Halo: Combat Evolved Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1361 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2017
    5
    It's certainly a decent game on the surface, however it is not worthy of the 10/10 mark.
    A lot of the game recycles it's self, places look very similar and you feel like you are not really progressing up until the point you come to the flood.
    The flood is an interesting twist and i really enjoy playing against this enemy type, however noticeably they almost always attack in a set
    It's certainly a decent game on the surface, however it is not worthy of the 10/10 mark.
    A lot of the game recycles it's self, places look very similar and you feel like you are not really progressing up until the point you come to the flood.

    The flood is an interesting twist and i really enjoy playing against this enemy type, however noticeably they almost always attack in a set formation with the same enemy types thrown in.

    There is a part in the game where you meet the flood almost every time you move forwards and they will first try to get you from behind, it's not smartly done, too predictable and just becomes tiring and repetitive.
    Then you get to the end point of the game which is just a great showcase to show how piss poor the controls are for the warthog.

    I played this on my OG XBOX through component leads and it looks great sadly not the best experience gameplay wise.

    I'm being generous with this score.
    Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2017
    5
    Halo a introduit quelques innovations reprises par un nombre incalculable de FPS, des innovations discutables comme la vie qui remonte toute seule (au lieu des trousses de soin) et la limitation à deux armes, la plus contestable puisqu'on passe son temps à échanger ses flingues sur le champ de bataille. C'est aussi l'un des premiers (voire le premier ?) à vous épauler d'une petite escouadeHalo a introduit quelques innovations reprises par un nombre incalculable de FPS, des innovations discutables comme la vie qui remonte toute seule (au lieu des trousses de soin) et la limitation à deux armes, la plus contestable puisqu'on passe son temps à échanger ses flingues sur le champ de bataille. C'est aussi l'un des premiers (voire le premier ?) à vous épauler d'une petite escouade de temps à autre, une escouade dont l'IA s'est toujours avérée satisfaisante.

    Comme titre de lancement de la première Xbox, il était assez impressionnant avec notamment des environnements assez grands et la possibilité de conduire pas mal de véhicules. Bien que n'étant pas un monde ouvert, l'effet "couloir" en était de fait sensiblement réduit. Son inspiration pioche un peu partout dans le monde foisonnant de la SF tout en assurant sa propre identité.

    On note tout de même un goût douteux ici et là en ce qui concerne les ennemis, les couleurs criardes et les "pioupious" des armes en général, l'impression n'est pas toujours très sérieuse... L'ambiance qui reste décidément "curieuse" profite cependant d'une bonne VF et d'excellentes musiques.

    Si la jouabilité est soigneusement réglée et l'interface sans reproche, l'architecture des niveaux laisse parfois à désirer avec des intérieurs copiés-collés à l'infini sans parler évidemment des niveaux de la Bibliothèque qui souffrent d'une répétition incroyablement pénible aussi bien graphiquement que dans son déroulement qui ne cesse de vomir des ennemis ad nauseam.

    Quelques grands moments dans un jeu globalement bien mis en scène côtoient ce genre de défauts d'équilibrage avec encore trop d'endroits où l'on attend en tournant en rond que le prochain script se déclenche après avoir nettoyé une zone. Gratifiant et énervant, Halo souffle trop souvent le chaud et le froid par intermittences imprévisibles, ce qui le rend fatigant à long terme.
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2016
    7
    this game is a great game. the story is great, the multiplayer amazing but the problem is the campaign not the cutscenes or story but the gameplay. it feels like a chore to play i didnt have any fun health packs were too scarse on the mission the guns take out vechicles too easily if im in a tank, i want it to feel like a tank. but for a game this old the animations are great better than most
  4. Apr 13, 2016
    7
    This game did not age that well, it is still a good game, but it does seem (at least in multiplayer standards) that gun balance was not really something that was paid attention too, it can be really fun and addicting, but as long as the other guy isn't camping the flag with a rocket launcher.
  5. Aug 20, 2015
    7
    This review is for the version of Halo CE included in the Master Chief Collection for XONE, and I'm keeping in mind that it was originally released 15 years ago.

    Let's begin by saying that, though I wouldn't say the game is ripping off other IPs (either movies or video games), it's clear to me where did the Bungie folks get their inspiration from. Now the actual review. - Graphics
    This review is for the version of Halo CE included in the Master Chief Collection for XONE, and I'm keeping in mind that it was originally released 15 years ago.

