all the die hard fans would still give it a 10.
  10. CraigS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    My initial thoughts are that it is to similar to Halo1, little or no improvement in graphics. Can hardly expect it to live up to the hype - the first version was the ultimate...and still is in my opinion. Damn.
  11. MikeD.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Sweet sweet game i love it
  12. JeffA.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    To say the graphics, sound, controls and storyline are superb is an understatement. Halo 2 is by far the best video game on any platform. Peroid. Bungie spent three years and 6000 making this game...and it shows.
  13. RandyM.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    Halo 2 will own you!!!!
  14. Daz
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Nearly finished this beast of a game. Is it the best game ever? Well it just might be... I've been playing games since 1983 and the sinclair ZX spectrum (and yes the yanks will not have heard of that machine) and i can't remember enjoying playing a game so much. The elements that come together to make the single player are out of this world. The graphics, the vehicles (i LOVE Nearly finished this beast of a game. Is it the best game ever? Well it just might be... I've been playing games since 1983 and the sinclair ZX spectrum (and yes the yanks will not have heard of that machine) and i can't remember enjoying playing a game so much. The elements that come together to make the single player are out of this world. The graphics, the vehicles (i LOVE the ghosts), the music, the guns are all superb. I do have to add that there are not many games where i've stopped playing just to look around for 30 secs because its just so beautiful. To sum up...the best game ever - maybe. The best XBOX game - without a shadow of a doubt!!!! Expand
  15. JakeS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Just old and tired ideas.
  16. MickT.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Without a doubt the best shooter devised by man, top notch graphics, excellent gamesply and a killer story to boot. Online gripe is with somewhat dodgy cutscenes.
  17. MarlowD.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    I was on the Beta for this game (safe to admit now it is released) and I have played this game for hundreds of hours. With regard to the reviewer who gave this game a 2... well, let me see There isn't much to do in the single player game, that is true... unless you count battling cunning, tough enemies of many, many types with a wide range of weapons, alien and human, each with I was on the Beta for this game (safe to admit now it is released) and I have played this game for hundreds of hours. With regard to the reviewer who gave this game a 2... well, let me see There isn't much to do in the single player game, that is true... unless you count battling cunning, tough enemies of many, many types with a wide range of weapons, alien and human, each with strengths and weakness which vary as they are combined, in different richly modelled vehicles and on foot, all through widely varying environments that include spaceships, the great outdoors and a great range of buildings. Oh, and you have to save the world. If that isn't enough for you, then, Sir, I take my hat off to you. This game would challenge any mere mortal, not only in terms of difficulty but in sheer scope. Were you playing the same game as me? Expand
  18. DanielL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    (9.9) Fable gets a 10. Well looks like 3-4 yrs of nothing but halo 2 and fable. Halo2=way better than my PS2's Killzone which was the only reason i got a PS2. Killzone is tons of fun but halo 2 is a WORLD of more fun. Anyone with the right mind knows this. Either that or their just a Xbox Hating PS2-Freak. For all the ppl who say Halo 2 should be on PS2 1. yeah the controllers are (9.9) Fable gets a 10. Well looks like 3-4 yrs of nothing but halo 2 and fable. Halo2=way better than my PS2's Killzone which was the only reason i got a PS2. Killzone is tons of fun but halo 2 is a WORLD of more fun. Anyone with the right mind knows this. Either that or their just a Xbox Hating PS2-Freak. For all the ppl who say Halo 2 should be on PS2 1. yeah the controllers are bigger. A.You will get used to it (Trust Me) and yes their are alot of buttons but your smart enuf to learn them. And i dont have to tap X 3 times to enter a vehicle. 2.Simply put, Why do u think sony is coming out with a PS3? HALO 2 ROCKS!!!!! THX BUNGIE Expand
  19. J2DaZ
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    How come the Euro reviews are the lowest for Halo 2? Just curious. Fantastic game! XBOX Live, WHOOO!
  20. TonyThePirate
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    TOO MUCH HYPE!!!!! I don't know what the big deal is but Microsoft sure did a great job in marketing. And, people sure got suckered into it. There are way better games out there.
  21. Propchecy15
    Dec 11, 2004
    7
    It is sad i never thought halo 2, would be so depressing after the 2years and a half of waiting for halo 2 to come out and beat it on the 11th pissed me off i found it way to short, and the storyline sometimes pisses me off they count one level as 4 in the beggining menu and the first level is actually a movie i was really ticked at bungie the dual wielding is cool, new vehicles, but the It is sad i never thought halo 2, would be so depressing after the 2years and a half of waiting for halo 2 to come out and beat it on the 11th pissed me off i found it way to short, and the storyline sometimes pisses me off they count one level as 4 in the beggining menu and the first level is actually a movie i was really ticked at bungie the dual wielding is cool, new vehicles, but the glitched movies really got to me. in all i thought this game wasnt as good as it could have been but the multiplayer is fun. too bad no bots. Expand
