Halo: Combat Evolved Xbox

Halo: Combat Evolved Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the mysterious world of Halo, an alien planet shaped like a ring. As mankind's super soldier Master Chief, you must uncover the secrets of Halo and fend off the attacking Covenant. During your missions, you'll battle on foot, in vehicles, inside, and outside with alien and humanEnter the mysterious world of Halo, an alien planet shaped like a ring. As mankind's super soldier Master Chief, you must uncover the secrets of Halo and fend off the attacking Covenant. During your missions, you'll battle on foot, in vehicles, inside, and outside with alien and human weaponry. Your objectives include attacking enemy outposts, raiding underground labs for advanced technology, rescuing fallen comrades, and sniping enemy forces. Halo also lets you battle three other players via intense split screen combat or fight cooperatively with a friend through the single-player missions. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    This immersive sci-fi epic delivers both an expansive story and electrifying first-person combat, making it one of 2001's best games.
  2. The attention to detail blew me away. The graphics are beyond anything I imagined.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    100
    Halo is quite simply the closest thing we have ever experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. [Jan 2002, p.72]
  4. It may be the best FPS ever created. Yet from my personal standpoint, Halo is one the greatest games ever created. Ever.
  5. I started playing Halo early one afternoon. Several hours in, I figured I should probably take a break to get a bite to eat, so I said to myself, "I'll just finish this one level first". Suffice to say, I never did get around to eating much that day.
  6. 95
    Weighing in with 13 maps, 26+ game modes, and a slew of adjustable options, Halo is a veritable cornucopia of multiplayer goodness. Add System Link Support to the fray, and you're looking all night frag-filled benders.
  7. The animation on each Marine you encounter is remarkable, possessing almost endless moving parts and distinct facial features, while the lighting, textures, and massive landscapes prove Halo and the Xbox to be without equal on the console market.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 453
  1. BenWest
    May 9, 2002
    10
    If there was an eleven it would have it, in about 5 mins I was hooked, it took me 5 hours to get off it! 1 thing, on level 5 (assault on the If there was an eleven it would have it, in about 5 mins I was hooked, it took me 5 hours to get off it! 1 thing, on level 5 (assault on the control room) I am stuck on a room, with no way out! but i tink it is the best game ever i love it yeah ... whatever... Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also gained many haters. The reasons that I have heard that people do not like Halo are its originality, itâ
    Expand
  3. DanielC.
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever created. I dont own this game but ive played it. I want it so bad!!! Halo is da best and anyone who thinks This is the best game ever created. I dont own this game but ive played it. I want it so bad!!! Halo is da best and anyone who thinks otherwise is a moron!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. BrandonH.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. The first console shooter that I REALLY enjoyed. It was revolutionary for its time in that it brought so many things to This game is amazing. The first console shooter that I REALLY enjoyed. It was revolutionary for its time in that it brought so many things to consoles that have never been done before and did them very well. I don't understand how anyone could rate this game so low as a 2 or 0. My real rating for this game is a 9, but to offset the low scores I went ahead and put 10. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    Want a freebie game to pick up with your purchase of your Xbox console? Look no further to find any Halo copies available on any store thatWant a freebie game to pick up with your purchase of your Xbox console? Look no further to find any Halo copies available on any store that still sells old Xbox consoles. Expand
  6. AaronM
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    This was a great game. Not as good as the Half-Life series, but stiil very good. Then there was Halo 2 (crap), and Halo 3 couldn't fully This was a great game. Not as good as the Half-Life series, but stiil very good. Then there was Halo 2 (crap), and Halo 3 couldn't fully recover. Ten years from now, we'll be saying "Remember the time when Halo was good?" 2001 - 2003 FTW! Expand
  7. BrainwashCommittee
    Nov 11, 2004
    0
    What are you people thinking. Really. This game is terrible. There are about 4 types of guns and about 3 different types of enemies. Oh look! What are you people thinking. Really. This game is terrible. There are about 4 types of guns and about 3 different types of enemies. Oh look! a monster! buts he's red, not blue! holy crap! what a different creature! its the same creature, but its a different color, which must make it different! Really people. This game is bad. Look at the PC. The game have much superior graphics, the controls are a hell of a lot easier to use, and to top it all off, the game costs less! Come on now people...smarten up. Buy a game actually WORTH your money. Expand

See all 453 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2001