User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1033 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    better tahn teh butt seckz. halo 2 was perfect, is perfect, and halo 2 anniversary will save the franchise. 343 made a terrible game called halo 4 and killed our franchise. let's get it back by pressuring microsoft to release a halo 2 remake. halo 2 is better than halo 5 because we know 343 can't do anything right.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Story: 7
    Characters: 8
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.8/10
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Halo CE came out and it was awesome and I couldn't think it could get better. But it did, Halo 2 will forever be in my mind the greatest FPS of all time. The campaign was well thought out and a great continuation of the first. And the multiplayer was so addicting. Its the one game I have played until that sad day when the shut down the servers. I will miss you Halo 2 MP.
  4. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This game didn't only change my life but I'm sure it changed other peoples too. This was not only the start of Xbox Live and Xbox, but the start of something bigger. Life. Yes Halo 2 was life for me back then. What I like about this game is that everybody can relate to it. It is by far the best Xbox game created. It really changed how gamers thought (Considering there werent a lot backThis game didn't only change my life but I'm sure it changed other peoples too. This was not only the start of Xbox Live and Xbox, but the start of something bigger. Life. Yes Halo 2 was life for me back then. What I like about this game is that everybody can relate to it. It is by far the best Xbox game created. It really changed how gamers thought (Considering there werent a lot back then). This game not only boosted its series but it boosted Xbox, gaming, and even some peoples lives. Including mine. I know they will continue to make Halos and I believe it will continue to succeed. I Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Halo 2 is the best games that have been created in history, by the fact the gameplay, story, soundtrack and others, this is my favorite video game, and no one can change it
  6. JoseQ.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Absolute perfection!
  7. GodComplex
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    I would like to state that this game is not broken. You H2-haters are. You are broken because you are blind, and comfortable in being that way. I hate people that are ignorant because they want to be. Any real Halo fan would know this. I lost many hours of my life at lan-parties for years because of the first game, and many things that made me say: "bullsh.t" were taken out. Face it. The I would like to state that this game is not broken. You H2-haters are. You are broken because you are blind, and comfortable in being that way. I hate people that are ignorant because they want to be. Any real Halo fan would know this. I lost many hours of my life at lan-parties for years because of the first game, and many things that made me say: "bullsh.t" were taken out. Face it. The pistol took too little skill to be effective. I could kill you in 2-3 shot all the time, everytime. Even noobs could kill you in 5-7 shots. Were's the skill in that old-school fans? Hell, you could snipe a Spartan from a Scorpion tank. Yeah right. They fixed the Devil-pistol. In Multiplayer you cannot go Lone-Ranger as much anymore. You can be good, but any team that works well together will make short work of you. They will hunt you in packs. Have all the weapons. They will own you. I owned people by myself in the first game. I can't do that as much now. I need tactics, not just brawn to win. As for match making, it's good. You play against people of your lv. They system works. People also complain about online problems, like swearing and glitching. Bungie fixes these problems. People can also report you if you are bad! YOU WILL BE EXPLELLED OR WORSE! Trust me, I see it everyday. I also haven't had much problems with lag, which surprised me. Also old-school fan's bitch about duel weilding. Old-school fans can be idiots and not try things, because they are afraid of change. Besides, duel-weilding isn't that effective! I own people that do that! A well place nad' and a single smg clean house all the time, everytime. You guys could also try a battle rifle with a plasm gun. So deadly it's scary! Owns the duel-weilding freaks so much it's scary! I don't understand people hatred for the single player mode. Halo had me going "holy shit" everytime. Halo 2 did that for me and more. I love the Arbiter too. I guess people expected a different game. I feel sorry for these pathetic masses of rage and hatred. They are broken relics. Note: Pc games and console are like judging fresh water from salt water. That's why I don't mention Half-Life 2 or World of Warcraft. Expand
  8. AidanB.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    The game is an exellent sequel to halo, and both multiplayer modes are amazing.
  9. Charlie
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever. The graphics are some of the best ever on X-Box. I see that Nathan complained about plants? Who cares about plants materializing 5 feet in front of you when every other part of the game looks simply amazing? Nathan didn't like the multi-player because he got his ass handed to him. If he won he would say it was great. I dont know how you could say something This is the best game ever. The graphics are some of the best ever on X-Box. I see that Nathan complained about plants? Who cares about plants materializing 5 feet in front of you when every other part of the game looks simply amazing? Nathan didn't like the multi-player because he got his ass handed to him. If he won he would say it was great. I dont know how you could say something is wrong with the maps when they are beautiful. The gameplay sucked? The gameplay definitely doesn't suck. It is action packed and fluent. Even on x-box live there aren't problems with framerate or anything. Shoaib complained about not really saving earth. You saved earth by forcing the covenant to leave earth. Then you followed them to stop them from ever coming back to earth. Yes, being the arbiter sucked, but the gameplay with the arbiter was awesome. Being invisible was freaking sweet! When the arbiter talked then it was stupid, because i agree with you. I just want to kill elites, but you barely notice them when you are playing as the arbiter. in first person as along as you dont look straight down you dont even notice. To wrap it all up Halo 2 is the best game ever and everyone who doesn't agree with me and complains about the game are ... Expand
  10. JasonM>
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    as the xbox official will agree this is quite possibly the best first person shooter game ever to be released on this generation of consoles.
