User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 972 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 972

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also gained many haters. The reasons that I have heard that people do not like Halo are its originality, itâ
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    The first Halo is still the best Halo. The story is classic, the gameplay is classic and, whether it be controller vibrations or the time's graphics, it all feels more gritty than the other Halo games. So much was put into this one game that all the sequels, as great as they were, can't really compare. This is a game that you play for the campaign itself rather than some online multiplayerThe first Halo is still the best Halo. The story is classic, the gameplay is classic and, whether it be controller vibrations or the time's graphics, it all feels more gritty than the other Halo games. So much was put into this one game that all the sequels, as great as they were, can't really compare. This is a game that you play for the campaign itself rather than some online multiplayer battle crap (which is also fun in the sequels, but this one didn't have that - unless you got it for the PC) - so it was clear that more time was spent on the story. Sure they spent time on the story for the rest of the games, but the other games can be beaten in a matter of an hour or two, even on Legendary, while I still, at the pace I go at, feel like this game takes longer - which also makes it a more worthwhile experience. This is one of the most legendary games on its own, and if you're a gamer of any kind and have never played it, you should be outright ashamed of yourself. This is one of those games, one of those rare games, that actually define and influence gaming today. Very few games pull that off. Expand
  3. May 5, 2012
    10
    How do you write a review 11 years after a release. The game will feel dated, it won't look or run like you're used to games running. That is not a problem for Halo:Combat Evolved. The graphics still hold up, even from a different system generation. The gameplay is still fierce and engaging, the multiplayer still robust enough to lose several hours with a few friends, and that'sHow do you write a review 11 years after a release. The game will feel dated, it won't look or run like you're used to games running. That is not a problem for Halo:Combat Evolved. The graphics still hold up, even from a different system generation. The gameplay is still fierce and engaging, the multiplayer still robust enough to lose several hours with a few friends, and that's playing it now. The game has held up beautifully because it was so far ahead of it's time. Colourful scenery with an absolutely incredible soundtrack, the ambiance of Halo takes you away. How do you review a game released in 2001? Quite favourably, it seems. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    This game is a true classic in just every way! I remember getting this game when I bought a Xbox and I've been playing this series and loving many other shooters, just cause of this one game. Awesome story, gameplay, multiplayer...EVERYTHING! Do yourself a favour and BUY this one and keep it forever, arguably one of the best Halo games in the series.
  5. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    I never actually owned this game but I played it from start to finish in one sitting with a friend in coop mode when it came out. Truly a masterpiece and a very compelling reason to own an xbox at the time.
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Hands down the greatest shooter game I have ever played and one of my all time favorites. The story is good, the entire game is original, and multiplayer is a lot of fun. This is a must buy.
  7. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    The game that resurrected and redefined console FPS's and gave birth to an ongoing slew of billion dollar console FPS games. Here it is. The Sistine Chapel. The Great Pyramid of Giza. The Double Big Mac. The best console FPS ever made! Great campaign. Great graphics. Great sound. Great musical score. Great gameplay. Innovative weapons and vehicles. Oh and PLASMA GRENADES!!!! HellThe game that resurrected and redefined console FPS's and gave birth to an ongoing slew of billion dollar console FPS games. Here it is. The Sistine Chapel. The Great Pyramid of Giza. The Double Big Mac. The best console FPS ever made! Great campaign. Great graphics. Great sound. Great musical score. Great gameplay. Innovative weapons and vehicles. Oh and PLASMA GRENADES!!!! Hell even the multiplayer was epic and feature rich, even if it wasn't on Xbox Live....only because Xbox Live had not been invented yet! I mean how cool was it to be able to change the settings of your mutliplayer gametypes? There's nothing bad to be said about this game. I know, I know, the PC gamers are going off on a tangent about how there's so many better FPSs on PC, and they may be right, but no one can argue the influence this game had on the video game industry and how it changed it forever. Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Halo Combat Evolved is a must have classic! It is simple, but that isn't a bad thing. Even 10 years on, new stuff can come out of it, with the release of Halo CE Anniversary. This game should be treasured by generations to come, because it is fun, has a good story, and is a purely unforgettable game.
  9. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game, multiplayer was a lot of fun.
  10. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is the first Halo game and the best. The campaign was amazing and the graphics not so much but the voice acting and gameplay is what makes a good game. Halo 1 deserves 10/10.
  11. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    ok so for all the idiots playing this game 12 years later and comparing it to todays standards your a moron. moving on from there.... halo was absolutely amazing when it first came out, had amazing graphics for the time, and was definatly worth the hype. 2 thumbs up as a game that will be remembered for years.
