Indiana Jones and the Emperor's Tomb Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SunnyD.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Excellent story line, good environment, concept arts and characters; the essentials for a good single player game. And Indy has it all. A must have for fans.
  2. Indy
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    This is the Best Indiana Jones game they have ever made.
  3. JugsterJam
    Feb 14, 2003
    10
    Strong playable grahics from indiana joes to the jungles, trees, fire, lost inca sites very movie like. The creators of buffy the vampire slayer have made the game. So the gameplay feels a lot like their past game, which is good. All the indie jonesing to do is here.
  4. PieterJ.
    Oct 26, 2004
    9
    This game is awsome in every way. You ARE Indiana Jones in this game. The music is also impressive! If you are an Indiana Jones-fan, buy it NOW!
  5. Angelus
    Feb 26, 2003
    9
    Don't listen to these so called gamer critics about this one. If your a fan of the movies it a must buy!
  6. Dias
    Feb 21, 2003
    8
    Very fun. its actually a precourser to the temple of doom (watch the first ten minutes). This game feel a lot like buffy because it runs on the same engine as buffy with a few slight modifications. reminded me of tomb raider(thats a good thing) but its INDY!!!!
  7. JohnS.
    Mar 30, 2003
    8
    I don't see why this didn't get a higher score. I give it a solid 8.5. The graphics are very good (much sharper and eye-popping than any of the trailers I've seen for it), the combat is excellent (very "Buffy"-like), and the levels are huge. The only things missing are savepoints and multiplayer. Multiplayer, especially, which would add to the limited replay-value.
  8. Rex
    Jun 16, 2003
    8
    This is a must have for the xbox! The only game i have ever played that i want to replay over and over. The fighting is exellent with tons of wepons to choose from, which some you can under or over estimate, for example i went through the whole game first time without using a chair or table leg but second time i found it was amazing. The graphix are bright and coulerfull with beutifull This is a must have for the xbox! The only game i have ever played that i want to replay over and over. The fighting is exellent with tons of wepons to choose from, which some you can under or over estimate, for example i went through the whole game first time without using a chair or table leg but second time i found it was amazing. The graphix are bright and coulerfull with beutifull lighting effects though a lack of solidarity and the level range is amazin, from antient tombs and hong kong to nazi bases!! The game its self, however is quite short but if you wish you can collect all 30 artifacts, but this only opens a quite unimpressive art gallery. Its hard to rate this game because besides some minor glitches the gameplay, immence thrill and overall fun of being indiana jones makes the game well worth buying so dont hesitate if you are considering this puchase go forth and buy this game!!! Expand
  9. MichaelC.
    Oct 16, 2003
    8
    An all around fun game. Gameplay mechanics are solid. Graphics and sound are nothing short of what you'd expect from Lucas. My one complaint: certain part of this one are really tough, so be prepared to get frustrated. Third-person action at it's finest, folks.
  10. SamE.
    Mar 29, 2003
    8
    Excellent voice acting, good play mechanics, and lush backgrounds all make this game genuinely fun. The puzzles and plot are rather linear, and it's all over too quickly, but the pleasure of imagining yourself as the Indy of the classic movie trilogy is considerable.
  11. BlueFalcon
    Feb 6, 2005
    2
    Wow, I think a bunch Lucas Arts or Collective employees are reviewing it below or something. This game is definately among the worst games I've played on the xbox. The graphics are poor, gameplay awkward, and in some spots broken. It's really just a poor game all around.

Awards & Rankings

#63 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 2 out of 43
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    70
    Sadly, however, not even the best Indy console game necessarily makes for a great Xbox title. [Apr 2003, p.80]
  2. GMR Magazine
    70
    While the action runs smoothly, textures and level design are a bit on the simple side, making some of the more ambitious "natural" levels feel a little too grid based. [Apr 2003, p.67]
  3. It's a blast from start to finish and somehow manages to be greater than the sum of its parts. It's perhaps a classic example of the ideal game to rent.