  11. Two-YearOldAdult
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Got this game one hour ago. This is better than Halo 1, and is one of the Xbox's very best.
  12. PatrickW.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Fantastic only people who dislike it have never played it.
  13. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    While not quite as good as the first one, Halo 2 does a great job at continuing the story of Master Chief. This time around though you play as two characters in their own stories. Arbiter and Chief.
    The only problem I have with the game is that the cliffhanger at the end annoyed me a bit.

    Verdict:
    A great game which continues the legacy of the Chief and introduces a new character
    8/10
  14. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    This is where the multiplayer started getting hype. Thanks to Bungie doing an almost perfect game, no other game have made an addictive multiplayer game. Halo 2 kicked ass back then, and it still does.
  15. May 27, 2012
    10
    Probably my favorite war shooter multiplayer game. Had so much fun with this one. One of the best multiplayers ever.
  16. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    It's hard to believe you could improve in anyway on the first, but they did! recommend playing this one after playing the first though. The game continues on the story of the original game and adds cool key things in the game like new weapons and the feature of dual wielding which was a great feature added in. Definitely a BUY.
  17. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Halo 2 did what I thought was impossible it improved upon what Halo: Combat Evolved did, it improved on gameplay, story, sound, and graphics, and created the best multiplayer experience ever that set the pace for games like the Call of Duty and Battlefield series, in my personal opinion this is the best in the Halo series, the only reason this does not get a perfect 10 is that there is noHalo 2 did what I thought was impossible it improved upon what Halo: Combat Evolved did, it improved on gameplay, story, sound, and graphics, and created the best multiplayer experience ever that set the pace for games like the Call of Duty and Battlefield series, in my personal opinion this is the best in the Halo series, the only reason this does not get a perfect 10 is that there is no more multiplayer, but this is still a absolute must play. Collapse
  18. LukeP
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    I can't tell you how great the moment i got this game and looking at the graphics. After playing NOTHING but Halo 1 for three years, seeing this games graphics stuned me. I spent hours just looking at the games graphics in awe. a great game in everyway
  19. EricM.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    This game is so tight.
  20. JoshC.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    It is awesome.
  21. ZacheryG.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Good game but one was the most original.
  22. BenW.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This game is a great, quality shooter that easily captures the attention of all gamers.
  23. KeeenenFunk
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Multiplayer perfection.
  24. Dave
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Its great fun to pick up and play. What more do you want?
  25. BenP.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the most immersive multiplayer experience in existence on any platform.
  26. SukjeetK.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!
  27. GeorgeL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    It's HALO. Enough said.
  28. SykotikW.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    this game is the most kick ass ive ever played, and i cant get over the graphics. way to go bungie! Dont give my email to anyone!
  29. DeanK.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This game kicks ass, the weapons, vehicles, levels, and multiplayer are all awesome, a must buy for any xbox owner.
  30. Deanna
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    I don't see why there are so many people who dislike Halo 2. I will admit, that it is not as good as the 1st, but is it still a terrific game! I like that they put in new weapons, espically the plasma sword and the beam rifle. I also like being both the Arbitur and the Master Cheif. It is fun, fighting for both sides and then joining together, to kick the crap out of some brutes. I I don't see why there are so many people who dislike Halo 2. I will admit, that it is not as good as the 1st, but is it still a terrific game! I like that they put in new weapons, espically the plasma sword and the beam rifle. I also like being both the Arbitur and the Master Cheif. It is fun, fighting for both sides and then joining together, to kick the crap out of some brutes. I think Halo 2 was also more challenging, I found it harder to beat on heroic than Halo 1. (which is a good thing). I also liked the introduction of the Prophits. They made it very interesting, adding a sort of religious aspect to the game. ( am athiest btw). The only thing[s] I didn't like was that they got rid of the assult rifle!!! That thing whipped butt. I also sometimes found it difficult being the Arbitur and having to right against other Grunts and Jackals, it was sometimes hard to figure out who was good and who was bad. Expand