  12. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    the best fps for its time,great game a real reason to buy xbox back in its day.while at times story can be confusing its still very great. graphics was amazing back in the xbox days,music was nice.
  13. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game changed not only the FPS genre but video games themselves. How many games nowadays don't have a regenerating health system and a 2 weapon limitation. Beyond that Halo is immersive, engaging and a whole lot of fun to play.
  14. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    I still find myself, after years of playing, enjoying this game to it's fullest. Even with anniversary out I still find myself coming back to this amazing classic.
  15. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    a near perfect shooter in its day that felt it raised the bar for FPS games unfortunitly this is the one and only good halo game in the series. the game starts as you waking up from cryo statis as the master chief a cyborg bad ass that can kick some covenent butt . the game has a great selection of guns and one of the few games where i just loved sniping in it. it felt so fluid and justa near perfect shooter in its day that felt it raised the bar for FPS games unfortunitly this is the one and only good halo game in the series. the game starts as you waking up from cryo statis as the master chief a cyborg bad ass that can kick some covenent butt . the game has a great selection of guns and one of the few games where i just loved sniping in it. it felt so fluid and just fun. it also has co op which really makes it a more enjoyable game with a friend . the story is so-so as you feel like you are in the middle of a story with out much informing you on whats been going on overal . the controls are solid and the health shield system i really liked . the real major draw back is there was no multiplayer unless you had a computer and played it on gamespy or xbox connect . if MS had set this game up for multiplayer when xbox live came out or even realsed a patch or a new halo 1.5 game with it i could almost seeing giving this game a 10. Expand
  16. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    Lets get something straight,of course it's one of the top rated game ever, not because of some hoax, but I've beat it on every difficulty setting and I can't tell you how in 30 years of gaming this is one of my favorite games and it holds up to now 2011.Halo Reach is of course the best Halo game ever (debatable),but this is the best game to me because it was made 10 years ago and still hasLets get something straight,of course it's one of the top rated game ever, not because of some hoax, but I've beat it on every difficulty setting and I can't tell you how in 30 years of gaming this is one of my favorite games and it holds up to now 2011.Halo Reach is of course the best Halo game ever (debatable),but this is the best game to me because it was made 10 years ago and still has the graphics and game play to make you want to beat it all over again.I'll tell you that playing this game on legendary setting, it is incredibly hard but super rewarding in the end.Forget about achievements and trophies you get now,the satisfaction you feel in this game out ways them and that's what made games so good in the past and to be honest,it's there with some games but it's not the same!Original Halo deserves a perfect 10 with no doubt about it! Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    One of the all time best fps of all time. this game was amazing in its day and like unreal GOTY still has a large number of people who still enjoy the online action after all these years.
  18. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Manages to be both a great shooter and an epic adventure without sacrificing one or the other to gimmicks, set pieces or interactive movie moments. Great introduction to the universe
  19. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is a 2001 first person shooter title that took what Goldeneye 007 did for the genre on consoles and improved upon it to make the Xbox the primary platform for what would soon become the most popular genre in the industry. The game features everything a player would want in a shooter game. An epic single player campaign complete with a variety of weapons, vehicles andHalo: Combat Evolved is a 2001 first person shooter title that took what Goldeneye 007 did for the genre on consoles and improved upon it to make the Xbox the primary platform for what would soon become the most popular genre in the industry. The game features everything a player would want in a shooter game. An epic single player campaign complete with a variety of weapons, vehicles and enemies that keep you changing up your strategy and encourages you to try new things. The story draws you in and makes you want to know what happens next to the point that many gamers have stated that Halo was the first game they ever "pulled an all nighter" playing just to get the the end of the campaign. Then you can experience it all again with a friend in co-op or begin your addiction to the multiplayer component that is sure to have you spending many late nights (and early mornings) trying to best your friends a game of capture the flag or slayer. A title that revolutionized the industry and put Xbox on the map. Halo is a must play for any fan of the genre. Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Welcome to 2010. This game has been out for 10 years, and to me, it goes on strong. Overall, doesn't beat MW2 or Black Ops, but still is epic. Halo Reach is better due to forge, and multiplayer, and etc., but forget it. Halo: Combat Evolved's campaign can't be beat. I would like to see CoD beat this campaign.
  21. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Halo Combat Evolved may be--no, IS the best game ever made. It has a great story, awesome gameplay, great graphics for a game from 2001, in summary, everything about it is great! I am still playing it, and its sequel, Halo 2, after several years. Halo 3, not so much.