  22. RichardR.
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the lighting effects on the needler you hold are rubbish now. Aagh! All the reviews giving it top grades are wrong. As a single player game it is miles below Riddick and the original Halo. It sucks. as with the majority of gamers, I don't have Live. The only trustworthy reviews are those at the bottom of the list who tell it like it is. Expand
  23. K-Rap
    Dec 13, 2004
    3
    After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult gameplay, no real challenge except how fast you can pump bullets into the next 50 enemies that pop on screen. I'm bored of this gametype. The multiplayer is better, but not by much. A "No bots" feature doesn't help fill the huge maps, and X-box Live costs too damn much to justify it's existence. I refuse to shell out $200+ for the system, $60 for the game, and $40 per month for the ability to play online. Overall disappointing. I will be going back to favorites like Counter Strike and Unreal on PC before I touch Halo 2 again. Expand
  24. Distinct
    Dec 13, 2004
    1
    First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you have someone thats about to beat the hell out of you like a noob....The makers screwed the game over by making it easy for noobs to grab a sword or a battle rifle or a vehicle and just take control. In Coagulation if theres like what ten vehicles there should atleast by 2 maybe 3 rocket launchers hidden in the map. The sniper should respawn quicker also. If you havent noticed Im a straight shooter....no hiding no tricks no b/s. I see you I kill you type of player. I dont care if your with 7 other players. Thats what the game should be about. Killing people with guns. Not lucky head shots or a sword or a vehicles because you have no aim at all. As for the campaign mode....it was boring but I always played it with a friend so we just messed around in vehicles and stuff it wasnt that bad when you dont take it seriously and just have fun. Expand
  25. AustinR.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Hands down, the most legendary game in history!
  26. BobJ.
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    Best game period.
  27. Eric
    Dec 19, 2004
    0
    Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat DE-volved. Expand
  28. ZackJ
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    I think is game is awesome 'cause of the double wield weapons. I think one of the flaws was that the life meter is now harder to see, but the shield is better. I really don't like the grenades; they are too weak. This game owns ''Mech Assault 2 : Lone Wolf''.
  29. Arthur
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    While the single-player game lacks a phenominal story, it serves as a great practice for the game's real gem: multiplayer action. The game is easily worth buying just to be able to play with three friends or up to fifteen online. With infinate multiplayer modes and an enormous Live community that's growing each day, you will get Live as soon as you play this game.
  30. Kevlar
    Dec 3, 2004
    9
    First of all, from a video game veteran's standpoint this game succeeds in everyway, shape, or form that a video game should. For all you whiners, you are what I would call hype-aholics. Granted this game came out as a sequel but to compare a game only to it's predecesor is wrong. There were so many crappy 1st person shooters that for one completely playable as a self-contained First of all, from a video game veteran's standpoint this game succeeds in everyway, shape, or form that a video game should. For all you whiners, you are what I would call hype-aholics. Granted this game came out as a sequel but to compare a game only to it's predecesor is wrong. There were so many crappy 1st person shooters that for one completely playable as a self-contained unit to come out and to be playable on an almost life-long scale (ie mulitplayer options) then the game is truly great....in my opinion. The complexity of the story arc and the characters alone dwarfs that of hordes of preceeding FPS games. Expand
  31. JAYU.
    Dec 5, 2004
    8
    In HALO 2 you have no health meter. Thats bogus! the fuel rod gun was lacking too. i have no room to complain because i got it for $20.oo. but for all you who don't, there is no way you should pay more than $30.oo. And yes, the human pistol stinks!!!
  32. KennyH.
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    It's a good game, but the single player is boring as hell, and the multiplayer maps are worse than the first game (fun, nevertheless)
  33. UlliJ.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Halo 2 will blow minds. This is the best game since LOZ: Ocarina of time.
  34. RyanVanN.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome!!!!!
  35. KenE.
    May 19, 2004
    10
    The rating scale is maxed out at 10!! What the f**k!! Halo 2 has an all new graphics engine and basically all the problems from the first have been corrected and with the inclusion of xbox live Halo 2 = Winning every single game award imagineable!! What's this about Killzone on PS2 being the Halo killer?! Bring it on Sony.
  36. OMARL.
    Aug 21, 2004
    10
    WOW!!!!
  37. ChristinaN.
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever made.
  38. JEmMYK.
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    Sweet game.
  39. DanL.
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    Simply the best game on the xbox.
  40. M.S.
    Dec 22, 2005
    6
    After playing this game on all of the difficulties (Yes even Heroic and Legendary level stuff) I felt absolutely abbandoned. This was one of the most non-thrilling, straight-foward, technically underwhelming, and totally monotanous games I have ever played! I am sorry but there was simply no gameplay variation, there was no logic in the level design waht's so ever, the weapons were After playing this game on all of the difficulties (Yes even Heroic and Legendary level stuff) I felt absolutely abbandoned. This was one of the most non-thrilling, straight-foward, technically underwhelming, and totally monotanous games I have ever played! I am sorry but there was simply no gameplay variation, there was no logic in the level design waht's so ever, the weapons were boring and all felt very much the same when I used them (Except the sword which was kick ass), the sound track bugged the hell out of me (Although Incubus was perfect), the story-let's face it-is perhaps the most worthless piece of game motivation I have ever seen, and may I mention that Halo 3 better improve upon this..this was high level crap. Compaired to games such as Half-Life 2 (10), Far Cry (7), Doom 3 (9), and Quake 4 (7), it pails and shivers. I already stated exactly why I disliked this indulgent crap...sub par graphics, atrocious story, unexciting level design, tedium...but why a six? Well because the mutli-player is the best thing to happen to FPS games...if you have a bunch of friends with Xbox's and cables..throw a party and play this game! It is the most fun you will have with a group of friends on the Xbox. It elevates on so many levels here. The extention of Maps is also a fine purchase for those who really don't give two shits about the single player...like me after I played through it. Expand
