Halo: Combat Evolved Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1348 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite FPS by a mile. I cannot count how many hours I have poured into this game over the past 10 years. The story is epic, the music is a perfect accompaniment, and a well balanced selection of guns. I cannot describe how happy I was when they came out with a remake, since Halo Reach made the original game seem a little old graphics wise. If you dislike this game, then so beThis is my favorite FPS by a mile. I cannot count how many hours I have poured into this game over the past 10 years. The story is epic, the music is a perfect accompaniment, and a well balanced selection of guns. I cannot describe how happy I was when they came out with a remake, since Halo Reach made the original game seem a little old graphics wise. If you dislike this game, then so be it, clearly you're missing something. If you love it, then you know exactly what I'm getting at. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is what made the xbox what it is, it also defined console FPS's from there on out. A fairly simple run and gun gameplay mechanic with no fancy extras other than a futuristic setting makes people think, what's the fuss about? As soon as you take Halo out of its console setting it dies, as a PC shooter it would fall flat but also its the levels and story. You play as theHalo: Combat Evolved is what made the xbox what it is, it also defined console FPS's from there on out. A fairly simple run and gun gameplay mechanic with no fancy extras other than a futuristic setting makes people think, what's the fuss about? As soon as you take Halo out of its console setting it dies, as a PC shooter it would fall flat but also its the levels and story. You play as the Master Chief, a SPARTAN II super soldier created by the UNSC and the last of your kind. You are attacked by the ruthless alien forces of the Covenant and crash land on a nearby planet shaped like a ring. However you soon learn it is not a planet but a weapon to ensure the greatest threat in the universe is kept at rest through unthinkable circumstances. You play in huge outdoor environments with giant metal structures towing above you and rolling hills as far as the eye can see. This gives the combat a tactical approach using the living environment rather than barricades or a door, the game is alive as you play and you can feel it. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Halo CE has a amazing campaign and amazing story witch is the best story and campaign in a halo game. I loved every mission and one of the best fps campaigns I have ever played. This game has a amazing world around you and kept me interested in the campaign. Multiplayer is good in halo 1 but no online multiplayer and also I didn't like how little weapons there are, but its their first gameHalo CE has a amazing campaign and amazing story witch is the best story and campaign in a halo game. I loved every mission and one of the best fps campaigns I have ever played. This game has a amazing world around you and kept me interested in the campaign. Multiplayer is good in halo 1 but no online multiplayer and also I didn't like how little weapons there are, but its their first game so they learned and made weapons and multiplayer bad-ass in halo 2. Halo CE will never,ever be forgotten and I don't think any Halo campaign, from Halos now or Halos in the future will ever beat the campaign. Halo: Combat Evolved 9.1/10 Expand
  4. May 25, 2012
    10
    The beginning of a legacy, one of the best games id ever played. Halo is the best xbox original from the story to the graphics its the game that started it all
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    Halo combat evolved was such a great fps for the xbox. The graphics are top notch, especially for a game that was made in 2000, the campaign is long, compelling, and challenging, the versing and co op is fairly good too, overall, a great buy for xbox gamers
  6. Jul 8, 2016
    10
    AaronM is a retard for saying Halo 2 is crap. Halo 2 is better than any Halo ever made and the majority agrees. Halo 1's single player today aged horribly because it's nothing but the same corridor after corridor. Halo 2 was unbelievably good and its multiplayer was the best of any Halo game, ever. The maps would go down in history as being the best in any online FPS game. What sellsAaronM is a retard for saying Halo 2 is crap. Halo 2 is better than any Halo ever made and the majority agrees. Halo 1's single player today aged horribly because it's nothing but the same corridor after corridor. Halo 2 was unbelievably good and its multiplayer was the best of any Halo game, ever. The maps would go down in history as being the best in any online FPS game. What sells Halo CE is the superb LAN multiplayer it had, not the crappy story. This was the best LAN multiplayer game ever made, alongside Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow. Halo 2 destroys Halo CE in every way imaginable, but they're both amazing games and worthy of a 10. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This is the game that got me into FPS, the campaign was the first to get me going and I've thought since playing this game that this needs to be an epic film. Everything about it is polished and classic, even until the climactic car ride at the end. Also, have spent countless hours shooting up friends via local multiplayer slayer. Awesome game, perfect in my opinion.