  22. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    One of the best FPSs I've ever played, I started to play this game about 3 months ago, and even being a 2001 game, it still amazes me. The gameplay is almost flawless and the music is perfect. This game is epic. A must buy!
  23. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This game was a game changer, and one of the best FPSs in history, the tight gameplay, with graphics and sound which were phenomenal at the time, with a griping story set in a fascinating Sci-Fi world, and gameplay that never got repetitive, and some fantastic split screen multiplayer, set this game apart from every other, the only thing keeping this from a perfect 10 is the fact that it'sThis game was a game changer, and one of the best FPSs in history, the tight gameplay, with graphics and sound which were phenomenal at the time, with a griping story set in a fascinating Sci-Fi world, and gameplay that never got repetitive, and some fantastic split screen multiplayer, set this game apart from every other, the only thing keeping this from a perfect 10 is the fact that it's not as impressive today do to the new FPSs out there, that aside this still a game I HIGHLY recommend, a must buy. Expand
  24. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    halo totally changed the way i played videogames, it was so great that me and my friends were hooked for years, and still decide to play it in split screen once in a while just to remember how it was like... of course halo 2, 3 and reach managed to keep up the legacy, but the first game was so mind blowing i can't help but considering it a turning point in hardcore gaming
  25. May 15, 2011
    10
    Why did Bungie make Halo for the Xbox? Why was this game designed like it was. Because it is one of the best games out there today! After a decade I still can not get enough of this game. The story is amazing, and the graphics, even today I still believe they are incredibly impressive. When you are playing campaign and a song with electric guitars in it starts. You know you are playing aWhy did Bungie make Halo for the Xbox? Why was this game designed like it was. Because it is one of the best games out there today! After a decade I still can not get enough of this game. The story is amazing, and the graphics, even today I still believe they are incredibly impressive. When you are playing campaign and a song with electric guitars in it starts. You know you are playing a deep, immersive game. This series will continue to break new grounds as being one the most innovative, fun, and just plain awsome series today. Expand
  26. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    I'm to say one thing about this game. This game was the first game I"ve ever played and because of that game I started to be interested in video games. Because of its originality,AI,story and graphics this game was number 1 in my top 10 video game list for many years until November the 15 which its place will take the anniversary edition of the game. I recommend this game to any gamer whoI'm to say one thing about this game. This game was the first game I"ve ever played and because of that game I started to be interested in video games. Because of its originality,AI,story and graphics this game was number 1 in my top 10 video game list for many years until November the 15 which its place will take the anniversary edition of the game. I recommend this game to any gamer who respects himself and he is not a playstation fanboy who even if he likes the game he will say that its bad because it is not released to his "beloved" console.As I said before I'm definitely buying the anniversary edition. Expand
  27. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This amazing game revolutionize the console fps. The first fps to use dual analog sticks. Just an amazing game I can't wait for anniversary!
  28. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Story: 8 Characters: 8 Graphics: 8 Setting: 8 Multiplayer: 10 Soundtrack: 10 Audio: 8 Gameplay: 10 Re-Playability Value: 8 Fun Factor: 9 Score: 8.7/10 = A
  29. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    Halo is an amazing game that is a legend. Everything about the game is near perfect. The graphics for the time are great, the sounds are solid and playabiltity is just great too. The story of Halo is just amazing and very interesting, Halo has one of the most interesting campaigns of any FPS to date that I greatly enjoyed. The game is really amazing. The only flaws I see are that sometimesHalo is an amazing game that is a legend. Everything about the game is near perfect. The graphics for the time are great, the sounds are solid and playabiltity is just great too. The story of Halo is just amazing and very interesting, Halo has one of the most interesting campaigns of any FPS to date that I greatly enjoyed. The game is really amazing. The only flaws I see are that sometimes the objectives are not clear and this can be downright frustrating at times, the melee is very ineffective too so this was irksome but these are minor complaints. Overall, Halo is a great game that is addictive and fun to play that you will remember as a classic. Breakdown for "Halo: Combat Evolved": Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 8.5, Sound: 9.5, Playability: 9.7, Lasting Appeal: 9.7, Verdict: 9.7 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant in every sense of the word. This game is not only the best Halo ever made, it's easily the best shooter ever made in general (Right up there besides Half Life 2).
