User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1296 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GD
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    I loved the game. It blew my f..king mind. the only thing that pisses me off is that i beat the story mode in a day. Whatever though its still damn good i'd give it a 9.5. Probably a ten if the ending wasn't so damn pissant.
  2. CaoB.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    It's the best game to come to the console ever and will be for years to come.
  3. MikeW.
    Nov 11, 2004
    7
    This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if This is by far the most overhyped game ever. First of all I wasn't a huge fan of the first game, it was bogged down by weak multiplayer, mediocre campaign mode, and an overall lack of style. It was a game that had so much potential but in the end fell flat on its face. Halo 2 is better, but only in little tiny technical ways. Graphics, sound, and enemy A.I. But the game has this if it ain't broke don't fix it mentality to it. Only problem is it just blatantly overlooks problems from the first game. Though it isn't a complete waste, it has good enough core gameplay to make it worth buy. But if you want a mind blowing gaming experience go someplace else. Expand
  4. NedL.
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    Halo 2 is great, but not perfect, and so not worth 100% or 10. The single-player world that is created is epic and just damn cool, although I agree that the ending leaves you somewhat deflated. Those who unfavourably compare this to PC games like half-life or unreal tournament need to get in a room with one TV, four controllers and three friends. It is just SO EASY to get set up and have Halo 2 is great, but not perfect, and so not worth 100% or 10. The single-player world that is created is epic and just damn cool, although I agree that the ending leaves you somewhat deflated. Those who unfavourably compare this to PC games like half-life or unreal tournament need to get in a room with one TV, four controllers and three friends. It is just SO EASY to get set up and have fun in this game, and THAT is what makes it special. After all, it's good to play together :P Expand
  5. BradS.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    The genious of this game doesn't lie within its brilliant single-player campaign. Or its breathless Multiplayer modes. It lies within all of us. Who somehow feel that playing this game makes us better. Bungie has made the game of Halo into a world phenomenon for many years to come.
  6. DeeToo
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Not perfect, but brilliant and with a wildly imaginative story. IMO, one of the great sequals in entertainment history. Kudos to Bungie for pushing the boundaries of what is possible and yet also retaining the distinctive character of the original HALO. Yes, I agree there are some technical glitches, etc., but there are moments in this game that I can't get out of my mind and Not perfect, but brilliant and with a wildly imaginative story. IMO, one of the great sequals in entertainment history. Kudos to Bungie for pushing the boundaries of what is possible and yet also retaining the distinctive character of the original HALO. Yes, I agree there are some technical glitches, etc., but there are moments in this game that I can't get out of my mind and can't wait to encounter again. As good as THE CHRONICLES OF RIDDICK, BUTCHER BAY looked, HALO 2 is ten times more addictive and incredibly fun to play. Expand
  7. AlexBigbottom
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    Well, I am a big time halo fan. So you can probbably guess my reaction when I heard the game was coming out. I was thrilled! So the same hour I read the news i pre ordered it. This was in septembER so i started reading the halo novels. I was like i cant wait!! So the big day is here and i have my copy i race home i popped it in and it was great. A few days later when i was really in the Well, I am a big time halo fan. So you can probbably guess my reaction when I heard the game was coming out. I was thrilled! So the same hour I read the news i pre ordered it. This was in septembER so i started reading the halo novels. I was like i cant wait!! So the big day is here and i have my copy i race home i popped it in and it was great. A few days later when i was really in the game, i notiCed great things like graphics new wepons dual weiding vehicals and playing as the Arbiter! (an elite)arbiter is cool but master cheif is still cooler. a few days later i killed taturus the bad guy and a cut scene came and i was like YES THE END CUT SECENE!!!! i watched it and then guess wat? no ending. jut master chief talking to this old fool. hes like (the old guy) were are you going and cheif says to finish off this fight. and there are the credits. i stare at the screen dumb struck. 80 F***ING BUCKS (i bought collecters edition) AND I DONET EVEN GET A FREAKING ENDING?!?!?!? dont get me wrong I love halo and all you guys at bungie but CCCCOME ON! not even a frikin ending?!? this game is great an I highly reccomend buying this game. Thank you. (i would have given this a 9 and a half i cant because it only goes like 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10.) Expand
  8. KevinY.
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    I love this game. The story could've been better, and the pistol has been dumbed down. Other than that great game. And this is coming from a guy who doesn't have X-Box Live. I highly recomend this game.