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    While I do think that this game is insanely overrated for what it is, it isn't a bad game. Don't listen to all of the people saying that it's the most revolutionary FPS game out there, it's not, but also don't listen to the people who say it is a horrible game. Go pick up this game, although I recommend the PC version, the Xbox version isn't bad so go pick it up and have a blast!
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Simply astonishing, when this game first came out i was just a little boy and my first boner came from this game. I jerked off to this game everynight for the longest time.
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    The classic that started it all. Halo CE is a great game, for which we have to give thanks for the regenerating shield/health system and 2 weapon system (and thank GOD for that, I can't stand non regen health in FPS's since I played this) It's gameplay is great, it holds up really well even to todays standards, it's just plain simple fun. While the story of the original is nothing amazingThe classic that started it all. Halo CE is a great game, for which we have to give thanks for the regenerating shield/health system and 2 weapon system (and thank GOD for that, I can't stand non regen health in FPS's since I played this) It's gameplay is great, it holds up really well even to todays standards, it's just plain simple fun. While the story of the original is nothing amazing it's set in a really fleshed out interesting universe., and is interesting in its own right. Master Chief as a character is great, I think his very rare speak makes him more relateable than say Gordan Freeman yet not so concrete as to not be a everyman. It has a unique but great soundtrack and it's multiplayer is endless fun, and the game has good modding potential on PC. One of the FPSs ever Expand
  11. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    for the time that it is made in i must give this game a 9 even do it's not perfect
    i still enjoy the game and it's already 12 years ago when it was made
    it's just awesome the weapons are great just sad you can't pick up the energy sword or fuel rod cannon campaign is awesome a very good story too +:awesome campaign +:a good story +:multiplayer options -:levels are kinda the same you
    for the time that it is made in i must give this game a 9 even do it's not perfect
    i still enjoy the game and it's already 12 years ago when it was made
    it's just awesome the weapons are great just sad you can't pick up the energy sword or fuel rod cannon
    campaign is awesome a very good story too
    +:awesome campaign
    +:a good story
    +:multiplayer options
    -:levels are kinda the same you have the feeling that you are running in circles
    -:too much dark rooms
    Expand
  12. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    In terms of story, graphics, gameplay, and overall presentation Halo was quite simply jaw dropping when it was first released. To this day it's still an awe inspiring achievement. Very few games, even critically acclaimed titles, have a story as finely crafted and multifaceted as Halo. It must be said that Halo is one out of probably a mere 5 games that could make an easy transitionIn terms of story, graphics, gameplay, and overall presentation Halo was quite simply jaw dropping when it was first released. To this day it's still an awe inspiring achievement. Very few games, even critically acclaimed titles, have a story as finely crafted and multifaceted as Halo. It must be said that Halo is one out of probably a mere 5 games that could make an easy transition into the film medium while still remaining high quality. Peter Jackson must have recognized this, for he was once planning on doing so. Over the satisfying campaign you'll get to use iconic weapons and vehicles, explore an incredible world, listen to a truly haunting musical score, and experience one of the most transcendent finales in gaming history. A masterpiece indeed. Expand
  13. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    It's an amazing game! Resembles the XBox game "Halo".
    It's an amazing game! Resembles the XBox game "Halo".
    It's an amazing game! Resembles the XBox game "Halo".
  14. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Over the years, the Halo franchise has grown into a Goliath of sorts. It has gained an insane amount of popularity, however I've never really cared much about it. I played Halo 3, and that was okay. Halo Reach was a decent game too, but they never felt spectacular.