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    this game is pretty much the reason to own an Xbox multiplayer is fun but you cant play online but its still good when you've got some mates round the campaign is amazing it can also be played with 2 people which will give you some memories i just remember tipping the warthog over about 16 times and my mate saying how good he was at driving and that he should drive this is the perfect mixthis game is pretty much the reason to own an Xbox multiplayer is fun but you cant play online but its still good when you've got some mates round the campaign is amazing it can also be played with 2 people which will give you some memories i just remember tipping the warthog over about 16 times and my mate saying how good he was at driving and that he should drive this is the perfect mix of vehicle combat and on foot combat you can buy it on Xbox 360s games on demand feature accessible through Xbox live Expand
  32. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    A classic and such a great game after all these years. Combat is just so fun and the AI is still better than most modern shooter, there are a lot of different enemies as well. Multiplayer is glorious.
  33. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite FPS by a mile. I cannot count how many hours I have poured into this game over the past 10 years. The story is epic, the music is a perfect accompaniment, and a well balanced selection of guns. I cannot describe how happy I was when they came out with a remake, since Halo Reach made the original game seem a little old graphics wise. If you dislike this game, then so beThis is my favorite FPS by a mile. I cannot count how many hours I have poured into this game over the past 10 years. The story is epic, the music is a perfect accompaniment, and a well balanced selection of guns. I cannot describe how happy I was when they came out with a remake, since Halo Reach made the original game seem a little old graphics wise. If you dislike this game, then so be it, clearly you're missing something. If you love it, then you know exactly what I'm getting at. Expand
  34. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is nothing short of GOLD. Everything about this game is amazing!! Gameplay is phenomenal! The weapons are great, each one unique and creatively designed. The AI for its day was impressive. The story is amazing, and easily surpassed any other game in its day. The graphics were great and helped draw attention to the potential Xbox had. LAN multiplayer gave me some of myHalo: Combat Evolved is nothing short of GOLD. Everything about this game is amazing!! Gameplay is phenomenal! The weapons are great, each one unique and creatively designed. The AI for its day was impressive. The story is amazing, and easily surpassed any other game in its day. The graphics were great and helped draw attention to the potential Xbox had. LAN multiplayer gave me some of my best memories of playing with friends. Halo is beyond fun, it's oppressively exhilarating! Each level is unique and detailed to precision. There is nothing quite like Halo, and there never will be. This is easily one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  35. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is what made the xbox what it is, it also defined console FPS's from there on out. A fairly simple run and gun gameplay mechanic with no fancy extras other than a futuristic setting makes people think, what's the fuss about? As soon as you take Halo out of its console setting it dies, as a PC shooter it would fall flat but also its the levels and story. You play as theHalo: Combat Evolved is what made the xbox what it is, it also defined console FPS's from there on out. A fairly simple run and gun gameplay mechanic with no fancy extras other than a futuristic setting makes people think, what's the fuss about? As soon as you take Halo out of its console setting it dies, as a PC shooter it would fall flat but also its the levels and story. You play as the Master Chief, a SPARTAN II super soldier created by the UNSC and the last of your kind. You are attacked by the ruthless alien forces of the Covenant and crash land on a nearby planet shaped like a ring. However you soon learn it is not a planet but a weapon to ensure the greatest threat in the universe is kept at rest through unthinkable circumstances. You play in huge outdoor environments with giant metal structures towing above you and rolling hills as far as the eye can see. This gives the combat a tactical approach using the living environment rather than barricades or a door, the game is alive as you play and you can feel it. Expand
  36. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Halo CE has a amazing campaign and amazing story witch is the best story and campaign in a halo game. I loved every mission and one of the best fps campaigns I have ever played. This game has a amazing world around you and kept me interested in the campaign. Multiplayer is good in halo 1 but no online multiplayer and also I didn't like how little weapons there are, but its their first gameHalo CE has a amazing campaign and amazing story witch is the best story and campaign in a halo game. I loved every mission and one of the best fps campaigns I have ever played. This game has a amazing world around you and kept me interested in the campaign. Multiplayer is good in halo 1 but no online multiplayer and also I didn't like how little weapons there are, but its their first game so they learned and made weapons and multiplayer bad-ass in halo 2. Halo CE will never,ever be forgotten and I don't think any Halo campaign, from Halos now or Halos in the future will ever beat the campaign. Halo: Combat Evolved 9.1/10 Expand
  37. May 25, 2012
    10
    The beginning of a legacy, one of the best games id ever played. Halo is the best xbox original from the story to the graphics its the game that started it all
  38. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    I'm still laughing at all the 1-4 reviews. I mean seriously, have you even PLAYED Halo: Combat Evolved? For its time, Halo: CE was the most influential game of all time. Even today, the graphics are still on par with most things people play... Except for Halo 2, 3, Reach, and 4. The story is deep, riveting and interesting, the campaign is long, and paced just right, and certainly providesI'm still laughing at all the 1-4 reviews. I mean seriously, have you even PLAYED Halo: Combat Evolved? For its time, Halo: CE was the most influential game of all time. Even today, the graphics are still on par with most things people play... Except for Halo 2, 3, Reach, and 4. The story is deep, riveting and interesting, the campaign is long, and paced just right, and certainly provides a hell of a bang for your buck. The only complaint I have is that the player never really got to know the Spartan behind the helmet, but, hey, that's what sequels are for. Expand
  39. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    Halo combat evolved was such a great fps for the xbox. The graphics are top notch, especially for a game that was made in 2000, the campaign is long, compelling, and challenging, the versing and co op is fairly good too, overall, a great buy for xbox gamers
  40. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This is the game that got me into FPS, the campaign was the first to get me going and I've thought since playing this game that this needs to be an epic film. Everything about it is polished and classic, even until the climactic car ride at the end. Also, have spent countless hours shooting up friends via local multiplayer slayer. Awesome game, perfect in my opinion.