    Let's begin by saying that, though I wouldn't say the game is ripping off other IPs (either movies or video games), it's clear to me where did the Bungie folks get their inspiration from. Now the actual review.

    - Graphics and music: I loved the music, but the graphics are just okay. It's really cool to be able to switch between the original graphics and the remastered ones. There are some lighting problems and some areas are too dark, also ponds of green water where you can't see **** and you don't know where to go.

    - Story: It's nothing to lose your lose your sleep over, really. The Master Chief is utterly boring and uninspiring. Fortunately we have Cortana, his virtual companion, who can access stuff and guides you throughout the campaign. She's a lot more interesting and her voice acting is terrific.

    - Gameplay: the story is divided into 10 missions, taking you around 1 hour to complete each. These long missions are more like Chapters than actual missions (you have multiple objectives in each of them, which are revealed to you sequentially). I prefer short missions, where you can actually accomplish something during a small game session, other than just running from Checkpoint A to Checkpoint B.

    - Combat Mechanics: maybe this is the weakest aspect of the game, and here is why: there's no aiming mechanism, so you must get close to your targets in order to shoot them down. This is okay for the first half of the game, since you can kill them fairly easy without endangering yourself. But, the second part gets tricky. Enemies explode, throw grenades, or carry a rocket launcher, so a lot of them will instantly kill you or land a critical hit on you; while requiring many shots to go down. I also noticed that a lot of mob groups keep spawning on and on. So, oftentimes there's no point in stopping to kill them, your best option is just running for it.

    - Level Design: I didn't really like it. I felt like I was playing the same generic 3 or 4 maps over and over.

    - Enemies: there isn't a great variety of them. And no boss... yes, NO BOSS FIGHT! Huge letdown.

    - Weaponry: there are like 6 different types of weapons and you'll frequently feel underpowered (unless you have a shotgun with you). Ammo for the more powerful weapons is scarce, forcing you to switch, which is something positive.