  31. StevyC.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Best game ever made.
  32. JS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Possibly the best of the Halo series. A huge step forward from the drool that was Halo 1. The storyline was great, the comparison is unfathomable... No storyline to spectacular storyline. The graphics, a huge step forward from Halo 1; the gameplay was immensely improved from the old bare-bones format. Overall, a masterpiece of a game. How did this come out of Halo 1's Amazing game. Possibly the best of the Halo series. A huge step forward from the drool that was Halo 1. The storyline was great, the comparison is unfathomable... No storyline to spectacular storyline. The graphics, a huge step forward from Halo 1; the gameplay was immensely improved from the old bare-bones format. Overall, a masterpiece of a game. How did this come out of Halo 1's mediocrity? Oh, massive budget from previous game's advertising campaign. The people who didn't like this were just upset about a character change for 2 levels, and the fact that one of their favorite guns was 'nerfed'. I, for one, suggest the gamey gamers go back to Atari. Expand
  33. Feb 3, 2012
    7
    Halo 2 is a more versatile journey than the first game, and it comes with brand new characters, gameplay elements and weapons that improve upon the original. I encountered some bugs with a frozen image over the display when emulating the Original Xbox version on Xbox 360, but other than that the game performed very well. Although not up to par with the likes of Half-Life 2 technically, itHalo 2 is a more versatile journey than the first game, and it comes with brand new characters, gameplay elements and weapons that improve upon the original. I encountered some bugs with a frozen image over the display when emulating the Original Xbox version on Xbox 360, but other than that the game performed very well. Although not up to par with the likes of Half-Life 2 technically, it is still quite an impressive game in regards to the art design, pacing and music. The story has some interesting elements here and there as well, and the characters are more relatable than ever before. However, the narrative felt a bit stretched out, and went back and forth a lot. The gameplay also lacked something to look forward to after a while, and became very repetitive. And it didn't help that the developers, similarly to the first, rehashed a lot of the level design, in addition to tossing the same enemies at you over and over again. And although I didn't need a walkthrough, I wouldn't mind being given better directions, especially in areas where you are supposed to pass by enemy fire and trying to figure out where to go. Similarly to Halo: Combat Evolved, I didn't appreciate the flying and driving as much either, since the controls are quite clunky and getting through enemy fire alive in this particular type of combat can often be more of a coincidence than determined by skill. Furthermore, the enemy AI is not very impressive, and basically runs towards you or shots at you while waiting from a distance. In the end though, this is arguably one of the richest experiences on the original Xbox, but not a giant leap forward from an already remarkable game. Expand
  34. Marc.D.
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    I recently played this game after I got myself a 360. Therefore, my review of the game is decidedly influenced by the arrival of newer and flashier games like Gears. That said, Halo 2 stands as a fine example of videogames as an interactive medium for storytelling. The epic sci-fi plot boasts a wonderfully rich narractive and succeeds in engaging the player on some many levels. The single I recently played this game after I got myself a 360. Therefore, my review of the game is decidedly influenced by the arrival of newer and flashier games like Gears. That said, Halo 2 stands as a fine example of videogames as an interactive medium for storytelling. The epic sci-fi plot boasts a wonderfully rich narractive and succeeds in engaging the player on some many levels. The single player admittedly lacks innovation. However, it takes many elements of the FPS genre, adds in a deep level of strategy and meshes it with the ace plot. Like everyone else has been saying...Halo 2 is about the multiplayer. And this is where is ruled until Gears arrived on the scene last year. Check it out if you haven't...then jump straight into Halo 3. After completing the second installment...you'll be compelled to finish the fight. Expand
  35. KenE.
    May 19, 2004
    10
    The rating scale is maxed out at 10!! What the f**k!! Halo 2 has an all new graphics engine and basically all the problems from the first have been corrected and with the inclusion of xbox live Halo 2 = Winning every single game award imagineable!! What's this about Killzone on PS2 being the Halo killer?! Bring it on Sony.
  36. ChadB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    1
    This game dissapointed me very much. I can't believe I was lied to or led the wrong way. I got it and the game is not all that it is hyped to be. The multiplayer is good... yea yea so what. But there is a thing called single player, and that is what counts to me. That is what the first person counts to me. O yea... Bungie... you suck.
  37. Halo1Fanatic
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    Extremely disappointing.. not a sh.tty game.. but for all they hype that it got... it sucks... weapons are not fun to use for hte most part.. grenades bounce all over the place.. you can fall from 100000 feet and live without losing any energy.. you jump about 50 feet in the air.. enemies look small and not intimidating.
  38. Ghost
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    This game sucks. the weapons are weak, and i swear ive seen them somewhere else...oh yeah Unreal Tournament 2004. and that game is way better. like the other reviews said, you can fall from any distance and nothing happens. the maps look the same, just with different names, and the other maps are way to big if you only want to play with like 4 people.
  39. MasterChief
    Jul 18, 2004
    0
    Poor level design Uninteresting story Uninteresting enemies Dated gameplay Unbalanced weapons Sluggish controls only 30 frames per second Some poor multiplayer maps Those were all problems of the first, and so far it doesn't look like much has changed. While Halo 2 has some new features, it still features dated gameplay, and uninteresting enemies, story and levels.
  40. RayS.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    I LOVED Halo, the gameplay, the story, the music, Playing it I felt like I was in a movie. With much hype and anticipation I awaited Halo 2. Boring.. they kept pushing the release date back for this?!?!?! save your money or play halo 1.
  41. ChristianB.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    Great presentation. Unfortunately this game is simply a sequel to an already bland game. Maybe if Halo 1 wasn't like a million other video games this would be impressive. Improving an engine and making better graphics is what every single sequel does. Let's try something original for once. Overall it's a waste of money unless you're a diehard fan.
  42. C.T.
    Nov 9, 2004
    1
    What a waste of 3 years, we now have a new version of Unreal Tournament 2004, that's about it. The look and feel has now changed, and the first thing I can think of is...where's my Halo ONE disk!