  9. Mar 11, 2011
    3
    wow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was likewow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was like WTF!!!! i dont wana play as this **** i want to play as the master chief . i wouldnt have minded if it was a seperate campahn mode i could pick from the start but no it jumps back and forth and its HORRABLY annoying. then there is the wepons balance OMG! they just took a huge dump on that all the wepons ammo got cut by 1/2 or 2/3 of what they use to hold on top of that they gimped alot of the old guns. remember how sweet the pistol was? yeah now you might as well shoot spitballs as the enimy. the old machine gun use to be a pretty solid wepon to use now they tossed that for the gimp little smg which is like shooting a FKin BB gun. the enimy AI has takin a major dump . the brutes are complete idiots they just charge you over and over and over and never stop . so you eather get cheap killed up against a wall or you jump up on some thing high and laugh at them as they run into the object over and over again like a retard tryin to hump a door knob on speed. the ending is one of the worst in gaming history . it pretty much sets you up to what you think will be the final mission only to give you a big F U wait 3 damn years to play the next one HAHA dumbass . now you would think ok well the online will be awsome right i mean that was one of the coolest things about Halo 1 was how bad ass a multiplayer game it was . well WROOOOONG!!!! another Epic fail by bunjie . first off im not sure how many maps there are but i can say this much i played the same 2 FKin maps for 10 hours and thoose 2 maps sucked. this games search set up SUCKS and suck HARD! now toss in how the wepons where all gimped and you have a piss poor pathetic waste of a online game . people giving this any thing higher then a 7 ... try to defend that . you cant . this game sucks end of story. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2010
    7
    Worst Halo. Multiplayer is OK, but it has the worst campaign, and a weird place balance. For the real Halo's, check out Halo: Combat Evolved, or Halo Reach. For something different, try out MW2 or Black Ops.
  11. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Halo 2 is an excellent game. It's not quite as good as the first one, but what is? This game has a great campaign and awesome multiplayer. I got this game as a Christmas present back in 2005 and I'm still playing it! You know a game is good when it doesn't grow old even after 5 years.
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    6
    I think Halo 2 lost some of its score when they deactivated Xbox Original Live. The campaign still delivers, its epic but sometimes there are those "Where do i go?!?!" moments. Graphics are really good for Xbox, and the voice recording is good too. I think that they still could of worked on the graphics.
  13. Jan 13, 2012
    6
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok game but very disapointing.
    Expand
  14. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo 2 is one of the greatest games ever created. The story was much different than it's superior predecessor, but nonetheless Halo 2 left any other game in its day in its wake. The gameplay was solid, fluid, and realistic. Graphics were good for its day, and the game in its self was extremely addictive and fun! The world of halo explodes into a massive science fiction epic where you neverHalo 2 is one of the greatest games ever created. The story was much different than it's superior predecessor, but nonetheless Halo 2 left any other game in its day in its wake. The gameplay was solid, fluid, and realistic. Graphics were good for its day, and the game in its self was extremely addictive and fun! The world of halo explodes into a massive science fiction epic where you never know what is going to happen, and you are left at the edge of your seat until the final seconds of the game. Level designs were great and very creative! I enjoyed the variety, and the multiplayer is arguably the bar-setter for every other game to date. A great campaign, and a great multiplayer experience. A superior game and a delivering sequel. Expand
  15. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    Un total asco de juego unos estupidos con traje apretadito matando simios disfrazados.................................................................
  16. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    There are probably some minor faults in this game but it doesnt stop me giving it a 10, i was young and this was one of many of the first games i played and it is special, i have special memories of this game and is and always will be my favourite Halo game. 10/10.
  17. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    Look, I've played hundreds of video games throughout my lifetime, but I must say, Halo 2 was the greatest game I ever played. I was always afraid to buy an Xbox 360, out of fear that an "Xbox 720" would come out the day after I bought one, so basically, i played halo 2 for 4 years straight until 2010 when I finally got a 360. But you know what? During those 4 years, i never EVER got boredLook, I've played hundreds of video games throughout my lifetime, but I must say, Halo 2 was the greatest game I ever played. I was always afraid to buy an Xbox 360, out of fear that an "Xbox 720" would come out the day after I bought one, so basically, i played halo 2 for 4 years straight until 2010 when I finally got a 360. But you know what? During those 4 years, i never EVER got bored of Halo 2. That's just how perfect a game it was, and still is, and always will be. Can't wait until the remastered edition on Xbox One! Expand
  18. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    this game was great! it continued the combat evolved story and added dual wielding. the story was great, they added new characters. halo 2 was the most played purchased game on Xbox ever. the campaign was great and so was the mulitiplayer with even maps and guns. Overall, great game
  19. R.S.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    Ok people... i mean really was it that great. Ok to let you know my history... I bought the Xbox only to play halo back when it first came out, yes I admit it was one of the better first person shooters out there well considers consoles only I would say it was the best. so yes I was anticipating Halo 2, I couldn
  20. JerradH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    8
    In terms of console FPS games, it can't be beat, particularly in terms of multiplayer. However, if you're like me and are also a PC gamer, you'll likely find UT 2004's multiplayer to be far more satisfying in almost every way. So good game, but extraordinarily overrated due to most of its base being console only players.