    - Vehicles and turrets: this is also a great addition. I really enjoyed making my way through crowds after hijacking an alien vehicle or climbing into a turret (specially when ammo was running low) to obliterate incoming waves of foes.
    Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    One of the most overrated games of all time. I finished it and for me halo is not a good game, it is a very average game. First, the levels are very labyrinthine and you're constantly searching where to go, but not only that, but the level design is so repetitive that you're always asking if you went through there or not. Indeed, level portions are literally cloned in other levels.One of the most overrated games of all time. I finished it and for me halo is not a good game, it is a very average game. First, the levels are very labyrinthine and you're constantly searching where to go, but not only that, but the level design is so repetitive that you're always asking if you went through there or not. Indeed, level portions are literally cloned in other levels. Besides some peaks of difficulty completely unnecessary where the game becomes extremely difficult for no reason. The music is very good but are underused. Driving vehicles is terrible. The sounds of covenants is terrible. Sorry, I would like to liked this game, but unfortunately I'm not capable. This has too problems to make it a good game Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    7
    Well, what do I need to say? This is ridiculously overrated! 9.7?! Are you kidding?! This will never be a classic! It's just one-in-a-thousand of first person shooters with a cheesy and not original story!
  8. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    Halo: Combat Evolved is overated, great but overated good grapichs alright AI, one of the better Halo games, but doesnt deserve a 97 Metascore alright game fun but still very overated
  9. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    As a halo fan back in the day, I can tell you that this game is AMAZING! It's an all time classic, with an interesting story, fascinating mythoes, great combat, and stellar co-op. The graphics aren't great, but what do you expect from a game made over 10 years ago? Anyone who talks s**t about this game might have played it recently, thinking "Why are the graphics so crap? Uggh, this isAs a halo fan back in the day, I can tell you that this game is AMAZING! It's an all time classic, with an interesting story, fascinating mythoes, great combat, and stellar co-op. The graphics aren't great, but what do you expect from a game made over 10 years ago? Anyone who talks s**t about this game might have played it recently, thinking "Why are the graphics so crap? Uggh, this is just terrible." They wouldn't know a great game if it was stuck Infront of their face. So yeah, you can probably tell, I love this game, and it's one of my favorites. Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    First of all, this game surprised me, a lot of things are very well done. The enemies are intelligent, some of the levels are really well designed and for somer parts, this game is just perfect. However, Walking threw the same corridors and buildings five times in a row is annoying and not fun. About 3 hours campaign should have been removed (recycling) or never made in the first place,First of all, this game surprised me, a lot of things are very well done. The enemies are intelligent, some of the levels are really well designed and for somer parts, this game is just perfect. However, Walking threw the same corridors and buildings five times in a row is annoying and not fun. About 3 hours campaign should have been removed (recycling) or never made in the first place, the other 6 hours are epic and amazing. The sequels are much better than this game and there is not that much story in this game. This game introduced us to a rich universe and offers some amazing and breathtaking Content, but this game itself is not a masterpiece at all. Too much recycling and streching made this game a lot worse than it could have been with a shorter campaign,which is pretty sad. Expand
  11. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    This is a very generic sci-fi FPS with a generic story and ho' hum gameplay. While it did set the standard for online FPS on consoles, the genre has expanded significantly since then and tired shooters like these are definitely not worth remembering.
  12. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    Usually I don't like "space people", but that was before Halo: Combat Evolved came out! This is one of the best shooters I've played, seriously. And I really don't like FPS, but this game is fun fun fun fun fun. Halo: Combat Evolved is the best Halo game ever. Yes it is. The singleplayer is maybe "dull" if you know what I mean, but I give this game 7 cause of the multiplayer. TheUsually I don't like "space people", but that was before Halo: Combat Evolved came out! This is one of the best shooters I've played, seriously. And I really don't like FPS, but this game is fun fun fun fun fun. Halo: Combat Evolved is the best Halo game ever. Yes it is. The singleplayer is maybe "dull" if you know what I mean, but I give this game 7 cause of the multiplayer. The characters are stupid sometimes but that's nothing. Expand
  13. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    When I first played Halo, I thought, cheesy space shooter with a generic badass main character and a **** story.... good gameplay, and playing with my friends was cool for a console game. I liked it enough. Nothing really special.... Now it's the most overrated game series of all time. Who knew?
  14. ColinM.
    Feb 13, 2009
    7