  43. JakeS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Just old and tired ideas.
  44. K-Rap
    Dec 13, 2004
    3
    After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult gameplay, no real challenge except how fast you can pump bullets into the next 50 enemies that pop on screen. I'm bored of this gametype. The multiplayer is better, but not by much. A "No bots" feature doesn't help fill the huge maps, and X-box Live costs too damn much to justify it's existence. I refuse to shell out $200+ for the system, $60 for the game, and $40 per month for the ability to play online. Overall disappointing. I will be going back to favorites like Counter Strike and Unreal on PC before I touch Halo 2 again. Expand
  45. MankeeOfDoom
    Jan 8, 2005
    0
    Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of just about all-time would demonstrate aptitude in level design prowess. But no. Every stinking dirt-ridden, crap-spewing level I was forced to endure not only had the gall to be LONG but also unnecessarily repetitive. If you can survive the SP, then you are either brain-dead or a devout Halo fanboy. Or both. I guess one implies the other, doesn't it? As for the graphics. Screenshots don't do the graphics in this game as much justice as they should. The screenshots look amazing. The in-game graphics look like they were constructed by soggy non-fat milk cartons straight from the dumpster. And did I mention they were melded together using fecal matter? And that they were constructed by traumatized children without hands, covered in bloodthirsty bees and screaming in absolute pain? I should have. Music is equivalent to the vilest blasphemy from the 80's. Halo 1, despite it's mediocrity in the gameplay department, had an excellent soundtrack. Halo 2 doesn't. Multiplayer. From a person who's used to the convenienve of online PC gaming, Xbox Live was a catastrophe of monumental proportions. No server browser? *croak* NO SERVER BROWSER?! Dual-wielding, in my opinion, was utterly useless (how could you sacrifice the use of grenades?). Melee attacks are oddly awkward in this iteration. And the new shield system encourages cowardice. Ladies and gentlemen, if you haven't realized by now, I hate Halo 2 with all my heart. I absolutely hate how such an overrated game with virtually no talent behind can get so much more recognition and support than other VERY deserving games. The Halo fanboys reading this and going "OMG WTF BBQ U IZ TOTALL LIEING L0LZ." Seriously. Step back from your ignorant delusion, and begin to look at this game that you've been blindly and fanatically supporting for so long. Expand
  46. GTARocks
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they don't really improve the game. Some of the weapons are a big step backwards. Too much hype, not enough substance. And for those of you who disagree - The single player campaign sucks! Admit it! Expand
  47. JimK.
    Dec 4, 2004
    4
    I enjoyed playing the new version but not worth the hype. The ending a shameless setup for HALO 3 on X-Box 2. The game was just getting intresting when it quit and ended. It was like microsoft pulled the plug on development and rushed it to market in time for christmas. They would have been better served to develop it fully.
  48. ShoaibA.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    It was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because itsIt was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because its halo if halo was good it doesnt mean halo 2 will be good is well. I also didnt like to play with arbiter because who really wants to know about the covenant we want to destroy them the ending was even worse all these people who are giving it a high score play the game again and see the diffrence between halo 1 and halo 2 Expand
  49. HenryN.
    May 20, 2008
    6
    I'm really a fan of the first halo, and this game starts out delivering good gameplay, but after the first few levels the level designs become extremely repetitive (think library). The multiplayer is redeeming but many of the levels don't really feel balanced like halo1. This is a solid shooter but the first halo was superior. i would only check this out if you are a huge fan of I'm really a fan of the first halo, and this game starts out delivering good gameplay, but after the first few levels the level designs become extremely repetitive (think library). The multiplayer is redeeming but many of the levels don't really feel balanced like halo1. This is a solid shooter but the first halo was superior. i would only check this out if you are a huge fan of the series. Just don't go in expecting greatness. Expand
  50. MonsterMash
    Nov 26, 2004
    3
    Sorry, I can't give this game a good review. I live in a rural area, so Xbox Live is no option for me. I otherwise have found a bland, repetitive, boring game with no improvements from Halo 1, and a much worse storyline. It's too bad that Halo3 won't be out for probably another three years, but then again, maybe it's not such a bad thing. After this stinker, I Sorry, I can't give this game a good review. I live in a rural area, so Xbox Live is no option for me. I otherwise have found a bland, repetitive, boring game with no improvements from Halo 1, and a much worse storyline. It's too bad that Halo3 won't be out for probably another three years, but then again, maybe it's not such a bad thing. After this stinker, I won't be holding my breath for the next game. I'm trading my Xbox in for a PS2 so I can get GTA:SA. Expand
  51. DoodleBerry
    Dec 1, 2004
    4
    Not a bad game, but not worth the hype. I waited too long for this game, and I'm disappointed. Like someone else said, the great scenes that were at E3 aren't in the game. Unreal 2004 is a much better structured game, and more balanced. Give me my pistol back! Too much hype over this game. Microsoft just lost one Xbox2 sale.