    However, I decided to go back and play the original. The original game Halo: Combat Evolved is by far my favorite game in
    Over the years, the Halo franchise has grown into a Goliath of sorts. It has gained an insane amount of popularity, however I've never really cared much about it. I played Halo 3, and that was okay. Halo Reach was a decent game too, but they never felt spectacular.

    However, I decided to go back and play the original. The original game Halo: Combat Evolved is by far my favorite game in the franchise. Even after playing through later iterations, I can still say that this game is the best. The game is comprised of very open maps, excellent story elements, great mechanics, and outstanding music. You really can't go wrong with this game.

    I can see why this game sold Xboxs so well. I definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  15. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    This easily stands among games like HL2 and BioShock for being the greatest FPS of all time. The original Halo game was better on the PC than the Xbox, but it's a great game either way with lots of surprising plot twists within an engaging plot. I love the level design, the brilliant AI, the originality, almost everything about this game is perfect. I only have one complaint, and that'sThis easily stands among games like HL2 and BioShock for being the greatest FPS of all time. The original Halo game was better on the PC than the Xbox, but it's a great game either way with lots of surprising plot twists within an engaging plot. I love the level design, the brilliant AI, the originality, almost everything about this game is perfect. I only have one complaint, and that's that the gameplay towards the end of the game can feel a bit repeditive. Expand
  16. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    The game that defined first-player shooting and FPS multiplayer action. The game which defines itself in the very fact that its own company of development fails at replicating (besides Halo 2, all games proceeding thereafter continually have failed to set any substantial significance to the series) the game's original qualities.
  17. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    It's really too bad to see people coming back in recent years to slap a review of 0 on the original Halo. This game came out in 2001. If you limited yourself to only purchasing console FPS games from 2001 and earlier, what would you rather play? Maybe Goldeneye on the N64? Maybe Doom, but that's not even in full 3D since you can't aim up or down. The bottom line is that for its day, thisIt's really too bad to see people coming back in recent years to slap a review of 0 on the original Halo. This game came out in 2001. If you limited yourself to only purchasing console FPS games from 2001 and earlier, what would you rather play? Maybe Goldeneye on the N64? Maybe Doom, but that's not even in full 3D since you can't aim up or down. The bottom line is that for its day, this was the best FPS you could play on a console by a very large margin. It's hard to debate that. It *is* still a lot of fun to play if you enjoy the genre, and deserves all the acclaim it gets. Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This is the first truly modern FPS the graphics are dated but where amazing back then and the story is really,really good and while Mass Effect has come out since back then it was unmatched the controls,level design is was unparalleled but still impressive and it is very long for a FPS campaign these days and the multiplayer was unmatched and still among the best and the start to the bestThis is the first truly modern FPS the graphics are dated but where amazing back then and the story is really,really good and while Mass Effect has come out since back then it was unmatched the controls,level design is was unparalleled but still impressive and it is very long for a FPS campaign these days and the multiplayer was unmatched and still among the best and the start to the best FPS series ever along with Half-Life Expand
  19. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    I've got to say, the first Halo game revolutionized gaming in many more ways than one, and it has only provided good things for the series it has since created. Halo: Combat Evolved has excellent musical scores haunting its every moment, a pretty well-created multiplayer following and almighty deathmatch capabilities for its time, and a driving narrative following in the footsteps of whoI've got to say, the first Halo game revolutionized gaming in many more ways than one, and it has only provided good things for the series it has since created. Halo: Combat Evolved has excellent musical scores haunting its every moment, a pretty well-created multiplayer following and almighty deathmatch capabilities for its time, and a driving narrative following in the footsteps of who we now dub merely 'The Chief'. This was the first adventure of The Chief and Cortana, and boy was it an epic one. We now have met The Chief time and time again, but it is from his first adventure that we can really draw our conclusions about just who he is as a character, and how he always finishes the job- even if we might never see his face or here anything other than his smart and short dialogue. This is The Chief's story, and nothing can detract from that. The gameplay flows, the enemies are believable in life and death, the weapons feel greased and ready to fire, the sound quality is superb, the story is pretty well thought out and quite original, and only a few minor inconveniences and glitches can take away from the experience. Expand
  20. May 26, 2013
    10
    The original Halo is definitely something to play on Xbox! Learn how the franchise began and see the coolest hero in gaming history: Spartan 117-The Master Chief! Yes, Halo Combat Evolved is a true original.
  21. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Halo is what defined a first person shooter, halo set the mark for all games, halo is a true classic. After more then 12 years later Halo is one of the most talked about games of all time. Master chief is one of the most recognising characters in video gaming and this will continue due to the stealer series that fans just can't get enough of. Halo is a intriguing world that is a must forHalo is what defined a first person shooter, halo set the mark for all games, halo is a true classic. After more then 12 years later Halo is one of the most talked about games of all time. Master chief is one of the most recognising characters in video gaming and this will continue due to the stealer series that fans just can't get enough of. Halo is a intriguing world that is a must for all gamers. The relationship between contarma and chief is unbeatable and by the time the journey is over you will feel like a true bad ass. Expand
  22. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Halo is a legend and is base for all FPS to come after, however none (even including half life 2) have ever got ever remotely close to this, it has graphics, gameplay and story
  23. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    ESTE 10 LO PONGO POR UNA SOLA RAZÓN: PERFECCIÓN Y ORIGINALIDAD; NOS LLEVA A UN MUNDO Y UNA HISTORIA TOTALMENTE FUERA DE LO COMÚN Y ADEMAS NOS MUESTRA LA CAPACIDAD QUE TIENE MICROSOFT DE IMPRESIONAR.
  24. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Halo: Combat Evolved nearly perfected the first person shooter genre. In fact, it defined the genre. Bungie took everything from all the other classic FPS games like Doom, Quake, and Goldeneye 007 into one tremendous game. With great weapons, multi-player, and fun factor, Halo is the killer app that pretty much sold all Xbox consoles.
  25. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Polished. Its solid like Quake but updated for the next generation. Couldnt ask for more