    First of all, I have to say that I am NOT a Sony fanboy. Now that that's out of the way, I can honestly review this game. First of all, the graphics are really nice for its time. It rivals ICO and MGS2. The AI is really smart, but the enemies are just retarded. They look like something out of Ratchet and Clank or Mario. The story is okay, could have been better. Soundtrack is epic First of all, I have to say that I am NOT a Sony fanboy. Now that that's out of the way, I can honestly review this game. First of all, the graphics are really nice for its time. It rivals ICO and MGS2. The AI is really smart, but the enemies are just retarded. They look like something out of Ratchet and Clank or Mario. The story is okay, could have been better. Soundtrack is epic though. Now the vehicles... The Warthog for example, looks like its going to be really cool, until you drive it... The controls are freaking crappy. I crashed so many times trying to get to drive with out skidding all over the place. It just blew up, taking me down with it. The bosses are good. Overall, though, I liked the game. But its not nearly as good as it was hyped to be. Expand
  15. JohnN.
    May 26, 2008
    6
    Fun with friends, and that was about it.
  16. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    6
    It was a rainy day. I bought it played it. Nothing great. Very simple, nothing very stand-out. When I bought half life 1 I stopped caring about graphics as much and i realised that there was not much to this game. Fun for an hour, then just drop it and buy something else.
  17. NoahT.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Halo 2 and Halo 3 are masterpieces of the first-person shooter genre and deserve the incredibly high scores they received, but Master Chief's first adventure is vastly overrated. Yes, the graphics are incredible, voice acting is top-notch and there quite a few innovative gameplay concepts thrown around. But what really kills this game is level design. You often visit a singular zone Halo 2 and Halo 3 are masterpieces of the first-person shooter genre and deserve the incredibly high scores they received, but Master Chief's first adventure is vastly overrated. Yes, the graphics are incredible, voice acting is top-notch and there quite a few innovative gameplay concepts thrown around. But what really kills this game is level design. You often visit a singular zone many, many times throughout your adventure, and the repetitive level design and enemies, not to mention the repetitive level design and enemies (oh yeah, did I tell you about the the repetitive level design and enemies?) are cause for frustration and disappointment. Skip this one and get the two sequels instead. They are far superior. Expand
  18. PhilipH.
    Sep 24, 2007
    6
    Decent storyline and gameplay, but mostly just annoying. This game moved the genre forward, but it's a mere stepping stone. I don't care for the Halo franchise in general. Halo 2 should have never been made.
  19. Warmonger
    Sep 5, 2007
    5
    I watched my friend playing this a few years back on Xbox and to be honest did not see what all the hype was about, the graphics we're very nice but the game play was shall we say.... shallow. With the impending arrival of Halo 3 I decided to try out the "original" on PC, least to say, I quickly became bored, only to quit a little more than half way through. I believe you should give I watched my friend playing this a few years back on Xbox and to be honest did not see what all the hype was about, the graphics we're very nice but the game play was shall we say.... shallow. With the impending arrival of Halo 3 I decided to try out the "original" on PC, least to say, I quickly became bored, only to quit a little more than half way through. I believe you should give a game a good run before you judge it but can now truly say..... this game does NOT deserve all the hype and adulation that has been placed upon it. In my mind it is nothing more than a Unreal, Halflife rip off, with very little originality. You only have to look at the similarities, for example: The enemies in the original Unreal and those in Halo, in fact thats the first thing that I noticed! "boy do these enemies look a lot like the Skaarj in Unreal" also, the headcrabs on the people in Half life bear a striking resembalance to the infected covenant and marine soldiers,coincidence? I think not! 5 is being kind to this game but after all... it does have good graphics! Expand
  20. MickT.
    Jul 29, 2007
    7
    This game is truly the best FPS out there. Maynot have the most amazing graphics ever, but this game's weaponry and gameplay are truly fantastic. Although I've got a few minor complaints: The level design was repetitive, limited unique foes and is just a normal unrealistic run-and-gun shooter. The halo series is awesome. But after screwing up on Halo 2, Halo 3 doesn't stand This game is truly the best FPS out there. Maynot have the most amazing graphics ever, but this game's weaponry and gameplay are truly fantastic. Although I've got a few minor complaints: The level design was repetitive, limited unique foes and is just a normal unrealistic run-and-gun shooter. The halo series is awesome. But after screwing up on Halo 2, Halo 3 doesn't stand a chance. Unlike Halo2, This game actually has a well planned out story mode. Along with the multiplayer. Overall a fairly decent game, but definitely doesnt live up to all its hype. But this definitely comes second to Gears of War. Expand
  21. LoganD.
    May 25, 2007
    7
    Halo makes a great first impression, but in the end it can't live up to all of the hype. Shameless cut-and-paste level design is abundant from start to finish, and quickly degrades into a run-and-gun corridor crawl. Halo is an above-average game, but it could have been much better.
  22. CarlC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    7
    A memorable game but the xbox controller completely ruins it. I like the feel of a mouse better.
  23. BoBBoBBy
    Aug 7, 2006
    5
    Aight it is plan and simple Single Plyaer is the MOST UNORIGINAL Sh.. EVER but on the other hand I have never had a more fun time killing my friends in multiplayer, both Halos shine in multiplayer but f.... WRECK in Campagn mode!
  24. [Anonymous]
    Apr 13, 2006
    6
    its an OK game not nealy as good as Half Life that came out first.
  25. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    5
    Overrated and actually just straight up boring. Good AI is the only saving grace because multiplayer is nowhere near as fun as everyone says. Play a PC shooter instead.