  52. ZackO.
    Dec 11, 2004
    3
    I agree with C tunnel. This game is not near worth the hype it is getting. i just played it for about 2 hours at my friends house, both single player and multiplayer, and there is nothing great about this game. it is identical to any other decent FPS out there. The multiplayer requires no brains or strategy, and all you do is jump around and blast your SMG. The capabilities of the playerI agree with C tunnel. This game is not near worth the hype it is getting. i just played it for about 2 hours at my friends house, both single player and multiplayer, and there is nothing great about this game. it is identical to any other decent FPS out there. The multiplayer requires no brains or strategy, and all you do is jump around and blast your SMG. The capabilities of the player are so limited that it is hard to try to do anytyhing smart. all you can do is run jump and crouch. wow, thats AMAZING. The maps are god awful, and the mechanics of the sword are horrible. i played a swords only match, and it was the most boring experience of my life. there is no variety to what will happen. you just run up to the guy and try to hit him first. wow, thats fun. If you want a really good FPS, get Call of Duty for the PC. Expand
  53. C.Tunnel
    Dec 10, 2004
    1
    Halo 2 doesn't live up to it's hype. I was waiting a long time for this game - watching all of the previews, buying all the magazines, reading all the boards. I waited in line for this game, got it home, turned it on, and almost cried. It was CRAP! Single player was horrible, multiplayer has no small maps, no bots or anything. The weapons now suck and are all automatic for the Halo 2 doesn't live up to it's hype. I was waiting a long time for this game - watching all of the previews, buying all the magazines, reading all the boards. I waited in line for this game, got it home, turned it on, and almost cried. It was CRAP! Single player was horrible, multiplayer has no small maps, no bots or anything. The weapons now suck and are all automatic for the stupid players. I'm risking Carpal Tunnel syndrom for this piece of garbage? Not anymore. I think it will be funny. Ten years from now people who spent a whack of money on that game will be in debt, have bad wrists, and still will be delusional about the game's success. I agree with one of the guys here who said that people who give the game perfect don't ever point out why. A game needs to be flawless to get a ten. This game is nowhere near flawless. It might be a good rental, but that's about it. Expand
  54. MasterChump
    Dec 8, 2004
    2
    Is it just me that notices that people who give the game perfect scores have no reason? Answer - They've been brainwashed by Microsoft's advertising, waiting for the game, and preordering schnanegans. Meanwhile, those who didn't have a clock on their wall counting down the days to the release, see the game for what it really is. It's a weak, watered down version of the Is it just me that notices that people who give the game perfect scores have no reason? Answer - They've been brainwashed by Microsoft's advertising, waiting for the game, and preordering schnanegans. Meanwhile, those who didn't have a clock on their wall counting down the days to the release, see the game for what it really is. It's a weak, watered down version of the first game. The first game was linear, repetitive, and not that imaginative. There was so much more potential. The second game improves in some areas, but also makes others worse. Dual-weiliding is nice, but more tedious and ammo-wasting than anything else. The storyline stinks, and the multiplayer can't be played with anything less than 16 or so people - the maps are just too damn big. Vehicles are done much better in Unreal Tournament 2004. Halo 2 doesn't have the flair and solid performance of the first game. Hopefully, Halo 3 will be better, but I'm not holding my breath. It if is the first game for Xbox2 like people have been saying, I won't be paying my hard earned money for it. Expand
  55. BillyBob
    Oct 29, 2004
    2
    After completing the game i found that this game is no diffrent from the first game. because there are no improvments over the original gamplay and the fact that that they are being lazy in stating that halo 2 is all about multiplayer this game deserves a big 2
  56. Jared
    Feb 13, 2005
    1
    I didnt like the alien levels. all others were good the first time but only the first time except the first earth level and kind of the second. multiplayer was ok. 1'D
  57. PaulM.
    Jun 18, 2005
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] Simply the worst ending of any video game I have ever played. Switching from Master Chief to the Arbiter ruined the game. Overhyped trash. Halo was much better. At least it wasn't a rip off. Someone said who cares that plants get drawn in from 5 feet away. You know nothing about video games. Four years into the life of the Xbox console and Bungie should have done a[***SPOILERS***] Simply the worst ending of any video game I have ever played. Switching from Master Chief to the Arbiter ruined the game. Overhyped trash. Halo was much better. At least it wasn't a rip off. Someone said who cares that plants get drawn in from 5 feet away. You know nothing about video games. Four years into the life of the Xbox console and Bungie should have done a much better job. The game was supposed to take place mostly on Earth. It probably would have if Bungie wasn't concentrating all their efforts on Halo 3 for Xbox 360. A below average FPS with tons of hype still equals a below average FPS. We were all ripped off. Gaming sites and people scoring this game higher than 510 are mindless drones. Expand
  58. KevinC.
    Nov 10, 2004
    2
    Good game for Xbox, really bad game for anything else. I mean, come on, face it - Halo honestly isn't that good. Especially if compare it to the likes to Half Life and Unreal Tournament. It's the same tired repeating scenes, limited number of weapons and enemies, and only semi-decent multiplayer capacity. Microsoft has a reputation for bad games, and this one just continues it. Good game for Xbox, really bad game for anything else. I mean, come on, face it - Halo honestly isn't that good. Especially if compare it to the likes to Half Life and Unreal Tournament. It's the same tired repeating scenes, limited number of weapons and enemies, and only semi-decent multiplayer capacity. Microsoft has a reputation for bad games, and this one just continues it. A large number of reviews I've read say that Halo 2 doesn't live up to the hype it's been given - but they still give it top score? Bottom Line: There's WAAAY better games out there. Halo 2 is mediocre at best, but it will sell a gazillion copies, because most people who buy an Xbox in the first place are too dumb to care. Expand
  59. Bob
    Nov 13, 2004
    5
    At first it was the greatest game ever!!! When i completed it the next day, it wasn't. Everything about it was so great and then when the ending sucked so much, i don't even consider it to be an ending.
  60. M.Thrasher
    Nov 16, 2004
    1
    Very poor sequel, whats the difference - dual wield (you cant see in front of you when you do etc) different scenery blah blah.
