Halo: Combat Evolved Xbox

Halo: Combat Evolved Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the mysterious world of Halo, an alien planet shaped like a ring. As mankind's super soldier Master Chief, you must uncover the secrets of Halo and fend off the attacking Covenant. During your missions, you'll battle on foot, in vehicles, inside, and outside with alien and humanEnter the mysterious world of Halo, an alien planet shaped like a ring. As mankind's super soldier Master Chief, you must uncover the secrets of Halo and fend off the attacking Covenant. During your missions, you'll battle on foot, in vehicles, inside, and outside with alien and human weaponry. Your objectives include attacking enemy outposts, raiding underground labs for advanced technology, rescuing fallen comrades, and sniping enemy forces. Halo also lets you battle three other players via intense split screen combat or fight cooperatively with a friend through the single-player missions. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    This immersive sci-fi epic delivers both an expansive story and electrifying first-person combat, making it one of 2001's best games.
  2. The attention to detail blew me away. The graphics are beyond anything I imagined.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    100
    Halo is quite simply the closest thing we have ever experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. [Jan 2002, p.72]
  4. It may be the best FPS ever created. Yet from my personal standpoint, Halo is one the greatest games ever created. Ever.
  5. I started playing Halo early one afternoon. Several hours in, I figured I should probably take a break to get a bite to eat, so I said to myself, "I'll just finish this one level first". Suffice to say, I never did get around to eating much that day.
  6. 95
    Weighing in with 13 maps, 26+ game modes, and a slew of adjustable options, Halo is a veritable cornucopia of multiplayer goodness. Add System Link Support to the fray, and you're looking all night frag-filled benders.
  7. The animation on each Marine you encounter is remarkable, possessing almost endless moving parts and distinct facial features, while the lighting, textures, and massive landscapes prove Halo and the Xbox to be without equal on the console market.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 460
  1. EeroS.
    May 28, 2002
    10
    It's Halo, you know the rest..
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also
    This is my attempt at a helpful NO SPOILER review.
    With popularity you get hate. Halo has gained many fans over the years, but it has also gained many haters. The reasons that I have heard that people do not like Halo are its originality, itâ
    Expand
  3. DanielC.
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever created. I dont own this game but ive played it. I want it so bad!!! Halo is da best and anyone who thinks This is the best game ever created. I dont own this game but ive played it. I want it so bad!!! Halo is da best and anyone who thinks otherwise is a moron!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. SanzeeBoy
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    This game changed the FPS genre forever. The negative user scores for this game to stem from nothing but fanboyism. The critics testify of This game changed the FPS genre forever. The negative user scores for this game to stem from nothing but fanboyism. The critics testify of Halo's divine legacy. You can believe 99% of Halo's fanbase, including professional critics, or the shrinking fanbase of Sony's playstation game console. Truly superb in every way possible. It doesn't take a genius to know a great game. The numbers prove it, and the gameplay proves it as well. Halo: CE has left behind a legacy which remains to this day. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo: Combat Evolved is a great example of what an FPS game should look like: Engaging storyline, with levels that you want to play again.Halo: Combat Evolved is a great example of what an FPS game should look like: Engaging storyline, with levels that you want to play again. Multiplayer, witch isnt added in, in the last second. Amazing soundtrack witch helps adding to the feel of the game. And a splitscreen Co-Op, witch makes this game the best, or atleast on par with the sequel, Halo 2. But, is it worth buying today? Well, do you like playing games with good storylines that arent played between the internet, but rather with your friends on your couch? Expand
  6. AaronM
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    This was a great game. Not as good as the Half-Life series, but stiil very good. Then there was Halo 2 (crap), and Halo 3 couldn't fully This was a great game. Not as good as the Half-Life series, but stiil very good. Then there was Halo 2 (crap), and Halo 3 couldn't fully recover. Ten years from now, we'll be saying "Remember the time when Halo was good?" 2001 - 2003 FTW! Expand
  7. BrainwashCommittee
    Nov 11, 2004
    0
    What are you people thinking. Really. This game is terrible. There are about 4 types of guns and about 3 different types of enemies. Oh look! What are you people thinking. Really. This game is terrible. There are about 4 types of guns and about 3 different types of enemies. Oh look! a monster! buts he's red, not blue! holy crap! what a different creature! its the same creature, but its a different color, which must make it different! Really people. This game is bad. Look at the PC. The game have much superior graphics, the controls are a hell of a lot easier to use, and to top it all off, the game costs less! Come on now people...smarten up. Buy a game actually WORTH your money. Expand

See all 460 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2001