  26. JeffM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    6
    After all the hype, its not possible to explain just how disappointing this was. Another shooter with some great moments, but plenty of crappy momements too to weight it down.
  27. Jfray
    Oct 19, 2005
    6
    I don't know why this game is so highly rated...just another shooter game.
  28. JonM.
    Jun 25, 2005
    7
    A good game, beautiful settings, but after two or three times through, it gets boring, thus the 7.
  29. KevinH.
    Feb 21, 2005
    7
    The game is fun at first but after a while it just gets repetative. I would rather play a game that keeps my intrest longer. I agree with how the controls are wonderful, the graphics are great, and I don't even mind shooting the same enemy that is a different color. It just gets, boring. Still a good game to buy but don't set your hopes too high.
  30. Wongit
    Oct 3, 2004
    7
    I seriously, SERIOUSLY think this game is the most overhyped game in the history of videogames. What the hell? I mean its good, but its not super duper orgasm good. Single player is just mediocre, ive played FPS similar such as Red Faction. Trust me this game is not that spectacular. Sure its fun, but it seriously is over hyped.
  31. CowO.
    Sep 22, 2004
    5
    Average shooter with a mountain of hype on top. Nothing more, nothing less.
  32. JonathanS.
    Aug 16, 2004
    6
    I just don't get it. Why are people raving about this game??? I played it on the PC, not Xbox, and I left feeling bored and disapointed. Yah, the graphics are good, but not the best. There are a few good levels, but there are also a few crap ones. I absolutly hated "The Library", nothing but waves and waves of enimies. Point, shoot, point, shoot, yawn. The vehicles are the best part I just don't get it. Why are people raving about this game??? I played it on the PC, not Xbox, and I left feeling bored and disapointed. Yah, the graphics are good, but not the best. There are a few good levels, but there are also a few crap ones. I absolutly hated "The Library", nothing but waves and waves of enimies. Point, shoot, point, shoot, yawn. The vehicles are the best part of the game. Multiplayer can hold very few people, and you only get one skin. To me this is a very average FPS. Nothing ground breaking at all. Expand
  33. ProfessorFrink
    Jun 14, 2004
    6
    Before all of you die-hard fans start plotting my death, this isn't a horrible game. Obviously, there are worse out there. But this is not a perfect game, either. The levels remind me of Doom with better graphics. In some buildings, you find room upon room of beds, machinery, emptiness, etc. that you have no idea what they do. They all look the same. After you've played through Before all of you die-hard fans start plotting my death, this isn't a horrible game. Obviously, there are worse out there. But this is not a perfect game, either. The levels remind me of Doom with better graphics. In some buildings, you find room upon room of beds, machinery, emptiness, etc. that you have no idea what they do. They all look the same. After you've played through about half of it you get bored of how this is green or that kind of building is always purple of that creature is always yellow and it just doesn't have the appeal anymore. But the biggest problem of the game would have to be in it's multiplayer. It's one of the cheapest I've ever played in this aspect. You could just hide in one room and pick off people as they come in with a shotgun. Also, sniping is totally unfair, as it is really powerful, health is really too low, and what's up with the melee attack?(hitting people) I charged up my plasma pistol and shot someone in the head with it but hardly made a dent, then they hit me with the SAME weapon and killed me in 1 or 2 hits! The vehicles especially are too cheap, namely, the tank. The huge arenas are also unnecessary as there are usually only 2 to 4 people playing. (unless online). Also, if you think about it, Halo isn't really that new. We've all seen the plasma this, and the laser that, and the ones in Halo aren't exactly totally different. The grenades are all glitched. It's too easy to throw a grenade from like a hundred feet away and kill someone immedietaly. This is not a game that could be improved that much more, so I'm not expecting Halo 2 to be the "Best Game Of The Year" Expand
  34. JerradN.
    Feb 19, 2004
    7
    A very fun game, don't get me wrong, but it is very overrated. 16-player matches, in depth Single-player mode, but that's about it. :/
  35. JerryY.
    Jan 6, 2004
    7
    Graphics could have been a lil bit better, but good gameplay.....more weapons and action....too much strategy.......boring after 20 hours.
  36. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    5
    This game is so overrated. It's just not funny. Linear levels are made even worse when they drag on and on for ages. Some levels just feel like the same room copy and pasted next to each other a thousand times over. Don't get me wrong, I am a huge FPS fan but this game just isn't as good as everyone says it is. Oh and legendary why must everyone agree with your ideas or be This game is so overrated. It's just not funny. Linear levels are made even worse when they drag on and on for ages. Some levels just feel like the same room copy and pasted next to each other a thousand times over. Don't get me wrong, I am a huge FPS fan but this game just isn't as good as everyone says it is. Oh and legendary why must everyone agree with your ideas or be a sh*thead? Thats just immature. Expand
  37. JeremyC.
    Nov 17, 2003
    5