  21. TonyC.
    Jan 5, 2005
    5
    The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once you get in the game and play it is fun. Sometimes in team battles part of your team will leave and it makes the teams so unfair you can't win and takes the fun out of the online experience. Overall online experience nothing really new or exciting Online play is definately better than single player mode. Online rating = 7, however it gets old and repetitive quick as well. Expand
  22. MikeyW.
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    Halo2 has the best multiplayer features. there is one thing that absolutley sucks about it. th laziness put into the videos and the single player levels. If you are looking for a perfect campain mode in a shooting game then don't buy halo 2. if you are looking for probally the best multiplayer and xbox live game on the market then definitely buy halo2.
  23. JesseS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    7
    A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that A good game, but highly overrated. The graphics are nice, with some nice character models and environments. However, they tend to repeat themselves. The gameplay is that great, addictive Halo that we all remember. However, the Arbiter missions are quite boring and disappointing, and you end up feeling like you're doing the same mission you were doing some time earlier. The thing that really shines in this game is the multiplayer. Expect it to be a great experience, but its not the giant God that everyone makes it out to be. Expand
  24. RavindK.
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    As most of you know, HALO 2 was changed to adapt to the NEW story line with the New Halo Ring. HALO2 was SOOOO kick ass...the only problem with it was that thye cut it short. Rumors have it that it was cut short for the XBOX2 platform (yeah right) but in any case, the XBOX live is amazing. So far, i have not have had more fun then jumping on top of a banshee, firing a rocket into an As most of you know, HALO 2 was changed to adapt to the NEW story line with the New Halo Ring. HALO2 was SOOOO kick ass...the only problem with it was that thye cut it short. Rumors have it that it was cut short for the XBOX2 platform (yeah right) but in any case, the XBOX live is amazing. So far, i have not have had more fun then jumping on top of a banshee, firing a rocket into an enemy, kicking the guy off the banshe, then running his ass over in midair Expand
  25. JeroenVR
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started Just like Doom 3 , this game was too heavily anticipated. I didn't like the first Halo, and I barely like Halo 2. The graphics are nice, story is rather good but man, Halo doesn't suck me into the game, like Burnout 3 or Medal Of Honor : PA. Its seems that all most-wanted games are disappointing: Doom 3, Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 2 ( don't even get me started on this amazingly stupid game, and yes I am a race fan). I hope it will not be the same for Half Life 2. Expand
  26. D.C.
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super Master Cheif because he is Unbreakable. He can jump on top of almost anything, fall from the sky and all this with out a scratch. Glitching is a problem to, empty chairs one second, then bam the whole Marine Core the next. Why was it pushed back is the question of the year or should I say three years. I gave the game a 5 because of XBOX Live, THATS ALSOME. My last words are HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!!. Can't wait for Underground 2. Expand
  27. DamonC.
    Nov 19, 2004
    8
    Halo 2 was a great game but not as good as most expected. To start off the campaign isn't any better than the first one which i didnt think was good. It is repetitive and just boring. If you are a die hard single player gamer this game is not worth it. Now on the other hand if you have XBOX live or just love playing multiplayer you should get this game. The maps, artilery, guns and Halo 2 was a great game but not as good as most expected. To start off the campaign isn't any better than the first one which i didnt think was good. It is repetitive and just boring. If you are a die hard single player gamer this game is not worth it. Now on the other hand if you have XBOX live or just love playing multiplayer you should get this game. The maps, artilery, guns and variety of game types are outstanding. Though i think the multiplayer is great they made a few mistakes. On XBOX live you cant even pick your own game type you are randomly put in a game. WHICH SUCKS. Also 16 player halo isnt as good as people would think its more like you respawn you shoot you die. So if you like halo you will like Halo2. Expand
  28. MattP.
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    Very overrated. I expected tight action with frantic spinning and alot of "oh jesus!" and I got it. But the fights were either way too long or way too short and the ending was the most bitter slap in the face I've experienced in gaming.
  29. TomC.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a problem. Also, the fact that everything moves at the speed of light is another problem. The game feels like it was only built for xbox live. The fact that we had to wait three years for this is pretty sad in my opinion as the improvements are extremely minimal.... an extra few weapons and options... really nothing spectacular. Expand
  30. JeffB.
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    The game delivered on so many levels, and did an excellent job, the only downfall, is some comic humor,or awkardness in the weapons, but besides that,it tops the first in every area.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
2
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]