    Halo:REACH updated the game engine. Play that for the next leap
  26. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    Great game. Amazing atmosphere with a story that makes you want to keep playing more and more.
    The thing that I love the most about the game, and a deal breaker for me was, the fact that you could play the story mode CO-OP.
    That is probably the only real reason that I really got into the game in the first place!
  27. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an awesome game! i don't understand why people say this game is borring? it is an real awesome game. it has an awesome storyline and a really good gameplay. I love so much this game! Expand
  28. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    A truly elite title from beginning to end. This game has it all, gameplay, story, atmosphere, it's nearly perfect and probably the best out of all of the Halo games. I highly recommend picking it up.
  29. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    i don't know why i love this game so much but i even play it to this date its a fun shooter full of new ideas what made it beat most of its competition i guess, in the story your the last one of the Spartans left what are super solders you go on a adventure to stop the covenant what are the alien race attacking the humans but on your adventure you fight more then just them, the world ofi don't know why i love this game so much but i even play it to this date its a fun shooter full of new ideas what made it beat most of its competition i guess, in the story your the last one of the Spartans left what are super solders you go on a adventure to stop the covenant what are the alien race attacking the humans but on your adventure you fight more then just them, the world of halo is big and great so when your plodding along it feels like your not on earth looking for the next tescos it feels like your exploring an unknown world Expand
  30. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Accounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move whileAccounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move while standing, move it slightly and you move while crouching) Expand
  31. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Such a great game in the fps genre which really revolutionized it for the better. Reviewers giving it a zero are clearly haters who have not played it and are unfit to vote on any gamin review web site. Saying it's a zero would mean it's and unworkable piece of crap, when it's, clearly not, just look at the critic reviews.
  32. AGK
    Dec 31, 2013
    9
    this game is awesome! I had so many good memories with this game and I am still having good memories with this godlike game, go bungie and halo forever!
  33. May 3, 2015
    10
    Fantastic, this game doesn't just offer some of the best multiplayer fun you will get from any FPS game, its campaign is just as good. The Story in Halo and the characters to add are just simply great. If you haven't played Halo then you are missing out. Best FPS since Half Life (PC) and Perfect Dark (N64)
  34. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Never was there a first person shooter which controlled well on a video game console. The genre was at its prime on P.C. and that's how it was expected to remain. Halo: Combat Evolved was one of few reasons to actually own the original Microsoft X-BOX. For the first time, controls involving a first person shooter and video game console were not awkward and worked rather well. Only issue toNever was there a first person shooter which controlled well on a video game console. The genre was at its prime on P.C. and that's how it was expected to remain. Halo: Combat Evolved was one of few reasons to actually own the original Microsoft X-BOX. For the first time, controls involving a first person shooter and video game console were not awkward and worked rather well. Only issue to be existent is the lack of vehicular combat. A revolutionary game, that's what Halo: Combat Evolved is. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite FPS games. It may seem a little empty by today's standards, but it was way ahead of the curve and laying the groundwork for future FPS games when it came out. The weapons all have their strengths and weaknesses. The story is engaging and paves the way for one of the best epic trilogies of all time.
  36. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This game is the one that started it all. It brought us even greater Halo games, those being Halo 2, Halo 3 and even Halo: Reach. The multiplayer on the PC is still up, so go get this game and experience the awesomeness of the first Halo game.
  37. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Deffintley one of the best Xbox games besides maybe halo 2 but besides this game has shaped the way fpses are played and for that we should give it endless prase
  38. Oct 1, 2015
    9
    Tier 1
    + One of the most memorable components of my childhood, offering endlessly entertaining multiplayer fun
    + Pushed the genre forwards in a huge variety of ways
    + Compelling campaign complimented in every way by the addition of co-op
    ? Lacking the online matchmaking of Halo 2
    - Pistol OP
  39. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Halo Combat Evolved is the complete package [excuse me if that came out wrong] action plot character and blood what else can a guy ask for in a video game.
  40. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    When they say "combat evolved" they mean it.
    One of the most intense and immersive shooters I have ever played. Certainly the best in the series in terms of exploration, gunplay, story and art form. Also might I add, Multiplayer...amazing
    The games pure genius. Thats all.
  41. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    It is good game because the green stormtrooper reminds me of father Shrek because he is green and badass. You use a painted nerf gun to kill cosplaying lizards, vultures, and fungus men who are high on blue cheese. The only flaw to this game is the graphics aren't as good as the graphics from Bubsy 3D.
  42. Apr 24, 2017
    9
    Halo: Combat Evolved not only changed the console FPS landscape, but it impacted the entire video game industry. This game is legendary, pun intented.
  43. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    A truly remarkable and revolutionary title this game changed the FPS franchise as we know it. This for it's time and even to this day is an excellent game introducing vehicular combat and a fully staffed crew of voice actor to immerse you and make the experience even better.
  44. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Sure it looks a bit dated by today's standards but that's what The Master Chief Collection or Halo Combat Evolved anniversary is for. The story is great and The graphics for the time were great. I have no problems with this game.