  41. FrankieB.
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    Cinescape really dont know what they're talking about. If you look at thier website, it shows games like Sharks Tale, and Mario Party Six, getting a better review than Halo 2. Come on. Come ooooon. You may not like Halo 2 but it far surpasses games like Leisure Suit Larry, Vampire, and Taiko Drum Master. Give me a break. The only thing that bothered me in this game was playing with Cinescape really dont know what they're talking about. If you look at thier website, it shows games like Sharks Tale, and Mario Party Six, getting a better review than Halo 2. Come on. Come ooooon. You may not like Halo 2 but it far surpasses games like Leisure Suit Larry, Vampire, and Taiko Drum Master. Give me a break. The only thing that bothered me in this game was playing with that Covinent scum. You go from killing all Covi bastards to sympathizing, and sparing Covi bastards. Expand
  42. Jake
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Pretty sure it is one of the best games ever.
  43. JonathanZ.
    Feb 14, 2005
    7
    You can tell right off the bat that Halo 2 is going to be different from it
  44. AnthonyR.
    Feb 24, 2005
    8
    Like all xbox users, i believe that halo is a must have for anyone. But their are some things in this game that really annoyed me. First off, when you get to a cut scene u see the outlines then the textures later, also legendary is practically impossible to beat, and i was really dissapointed that it just a fight to save earth, and thats all you did was stay on earth and try to destroy Like all xbox users, i believe that halo is a must have for anyone. But their are some things in this game that really annoyed me. First off, when you get to a cut scene u see the outlines then the textures later, also legendary is practically impossible to beat, and i was really dissapointed that it just a fight to save earth, and thats all you did was stay on earth and try to destroy the covenient from taking it over. Another thing that got me upset was taking the roles of two people, to me that was just flat out stupid and not well thought, but the xbox live is very solid. Its fun for anyone who loves halo, but dont get me wrong i love halo & halo 2 but to me it doesnt desirve a 10, and the people that say it does are getting the game way too much credit, get a life Expand
  45. TimK.
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Although i was contemplating giving this game an eight it is a very good game. Its Great Fun online with other people. And even the Campaign is a little lacking in the story department thats ok. You cannot deny this game is a must buy for any Xboxer who is a fan of the shooters but keep in mind that you will think it is great not perfect.
  46. MattC.
    Mar 22, 2005
    3
    This game is absolute !@#$ the original was much better i dont know how many times i replayed the levels in the original i did not enjoy this game as much
  47. JordanH.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Crazy awesome.
  48. Wongit
    Apr 11, 2005
    7
    It's good...but i seriously SERIOUSLY think this game is way overhyped
  49. MystaKool
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    I'm giving Halo 2 a 10 out of 10, simply because it's the first game since I was about twelve years old that has kept me home, in front of the tube, controller in hand, for hours at a time (I'm 25 now). Honestly, I cannot say much for the campaign mode, because I've not played it all too much, but let me just say that multiplayer mode, Xbox live style, is absolutely I'm giving Halo 2 a 10 out of 10, simply because it's the first game since I was about twelve years old that has kept me home, in front of the tube, controller in hand, for hours at a time (I'm 25 now). Honestly, I cannot say much for the campaign mode, because I've not played it all too much, but let me just say that multiplayer mode, Xbox live style, is absolutely brilliant. I've read through the reviews here and I've noticed that alot of people are saying "Oh, there's no skill involved", or "It's a run-n-gun game" or "You just circle each other with dual SMG's", but the beauty of this game is that you can play it any way you like. Yes, you can run around and shoot at everything that moves, or you can get into circle-strafes with opponents, etc., but you can also situate yourself in a key position, and wait to strike. You can crawl around, under the eye of the radar, and sneak up behind a sniper (or anyone), you can zoom in with your scope and find out where your enemies are. You can ambush your opponents, or attack from above. You can bounce grenades around corners, you can snipe, you can drive vehicles. The gameplay is so involved and dynamic. Best part, you can play on a team, and can communicate with your teammates via the xbox communicator headset. "Hey, watch out, he's behind you!" or, "The bomb's up in the tower, watch for the turret" or "He's hiding around the corner with the shotgun" - All of you who are giving this game a low rating are simply not taking the time to appreciate its subtleties. Yes, there are alot of younger people who play this game, but that's no reason to stray from it. Kids like video games! Why wouldn't they? Kids like GAMES! I think it's fine to play online against anyone, and chances are, those young kids are going to take you to the cleaners. It's a great game! If you don't have it, get it! And for those of you who balk at the "lack of skill required" - let me show you the skills required - send me a friend invite so I can ..what do they call it...pwn...you? Expand