  61. JohnnyBliss
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] This game is a yawning, teary-eyed disappointment. The music is not near as good as the first. The levels are much longer than needed. Much. The backstory is convoluted and soooo unnecessary. Hopping back and forth between Master Cheif and Arbiter is more irritating than interesting. And what is with such a sparse time spent on Earth? Was it two, maybe three, measley[***SPOILERS***] This game is a yawning, teary-eyed disappointment. The music is not near as good as the first. The levels are much longer than needed. Much. The backstory is convoluted and soooo unnecessary. Hopping back and forth between Master Cheif and Arbiter is more irritating than interesting. And what is with such a sparse time spent on Earth? Was it two, maybe three, measley levels out of the other 12 repetitive (yes, repetitive) levels that we got to feel like we were defending something worthwhile? Our homeland for goodness sake is being invaded by Covenant and (shudder) Flood! Wasn't that supposed to be the big shocker?!? The whole reason for caring about the sequel in the first place?!? So obviously, as we find out in the much too abrupt ending, there will be more Halo to come. I for one hope Bungie will realize that there are many gamers out here shaking our heads in disbelief at this crapulent excuse for a game. How about some innovation next time, Bungie. Oh, and enough with the freakin' Xbox Online! I would rather play with my actual friends that I see on a daily basis than some virtual whosiewhatsit! Give us a break and a decent game worthy of our time. Expand
  62. ConnorB.
    Nov 20, 2004
    4
    I played and fell in love with the first Halo. In fact it's the reason i purchased an xbox. But WOW; this game was so boring i couldnt even bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes at a time. I understand the first game was a labour of love. Years in the making, well scripted, innovative, compelling and just damn entertaining; so i expected something at least of the same I played and fell in love with the first Halo. In fact it's the reason i purchased an xbox. But WOW; this game was so boring i couldnt even bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes at a time. I understand the first game was a labour of love. Years in the making, well scripted, innovative, compelling and just damn entertaining; so i expected something at least of the same caliber. That was a major error of logic on my part. This was obviously a cash-cow for bungie and microsoft. It was a sure thing for them, all they had to do was dress up the old halo, toss in some new guns and a meager few new gameplay additions and they had themselves a top seller. Well i, as a paying customer feel quite cheated. This game was as elementary in gameplay as the original castle wolfenstein seems today. Expand
  63. MikeR.
    Nov 28, 2004
    4
    Frankly, I'm tired of the worshiping Halo 2 has received.Single player is disappointing, both in story and originality. When there are two characters in the story going against each other, what's the point? Dual-wielding, while a great add to put on the back cover, completly overbalances the weapons. Going into battle with a rifle on multiplayer?Dead. Especially when some prick Frankly, I'm tired of the worshiping Halo 2 has received.Single player is disappointing, both in story and originality. When there are two characters in the story going against each other, what's the point? Dual-wielding, while a great add to put on the back cover, completly overbalances the weapons. Going into battle with a rifle on multiplayer?Dead. Especially when some prick has the energy sword. Graphics are about the same as Halo 1, which is still impressive,but there was just so much potential. A disappionting follow up, and terrible when compared to Halo1. Expand
  64. RichardR.
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the lighting effects on the needler you hold are rubbish now. Aagh! All the reviews giving it top grades are wrong. As a single player game it is miles below Riddick and the original Halo. It sucks. as with the majority of gamers, I don't have Live. The only trustworthy reviews are those at the bottom of the list who tell it like it is. Expand
  65. Distinct
    Dec 13, 2004
    1
    First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you have someone thats about to beat the hell out of you like a noob....The makers screwed the game over by making it easy for noobs to grab a sword or a battle rifle or a vehicle and just take control. In Coagulation if theres like what ten vehicles there should atleast by 2 maybe 3 rocket launchers hidden in the map. The sniper should respawn quicker also. If you havent noticed Im a straight shooter....no hiding no tricks no b/s. I see you I kill you type of player. I dont care if your with 7 other players. Thats what the game should be about. Killing people with guns. Not lucky head shots or a sword or a vehicles because you have no aim at all. As for the campaign mode....it was boring but I always played it with a friend so we just messed around in vehicles and stuff it wasnt that bad when you dont take it seriously and just have fun. Expand
  66. MattC.
    Mar 22, 2005
    3
    This game is absolute !@#$ the original was much better i dont know how many times i replayed the levels in the original i did not enjoy this game as much
  67. DakotaG.
    Sep 23, 2005
    1
    The game was these worst i every play all you do is shoot and be stupid so my rate is a 1.
  68. Ricardo
    Jan 11, 2006
    3
    Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and shiny. The weapons are mostly weak and useless - why ruin the superb handgun? The level design is truly horrific - an appalling mess passing for cities or spaceships. The first level sums it all up - boring, ugly, pointless and a mess. The gameplay is just not on the level of the first game. The reviewers giving 100% are just cowards going with the crowd. There is one good thing - the dual weilding weapons. But that can't overcome the stench from the rest of the game. I finally completed it in spite of the boredom but won't pick it up again. Expand
  69. Halo2Stinks
    Nov 24, 2004
    4
    This game was way too hyped up. The E3 scenes that everyone drooled over didn't even make it into the game. Poor controls, lack of real weapons, and repetitive screens. That's what I took away from this game. Crappy storyline doesn't exactly help either. Halo 3 is supposed to be the first game for Xbox2 so I hear, but I won't waste my money after this pile of crud.
