Hulk Xbox
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 100
    Best of all, the game's environments are destructible, so if it exists, Hulk can smash it. [July 2003, p.34]
  2. I would have liked to see longer levels and perhaps a little deeper plot. The bottom line is that the game delivers a good time and is fun to play. It’s almost like a great roller coaster: no matter how big it is after you pull up to the gate you want more.
  3. One of the game’s noticeable flaws comes in the form of the camera that can obscure certain spots that might have enemies you won’t see until they attack you. The Banner missions, although do add some relief from the Hulk’s smash-and-destroy action, are not as exciting or well done at all.
  4. We would love to see an open-world game with less linearity and an even richer story. But for now, this action brawler delivers loads of mindless mayhem. [13 June 2003, p.104]
  5. 80
    An "incredible" source of enjoyment. Using the proper "destroy everything" approach that a game of this nature needs in conjunction with an easy to learn combo system, the Hulk doesn't steer action fans wrong too often.
  6. Some sort of Multi-player set up could extend the life of this game, but i'm not sure how to implimant it. Otherwise, I think the game is solid fun.
  7. 80
    As beat 'em ups go, this is an excellent one. Hulk fans rejoice. You finally have a game worthy of the lovable green lug.
  8. With a good combat system and a high smash factor, The Hulk is a winner. [Aug 2003, p.77]
  9. Personally, I found the gameplay highly repetitious. As fun as it is to smash and destroy everything in sight it gets boring after about two or three levels. Hulk is a game best experienced in short doses, or at least have a friend on hand to pass the controller to.
  10. While the Bruce Banner missions are mind-numbing and the camera could use some extra tweaking, the Hulk still manages to play very smoothly and delivers an aura of excitement that can only be felt otherwise by going to see the actual movie.
  11. The Hulkster follows commands easily, the camera gives you an excellent view of the action and you don't need to mash 20 buttons for every combat move you make.
  12. Angry? Don't make me angry! You wouldn't like me when I'm angry!
  13. One thing I didn't expect from such a mainstream game was intense boss battles, but they're in here too. The first few are easy enough, but they're in here too. The first few are easy enough, but the last couple are a real bitch. [July 2003, p.70]
  14. Purists of the comic should take heart, because the infamous sonic clap and ground smashing jump are included, along with a number of other moves that take advantage of his fury. In fact, attacking builds up a rage meter, which allows you to boost your damage or unleash a super-powerful attack towards your enemies.
  15. The action sequences are fun, but the combat is so simple and the story mode so short that the game's lasting appeal is limited.
  16. 69
    Too simple for its own good, yet somehow likable in the end. While the beat 'em up action is undoubtedly repetitive, it was just solid enough to keep me playing for another level.
  17. The game does an excellent job of keeping the tension high with plenty of on-screen baddies to pummel. [Aug 2003, p.82]
  18. Remains an uneven effort because the fighting is so good while the sneaking is downright disappointing. [Aug 2003, p.73]
  19. The novelty of the Hulk scenes wears off eventually if you're not a huge fan of the comic books, and the Banner sections are disappointing. Still, it doesn't anger us as much as some movie tie-in mediocrities.
  20. Three phases to describe The Hulk: technically solid, aesthetically pretty, and phenomenally dull. [July 2003, p.117]
  21. With a storyline that captivates, graphics that stand out from the crowd, the Hulk is a licensed game that certainly doesn’t embarrass itself from a presentation standpoint.
  22. The story was bleak and the camera angles have you craving for some good ‘ol Resident Evil. The game engine allows for some neat stuff, but is very constrictive.
  23. 50
    A poor fighting system + awkward cameras + endlessly respawning, cookie-cutter bad guys = (it turns out) hours of frustrating, ruin-your-day gameplay.
  24. The bad enemy AI, poor enemy variety and extreme linearity makes it hard to want to play any of the levels more than once. In the case of the Banner levels, you won't want to play them at all.
  25. The implementation of ideas fell to the lowest common denominator, and the end game is a shallow and childish experience.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    4
    This falls short of a good game by adding a camera that doesn't always work, almost impossible odds towards the end of the game, and stealth levels where you play as Banner of which only one I found fun, the levels where you play as Hulk are plain mindless brawling levels that get repetitive after a while, the good things however are the story and unique graphics, but the sound sucks, voice acting is bad and the Hulk sounds pathetic, I know I'm going to get crap for this but this is a game that you can avoid. Full Review »