  50. GordonU.
    Apr 19, 2005
    6
    In attitudes(relations) to campaign, levels are ridiculously long, plot (site) is soft, and is sincere in some parts a history would be more provided, if the huge aperture of plot (site) only admitted, instead of some awfully invented case. Recurrence (copy) - opinion - numbing. I find myself visiting rooms (place) of looking 20 minutes for a silly output(exit), it or is latent, behind of In attitudes(relations) to campaign, levels are ridiculously long, plot (site) is soft, and is sincere in some parts a history would be more provided, if the huge aperture of plot (site) only admitted, instead of some awfully invented case. Recurrence (copy) - opinion - numbing. I find myself visiting rooms (place) of looking 20 minutes for a silly output(exit), it or is latent, behind of a cautious corner, or in a stable (labyrinth) of tunnels, shoots also ladders, doing(making) the game more upsetting (more sad) both intense than entertainment and a relaxation. As soon as I really leave, I have returned with my exclusive (preferable) weapon, shooting the same guys who are many times not changing. Similarly to display on the green screen, the background changes, and it - about it. My account receives all his(its) items(points) (points) from a way of the multiplayer which I still feel, wonderful and... Anyhow more senseless than the halo 1. As a whole, rather unfavourable. Expand
  51. VladmirB.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    I enjoy this game very much. It has forced me to have very big excrements when I am killed. Unfortunately, I cannot enter in bathing quickly enough, and frequently times are compelled to get in failure on my couch. You cannot receive human expenditure (waste products) from a leather(skin). I tried unsucessfully many times. I shall contact with Bungie.net to my account (bill) of clearing. I enjoy this game very much. It has forced me to have very big excrements when I am killed. Unfortunately, I cannot enter in bathing quickly enough, and frequently times are compelled to get in failure on my couch. You cannot receive human expenditure (waste products) from a leather(skin). I tried unsucessfully many times. I shall contact with Bungie.net to my account (bill) of clearing. Why they would do(make) video game which is so difficult to remove me from? I play this game constantly, without rest, before my crash of a body (body). Awakening from the miss(passing) to find my trousers polluted, and my dead head of the owner (master), is very unpleasant really!! Expand
  52. CoryK.
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    This game is WAY overhyped. It's saving grace is it's amazing multiplayer. However, the campaign is not only short ut also very boring.
  53. AkiraBlue
    May 19, 2005
    10
    I enjoy halo 2 alot because it take more than skills to play this game. It also relies on team work and tactics. In addition it has alittle of realism integrated with sci-fi.
  54. JimmyT.
    May 28, 2005
    6
    This is a decent FPS and nothing more. It has good graphics and audio, but it does not make up for the mediocre gameplay. It is a decent game smothered in tons of hype.
  55. Nathan
    Jun 12, 2005
    4
    People, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends housePeople, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends house for 4 hours totla. multiplayer is supposed to be the highlight, right? i got my ass beat. im not mad about that. The gameplay sucked. The maps blew chunks. the graphics were decent, but nothing stunning. u want stunning? try RE4. overall, halo 2 is nothing new, just a mix of things that have been done before. attack on earth: done. aliens: done. vehicles: done. guns: done. running around and hopping like a frickin noob: done. come on people, look at the whole game THEN review it. and i dont believe all those 10's. where are the reasons? o wait, there arent ne, cause u guys are all xbox fanboys. Expand
  56. Jazzbo
    Jun 17, 2005
    5
    Biggest pros: lifelike graphics, story, changing viewpoints, destructable environment, vehicle usage (and being able to steal one in motion), split-screen mulitplayer customization Biggest cons: The ending. I felt like they just stopped somewhere in the middle of telling the story.
  57. MikeA.
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    At first i didn't really like it that much, but once i got into it, now i think its the best game ever, but there could of been more maps and better weapons.
  58. JimR.
    Sep 17, 2005
    9
    Now I do love halo 2, maybe more than the next guy. But it not even close to being like the first Halo. In the origanal you go through massave areas that are more nature with some buildings once in a while which gave it depth. In the 2nd halo you have it fliped. You get get the feeling that nature is taking over and it feels, dirty I gess is the bast way to explan it. Also in the first Now I do love halo 2, maybe more than the next guy. But it not even close to being like the first Halo. In the origanal you go through massave areas that are more nature with some buildings once in a while which gave it depth. In the 2nd halo you have it fliped. You get get the feeling that nature is taking over and it feels, dirty I gess is the bast way to explan it. Also in the first Halo every one LOVED the pistol. Not any more. The people at bungie tried replacing the pistol with the battle rifle, and it ended coming out not even close. In short you will have a lot of fun in halo 2 but the main game is just too short, and thoughs of us with out Xbox live (tear) will end up sitting, staring at the same levels over and over and over.... Expand
  59. DakotaG.
    Sep 23, 2005
    1
    The game was these worst i every play all you do is shoot and be stupid so my rate is a 1.