  70. MasterChef
    Nov 29, 2004
    1
    Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just because there'd be too many idiots who have memorized every map and know where every powerup is. That's not a bad thing in most games, but it is here. When the weapons are THIS unbalanced, you only need to figure out where you start on the map to see if you have a chance of winning. The hype the game received even makes things worse. I've read so many reviews that people give the game 10/10, but then say "Well, it doesn't live up to the hype, and there are problems..". Expand
  71. CraigK.
    Nov 10, 2004
    3
    Craig's Review 4U: The Guns are to damn big and in your face obstructing most of the visible area, especially in dual equipt mode. There is to much flashing to see what you are doing. Sets are to dark due to the new eviromental shaders. Story is awsome though but once again it takes a lot to get used to the interface. They should have left well alone.
  72. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    2
    I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, especially since you can get the same online experience buy getting HL2 and dling mods with the same multiplayer modes as Halo 2. Expand
  73. RyanD.
    Aug 5, 2006
    0
    Talk about over hype. This game just sucked, the only grace was 2 gun mode, thats it. the next time someone says hl2 was over hyped, look at this crap.
  74. RombieR.
    Mar 17, 2007
    2
    This game is highly overrated and no game reviewer wants to admit it. The graphics looked like a downgrade, the character acting was abysmal and the gameplay just sucked. If your a true fanboy of the series none of that would have affected you but as for me, I'll stick with Halo 1.
  75. supersteve
    Jun 5, 2006
    0
    biggest waste of money in my life, this game has an incredibly terrible first person game mode. It is as if bungie resold the original halo and stamped a 2 on the end so all the fans would repurchase it.
  76. HaloExpert
    Sep 14, 2006
    0
    The story is the worst in any video game, Period! I killed the last boss with 1 hit. The story is so short I completed it in half an hour and the multiplayer...2 words: " Its Crap!". Only plus is the two weapons ability.
  77. RA
    Sep 18, 2006
    0
    Overrated. Halo 1 was way way better than this piece of garbage.
  78. BryanM.
    Jun 5, 2007
    3
    I hope 3 will be way better. The story was ok until the end. and now they want me to buy 3 it better not have the gayest ending in the world or I will say good bye Halo and spend my $60 on a better game. Multiplayer is the only reason you should still have this game.
  79. Nathan
    Jun 12, 2005
    4
    People, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends housePeople, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends house for 4 hours totla. multiplayer is supposed to be the highlight, right? i got my ass beat. im not mad about that. The gameplay sucked. The maps blew chunks. the graphics were decent, but nothing stunning. u want stunning? try RE4. overall, halo 2 is nothing new, just a mix of things that have been done before. attack on earth: done. aliens: done. vehicles: done. guns: done. running around and hopping like a frickin noob: done. come on people, look at the whole game THEN review it. and i dont believe all those 10's. where are the reasons? o wait, there arent ne, cause u guys are all xbox fanboys. Expand
  80. JohnW.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the graphical upgrade, second character, and beam-sword...everybody gotta love dat beam sword. Expand
  81. JamesA.
    Apr 23, 2007
    4
    This game is nothing different. The graphics are 7 but weapon choice gets a 1. The physics are 0, compare to Half Life 2. The online system is very well made but the habitual game play brings it down to a 4. The single player story is like watching a train wrech in slow motion.
  82. C.H.
    May 16, 2007
    4
    95/100 based on 91 reviews. I never owned an xbox and I only just got Halo 2 to use on the Xbox 360. After years of hype and years of "omg this game is so amazing", I was pretty excited to play. I have never been so disappointed. Everything about the game feels weak or wimpy. They took away the Chief's health bar, they stuck a giant "Shields are recharging!!!" in the middle of my 95/100 based on 91 reviews. I never owned an xbox and I only just got Halo 2 to use on the Xbox 360. After years of hype and years of "omg this game is so amazing", I was pretty excited to play. I have never been so disappointed. Everything about the game feels weak or wimpy. They took away the Chief's health bar, they stuck a giant "Shields are recharging!!!" in the middle of my screen when I try to shoot. They took away my 60rd and massive 600rd reserve assault rifle and give me a crummy machine pistol and an M16-knock off burst-rifle with 180 reserve. Lame. I resent splitting the assault rifle, that on it's own was moderately useful, into two completely useless weapons. One is too weak, and the other doesn't have enough bullets. Who goes into a fight with 6 spare magazines? Sound effects are poor, level design is boring, the whole game is just... ugh. I cannot believe a game that is so mediocre is so popular. Expand
  83. RichardS
    Jul 4, 2007
    3
    Quite simply, the second most over-rated game of all time behind the even worse Gears of War. This took everything that was great about Halo - best game of all time - and ruined it. Horrid.