  41. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Simply astonishing, when this game first came out i was just a little boy and my first boner came from this game. I jerked off to this game everynight for the longest time.
  42. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    The classic that started it all. Halo CE is a great game, for which we have to give thanks for the regenerating shield/health system and 2 weapon system (and thank GOD for that, I can't stand non regen health in FPS's since I played this) It's gameplay is great, it holds up really well even to todays standards, it's just plain simple fun. While the story of the original is nothing amazingThe classic that started it all. Halo CE is a great game, for which we have to give thanks for the regenerating shield/health system and 2 weapon system (and thank GOD for that, I can't stand non regen health in FPS's since I played this) It's gameplay is great, it holds up really well even to todays standards, it's just plain simple fun. While the story of the original is nothing amazing it's set in a really fleshed out interesting universe., and is interesting in its own right. Master Chief as a character is great, I think his very rare speak makes him more relateable than say Gordan Freeman yet not so concrete as to not be a everyman. It has a unique but great soundtrack and it's multiplayer is endless fun, and the game has good modding potential on PC. One of the FPSs ever Expand
  43. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    for the time that it is made in i must give this game a 9 even do it's not perfect
    i still enjoy the game and it's already 12 years ago when it was made
    it's just awesome the weapons are great just sad you can't pick up the energy sword or fuel rod cannon campaign is awesome a very good story too +:awesome campaign +:a good story +:multiplayer options -:levels are kinda the same you
    for the time that it is made in i must give this game a 9 even do it's not perfect
    i still enjoy the game and it's already 12 years ago when it was made
    it's just awesome the weapons are great just sad you can't pick up the energy sword or fuel rod cannon
    campaign is awesome a very good story too
    +:awesome campaign
    +:a good story
    +:multiplayer options
    -:levels are kinda the same you have the feeling that you are running in circles
    -:too much dark rooms
    Expand
  44. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    In terms of story, graphics, gameplay, and overall presentation Halo was quite simply jaw dropping when it was first released. To this day it's still an awe inspiring achievement. Very few games, even critically acclaimed titles, have a story as finely crafted and multifaceted as Halo. It must be said that Halo is one out of probably a mere 5 games that could make an easy transitionIn terms of story, graphics, gameplay, and overall presentation Halo was quite simply jaw dropping when it was first released. To this day it's still an awe inspiring achievement. Very few games, even critically acclaimed titles, have a story as finely crafted and multifaceted as Halo. It must be said that Halo is one out of probably a mere 5 games that could make an easy transition into the film medium while still remaining high quality. Peter Jackson must have recognized this, for he was once planning on doing so. Over the satisfying campaign you'll get to use iconic weapons and vehicles, explore an incredible world, listen to a truly haunting musical score, and experience one of the most transcendent finales in gaming history. A masterpiece indeed. Expand
  45. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    It's an amazing game! Resembles the XBox game "Halo".
    It's an amazing game! Resembles the XBox game "Halo".
    It's an amazing game! Resembles the XBox game "Halo".
  46. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Over the years, the Halo franchise has grown into a Goliath of sorts. It has gained an insane amount of popularity, however I've never really cared much about it. I played Halo 3, and that was okay. Halo Reach was a decent game too, but they never felt spectacular.

    However, I decided to go back and play the original. The original game Halo: Combat Evolved is by far my favorite game in
    Over the years, the Halo franchise has grown into a Goliath of sorts. It has gained an insane amount of popularity, however I've never really cared much about it. I played Halo 3, and that was okay. Halo Reach was a decent game too, but they never felt spectacular.