  60. Ricardo
    Jan 11, 2006
    3
    Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and shiny. The weapons are mostly weak and useless - why ruin the superb handgun? The level design is truly horrific - an appalling mess passing for cities or spaceships. The first level sums it all up - boring, ugly, pointless and a mess. The gameplay is just not on the level of the first game. The reviewers giving 100% are just cowards going with the crowd. There is one good thing - the dual weilding weapons. But that can't overcome the stench from the rest of the game. I finally completed it in spite of the boredom but won't pick it up again. Expand
  61. JohnW.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the graphical upgrade, second character, and beam-sword...everybody gotta love dat beam sword. Expand
  62. MattV.
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    Halo 2 is an amazing game. The story line for it kinda sucks but who cares the multiplayer is awesome! Every Xbox owner should have this game.
  63. ChrisK.
    May 31, 2006
    7
    Halo 2 action is nothing more than just like the original Halo. Constantly fighting and poorly told stories, but that's not what all the good ratings come in. Players who enjoy a good bashing will like this game. The feel for the weapons are amazing and that's pretty much it. Getting a sticky grenade onto your opponent from fifty feet away is a pretty damn good feeling. The Halo 2 action is nothing more than just like the original Halo. Constantly fighting and poorly told stories, but that's not what all the good ratings come in. Players who enjoy a good bashing will like this game. The feel for the weapons are amazing and that's pretty much it. Getting a sticky grenade onto your opponent from fifty feet away is a pretty damn good feeling. The reason for all those good ratings you see, aren't because the players overrate the game. It is because they enjoy it and Halo is quite fun. I do recommend this game to anyone who is not up to date and spoiled by next-generation graphics and visual effects. Expand
  64. AlecB.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    X-Box was only created to play two games and that is Halo and Halo 2.
  65. CormacH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    2
    I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the original Halo as the maps are dreadful. If you want an online halo game, buy Halo (PC). It will even work on a dial-up modem! Halo 2 is just a hype that was actually the low point to xbox not to mind the series. Expand
  66. Adrian
    Sep 18, 2007
    8
    While the presentation, gameplay, and graphics technology definitely make Halo 2 a quality product, its poor storyline's execution and repetitive nature stop it from being truly outstanding.
  67. SanzeeBoy
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    Revolutionary and fantastic in every way possible. Only adds to the success of this wonderful franchise. It hurts me to see Messiah rating all the Xbox titles so low. I wonder why?
  68. GD
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    I loved the game. It blew my f..king mind. the only thing that pisses me off is that i beat the story mode in a day. Whatever though its still damn good i'd give it a 9.5. Probably a ten if the ending wasn't so damn pissant.
  69. CaoB.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    It's the best game to come to the console ever and will be for years to come.
  70. MikeW.
    Nov 11, 2004
    7
    This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if it ain't broke don't fix it mentality to it. Only problem is it just blatantly overlooks problems from the first game. Though it isn't a complete waste, it has good enough core gameplay to make it worth buy. But if you want a mind blowing gaming experience go someplace else. Expand
  71. NedL.
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    Halo 2 is great, but not perfect, and so not worth 100% or 10. The single-player world that is created is epic and just damn cool, although I agree that the ending leaves you somewhat deflated. Those who unfavourably compare this to PC games like half-life or unreal tournament need to get in a room with one TV, four controllers and three friends. It is just SO EASY to get set up and have Halo 2 is great, but not perfect, and so not worth 100% or 10. The single-player world that is created is epic and just damn cool, although I agree that the ending leaves you somewhat deflated. Those who unfavourably compare this to PC games like half-life or unreal tournament need to get in a room with one TV, four controllers and three friends. It is just SO EASY to get set up and have fun in this game, and THAT is what makes it special. After all, it's good to play together :P Expand
  72. RaphaelR.
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    Yes i gave it a nine NOT A TEN why? because its s0o0o overated sometimes the game is not perfect why are you people giving it ten i mean don't get me wrong it is a good game the single player is s0o much fun plus if u have al ot of friends that likes halo multiplayer would be a super fun experience for you. The first time i played this game (i've never played halo 1) my friendYes i gave it a nine NOT A TEN why? because its s0o0o overated sometimes the game is not perfect why are you people giving it ten i mean don't get me wrong it is a good game the single player is s0o much fun plus if u have al ot of friends that likes halo multiplayer would be a super fun experience for you. The first time i played this game (i've never played halo 1) my friend asked me to come over and play because he was talkin bout how great this game is and the graphics are unbelievable i was like ok i'll go to your house and we played for 5 hours straight while i was playing it i was like "is this the kind of graphics u were talkin bout???" because the graphics aren't really all that but it is good i was just disappointed to find out that the game wasn't what i expected form hearing what all of my friends say. This game has plenty of weapons but they should add more weapons more variety of SMG's , and assualt rifles , and so on and how come this game doesn't have light machine guns i mean the turrets are fun to use but would'nt you like a machine gun that you can carry and kill aliens with. There's also one very fun thing about this game its the dual - wielding this thing makes the game really fun especially when you have double SMG's that is my favorite combination its not the most powerful combination but i like using two fully automatic SMG's at the same time. The single player itself is fairly long its about 10 - 15 hours thats how long it took me but it really depends on what difficulty you play it on.overall the games is pretty good it is a must have for your xbox games collection this is one of the best FPS games i've played so far this game is worth $50 or $55 if u got the collectors edition..haha.. but chyeah i guess this ends my review hope i helped you with my review. Expand
  73. BradS.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    The genious of this game doesn't lie within its brilliant single-player campaign. Or its breathless Multiplayer modes. It lies within all of us. Who somehow feel that playing this game makes us better. Bungie has made the game of Halo into a world phenomenon for many years to come.
