Halo: Combat Evolved Xbox

Halo: Combat Evolved Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1349 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the mysterious world of Halo, an alien planet shaped like a ring. As mankind's super soldier Master Chief, you must uncover the secrets of Halo and fend off the attacking Covenant. During your missions, you'll battle on foot, in vehicles, inside, and outside with alien and humanEnter the mysterious world of Halo, an alien planet shaped like a ring. As mankind's super soldier Master Chief, you must uncover the secrets of Halo and fend off the attacking Covenant. During your missions, you'll battle on foot, in vehicles, inside, and outside with alien and human weaponry. Your objectives include attacking enemy outposts, raiding underground labs for advanced technology, rescuing fallen comrades, and sniping enemy forces. Halo also lets you battle three other players via intense split screen combat or fight cooperatively with a friend through the single-player missions. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    This immersive sci-fi epic delivers both an expansive story and electrifying first-person combat, making it one of 2001's best games.
  2. The attention to detail blew me away. The graphics are beyond anything I imagined.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    100
    Halo is quite simply the closest thing we have ever experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. [Jan 2002, p.72]
  4. It may be the best FPS ever created. Yet from my personal standpoint, Halo is one the greatest games ever created. Ever.
  5. I started playing Halo early one afternoon. Several hours in, I figured I should probably take a break to get a bite to eat, so I said to myself, "I'll just finish this one level first". Suffice to say, I never did get around to eating much that day.
  6. 95
    Weighing in with 13 maps, 26+ game modes, and a slew of adjustable options, Halo is a veritable cornucopia of multiplayer goodness. Add System Link Support to the fray, and you're looking all night frag-filled benders.
  7. The animation on each Marine you encounter is remarkable, possessing almost endless moving parts and distinct facial features, while the lighting, textures, and massive landscapes prove Halo and the Xbox to be without equal on the console market.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 455
  1. IanC.
    Mar 10, 2002
    10
    It was very fun, but i think it needs more levals and more guns. I have beaten the game. And it was really fun. When they make Halo 2, if theyIt was very fun, but i think it needs more levals and more guns. I have beaten the game. And it was really fun. When they make Halo 2, if they do, i think they should let you chose witch guy you would want to be like a hunter or another alien or you could be a human or the cyborg and they would all have differ missions. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also gained many haters. The reasons that I have heard that people do not like Halo are its originality, itâ
    Expand
  3. ZeekyboogyD.
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    ok, brad, shut up, seriously, half life isnt really THAT great, i mean, halo is the best game EVER! seriously folks, if u have an x-box, or a ok, brad, shut up, seriously, half life isnt really THAT great, i mean, halo is the best game EVER! seriously folks, if u have an x-box, or a pc, buy it. Expand
  4. BrandonH.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. The first console shooter that I REALLY enjoyed. It was revolutionary for its time in that it brought so many things to This game is amazing. The first console shooter that I REALLY enjoyed. It was revolutionary for its time in that it brought so many things to consoles that have never been done before and did them very well. I don't understand how anyone could rate this game so low as a 2 or 0. My real rating for this game is a 9, but to offset the low scores I went ahead and put 10. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2016
    10
    There are very few games anyone will play out there that can say they lived up to the hype. No, I'm not a Halo fanboy but Halo Combat EvolvedThere are very few games anyone will play out there that can say they lived up to the hype. No, I'm not a Halo fanboy but Halo Combat Evolved lived up to the high standards that Bungie set for it. As their first blockbuster title, Halo didn't have a preset mold to bring in customers. Halo set many industry standards and brought the XBOX console to life upon its release. For anyone looking for a serious review, here is mine.

    Pros:

    Interactive environment

    Halo set an industry standard with their FPS interactive environment that was later copied by many other FPS series. For its time the interactive environment of Halo CE allowed users to truly feel as if they were part of Master Chief's quest to destroy the Halo ring. Combat scenes became more realistic, traveling was more realistic and the game overall expanded on for its time what a 3D enviornment was for gaming standard.

    The soundtrack

    This is completely a personal opinion; Halo CE has one of the most impressive soundtracks for any video game of all time. Martin O'Donnell and Michael Salvatori truly showed their fantastic ability to compose a soundtrack that helped players feel in touch with the game and its story, the soundtrack stresses chief's struggle and success. The game does an excellent job of making you feel as if you're Master Chief with the soundtrack.

    Easy to use UI

    Self explanitory

    Multiplayer experience

    Halo CE allows you to play through Chief's story with a friend and compete head to head or together against other players via split screen or system link. There are over a dozen maps to explore and if you're playing the PC version or Xbox One MCC version of the game nearly 20 maps. Not all the maps are perfect but there are well more than enough to keep you entertained for hours on end.

    Why did I give this game a 10? Halo CE offers a campaign and multiplayer experience that no other FPS for its time was able to offer on a console. Halo set the bar for many industry standards in the FPS genre that to this day are still built upon.
    Expand
  6. AaronM
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    This was a great game. Not as good as the Half-Life series, but stiil very good. Then there was Halo 2 (crap), and Halo 3 couldn't fully This was a great game. Not as good as the Half-Life series, but stiil very good. Then there was Halo 2 (crap), and Halo 3 couldn't fully recover. Ten years from now, we'll be saying "Remember the time when Halo was good?" 2001 - 2003 FTW! Expand
  7. BrainwashCommittee
    Nov 11, 2004
    0
    What are you people thinking. Really. This game is terrible. There are about 4 types of guns and about 3 different types of enemies. Oh look! What are you people thinking. Really. This game is terrible. There are about 4 types of guns and about 3 different types of enemies. Oh look! a monster! buts he's red, not blue! holy crap! what a different creature! its the same creature, but its a different color, which must make it different! Really people. This game is bad. Look at the PC. The game have much superior graphics, the controls are a hell of a lot easier to use, and to top it all off, the game costs less! Come on now people...smarten up. Buy a game actually WORTH your money. Expand

See all 455 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2001