    However, I decided to go back and play the original. The original game Halo: Combat Evolved is by far my favorite game in the franchise. Even after playing through later iterations, I can still say that this game is the best. The game is comprised of very open maps, excellent story elements, great mechanics, and outstanding music. You really can't go wrong with this game.

    I can see why this game sold Xboxs so well. I definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  47. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    This easily stands among games like HL2 and BioShock for being the greatest FPS of all time. The original Halo game was better on the PC than the Xbox, but it's a great game either way with lots of surprising plot twists within an engaging plot. I love the level design, the brilliant AI, the originality, almost everything about this game is perfect. I only have one complaint, and that'sThis easily stands among games like HL2 and BioShock for being the greatest FPS of all time. The original Halo game was better on the PC than the Xbox, but it's a great game either way with lots of surprising plot twists within an engaging plot. I love the level design, the brilliant AI, the originality, almost everything about this game is perfect. I only have one complaint, and that's that the gameplay towards the end of the game can feel a bit repeditive. Expand
  48. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    The game that defined first-player shooting and FPS multiplayer action. The game which defines itself in the very fact that its own company of development fails at replicating (besides Halo 2, all games proceeding thereafter continually have failed to set any substantial significance to the series) the game's original qualities.
  49. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    It's really too bad to see people coming back in recent years to slap a review of 0 on the original Halo. This game came out in 2001. If you limited yourself to only purchasing console FPS games from 2001 and earlier, what would you rather play? Maybe Goldeneye on the N64? Maybe Doom, but that's not even in full 3D since you can't aim up or down. The bottom line is that for its day, thisIt's really too bad to see people coming back in recent years to slap a review of 0 on the original Halo. This game came out in 2001. If you limited yourself to only purchasing console FPS games from 2001 and earlier, what would you rather play? Maybe Goldeneye on the N64? Maybe Doom, but that's not even in full 3D since you can't aim up or down. The bottom line is that for its day, this was the best FPS you could play on a console by a very large margin. It's hard to debate that. It *is* still a lot of fun to play if you enjoy the genre, and deserves all the acclaim it gets. Expand
  50. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This is the first truly modern FPS the graphics are dated but where amazing back then and the story is really,really good and while Mass Effect has come out since back then it was unmatched the controls,level design is was unparalleled but still impressive and it is very long for a FPS campaign these days and the multiplayer was unmatched and still among the best and the start to the bestThis is the first truly modern FPS the graphics are dated but where amazing back then and the story is really,really good and while Mass Effect has come out since back then it was unmatched the controls,level design is was unparalleled but still impressive and it is very long for a FPS campaign these days and the multiplayer was unmatched and still among the best and the start to the best FPS series ever along with Half-Life Expand
  51. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Very memorable, Its Awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
  52. May 26, 2013
    10
    The original Halo is definitely something to play on Xbox! Learn how the franchise began and see the coolest hero in gaming history: Spartan 117-The Master Chief! Yes, Halo Combat Evolved is a true original.
  53. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Halo is what defined a first person shooter, halo set the mark for all games, halo is a true classic. After more then 12 years later Halo is one of the most talked about games of all time. Master chief is one of the most recognising characters in video gaming and this will continue due to the stealer series that fans just can't get enough of. Halo is a intriguing world that is a must forHalo is what defined a first person shooter, halo set the mark for all games, halo is a true classic. After more then 12 years later Halo is one of the most talked about games of all time. Master chief is one of the most recognising characters in video gaming and this will continue due to the stealer series that fans just can't get enough of. Halo is a intriguing world that is a must for all gamers. The relationship between contarma and chief is unbeatable and by the time the journey is over you will feel like a true bad ass. Expand
  54. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Halo is a legend and is base for all FPS to come after, however none (even including half life 2) have ever got ever remotely close to this, it has graphics, gameplay and story
  55. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    ESTE 10 LO PONGO POR UNA SOLA RAZÓN: PERFECCIÓN Y ORIGINALIDAD; NOS LLEVA A UN MUNDO Y UNA HISTORIA TOTALMENTE FUERA DE LO COMÚN Y ADEMAS NOS MUESTRA LA CAPACIDAD QUE TIENE MICROSOFT DE IMPRESIONAR.
  56. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Halo: Combat Evolved nearly perfected the first person shooter genre. In fact, it defined the genre. Bungie took everything from all the other classic FPS games like Doom, Quake, and Goldeneye 007 into one tremendous game. With great weapons, multi-player, and fun factor, Halo is the killer app that pretty much sold all Xbox consoles.