  74. FrankS.
    Nov 12, 2004
    9
    I give Halo 2 a 9 for several reasons. I feel that the game delivered on it's gameplay, but the storyline in my opinion is terrible. You are constantly switching from master chief to the arbitor. They should have had a section where you could pick one character and play through with him to see what happens... then play it all over again with the other character. Graphics are GREAT I give Halo 2 a 9 for several reasons. I feel that the game delivered on it's gameplay, but the storyline in my opinion is terrible. You are constantly switching from master chief to the arbitor. They should have had a section where you could pick one character and play through with him to see what happens... then play it all over again with the other character. Graphics are GREAT and gameplay is AWESOME!!! but the storyline sucks.... I could not follow what was going on because they constantly jump around, and the last level I'm not going to ruin anything, I thought the last level was a drag for one reason and one reason only and you will all know once you beat the game. Expand
  75. EddieP.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This game is f...king great man to all those that gave this game a low score must be on something other than drugs or sniffing something other than crack. I like the way you use the guns in this one I wish they had it where you could switch to your other gun with out having to drop the two guns in your hand other then that this game is great I can't wait for part 3 to come out.
  76. KirkD.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    The incredible thing about Halo 2 is well....everything. The game just consumes you throughout every aspect. I wasnt disappointed with the length of the game only because it was so good that I am willing to go back and play it again and again. Also it is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. The online is just incredible and it is just plain fun to play period. Even though I am The incredible thing about Halo 2 is well....everything. The game just consumes you throughout every aspect. I wasnt disappointed with the length of the game only because it was so good that I am willing to go back and play it again and again. Also it is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. The online is just incredible and it is just plain fun to play period. Even though I am already itching for Halo 3, Im sure ill be just fine with this until the day comes. This is one for the ages. Expand
  77. GabeY.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!!! Just playing it for a couple hours at my friends house made me addicted. Much harder than the first, but using the duel wield kicks ass!
  78. CameronS.
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever. Bettered Halo in most repects, but the melee attacks are not as fluid as before in the combat, and its too damn short. Also Bungie offered so many more vehicles than what they gave. Great fun, but I think perfection will wait for Halo 3.
  79. WayneF.
    Nov 14, 2004
    9
    If I had never played the original Halo, this game would be the coolest, toughest, meanest, best game ever. However, I know all the tricks now and this game , in single player mode, isn't too much of a challenge. But its still Halo and even better than the first. Nice vehicles and weapons. I really want that energy sword. Unfortunately, the ending made me want to scream, i've If I had never played the original Halo, this game would be the coolest, toughest, meanest, best game ever. However, I know all the tricks now and this game , in single player mode, isn't too much of a challenge. But its still Halo and even better than the first. Nice vehicles and weapons. I really want that energy sword. Unfortunately, the ending made me want to scream, i've already cursed Bungie via email. When is Halo 3 due??!! Now back to practising on Legendary before inviting the mates around for multiplayer madness. Expand
  80. DeeToo
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Not perfect, but brilliant and with a wildly imaginative story. IMO, one of the great sequals in entertainment history. Kudos to Bungie for pushing the boundaries of what is possible and yet also retaining the distinctive character of the original HALO. Yes, I agree there are some technical glitches, etc., but there are moments in this game that I can't get out of my mind and Not perfect, but brilliant and with a wildly imaginative story. IMO, one of the great sequals in entertainment history. Kudos to Bungie for pushing the boundaries of what is possible and yet also retaining the distinctive character of the original HALO. Yes, I agree there are some technical glitches, etc., but there are moments in this game that I can't get out of my mind and can't wait to encounter again. As good as THE CHRONICLES OF RIDDICK, BUTCHER BAY looked, HALO 2 is ten times more addictive and incredibly fun to play. Expand
  81. Jelly_Bean_Man
    Nov 15, 2004
    8
    Come on people. This is not the super super super super...(you get the point) game you all think it is. It's like Microsoft got so high off it's power that it ignored the people that claimed there was something wrong with the first game and just continued making Halo 2. It's makes me wonder if they made them both straight after the other without listening to people's Come on people. This is not the super super super super...(you get the point) game you all think it is. It's like Microsoft got so high off it's power that it ignored the people that claimed there was something wrong with the first game and just continued making Halo 2. It's makes me wonder if they made them both straight after the other without listening to people's complaints. Now, you're probably wondering, why did I give this game an 8. Well, I didn't say it was a bad game. On the contrary, the multiplayer is excellent, and the use of vehicles is very smart thoroughout the game, so is the A.I. However, the same problems emerge from the last game. Balance issues: you can murder someone by hitting them with a pistol but not die after being shot with an machine gun 3000000 times. Level layout: the same repetitiveness and not enough freedom in the single player mode suffer even more in the second game. Also, the story ending is crap, I'm sure even the most addicted Halo fan will agree to that. It makes people not want to replay the single player mode ever again. For multiplayer though, Halo 2 stands with the biggest of them. However, I believe Unreal and Half Life just handle things better, not like the big-headed people at Microsoft, who believed the first people who said it was the greatest game ever and never listened to anyone else afterward. However, if it is storyline and single player you're looking for, get Unreal 2, not Halo. All in all, the Halo brainwashed people will enjoy this indefinitely, but for the people who actually think, rent this before you get it, see if you can overlook the giangantic gripes some people have. Expand