    Verdict:
    This game is an awesome first installment to an awesome franchise of awesome games.
    9/10
  45. May 29, 2014
    10
    This game is jammed packed with a amazing story. The music was incredible too. The environment was mind boggeling. Looking up for the first time seeing you were on a ring world, was priceless. This game brought me closer to my family, and friends for that Halo. I thank you.
  46. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is a great example of what an FPS game should look like: Engaging storyline, with levels that you want to play again. Multiplayer, witch isnt added in, in the last second. Amazing soundtrack witch helps adding to the feel of the game. And a splitscreen Co-Op, witch makes this game the best, or atleast on par with the sequel, Halo 2. But, is it worth buying today? Well,Halo: Combat Evolved is a great example of what an FPS game should look like: Engaging storyline, with levels that you want to play again. Multiplayer, witch isnt added in, in the last second. Amazing soundtrack witch helps adding to the feel of the game. And a splitscreen Co-Op, witch makes this game the best, or atleast on par with the sequel, Halo 2. But, is it worth buying today? Well, do you like playing games with good storylines that arent played between the internet, but rather with your friends on your couch? Expand
  47. Aug 5, 2014
    9
    This is no other doubt the best FPS game I've played so far on the Xbox. It has a good story, good graphics, awesome soundtrack, breathtaking gameplay that will make you play this game all day, every day.
    The multiplayer in this game is great as well.
    Overall, this is my second favorite Halo in the Halo series and it's definitely worth your time! The only problem I had with this game is
    This is no other doubt the best FPS game I've played so far on the Xbox. It has a good story, good graphics, awesome soundtrack, breathtaking gameplay that will make you play this game all day, every day.
    The multiplayer in this game is great as well.
    Overall, this is my second favorite Halo in the Halo series and it's definitely worth your time!
    The only problem I had with this game is the last mission. The last mission of the game is really tough as balls, especially the driving part.
    Expand
  48. Apr 13, 2016
    9
    When I first got halo CE a couple of years back, I didn't really know what to expect, I heard good things about the game, but hadn't seen any gameplay or heard of its lore, after playing the game and completing it, I took a deep breath, I had just experienced one of the best games of the past decade, everything in the game is mind blowing, for a 2001 console launch title, halo still playsWhen I first got halo CE a couple of years back, I didn't really know what to expect, I heard good things about the game, but hadn't seen any gameplay or heard of its lore, after playing the game and completing it, I took a deep breath, I had just experienced one of the best games of the past decade, everything in the game is mind blowing, for a 2001 console launch title, halo still plays like its brand new, the gameplay feels smooth and fluid, the graphics look nothing like anything available on consoles at the time, with rich detail and vibrant colours, a nice breath of fresh air from the grey/brown fps games of the time,although by todays standards the game look a little bit boxy, but hey, it was 2001, story is also pretty damn good as well, with well developed characters, such as the now iconic master chief, and the witty AI cortana, although halo offers many great features including a regenerative shield system, a precursor to regenerative health seen today, and tight, well laid out controls, the level design is a bit lazy, although the outdoor environments are huge and expansive, the indoor environments are very copy and pasted, none of the corridors look distinctive from one another and sometimes you get the feeling that you're backtracking coad everything looks the same, and do I really need to talk about the library? **** that level, but aside from that, halo is a fantastic game that refined the console exclusive fps in a way that goldeneye could only dream of doing, everything from the controls to the gameplay feels like it was hand crafted for the original xbox, and without Halo, we wouldn't have the console exclusive fps games we know and love today, and halo is still leading the charge, halo is definitely worth picking up today, hell, I bought an original xbox just to play it! If buying an original xbox Is not on your list though, its available on pc, the remastered halo anniversary on xbox 360, and via the master chief collection on xbox one Expand
  49. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    It's not an easy task to create a colossal universe, with a lot of beigns where each being has its own releigion, characteristics and story, is even harder to create this universe and fit a great game, with revolutionary gameplay, catchy characters, great story evolve, great story telling and high quality cutscenes, Halo: Combat Evolved is an icon in the FPS genre.
  50. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    Halo Combat Evolved marked the beginning of a new franchise! This one particular video game started a new generation of gaming like Super Mario Bros. did in 1985. This is a new story that is refreshing for any gamer. You are with an organized Human military force known as the UNSC and you are at war against an alien race known as the Covenant. The Covenant is made up of 4 alien known asHalo Combat Evolved marked the beginning of a new franchise! This one particular video game started a new generation of gaming like Super Mario Bros. did in 1985. This is a new story that is refreshing for any gamer. You are with an organized Human military force known as the UNSC and you are at war against an alien race known as the Covenant. The Covenant is made up of 4 alien known as Jackals, Hunters, Grunts, and my personal favorite alien race in all of Halo, the Elites. After an ensuing battle in a UNSC spaceship known as the Pillar of Autumn, you escape the ship in a drop-pod. You and the rest of the UNSC crash on a ring world called "Halo." The story has a protagonist that you play through the eyes of a Spartan 2 named Master Chief. He has an A.I. partner that briefs him on what to do throughout the missions known as Cortana. You have another ally who is a captain named Keyes. While on Halo. You come across an ancient parasitic group of life forms known as the Flood. You even come across an ancient race that is designed to stop the Flood known as the Sentinels. They are led by the monitor of the ring world named "343 Guilty Spark." He reveals that Halo is built by a long extinct race that built him and the Sentinels known as "the Forerunners." Halo is also designed to destroy all life in the galaxy. So your objective is to destroy Halo. You succeed in the end and Master Chief says on of the best lines in history ever, "No. I think we're just getting started." That is a great way for opening up to a sequel! Halo Combat Evolved also features a brand new multiplayer. The maps are mind-blowing and they give you unlimited possibilities of what to do. Halo's multiplayer is very strategic-thinking and very competitive. But you will have to play on co-op or either system link because Xbox Live didn't exist until Halo 2 came out, but don't worry though, because you will have a fun time playing this game. With an amazing story and fantastic multiplayer, Halo Combated Evolved deserves a PERFECT 10/10. Expand
  51. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    Everytime i see halo....

    i just want to turn on my console and play Halo 1 to 4.
    This one had the best scenes and moments.
    Every xbox owner must play this game and the franchise.
  52. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    amazing game. great multiplayer with lack of online play. good campaign, however with some repetitive areas. All around great time. highly recommended.
  53. Dec 12, 2014
    9
    I'm not one for FPS games, I hate Battlefield and COD but this game is probably my favorite game so far! I have put hours and hours into this game before I even noticed it... my favorite waste of time so far.
  54. Oct 7, 2015
    8
    GAME with the nice gameplay, nice story, and nice graphic. It is not too difficult to play, but enough to drain the brain if we want. What I like about this game is the story, really high imaginative where there is such a halo. The part that I like is when that has to face the flood, the atmosphere (plus the music) is really tense, like aliens or alien vs predator games.
  55. Mar 28, 2016
    10
    There are very few games anyone will play out there that can say they lived up to the hype. No, I'm not a Halo fanboy but Halo Combat Evolved lived up to the high standards that Bungie set for it. As their first blockbuster title, Halo didn't have a preset mold to bring in customers. Halo set many industry standards and brought the XBOX console to life upon its release. For anyone lookingThere are very few games anyone will play out there that can say they lived up to the hype. No, I'm not a Halo fanboy but Halo Combat Evolved lived up to the high standards that Bungie set for it. As their first blockbuster title, Halo didn't have a preset mold to bring in customers. Halo set many industry standards and brought the XBOX console to life upon its release. For anyone looking for a serious review, here is mine.