  57. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Polished. Its solid like Quake but updated for the next generation. Couldnt ask for more

    Halo:REACH updated the game engine. Play that for the next leap
  58. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an awesome game! i don't understand why people say this game is borring? it is an real awesome game. it has an awesome storyline and a really good gameplay. I love so much this game! Expand
  59. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    A truly elite title from beginning to end. This game has it all, gameplay, story, atmosphere, it's nearly perfect and probably the best out of all of the Halo games. I highly recommend picking it up.
  60. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Accounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move whileAccounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move while standing, move it slightly and you move while crouching) Expand
  61. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Such a great game in the fps genre which really revolutionized it for the better. Reviewers giving it a zero are clearly haters who have not played it and are unfit to vote on any gamin review web site. Saying it's a zero would mean it's and unworkable piece of crap, when it's, clearly not, just look at the critic reviews.
  62. AGK
    Dec 31, 2013
    9
    this game is awesome! I had so many good memories with this game and I am still having good memories with this godlike game, go bungie and halo forever!
  63. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Never was there a first person shooter which controlled well on a video game console. The genre was at its prime on P.C. and that's how it was expected to remain. Halo: Combat Evolved was one of few reasons to actually own the original Microsoft X-BOX. For the first time, controls involving a first person shooter and video game console were not awkward and worked rather well. Only issue toNever was there a first person shooter which controlled well on a video game console. The genre was at its prime on P.C. and that's how it was expected to remain. Halo: Combat Evolved was one of few reasons to actually own the original Microsoft X-BOX. For the first time, controls involving a first person shooter and video game console were not awkward and worked rather well. Only issue to be existent is the lack of vehicular combat. A revolutionary game, that's what Halo: Combat Evolved is. Expand
  64. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite FPS games. It may seem a little empty by today's standards, but it was way ahead of the curve and laying the groundwork for future FPS games when it came out. The weapons all have their strengths and weaknesses. The story is engaging and paves the way for one of the best epic trilogies of all time.
  65. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This game is the one that started it all. It brought us even greater Halo games, those being Halo 2, Halo 3 and even Halo: Reach. The multiplayer on the PC is still up, so go get this game and experience the awesomeness of the first Halo game.
  66. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Deffintley one of the best Xbox games besides maybe halo 2 but besides this game has shaped the way fpses are played and for that we should give it endless prase
  67. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Halo Combat Evolved is the complete package [excuse me if that came out wrong] action plot character and blood what else can a guy ask for in a video game.
  68. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    When they say "combat evolved" they mean it.
    One of the most intense and immersive shooters I have ever played. Certainly the best in the series in terms of exploration, gunplay, story and art form. Also might I add, Multiplayer...amazing
    The games pure genius. Thats all.
  69. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    It is good game because the green stormtrooper reminds me of father Shrek because he is green and badass. You use a painted nerf gun to kill cosplaying lizards, vultures, and fungus men who are high on blue cheese. The only flaw to this game is the graphics aren't as good as the graphics from Bubsy 3D.
  70. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    A truly remarkable and revolutionary title this game changed the FPS franchise as we know it. This for it's time and even to this day is an excellent game introducing vehicular combat and a fully staffed crew of voice actor to immerse you and make the experience even better.
  71. May 1, 2014
    10
    Halo: CE shaped modern FPS games, and also has one of the best stories, entangled in one of the best soundtracks of any game ever made. The atmosphere in the game was simply amazing. Sure the graphics are dated, it's from 2001 for god's sake, this was a launch title for the original Xbox! The game was revolutionary in its time, its a classic.
  72. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Sure it looks a bit dated by today's standards but that's what The Master Chief Collection or Halo Combat Evolved anniversary is for. The story is great and The graphics for the time were great. I have no problems with this game.

    Verdict:
    This game is an awesome first installment to an awesome franchise of awesome games.
    9/10
  73. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest FPS of all time The game the perhaps did everything right
    Even though I hate Regenerating health in every game Halo 1 did it in a believable way(Your wearing a SPARTAN suit that regenerates) and it didnt have full regeneration you also had a health bar when your shields depleted and could only heal using health packs.
  74. May 29, 2014
    10
    This game is jammed packed with a amazing story. The music was incredible too. The environment was mind boggeling. Looking up for the first time seeing you were on a ring world, was priceless. This game brought me closer to my family, and friends for that Halo. I thank you.
  75. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    It isn't the best Halo, BUT IT'S COMING ON XBOX ONE IN 2014 or 2015, but anyway; this game is very good and I am happy to give it a 9/10. :)
    It also set the ground on every single GOOD first person shooter, like Battlefield, COD, and stuff.