  82. AramisG.
    Nov 15, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] I own just about every system and I would say am only a fan-boy of good games not of systems. This game was good and I enjoyed it, but I also think it is down right negligent to give any game you can beat in 6 hrs (while literally walking through the last levels) a 10 out of 10. I really, really wish gaming magazines would address the overly short gaming problem for what[***SPOILERS***] I own just about every system and I would say am only a fan-boy of good games not of systems. This game was good and I enjoyed it, but I also think it is down right negligent to give any game you can beat in 6 hrs (while literally walking through the last levels) a 10 out of 10. I really, really wish gaming magazines would address the overly short gaming problem for what it is no matter what franchise they are reviewing. Here is my review: Pros 1. A really solid story (except for the ending and some plot holes). 2. Great addictive gameplay augmented by cool weapons. 3. I really enjoyed being the arbiter, even more than being Master Chief. 4. Some of the vistas in this game are really breath-taking and add a feeling of urgency to the mission at hand. 5. Minimized combat with the Flood (they are really just annoying gun fodder compared to the Covenant). Cons 1. Way to short. I am really done with games that are over just when you are beginning to enjoy them. 2. This game looked way better in pictures. It still looks good, but I was expecting better. (What is up with the Brutes looking like overweight country bears instead of their original gorilla-esque design?) 3. Not much else to do except shoot at enemies or drive. Other than a few new enemy types (snipers & drones) it is the same as Halo 1. 4. The AI is over-hyped (In order for my AI comrades to be smart enough not to walk out into sniper fire I have to sacrifice my own shield strength?). 5. This game still has incredibly repetitive level design. There are still millions of pointless corridors and long drawn out chases. Expand
  83. MattR.
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    This game is sooo coool! i would have given it a 10 if bungie didnt lie to us about all that stuff like....the atv, peeking around conors, sprinting, doing combo mele attacks, the 4 different types of warthogs and being able to shoot out lights and hide in the shadows. there was not 1 light that i could shoot out. oo ya and that third granade. that wasnt in it either.
  84. Michael
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    Best game out for Xbox.
  85. JohnC.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    I used to hate halo now I am a big fan of it.
  86. AlexBigbottom
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    Well, I am a big time halo fan. So you can probbably guess my reaction when I heard the game was coming out. I was thrilled! So the same hour I read the news i pre ordered it. This was in septembER so i started reading the halo novels. I was like i cant wait!! So the big day is here and i have my copy i race home i popped it in and it was great. A few days later when i was really in the Well, I am a big time halo fan. So you can probbably guess my reaction when I heard the game was coming out. I was thrilled! So the same hour I read the news i pre ordered it. This was in septembER so i started reading the halo novels. I was like i cant wait!! So the big day is here and i have my copy i race home i popped it in and it was great. A few days later when i was really in the game, i notiCed great things like graphics new wepons dual weiding vehicals and playing as the Arbiter! (an elite)arbiter is cool but master cheif is still cooler. a few days later i killed taturus the bad guy and a cut scene came and i was like YES THE END CUT SECENE!!!! i watched it and then guess wat? no ending. jut master chief talking to this old fool. hes like (the old guy) were are you going and cheif says to finish off this fight. and there are the credits. i stare at the screen dumb struck. 80 F***ING BUCKS (i bought collecters edition) AND I DONET EVEN GET A FREAKING ENDING?!?!?!? dont get me wrong I love halo and all you guys at bungie but CCCCOME ON! not even a frikin ending?!? this game is great an I highly reccomend buying this game. Thank you. (i would have given this a 9 and a half i cant because it only goes like 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10.) Expand
  87. ChristianB.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    Great presentation. Unfortunately this game is simply a sequel to an already bland game. Maybe if Halo 1 wasn't like a million other video games this would be impressive. Improving an engine and making better graphics is what every single sequel does. Let's try something original for once. Overall it's a waste of money unless you're a diehard fan.
  88. NathanT.
    Nov 17, 2004
    5
    Come on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyoneCome on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyone wants u to believe, eh? Expand
  89. Guardian
    Nov 19, 2004
    7
    This is a awesome game. The dual guns the energy sword. Awesome. But the game is just to short. This game is pretty much only good when you have X-box live.
  90. Niko
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Veri kuud keim. kuud kraphiks änd saunds änd multipleier änd tms.
  91. ZakA.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    One if not da sickest game eva.
  92. SteveB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    [*** SPOILER***] Good action, great story, cool weapons, great characters... but... TOO D*MN SHORT !!! When MC says he's here to "finish the fight" but then the credits roll, I was INSULTED.