  84. Messiah.Roy
    Mar 16, 2009
    0
    Just as the Halo one game is. This isn't anything innovative. Nothing atall strikes me as good, entertaining, or new, I've seen it all in UNREAL. while I play this game I'm not awed, hud barely noticable update, guns basically the same. Story, although a continuation, still kind of the same. The whole game si nothing we've never seen in games. No new content. Truely if Just as the Halo one game is. This isn't anything innovative. Nothing atall strikes me as good, entertaining, or new, I've seen it all in UNREAL. while I play this game I'm not awed, hud barely noticable update, guns basically the same. Story, although a continuation, still kind of the same. The whole game si nothing we've never seen in games. No new content. Truely if you want a good multiplayer game that's exactly like this. Get unreal, it's better in anyway, PLUS they made it before halo = halo copied Unreal. Expand
  85. CormacH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    2
    I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the original Halo as the maps are dreadful. If you want an online halo game, buy Halo (PC). It will even work on a dial-up modem! Halo 2 is just a hype that was actually the low point to xbox not to mind the series. Expand
  86. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    Slightly better graphics and some online... almost the same game as Halo 1. I don't need more vehicles, and dual wielding on weapons I'm not going to use... I prefer the first game over this hyped fps.
  87. TuomasK.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Too Bad this game was ugly rubbish. No where near at Killzone.
  88. Eric
    Dec 19, 2004
    0
    Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat DE-volved. Expand
  89. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    So, I had the chance to play the multiplayer of "Halo 2" thanks to a lock-in from our church. All I can say is.....STICK TO REACH, MY ****
  90. Jan 19, 2011
    1
    Complete and total trash. This is a good example of companies milking good games for money. The story is crap, the graphics did not improve and it's just one incredibly repetitive FPS with nothing special. Only thing that stands out is the incredible overhype this game recieved.
  91. PatrickL.
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Halo 2 is the best multiplayer game ever.
  92. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2007
    7
    After years of hype finally people can see this game is massively over-rated. The single player is shite. No bones about saying it either. Terrible in fact, with only the humor keeping you interested. Multi player is where it's at. I think in future this game should only be an multi player title. Single player score: 4. Multi player score: 10. Average 7.
  93. DanielP
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Easily the best FPS on the xbox. Great story, even with the cliffhanger ending. Great enemies and weapons. A little too short, but multiplayer adds a hell of alot of life to this game.
  94. DickSavage
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I despise halo for all of is bribed reviews and garbage game play. But the story of the Arbiter is actually epic. He is sent on suicide missions and they still cant kill him. This one is the best of the series, which isn't saying much. The 5 I give it is 5 points higher than what i gave the other two.
  95. KaineB.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    What is wrong with people and this game. Was it the gameplay? The special effects? Sound? Presentation? The rankings for this game are some what adequate because yes it does have some flaws. For those who wanted to play it on online you will be disappointed with the online play because, and I stress on this, a lot and a lot of people will be playing online and your connection will be very What is wrong with people and this game. Was it the gameplay? The special effects? Sound? Presentation? The rankings for this game are some what adequate because yes it does have some flaws. For those who wanted to play it on online you will be disappointed with the online play because, and I stress on this, a lot and a lot of people will be playing online and your connection will be very poor, although it may be better than other games. Second the coop play is extordinary. What people are lacking in their reviews is subtance. They really don't know understand how to critize a game because one they are bias towards other games. Two many people do not play a variety of games. they play one game or juse one genre. People are naive when it comes down to the pure reality of video games. This game deserves the score no less than a 9.8. IGN gave it the best review than any other because it seemed to be the most involved with the true aspect of it. other game sites and magazines are bias. Please don't take the view of other games take your own and play the game advidly on your own. Don't rent a game and judge it without the time it takes to review a game. Expand
  96. Buried-In-The-Box
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    If I could score it higher, I would. This game is so great it could be a reason to keep on living when you've had enough of life. Graphics, control, A.I. and atmoshere are just too good to put into words. If you are disappointed, you don't like games.
  97. BenH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Superb, just what i was expecting. best game ever made.
  98. Luciort
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    bob g.df? camera angles? mmmm, i thought this was a first person shooter
  99. MikeH
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    November 9th is the most important date in gaming in 2004 and beyond, letalong being the most important date for the xbox. Halo 2 is strong on so many levels. It's single player campaign promises to deliver a powerful story and great gameplay. It's multiplayer component will be the best of the best. With people still avidly playing Halo, Halo 2 will drive people insane with its November 9th is the most important date in gaming in 2004 and beyond, letalong being the most important date for the xbox. Halo 2 is strong on so many levels. It's single player campaign promises to deliver a powerful story and great gameplay. It's multiplayer component will be the best of the best. With people still avidly playing Halo, Halo 2 will drive people insane with its abundant capapbilities. Clan Support, Online Stats, Decals, and XBL guests only tip the iceberg. New features such as dual wielding, destructible environments, new weapons, new enemies will also make Halo 2 obsessively fun to play. Expand
  100. K.K.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    I played this up in brisbane at electronic boutique on a demo, it is awesome, everything about it. This will get score 99 i think.
  101. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    Halo 2 did what I thought was impossible it improved upon what Halo: Combat Evolved did, it improved on gameplay, story, sound, and graphics, and created the best multiplayer experience ever that set the pace for games like the Call of Duty and Battlefield series, in my personal opinion this is the best in the Halo series, the only reason this does not get a perfect 10 is that there is noHalo 2 did what I thought was impossible it improved upon what Halo: Combat Evolved did, it improved on gameplay, story, sound, and graphics, and created the best multiplayer experience ever that set the pace for games like the Call of Duty and Battlefield series, in my personal opinion this is the best in the Halo series, the only reason this does not get a perfect 10 is that there is no more multiplayer, but this is still a absolute must play. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]