    Pros:

    Interactive environment

    Halo set an industry standard with their FPS interactive environment that was later copied by many other FPS series. For its time the interactive environment of Halo CE allowed users to truly feel as if they were part of Master Chief's quest to destroy the Halo ring. Combat scenes became more realistic, traveling was more realistic and the game overall expanded on for its time what a 3D enviornment was for gaming standard.

    The soundtrack

    This is completely a personal opinion; Halo CE has one of the most impressive soundtracks for any video game of all time. Martin O'Donnell and Michael Salvatori truly showed their fantastic ability to compose a soundtrack that helped players feel in touch with the game and its story, the soundtrack stresses chief's struggle and success. The game does an excellent job of making you feel as if you're Master Chief with the soundtrack.

    Easy to use UI

    Self explanitory

    Multiplayer experience

    Halo CE allows you to play through Chief's story with a friend and compete head to head or together against other players via split screen or system link. There are over a dozen maps to explore and if you're playing the PC version or Xbox One MCC version of the game nearly 20 maps. Not all the maps are perfect but there are well more than enough to keep you entertained for hours on end.

    Why did I give this game a 10? Halo CE offers a campaign and multiplayer experience that no other FPS for its time was able to offer on a console. Halo set the bar for many industry standards in the FPS genre that to this day are still built upon.
    Expand
  56. Mar 23, 2015
    10
    A good first-person shooter? Impossible! Those were my first words when I started up the game. It looks like my statement was proven wrong by Halo. Never before have I been so immersed in this epic experience. I don't have much experience with this kind of game but I could tell you that Halo may be the best FPS game there ever has been and ever will be. You won't be able to put it downA good first-person shooter? Impossible! Those were my first words when I started up the game. It looks like my statement was proven wrong by Halo. Never before have I been so immersed in this epic experience. I don't have much experience with this kind of game but I could tell you that Halo may be the best FPS game there ever has been and ever will be. You won't be able to put it down once you get it. It's that fun and it's that fantastic. Expand
  57. iCC
    Apr 19, 2015
    10
    One of the best games ever, a sacred jewel that has to be remembered for the eternity and a pillar for all the video games that want to show a real alternative and playable universe.
  58. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Taking its rightful name from the books, Halo - Combat Evolved is well one of the greatest games for the Xbox. A fantastic shooter, great difficulty, and a very considerable threat. The aftermath of the fall of reach, a desperate attempt for survival leads the pillar of autumn and her crew crashing onto Halo, an ancient Forruner weapon, used to destroy the franchises greatest enemy, theTaking its rightful name from the books, Halo - Combat Evolved is well one of the greatest games for the Xbox. A fantastic shooter, great difficulty, and a very considerable threat. The aftermath of the fall of reach, a desperate attempt for survival leads the pillar of autumn and her crew crashing onto Halo, an ancient Forruner weapon, used to destroy the franchises greatest enemy, the flood. After revival, the flood begins to take over halo, and its only a matter of time for the player to fight for their life. Expand
  59. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is a truly original masterpiece, The original 3D First person shooter. This game has been copied off by so many other shooters like Call of Duty. The multiplayer is a blast and very addictive, accept it isn't actually online. You have to play local which is a shame, and that's only because it's old. Online mode was never around till Halo 2 came out. Halo: CombatHalo: Combat Evolved is a truly original masterpiece, The original 3D First person shooter. This game has been copied off by so many other shooters like Call of Duty. The multiplayer is a blast and very addictive, accept it isn't actually online. You have to play local which is a shame, and that's only because it's old. Online mode was never around till Halo 2 came out. Halo: Combat Evolved has aged very well since Its release in Nov 14 2001, I bet there's quite a lot of people playing this games campaign and multiplayer even in 2015 because its that good. Expand
  60. Jul 29, 2015
    8
    This is how the Xbox became the monolith that it is today, this single game had players from all around the world gathered to play and participate in action packed split-screen multiplayer action and the campaign that started the whole franchise off, if you're looking to start the Halo franchise, you may want to start here.
  61. Jun 27, 2015
    9
    This game had me at the first mission. Original, great gameplay for it's time, an awesome hero, and a great story. Little did we know that this game would propel 7 more.
  62. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    Halo : Combat Evolved. Celui par lequel tout a commencé. Et pourtant, ça aurait pu ne jamais commencer ! Car oui, à l'origine, Bungie appartenait à Apple, et par une incroyable opération ninja, Microsoft est arrivé à acheter le studio au nez et à la barbe de Steve Job, qui, d'après la légende, aurait appelé dans la foulée le PDG de Microsoft, fou de rage, pour l'insulter. Tant pis pour luiHalo : Combat Evolved. Celui par lequel tout a commencé. Et pourtant, ça aurait pu ne jamais commencer ! Car oui, à l'origine, Bungie appartenait à Apple, et par une incroyable opération ninja, Microsoft est arrivé à acheter le studio au nez et à la barbe de Steve Job, qui, d'après la légende, aurait appelé dans la foulée le PDG de Microsoft, fou de rage, pour l'insulter. Tant pis pour lui (RIP), et tant mieux pour nous, Halo sur Mac ? La série serait tombée dans l'oubli.