    Ok this game is in no way as good as everyone says it is. I thought it looked great at the start but five minutes into the first level I found myself traversing dozens of rooms that looked the same and apparently had no real function. The second level picked things up a bit and while one or two later missions were exciting and fun at the start they all degenerating into either boring Ok this game is in no way as good as everyone says it is. I thought it looked great at the start but five minutes into the first level I found myself traversing dozens of rooms that looked the same and apparently had no real function. The second level picked things up a bit and while one or two later missions were exciting and fun at the start they all degenerating into either boring searching around for something or the last enemy. All the rest were boring and poorly made. Through virtually every level I found myself running into fifty of the same room time and time again. Then guess what, once you meet the Flood (a lame copy of Half-life's aliens) you go back and do all the same boring missions backwards, only difference is that now you must fight the flood. The most annoying level called the Library consisted of your character 'Master Chief' running around in circles through numerous floors that all looked exactly the same. Multiplayer is nothing special, Battlefield 1942 blows it away in vehicles, environment, and fun. Everyone claims other games copied this, what about what Halo copied? Name a scene in the movie Aliens and Halo has copied it, from the nervous marine "we're all gonna die man!" to the tough black 'Sarge' "Pull yourself together." Not to mention how the pelican bears a striking resemblance to the transport in Aliens. The guns are all copied from Aliens, and what the movie had in deadly and mysterious enemies Halo miserably lacks. Throughout the whole game there are only about five total enemies each with of course one way to kill them or else you'd be wasting ammo. There are miserably weak grunts which are minute aliens who do nothing then an enormous leap is made to the elites which simply slaughter all your squadmates (they never last more then the first battle) and the shield toting aliens who are just plain annoying with their weak guns and stupid shields. This game was lame and nowhere near expectations. Expand
  38. PatrickH.
    Oct 5, 2003
    5
    I don't see why everyone makes a big deal over the game. It's ok, but not something that deserves a 96 out of 100.
  39. MichaelK.
    Sep 14, 2003
    6
    It does things scores of other things have done before... Perfect Dark came a year and a half before and still managed to have awesome level dynamics, play control, AI, and it was scores deeper in term of weapon selection and multiplayer options (have you heard of bots???). And both Goldeneye and Half Life brought revolutions to the table in term of storyline, graphics, and play mechanics It does things scores of other things have done before... Perfect Dark came a year and a half before and still managed to have awesome level dynamics, play control, AI, and it was scores deeper in term of weapon selection and multiplayer options (have you heard of bots???). And both Goldeneye and Half Life brought revolutions to the table in term of storyline, graphics, and play mechanics for first-person shooters. Get over it: there's little new about this gussied-up rehash of old game ideas. Go to Gamecube if you want the truly innovative games. Expand
  40. BradD.
    Aug 12, 2003
    5
    This game is just a sorry attempt at recreating Half-Life. You have a special life saving suit. There are little parasitic animals everywhere. And it involves the Marines. The only difference is Half-Life is a quadrillion times deeper and scarier and Gordon Freeman could kick the master chiefs ass any day.
  41. Michael
    Jul 17, 2003
    5
    Yawn... all of these things were done before. Other games have had vehicles (Red Faction), co-op (Perfect Dark), and exciting multiplayer (PD and Goldeneye). Strong narratives have also been present in other FPS (Unreal). The only two things this game has to offer above its competitors is graphics and sound. The weapon selection is crap, the enemies become very repetitive (especially the Yawn... all of these things were done before. Other games have had vehicles (Red Faction), co-op (Perfect Dark), and exciting multiplayer (PD and Goldeneye). Strong narratives have also been present in other FPS (Unreal). The only two things this game has to offer above its competitors is graphics and sound. The weapon selection is crap, the enemies become very repetitive (especially the Flood... god that stage is a mind-numbing bore), and finally NO BOTS!!! Why the hell didn't they just add bots to multiplayer to spruce it up a bit? Already the modes were lacking; that is just an inexcusable exclusion. Give it up guys- this is the only game approaching even slight acceptance on your pitiful system. And Gamecube has... what, 10 classic games??? Pass. Expand
  42. StephenS.
    Dec 30, 2001
    7
    Most things about this game are good...the sound, graphics, AI, etc, but its multiplayer just lacks what a first person shooter really needs. I remember when Nintendo 64 was new, and Goldeneye had just come out. At that time, that probably the best first person shooter. Then for the PC, Counterstrike came out. Counterstrike is probably still the best first person shooter. What I'm Most things about this game are good...the sound, graphics, AI, etc, but its multiplayer just lacks what a first person shooter really needs. I remember when Nintendo 64 was new, and Goldeneye had just come out. At that time, that probably the best first person shooter. Then for the PC, Counterstrike came out. Counterstrike is probably still the best first person shooter. What I'm really trying to say is that although the single player is good, the multiplayer really pulls this game down pretty far. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
1
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2001
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    100
    Halo is quite simply the closest thing we have ever experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. [Jan 2002, p.72]
  2. GMR Magazine
    100
    The definitive reason to own an Xbox. [Feb 2003, p.95]
  3. 100
    When you finally set down the controller the first time, and eventually hunger or exhaustion do force all of us to take a break, Halo has pulled you completely into its world and started one of the best sci-fi gaming adventures of all time.