  76. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    A great game in my chilhood, i have very precious memories of this game, it is a great game to start a great series. bring on the master cheif collection. 9/10
  77. Aug 5, 2014
    9
    This is no other doubt the best FPS game I've played so far on the Xbox. It has a good story, good graphics, awesome soundtrack, breathtaking gameplay that will make you play this game all day, every day.
    The multiplayer in this game is great as well.
    Overall, this is my second favorite Halo in the Halo series and it's definitely worth your time! The only problem I had with this game is
    This is no other doubt the best FPS game I've played so far on the Xbox. It has a good story, good graphics, awesome soundtrack, breathtaking gameplay that will make you play this game all day, every day.
    The multiplayer in this game is great as well.
    Overall, this is my second favorite Halo in the Halo series and it's definitely worth your time!
    The only problem I had with this game is the last mission. The last mission of the game is really tough as balls, especially the driving part.
    Expand
  78. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    It's not an easy task to create a colossal universe, with a lot of beigns where each being has its own releigion, characteristics and story, is even harder to create this universe and fit a great game, with revolutionary gameplay, catchy characters, great story evolve, great story telling and high quality cutscenes, Halo: Combat Evolved is an icon in the FPS genre.
  79. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    Halo Combat Evolved marked the beginning of a new franchise! This one particular video game started a new generation of gaming like Super Mario Bros. did in 1985. This is a new story that is refreshing for any gamer. You are with an organized Human military force known as the UNSC and you are at war against an alien race known as the Covenant. The Covenant is made up of 4 alien known asHalo Combat Evolved marked the beginning of a new franchise! This one particular video game started a new generation of gaming like Super Mario Bros. did in 1985. This is a new story that is refreshing for any gamer. You are with an organized Human military force known as the UNSC and you are at war against an alien race known as the Covenant. The Covenant is made up of 4 alien known as Jackals, Hunters, Grunts, and my personal favorite alien race in all of Halo, the Elites. After an ensuing battle in a UNSC spaceship known as the Pillar of Autumn, you escape the ship in a drop-pod. You and the rest of the UNSC crash on a ring world called "Halo." The story has a protagonist that you play through the eyes of a Spartan 2 named Master Chief. He has an A.I. partner that briefs him on what to do throughout the missions known as Cortana. You have another ally who is a captain named Keyes. While on Halo. You come across an ancient parasitic group of life forms known as the Flood. You even come across an ancient race that is designed to stop the Flood known as the Sentinels. They are led by the monitor of the ring world named "343 Guilty Spark." He reveals that Halo is built by a long extinct race that built him and the Sentinels known as "the Forerunners." Halo is also designed to destroy all life in the galaxy. So your objective is to destroy Halo. You succeed in the end and Master Chief says on of the best lines in history ever, "No. I think we're just getting started." That is a great way for opening up to a sequel! Halo Combat Evolved also features a brand new multiplayer. The maps are mind-blowing and they give you unlimited possibilities of what to do. Halo's multiplayer is very strategic-thinking and very competitive. But you will have to play on co-op or either system link because Xbox Live didn't exist until Halo 2 came out, but don't worry though, because you will have a fun time playing this game. With an amazing story and fantastic multiplayer, Halo Combated Evolved deserves a PERFECT 10/10. Expand
  80. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    Everytime i see halo....

    i just want to turn on my console and play Halo 1 to 4.
    This one had the best scenes and moments.
    Every xbox owner must play this game and the franchise.
  81. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    The ability to throw grenades without cycling through weapons, immense strategy required, an immersive story, and the legendary multiplayer mode have all contributed this to be the best fps of the 6th gen, perhaps of all gaming itself. Though by today's standards it is clunky and old, the action, the mortality of your character, and the Gregorian Chant of the title screen, are not.
  82. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    amazing game. great multiplayer with lack of online play. good campaign, however with some repetitive areas. All around great time. highly recommended.
  83. Dec 12, 2014
    9
    I'm not one for FPS games, I hate Battlefield and COD but this game is probably my favorite game so far! I have put hours and hours into this game before I even noticed it... my favorite waste of time so far.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Halo is quite simply the closest thing we have ever experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. [Jan 2002, p.72]
  2. The definitive reason to own an Xbox. [Feb 2003, p.95]
  3. 100
    When you finally set down the controller the first time, and eventually hunger or exhaustion do force all of us to take a break, Halo has pulled you completely into its world and started one of the best sci-fi gaming adventures of all time.