    Bungie nous livre ici un jeu très, très solide. Déjà, quelques années auparavant (en 1995), ils nous avaient livré un jeu curieux, Marathon, qui avait créé une discrète révolution dans le monde du FPS : la possibilité, pour le joueur, de regarder dans tous les directions. Ça peut paraitre surprenant aujourd'hui mais à l'époque, personne n'y avait pensé.

    Le tout premier Halo n'apporte en soit aucune révolution de ce genre. Il s'est contenté d'être un excellent jeu, frôlant par moment la perfection.

    Son mode campagne nous fait découvrir pour la première fois le Master Chief, un super soldat, dernier représentant de son genre, au service de l'UNSC. Oui, l'ambiance se veut futuriste, et, on le découvrira avec le temps, relativement concrète et cohérente. La Terre et ses colonies sont en guerre contre une alliance d'aliens nommée le Covenant. On découvrira à travers le jeu ces différentes races d'extra-terrestres qui disposent tous de leurs caractéristiques.

    Plus qu'un FPS, Halo est également, d'une certaine manière, un jeu d'aventure puisque ses niveaux, non fermés et assez vastes (pour la plupart), nous permettent de découvrir un étrange monde-anneau du nom de Halo. À chaque niveau le joueur avance à taton, ne sachant trop où il va. On a donc réellement l'impression d'explorer l'inconnu, progressant dans des terres hostiles mais terriblement mystérieuses, et qui semblent (à juste titre, héhé) avoir été abandonnées il y a des milliers d'années par une race technologiquement supérieure... On en saura plus d'ailleurs sur tout ceci au fur et à mesure que l'on avancera, découvrant ainsi les mystères de Halo et les dangers qu'il renferme.

    Le jeu est beau, très beau même pour l'époque, et le tout est sublimé par les compositions de Martin O'Donnell, alors un illustre inconnu, qui a eu recours à des idées et techniques pas banales pour un jeu de ce genre. Je pense que tout le monde connait le thème principal de la série, avec ces fameux chants de moine... Une idée simple mais génial !

    L'autre gros morceau de Halo, qui lui a valu son succès, est probablement son mode multijoueur, en local uniquement. Dans la continuité de ce qui se faisait de mieux sur console à l'époque (Goldeneye, Perfect Dark, Time Splitter), proposant de nombreux modes de jeu et une vraie richesse en terme de possibilité, le tout s'approche de la perfection tant le gameplay de Halo, atypique, est pointu et bien pensé. Bungie installe ici l'une des clés de Halo, le triangle arme à feu-grenade-manchette, et toutes les armes semblent se valoir, ayant leurs forces et leurs faiblesses. Les niveaux sont extrêmement bien pensés, et on peut s'affronter à 4, en écrans splittés, et jusqu'à 16 en LAN.
    De très grands moments de bonheur entre amis.

    Alors que je rédige cet avis je ne sais pas encore quelle note vais-je attribuer au jeu. La scénario est sans doute le point faible du jeu, puisqu'il installe en fait les bases de la série sans non plus trop les creuser. Il est donc relativement classique, même si très plaisant, et qu'il révèle peu à peu son lot de surprises.
    La campagne peut se montrer frustrante par moment, lorsque l'on est parfois obligé de faire des aller-retours dans des couloirs qui se ressemblent tous. Mais le rythme est telle que l'on ne s'ennuie jamais, du premier niveau jusqu'au dernier, avec en point d'orgue ce finish très hollywoodien.

    Ceci étant... ce jeu est un mythe, et le premier épisode d'une longue et belle saga, il est à découvrir en temps que tel.
    Expand
  63. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    This is a game that changed gaming, I grew up with this game and I played it all the time at my cousins. My cousin introduced me to halo and was born in 2003. It was around '05 when I first started playing it. Up until last month when I wen't over to my cousins we played it on his original xbox. I own the anniversary version of the game and I love playing it. I don't play Halo much anymoreThis is a game that changed gaming, I grew up with this game and I played it all the time at my cousins. My cousin introduced me to halo and was born in 2003. It was around '05 when I first started playing it. Up until last month when I wen't over to my cousins we played it on his original xbox. I own the anniversary version of the game and I love playing it. I don't play Halo much anymore because I got bored of it (Don't have a gold account) but I still love playing it when friends come over. Expand
  64. Oct 30, 2015
    10
    O melhor shooter que já joguei. Difícil, ótima história, gráficos bons, tanto na época do lançamento, como nos remasters feitos pra época atual, a melhor trilha sonora que já vi, melhor jogabilidade, melhor modo online. Sem dúvidas alguma, o melhor Halo. É uma pena Halo 5 não ter se elevado aos pés de nenhum anterior :(

    História: 10/10 Gráficos: 9/10 Jogabilidade: 10/10 Desempenho:
    O melhor shooter que já joguei. Difícil, ótima história, gráficos bons, tanto na época do lançamento, como nos remasters feitos pra época atual, a melhor trilha sonora que já vi, melhor jogabilidade, melhor modo online. Sem dúvidas alguma, o melhor Halo. É uma pena Halo 5 não ter se elevado aos pés de nenhum anterior :(

