Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1244 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. R.S.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    Ok people... i mean really was it that great. Ok to let you know my history... I bought the Xbox only to play halo back when it first came out, yes I admit it was one of the better first person shooters out there well considers consoles only I would say it was the best. so yes I was anticipating Halo 2, I couldn
  2. TonyC.
    Jan 5, 2005
    5
    The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once you get in the game and play it is fun. Sometimes in team battles part of your team will leave and it makes the teams so unfair you can't win and takes the fun out of the online experience. Overall online experience nothing really new or exciting Online play is definately better than single player mode. Online rating = 7, however it gets old and repetitive quick as well. Expand
  3. JesseS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    7
    A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that really shines in this game is the multiplayer. Expect it to be a great experience, but its not the giant God that everyone makes it out to be. Expand
  4. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2007
    7
    After years of hype finally people can see this game is massively over-rated. The single player is shite. No bones about saying it either. Terrible in fact, with only the humor keeping you interested. Multi player is where it's at. I think in future this game should only be an multi player title. Single player score: 4. Multi player score: 10. Average 7.
  5. DickSavage
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I despise halo for all of is bribed reviews and garbage game play. But the story of the Arbiter is actually epic. He is sent on suicide missions and they still cant kill him. This one is the best of the series, which isn't saying much. The 5 I give it is 5 points higher than what i gave the other two.
  6. JeroenVR
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started on this amazingly stupid game, and yes I am a race fan). I hope it will not be the same for Half Life 2. Expand
  7. D.C.
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super Master Cheif because he is Unbreakable. He can jump on top of almost anything, fall from the sky and all this with out a scratch. Glitching is a problem to, empty chairs one second, then bam the whole Marine Core the next. Why was it pushed back is the question of the year or should I say three years. I gave the game a 5 because of XBOX Live, THATS ALSOME. My last words are HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!!. Can't wait for Underground 2. Expand
  8. MattP.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    Very overrated. I expected tight action with frantic spinning and alot of "oh jesus!" and I got it. But the fights were either way too long or way too short and the ending was the most bitter slap in the face I've experienced in gaming.
  9. TomC.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a problem. Also, the fact that everything moves at the speed of light is another problem. The game feels like it was only built for xbox live. The fact that we had to wait three years for this is pretty sad in my opinion as the improvements are extremely minimal.... an extra few weapons and options... really nothing spectacular. Expand
  10. SariD.
    Dec 22, 2004
    6
    Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game Yes yes and yes we know this game suffered mostly by way of hype-bomb syndrome. Essentially the creative marrow of Bungie's Mac based jumped ship halfway through this project and the Microsoft bigwigs stepped in and said that this is going to be the game that will serve as the ramp to get consumer kids onto Xbox Live. Because of that chapters of the game that would have made the game more substantial and meaningful in a Star Wars operatic way were lobotomized. The most dissapointing thing of all is that this is going to be the last Halo release on Xbox 1 and yes you will need to buy xbox2 to see how the trilogy ends in Halo3. Expand
  11. SaketR.
    Jan 11, 2005
    5
    Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As has been said by many others, the single player mode is totally underwhelming. Poor game design, recycled levels, slightly polished graphics and incredibly short, this game is a black mark when compared to the good effort that was Halo 1. Regardless, the multi player is better than most; only if you can manage 3 people to come over at a minimum. Some of the weapons are too powerful while others are remarkably weak. There seems to be no justice to anyone in this game: Sales have been too much, the public has been conned, and finally all the reviewers have been overrating, this is not the messiah of all games, oh no, its simply the snake which tempted all and ended up doing nothing but ill. Expand