  93. StephenS.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    It lived up to expectations with a more frentic and less repetitive single player. LIVE plays as good as it gets and the MP maps are a must!
  94. Halo2Stinks
    Nov 24, 2004
    4
    This game was way too hyped up. The E3 scenes that everyone drooled over didn't even make it into the game. Poor controls, lack of real weapons, and repetitive screens. That's what I took away from this game. Crappy storyline doesn't exactly help either. Halo 3 is supposed to be the first game for Xbox2 so I hear, but I won't waste my money after this pile of crud.
  95. MasterChef
    Nov 29, 2004
    1
    Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just because there'd be too many idiots who have memorized every map and know where every powerup is. That's not a bad thing in most games, but it is here. When the weapons are THIS unbalanced, you only need to figure out where you start on the map to see if you have a chance of winning. The hype the game received even makes things worse. I've read so many reviews that people give the game 10/10, but then say "Well, it doesn't live up to the hype, and there are problems..". Expand
  96. BigD
    Nov 29, 2004
    7
    Good Game. Didn't live up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. I wouldn't go as far as some people to say that I'm trading my X-box for a PS2, but it's not as good as I hoped. A few things that come to mind that were disappointing to me were: 1.) I was hoping there would be more battling on earth. I thougth the main plot of the game was going to be the Covenant Good Game. Didn't live up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. I wouldn't go as far as some people to say that I'm trading my X-box for a PS2, but it's not as good as I hoped. A few things that come to mind that were disappointing to me were: 1.) I was hoping there would be more battling on earth. I thougth the main plot of the game was going to be the Covenant invading earth. So I figured there would be more action on the city streets and buildings of earth cities. Instead we are back on alien planets and mother ships like the original Halo. 2.) When I play Halo, whether it's the first Halo or Halo 2, I am playing to kick ass with Master Chief, not to spend half the game playing as a character that is an enemy of the humans. This was a major disappointment for me. Some people I know weren't bothered by that, but it rubbed me wrong. The game is still a good entertaining game and worth the money to me, but I was definitely expecting a little more. Expand
  97. Dbl90
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    So far, reading all the reviews, I've seen three things. The first, is that it is a perfect game, the second it is a terrible game, and the third that it doesn't matter how good it is, the developers tried. I'd like to inform you that they are all wrong. To walk down memory lane, the original Halo was a great game, even the non-FPS lover would probably eventually have to So far, reading all the reviews, I've seen three things. The first, is that it is a perfect game, the second it is a terrible game, and the third that it doesn't matter how good it is, the developers tried. I'd like to inform you that they are all wrong. To walk down memory lane, the original Halo was a great game, even the non-FPS lover would probably eventually have to admit its brilliance. I had high expectations for Halo 2...along with the dread of a long time gaming tradition...the bad sequel. The fact that it is a sequel, and most people know the original, I shall point out what has changed. Halo 2 has some pretty intresting new features, the most novel of which is playing as an elite, with cloaking. I quite enjoyed dual weilding, especially needlers, and brought a good deal of variation to the game, even though one could not melee while not dual weilding. Also, I quite liked the intoduction of of the plasma sword, and the brute shot, which made melee combat somthing that was a possibility. The vehicles now start taking visual physical damage when shot. The sound and graphics are pretty nice, and the companion marines you take with you can be funny, although I have to admit one of the voices really ended up getting to me. Where this game really comes through, is in the multiplayer, and although I think perfer the levels in the original halo, the fact that Halo 2 is live enabled makes it great. No more having to call everyone I know to see if they could drop by to play multiplayer. The only downside is that Halo multiplay is definately not geared twoard a small group, and some levels are just too rediculously big and unweildy for two, three, or even four. Apart from these small innvations I can't really say there is too much going for this game. I really don't like how the weapons were redone, maybe it is just personal taste, but my whole style of gameplay from the original Halo was really messed up with my favorite weapons becoming quite useless. The story line, while starting off pretty intrestingly, end up bieng a bit stale, and it is the typical lrun and gun style game. The highest incentive for replay is the differant difficulty modes, which unlike in most games, make quite a big deal of differance. Go from easy to legendary....and you'll probably throw your controller down cursing when you try to melee that elite to death. The removal of any proof that one beat the game on legendary removes any bragging rights, which, is somwhat of a loss. The game shines through, but it isn't a revultion in the FPS , it isn't a classic like the orginal halo, and maybe it is a bit worse , but this is by all means not a bad game. Definately worth a rental, this is one of those games everyone else has, and probably would serve somone much better to go to play a friends copy. This deserves to be recognized as one of the better consol FPSs of the year, but does it deserve a us to serenade it with praises night and day? I think not. Dbl90 Expand
  98. CameronE.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Halo 2 is a great game. yes you should buy it for your self, a friend or for your kid/kids.
  99. PerryL.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    I am sure most of the people who have rated this game are PS2 people, this game is amazing and definitely worth buying if you like FPS.
  100. JosephC.
    Dec 17, 2004
    8
    Halo 2 is an awesome game. While it is a bit too short, and not as good as Halo: Combat Evolved, it still delivers as a game.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]