    História: 10/10
    Gráficos: 9/10
    Jogabilidade: 10/10
    Desempenho: ??? (não sei como era o desempenho de Halo: CE no Xbox, mas no Xbox One é impecável).
    Trilha sonora: 10/10
    Expand
  65. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    This game was the first game i played ever and looking back at it today it is still a masterpiece if anyone still has there Xbox Original today play this game again it is still as much fun as it was back then
  66. Apr 13, 2016
    10
    Ahora lo estoy jugando y me esta pareciendo un pedazo de juego. Las graficas no esta mal, me gusta la banda sonora y la jugabilidad. Yo diría que es mejor que call of dutty. Para mi, una gran obra maestra!
  67. Apr 29, 2016
    10
    This such a good game the story the co-op its all good.I dont know how many times i beat this game but it has been a lot and this game is such a original idea.
  68. May 25, 2016
    10
    This game is an absolute masterpiece. It came out in 2001. It's 2016 now and a lot of people still play this game. You will never be bored. Easily one of the best shooters ever.
  69. Jul 23, 2016
    9
    The one that started it all. The overall best halo game... Well I guess that comes down to preference but the campaign is undisputed. The campaign in this game is the most epic and fun campaign of all the halo games. Yeah it's not perfect as the last 3 levels are just you running through them in a slightly different way than you did earlier in the game but hey... The way they did it stillThe one that started it all. The overall best halo game... Well I guess that comes down to preference but the campaign is undisputed. The campaign in this game is the most epic and fun campaign of all the halo games. Yeah it's not perfect as the last 3 levels are just you running through them in a slightly different way than you did earlier in the game but hey... The way they did it still works great. Even the library which is heavily hated is pretty awesome. Nothing quite like shot gunning aliens to death left and right like a boss lol.

    This game made xbox a thing. Without it it would be a dream cast lol. This changed shooters forever. Also the multiplayer is pretty awesome. Just watch out for that sick pistol lol. BFG has got nothing on that gun.
    Expand
  70. Oct 7, 2016
    10
    ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  71. Nov 17, 2016
    10
    I happily give Halo: CE a 10 out of 10. I played this game a lot back when I was a kid in 2002. The Story is amazing, the gameplay mechanics solid. And the characters were well developed. Fighting the Covenant and the Flood was simply a fun time. This game has made so many memories for me that I will hold onto for a long time. It truly is one of the best games of all time.
  72. Nov 13, 2016
    10
    The best fps for me to be honest. I played this game 24/7 when I was a kid but stopped for awhile and I never expected to come back for this game. All the feeling and love I had for this game came back and felt like I joined a new world. I never had strong feelings in any game other than Halo.
  73. Dec 30, 2016
    10
    One of the best. A defining first person shooter for consoles. The first 'Call of Duty' before Call of Duty even became a popular franchise. The multiplayer was beyond par, system link could be exploited through online gamespy applications to play using LAN hacks. Amazing fun for before Xbox Live filled the niche which expanded into a gaming phenomena.
  74. Dec 19, 2016
    10
    This is the beginning of something big, The game at its time was the best already known to cobservarse very well, the game in terms of gameplay is very well done both the campaign and the multiplayer are pretty good, the story is absorbent has a good Ost, this version of the original xbox has better graphical aspect since the version of pc suffered a downgrade and several cuts in severalThis is the beginning of something big, The game at its time was the best already known to cobservarse very well, the game in terms of gameplay is very well done both the campaign and the multiplayer are pretty good, the story is absorbent has a good Ost, this version of the original xbox has better graphical aspect since the version of pc suffered a downgrade and several cuts in several things like the divided screen among others, It is more advisable to play it in original xbox than in xbox 360 since in xbox 360 It does not go very fluid and it has graphic faults. Expand
  75. Dec 23, 2016
    10
    This game is just beautiful. The graphics and AI were really amazing back in 2001, and filled with memorable characters, from the random marines to the most important characters, this game... It saved the XBOX.
  76. Jan 27, 2017
    10
    Halo is trash..............................................................................................................................................................................................................
  77. Apr 27, 2017
    9
    En realidad este juego es el combate evolucionado, sus fisiscas son sorprendentes al igaul que su historia, necesitas adaptarte al entorno, ademas el multijugador es excelente
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    this game is pretty much the reason to own an Xbox multiplayer is fun but you cant play online but its still good when you've got some mates round the campaign is amazing it can also be played with 2 people which will give you some memories i just remember tipping the warthog over about 16 times and my mate saying how good he was at driving and that he should drive this is the perfect mixthis game is pretty much the reason to own an Xbox multiplayer is fun but you cant play online but its still good when you've got some mates round the campaign is amazing it can also be played with 2 people which will give you some memories i just remember tipping the warthog over about 16 times and my mate saying how good he was at driving and that he should drive this is the perfect mix of vehicle combat and on foot combat you can buy it on Xbox 360s games on demand feature accessible through Xbox live Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2001
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    100
    Halo is quite simply the closest thing we have ever experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. [Jan 2002, p.72]
  2. GMR Magazine
    100
    The definitive reason to own an Xbox. [Feb 2003, p.95]
  3. 100
    When you finally set down the controller the first time, and eventually hunger or exhaustion do force all of us to take a break, Halo has pulled you completely into its world and started one of the best sci-fi gaming adventures of all time.