  12. AdamL.
    Nov 29, 2005
    7
    Online is awsome, but the 1 player lacks intrest, as well as the maps. belive me, if you don't have live, don't get it
  13. ChrisB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    6
    With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. With all the praise that was being dumped on this game, I thought I'd pick it up for my Xbox. Wow. I feel sorry for people who only play FPS games on a console. This is supposed to be the best game ever made? Please. When judged against it's genre peers on the PC, Halo 2 is very average. The gameplay is linear, repetitive and the much-vaunted story seems incredibly superficial. The graphics are nowhere near as good as this year's PC shooters such as Half-Life 2, Far Cry, or Doom 3. And the online play is very run-of-the-mill. Still, I can see why console gamers think this is an amazing game - it's easily one of the best shooters ever made FOR A CONSOLE. But best game ever? Not even close. Halo 2 isn't even in the top 5 for best game of the year, if all platforms are taken into account, and when judged against it's shooter-peers on the PC, it's no better than average. Expand
  14. MarkW.
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    Its amazing how many people call this game nearly flawless, then give it a 100% rating. It's honestly less than average. It has some decent movie clips that bring interest to an otherwise dull playing experience. If your not playing online there is no reason to buy this game.
  15. AndrewF.
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Fanboy, but this game coulda been, woulda been, shoulda been... but isn't that great. By the way, if you like playing online against 12 year old boys and their dads, then give the xbox live Halo experience a try. It's super neat. Give me something that requires the use of my mind any day of the week. Guarantee you won't find little children in Xbox Live of Brother in Arms. You know why? Because that game requires actual thought, instead of mindless, unrealistic shooting of anything that moves. C'mon! This game is ALL HYPE! It's gets a 5/10 from me, purely on it's techinical acheivements. Expand
  16. FtzPronoMatser
    Jul 29, 2005
    7
    This game is fun for some time, but not to special. The enemies are not very diverse and I have to push a lot of buttons. Maybe it goes better with an extra hand. My thumbs hurt also. The multiplayer is ok and configurable enough. Coagulation Ctf is very fun. I don't like the alien weapons very much, but you can take them out. They should've put an communicator with the game, so This game is fun for some time, but not to special. The enemies are not very diverse and I have to push a lot of buttons. Maybe it goes better with an extra hand. My thumbs hurt also. The multiplayer is ok and configurable enough. Coagulation Ctf is very fun. I don't like the alien weapons very much, but you can take them out. They should've put an communicator with the game, so everybody has one and can talk. Please more models and alien weapons that are less silly. Warthog and tank are nice. But I still rather play another world on the amiga. On the xbox I like the last Splinter cell and Ninja gaiden best. Maybe Ninja Gaiden is the best game on xbox, but mileage may vary. Expand
  17. DK
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    Such a disappointment. They changed so much of what made Halo such a great game... WHY!? The developers themselves are disappointed with Halo 2. Hopefully they redeem themselves with Halo 3.
  18. Haloloser
    Oct 7, 2006
    7
    The reason this game got a seven is because its single player is so bad the mulltipler is great the best ever but the single is just so bad that I would give this game a 7, multiplayer 10, single 5, and thats being generous.
  19. OliverC.
    Jul 13, 2007
    5
    Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast away. I wont even talk about the single player. Expand
  20. HenryN.
    May 20, 2008
    6
    I'm really a fan of the first halo, and this game starts out delivering good gameplay, but after the first few levels the level designs become extremely repetitive (think library). The multiplayer is redeeming but many of the levels don't really feel balanced like halo1. This is a solid shooter but the first halo was superior. i would only check this out if you are a huge fan of I'm really a fan of the first halo, and this game starts out delivering good gameplay, but after the first few levels the level designs become extremely repetitive (think library). The multiplayer is redeeming but many of the levels don't really feel balanced like halo1. This is a solid shooter but the first halo was superior. i would only check this out if you are a huge fan of the series. Just don't go in expecting greatness. Expand
  21. Kaim
    Nov 14, 2004
    7
    After playing Metroid Prime.. its hard not to see the game's shortcomings. Somewhat basic gameplay, frustrating weapon pick up system (slooow).. Fantastic atmosphere though. 'King of the Hill' mode in multiplayer is top fun. As is 'Juggernaught'
  22. RogerW.
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    No multiplayer co-op. What were they thinking???
  23. RichardC.
    Nov 20, 2004
    6
    It goes without saying that, after the majesty of the original, I was twisted with anticipation waiting for what I thought would be an experience to savour. Surely the time between games would have been spent bettering the original...surely? All I can say is that the Halo 2 experience is distinctly underwhelming. Graphically, and I really hope it's just me, but is it really, really It goes without saying that, after the majesty of the original, I was twisted with anticipation waiting for what I thought would be an experience to savour. Surely the time between games would have been spent bettering the original...surely? All I can say is that the Halo 2 experience is distinctly underwhelming. Graphically, and I really hope it's just me, but is it really, really patchy and poor? The cutscene quality is appalling at times. I could hardly believe seeing it at first. Was there so much of a rush and pressure to meet deadlines that they cut corners and left rough edges unpolished? Why else would the game look and feel as clunky as it does? Has anyone tried playing the original after a few hours of the newer? How does it feel? The audio is sad as well. 5.1? I'd settle for simple effects being audible and defined. I'd love to gush about how amazing this game is but sadly, as a simple game player, my disappointment has proven more telling and truthful than all the hype Chairman Bill can throw at me. Halo 2: a parasitic doppelganger that imitates poorly the radiance of the original host. Expand
  24. SteveG.
    Nov 25, 2004
    5
    i dont get it. why is this game supposed to be the best thing out. plz explain to me, cause from what i see it ain't anything special.
  25. LordVader
    Nov 29, 2004
    7
    This was a hard one to call, I have been waiting for this game since completing the first one but having completed this one, have found Halo 2 somewhat...lacking. I'm not sure what it is but it just doesn't have that 'Halo Spark'. The ending is a disgrace, it really does feel like the game has been halved and I cannot help but wonder if Microsoft are going to do a This was a hard one to call, I have been waiting for this game since completing the first one but having completed this one, have found Halo 2 somewhat...lacking. I'm not sure what it is but it just doesn't have that 'Halo Spark'. The ending is a disgrace, it really does feel like the game has been halved and I cannot help but wonder if Microsoft are going to do a surprise announcement in early 2005 to say "Good news Halo 2 fans!!! We have another 15 levels of Halo 2 coming out in Feb 2005, yea for us!. Well, you'll excuse me if I don't applaud, shame on you MS and shame on you Bungie for allowing this to happen, the single player was incredibly short (50% short in fact). But it's not all bad news, the graphics are the best on the box and Multiplayer is fantastic. it's for this alone that the game gets 7/10 from me. I may be wrong about the extra 15 levels in Feb but wait and see. Hey Bill, what's next? Halo 3 - Home and Pro editions? The Pro version having ALL the single players levels??? Expand
  26. AndrewM.
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Plays like the original, has a few tweaks that make multiplayer gaming more entertaining but there are too many fireworks, too much "I save the world like a Starship trooper" elements and no innovation. Seen it somewhere before and done it... Good for parties though.
  27. Jamal
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Not so good.
  28. BitBurn
    Nov 9, 2004
    7
    A little repetitive. Some improvement graphically. Solid multiplayer support. But overall it's pretty good.
  29. GaryB.
    Dec 8, 2004
    6
    Okay, so what we have here is a fairly decent game with not bad graphics and fun multiplayer. But to be brief, this is why the game isn't a masterpiece or anywhere near it: 1) awful single player which I was bored of by the 4th level 2) plot confusing because of emotionless master chief and pointless Arbiter. 3) Graphics pretty square and Master Cheif is still a polygon block. 4) Okay, so what we have here is a fairly decent game with not bad graphics and fun multiplayer. But to be brief, this is why the game isn't a masterpiece or anywhere near it: 1) awful single player which I was bored of by the 4th level 2) plot confusing because of emotionless master chief and pointless Arbiter. 3) Graphics pretty square and Master Cheif is still a polygon block. 4) Downgraded weapons 5) Awful level design 6) Poor enemy A.I. 7) multiplayer only effective when connected to a Network hub 8) No destructive enviroment 9) No peeking round corners 10) No running twice as fast Just go rent this one, or better yet save your money and get Half-Life 2, which is a lot better. Expand
  30. GaryW.
    Jan 1, 2005
    5
    If you dont have xbox live this is disappointing, graphical popup, over sensitive controls, stupidier ai than last time and very few memorable or smile inducing areas, not enough new ideas.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]